PowerChurch Software

PowerChurch Plus

4.5 / 5 38 reviews


Average Ratings

38 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $395.00/one-time
  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • PowerChurch Software
  • www.powerchurch.com/
  • Founded 1984
  • United States

About This Software

PowerChurch Plus is an all-in-one software solution that helps keep track of Membership, Contributions, Accounting, Events Calendar and more! Since 1984, PowerChurch Software has been serving churches and nonprofits by providing affordable and easy to use software that helps streamline your day-to-day tasks as a busy church administrator. With PowerChurch, you will find straightforward pricing and no high-pressure sales tactics.


Features Checklist

  • Attendance Tracking
  • Built-In Accounting
  • Calendar Management
  • Child Check-In
  • Donation Management
  • Event Management
  • Group Management
  • Learning Management (LMS)
  • Library Management
  • Member Directory
  • Member Profiles
  • Membership Management
  • Multi-Site Management
  • Newsletter Management
  • Online Payments / Giving
  • Pledge Management
  • Volunteer Management
  • Website Management
  • Worship Planning

Product Reviews

Great software if you understand Debits and Credits

Mar 23, 2017
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Payroll, Accounts Payable, & fund accounting work fine but if you make a mistake, Lord Help you finding it. This is software for the college trained accountant I believe. Quicken is better for the novice but no Payroll included. The videos on your support helped immensely. Otherwise I would have given up!!

Cons: The last time I trained an assistant treasurer on this software it took several months and I ended up taking it back to fix all the mistakes. Too many things to remember for the novice accountant.

Overall: I would be using Quicken if it wasn't for the Payroll module. It's my favorite module and keeps track of the taxes and SS deductions but I had to have help several years ago setting this all up. (Three or Four sessions)
I do like the accounts payable module. Especially computer checks!! Someone else in our church uses the Contribution module but I had to train them in it. They are doing well. Prices are good for upgrades.

Recommendations to other buyers: Go take college level accounting classes before tackling it.

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on March 29, 2017

Hi Jerry, Thanks for taking the time to review PowerChurch Plus. We're glad to hear you find the Payroll module to be so full featured and useful. As you mentioned, our training videos are a great resource to become more comfortable with each area of the program, including Fund Accounting, which at first can seem a bit daunting to the novice. As always, please don't hesitate to contact customer support if you have any questions. We're available Monday - Friday 9AM to 6PM Eastern at 800-486-1800.

Works for us!

Mar 23, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Generally user friendly and shows data well.

Cons: Accounting forms are well designed generally, but not adjustable to the extent our application could use. Forms design is feasible but can be time-consuming. "Expressions" design screen displays VERY tiny characters that make composition and especially error correction an optical challenge. (Is that an extra comma or a dead pixel on my screen....?)

Overall: This review is based on the position of maintenance rather than everyday use. My initial experience with PCP began about two years ago when I was handed the "keys" (as administrator). PCP has been used at FBC since about 2007. At the time I got it, we were using the Membership and Contributions modules. My first big project was moving our accounting from a commercial package to the PCP Accounting module. That project has occupied most of my two-year term because we changed our fiscal year by six months and our computer system was attacked by a ransomeware virus; we had most essential files backed up, but lost the newer data that was duplicated from the commercial accounting package, so we re-initiated the move at the next FY. The Accounting module is running nicely now, and using PCP accounting will save us a bunch per year.
My next project will be to "encourage" a move from older software to the Events module and to advertise the capabilities of the Record Keeping module.
The routine accounting operations are relatively easy to set up, including custom check writing. We are able to use several of the ready-made reports, but would like to be able modify some of them rather than designing our own from scratch; we're working on a couple custom designs now, while learning our way through FoxPro.

Recommendations to other buyers: My first attempts at form design were done on the demo package, because I could do it at home with data that I assumed was all correct and located where it belonged. I ran into some frustrating results working with the donor restricted accounts, trying to design a simple 6-7 column form. When I couldn't get it to work on the Demo, I went back to our real data on the church installation, and the problems were not present!

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on March 29, 2017

Hello, Gerald, It looks like your organization has been able to get quite a lot out of the Custom Reports feature in PowerChurch Plus. That's great to hear! Custom Reports can be quite complicated. You mentioned the ability to further modify built in reports, and we'd love to hear any suggestions or requests you have. Send your suggestions to wishlist@powerchurch.com. Additionally, as you're moving onto your next project, please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any questions about Events or Record Keeping. We're available Monday - Friday 9AM to 6PM Eastern at 800-486-1800.

partial review of power church

Mar 20, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: easy of data entry

Cons: awkward payroll module
& poor formatting of the half-page directory printout

Overall: I am running PowerChurch Plus 11.5. I mostly use the Contributions module. I like the functionality mostly except for one thing. Power Church takes my entries which are dated the same and combines them together in a single sum for that date on the bank reconciliation. With electronic giving and two services each sunday, we have quite a few bank deposits during the month. In order to keep peace with the treasurer (who does the reconciliation), I need the power church deposits to match the bank deposit amounts. Therefore, I have to jump through hoops to make Power Church give me the separate amounts. I do this by faking the dates. This is relative easy for our second service collection. I just date the entries on the Monday after the service. However the electronic giving from Vanco has dates all over the place. I have to go into the CSV file and make sure every deposit is unique and doesn't match one of the 8 or 10 Sunday collection deposits. This is VERY time consuming and subject to errors. Why can't Power Church give me the option of not combining dates?

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on March 22, 2017

Hi James, Thank you for your feedback. PowerChurch Plus can certainly do what you are trying to achieve. It creates separate bank deposits for each posting. Therefore, you could enter and post each service separately using the same date. As for the Vanco CSV, there is now a direct integration with Vanco that accurately creates the accounting transactions so that you can reconcile. Please don¿t hesitate to give us a call at 800-486-1800 and one of our support technicians would be happy to assist you. Thank you!

PowerChurch Plus

Jan 05, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that we could enter our own fields as we wanted for our check-in service for our church nursery.

Cons: It would lock up or some info would not save or carry over.

Overall: I used this in my church for my nursery check-in and tracking. In the beginning, it seemed to go well. We set up fields that we wanted to track when each child was checked into the database. After a while, we noticed it was locking up or some information was not saving.

Recommendations to other buyers: It is not horrible, but there were just a few items that made it difficult to use properly.

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on January 05, 2017

Felicia, We're very sorry to hear that you have been experiencing issues with the PowerChurch Check In System. Please don't hesitate to give us a call at 800-486-1800 so we can help you figure out why the program is locking up. We'd like to thank you for being PowerChurch Software customers, and please let us know if there's anything we can do to improve your experience!

Good, Great & Bad

Jan 04, 2017
2/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love the contribution end as well as the mailing list and personal information. All that is really GREAT!

Cons: The accounting end of it. It should be easier to use. I used to do the double entry, but that was outdated years ago. But with your software, I had to go back to it. I also don't like that I look up a check in the check register and can't go directly to the check to see what it was for. I have to go to yet another screen. On Quickbooks, you can double-click and it will open up.

Overall: I love the contribution, mailing list, personal information. All that is GREAT!! The customer support is GOOD, as is the value for the money. What is bad is that this reminds me of where Quickbooks was at 15 years ago. I know Power Church keeps improving and hopefully sooner than the 15 years will be extremely easy to run on the accounting side of things. There are a lot of things that I can't do in PCP that I could do in QB. I have been doing accounting for over 30 years, so I do have experience.

Recommendations to other buyers: Just keep improving and improving...you'll get there. I just hope it's soon as opposed to later.

Great Software - Accounting module not very user friendly

Dec 13, 2016
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Church management

Cons: Accounting

Overall: The church management module is easy to use and navigate. The accounting is a 2 entry system. If you are not versed in accounting, you will find this software difficult to use.

Antiquated Software

Dec 05, 2016
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It runs on a computer.

Cons: 10-15 years behind in modern software architecture and user-friendly interface. Doesn't integrate information, can't make root changes and very well and nonintuitive.

Overall: We have been using this software for years. We went away from it because the very fact that is a multi-database system that is not integrated - by design. We found everything from the accounting, to name tags and attendance to be very time intensive, nonintuitive and cumbersome. It does have features that others lack but feels like a software that would have been great in the 1990's not so much for today. Training and support come at a premium where you must pay lots of money for 1-2 hour videos. Not user-friendly, not flexible. The best way I can explain this software is its written by engineers for engineers. Hope this helps.

Recommendations to other buyers: Avoid purchasing unless you own a DeLorean and can go back in time to the 90's where I'm sure this was a huge hit.

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on December 06, 2016

Hi Mark, We really appreciate your input and are sorry you seem to have had such a negative experience with our products. The PowerChurch Software team is constantly working on refining and streamlining the user experience. To that end, we are always interested in hearing any user suggestions on how to improve that experience. Please keep in mind that Cornerstone Community Church has unlimited access to technical support by phone or e-mail, which is included with your PowerChurch Online subscription. We are always more than happy to address any issues you may have.

Recommend Especially for Small Churches

Nov 15, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: User friendly

Overall: As a church administrator who started as receptionist, I can attest to the ease of use and setup of Power Church Plus. For those small-church secretaries out there who wear many hats, this software will help you streamline your payables and payroll. Check it out!

Good software

Nov 07, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's been easy for us to store most of our information about our members in one place. When this was our main software we used it constantly throughout the day.

Cons: PowerChurch Plus has been a great software for us, but recently we have moved to something different. As much as we enjoyed PowerChurch Plus, this other software is working better for us.

Overall: PowerChurch Plus has been a great way for us to store all our membership information for years. We have used it in the past for keeping up with attendance, contributions, and membership profiles.

Easiest Church Software Yet!

Oct 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to learn
The variety of reports it will generate
Database easy to use
Contributions module is wonderful

Cons: haven't found any yet

Overall: I have been using PowerChurch for most of my church career. I have found it easy to set-up, easy to use, and if I have a question, the user's guide explains things simply. I love the reports it generates and the variety of things it can do. Thank you PowerChurch for this software!

Recommendations to other buyers: It's worth every penny!

Power church plus

Sep 30, 2016
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: accounting

Cons: customer service & check in features

Overall: I have been with power plus for over 10yrs now, and I just received the worst customer service. I could not believe the way I was treated. I will no longer promote this software and will start looking elsewhere!!!

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on October 04, 2016

We apologize that you were dissatisfied with your recent customer service experience and take your feedback to heart. At PowerChurch Software, we pride ourselves on our customer service and stand behind our refund and return policies.

Disappointed

Aug 26, 2016
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The accounting module is excellent. The membership module is above average. For the cost, there is nothing that compares. The library module is great for a church or pastor's library.

Cons: The printer interface is below average. The interface between PC+ and Windows is still not up to the times. The enter key does not enter, but instead it tabs to the ok button so that you can hit enter or click with the mouse.
The Check In System is slow and not user friendly IF you can ever get it to work. I have several friends who also purchased the system and they all have the same issues. it does not connect to the server like it should, the check in server locks you out all the time, and the manual does not give any information about how to fix the issue. BE PREARED TO PAY IF YOU WANT SUPPORT. If you decide to call or email support, you will pay to talk to anyone. This is the biggest disappointment in the company. The product does not work and you have to pay additional fees to talk to someone to get it to work. Even then, it will not keep working which requires additional dollars and support.

Overall: I have been a user of Power Church Plus since 1986 (dos os). I have stuck with the product because the accounting portion of the product has been excellent all these years. However, the other interfaces have been iffy at best when 1st introduced. The upgrade to windows was painful as well. The Power Church 11.5 version we are using is great, but the check in system is horrible: it does not interface well, it crashes weekly, and the setup and instructions could not be worse. I have used many other programs similar to PC+ and they all have performed better overall. However, the cost for those programs is prohibitive. I am disappointed that Power Church would put out a product like Check In System which does not work and is so hard to use on both server and kiosk ends.

Recommendations to other buyers: Power Church Plus 11.5 is a good product. Do not buy any add on software.

Vendor Response

by PowerChurch Software on August 26, 2016

Hi Michael, We're very sorry to hear that you have been experiencing issues with the PowerChurch Check In System. It's our understanding that you've since spoken with a technician regarding this issue, and that it appears to have been resolved by installing the latest updated Maintenance Release for PowerChurch Check In. If it has not been resolved, or if you continue to experience any further problems, please don't hesitate to give us a call at 800-486-1800. As always, if your issue is in any way related to a problem in the program, we will not charge for technical assistance. We'd like to thank you for being PowerChurch Software customers, and please let us know if there's anything we can do to improve your experience!

Extremely pleased with Power Church

Aug 24, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use...excellent technical support when you run into a problem.

Cons: None...

Overall: We are a small chapel and we have been using this software for 3 years.
This software is user friendly. Technical assistance is excellent. Used this software to do church directory.

Recommendations to other buyers: Software is invaluable to our chapel.

Great and affordable software for churches

Aug 13, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love how easy it is to do my job and the clarity of reports I am able to present to the financial teams for the churches where I work.

Cons: The Cash Managemet Report is a great report for untrained people to understand their available funds. It would be great if this report could be done by fund like the Balance Sheet. I keep books for a church that has a diverse ministry and 3 bank accounts; and because the Cash Management Report is not available by fund, I prepare the Balance Sheet for each fund which requires doing some substracting of temporarily restricted funds from the cash in bank to determine available funds.

Overall: Updates to the payroll module in recent years are a definite plus making preparing tax returns SO much easier! The ability to handle temporary restricted funds is a definite plus over Quick Books. I was asked to audit books for a church using Quick Books, and they are using liability accounts to manage restricted funds. That procedure definitely paints an incorrect picture of the financial health of the institution and presents a opportunity for a very tense business meeting.

Recommendations to other buyers: While the software is very user friendly, anyone considering using it should be aware that no software can subsitute for an education in accounting/bookkeeping. Churches are very vulnerable to people wanting to serve the Lord but who unfortunately do not understand basic accounting principles. I have had the opportunity to try to train some of these people but no amount of training in how to use the software can substitute for some time spent either online or at a community college taking some basic accounting classes.

Great Software Program For All Churches

Aug 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use, covers all the accounting bases and gives us lots of usable information. Also, maintenance updates are provided on a regular basis and good technical support.

Cons: Just a few quirky features I would like to change, but nothing major.

Overall: PowerChurch Plus is an outstanding software program for all churches, both large and small. It covers all facets of church accounting procedures which makes it easy to keep track of church business and activities. Before buying PowerChurch Plus, our church was using Quick Books software which was not designed for churches and was difficult to use. PowerChurch Plus made my job much easier, cut my time in half, and gave use much more usable information. It was well worth the price and I would recommend it to all churches based on my experience.

Recommendations to other buyers: BUY IT. It is worth every penny that it will cost you.

Review of PC+ 11.55

Aug 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I have been using PC+ for many years. It has always been easy to use. Support and online forums are very useful. Also, maintenance updates have always improved the program. Integrated modules are very handy. I am very pleased with this software.

Power Church Plus review

Aug 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The best thing is that every thing works together from contributions to accounting. The reports are many so you can get in info that you need from the past

Cons: I would like to see lookup keys for acct. payable so when you put in a name it will come up or all the Toms will come up. The system now is time consuming to look up the vendor if you don't know the vendor ID

Overall: We have been with Power Church Plus for many years and have found it very easy to use. their response to help is very good.

Power Church Plus at Alger Park

Aug 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The similarity of the structure in all of the modules enables us to find and use the information that we are looking for, even in modules that we use infrequent in our specific job.

Cons: I really cannot think of any real negatives, even after many years of using the software

Overall: On the rebound from a bad church software experience, we purchased v.3 of PCP+. We have kept on using the software to the current version because it meets ALL of our needs, and the support staff has been very responsive to our questions and needs.

Recommendations to other buyers: Get the software, and remain current with the latest version and support payments. The support staff has, in our experience, gone the long mile in answering questions and concerns.

Outstanding value!

Aug 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Does almost everything your church would need. Networking is included so it's easy to set up several workstations. The Payroll Module is great with no costly maintenance or yearly fees.

Cons: Accounting is a little difficult to set up the first time

Overall: Great product for all your church management needs. Easily handles membership, attendance, activities, fund accounting and payroll. Very reasonably priced with great support and documentation.

Recommendations to other buyers: We found great local support and training in our area such as Summit Accounting. It's well worth the investment to attend a training session that covers everything in one day

Long-time PowerChurch user

Aug 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is a **real** accounting system, with strong controls and audit trails.

Cons: PowerChurch has a pretty good scheduling system, but I think it would benefit with some upgrades, particularly with the reports and the calendar displays. It does have a pretty seemless link to Google calendar, which helps.

Overall: We've been using PowerChurch for over ten years and we're very happy with it. We started using it for membership management, for which it is very good. Not long after this, we stopped using our old accounting software and started using PowerChurch because it is a true double-entry accounting system with strong controls. Over the years we have had **very** few problems with PC, and the support team is excellent in responding. As far as value, I believe PC is a feature-rich system at very reasonable price.

Vice President, Bookkeeper

Aug 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use. Multiple funds. Warnings for dates and out of month. Easy to find mistakes. Easy to correct mistakes. I have not used the check reader and some of the other functions as I currently reside in Africa as a missionary but do the accounting from here. Training is a plus.

Cons: Would like the ability to have a second ministry on the same software. I have had some trouble downloading the updates here in Zambia, but not sure why.

Overall: Have used it since 2000 and only had to call for help one time. I like the fact that I don't have to have it in the cloud but only on my laptop. The manual is quite clear and easy to use. Set up is very easy. I have helped two other organizations set up on Power Church and have recommended it to several others. The regular updates are appreciated.

Recommendations to other buyers: Wonderful for churches and small ministries.

We Stayed with Power Church

Aug 11, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: (1) Membership and Activity Tracking
(2) Finance
(3) Room SCheduling

Cons: We wish there was a better interface with the caladar system for our web page. Possibly we need to switch to the Online PC+ system

Overall: While on the board of our local church, we did an exhaustive study into Church CMS. We selected Power Church Plus after that study. Then while serving as the Manitenance and IT coordinator we briefly went to a competitor because it was first with the Children's Checkin Module. After a horrendous start-up and about a year of use, we went back to PC+ when it developed their own version of the check-in system. I believe we have been users now for about 30 years and happy with our relationship.

Recommendations to other buyers: (1) Di not try and sort circuit the start-up by skipping training your users.. (2) Get input from users and potential users as to what they feel is important to track

Does the Job reliably

Aug 10, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It does the job reliably and can handle most tricky situations (e.g. marriages) if you study the manual, which is fairly comprehensive and well-written.

Cons: Help is charged for, even via email.
Zip-format backups are not secure - can easily be read with suitable software.
'Find' utility is not effective - it cannot find 'Anne' if name is "Dick & Anne"
Cannot handle accents - e.g. René . Apparently this is fixed in 11.5, but I cannot justify upgrading just to get a bug fix!

Overall: I have had to pick up this job after the regular Admin. retired. Fairly steep learning curve. We have v 11.1 and only use it for contribution records, not accounting or pastoral notes.

Recommendations to other buyers: For what I need - contribution recording for tax receipts - this program is over-kill.

Powerchurch User

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very stable; no software problems during our 3 year usage. Able to tailor everything for our needs and pretty much do everything we want to do with it.

Cons: Some of the canned reports could use a few more options to be more useful. Typically can run a query to get what we need if no standard report, but would be easier if a few more standard options.

Overall: Installed for 3 years. Using membership, attendance, contributions, accounting. Running accounting on separate computer and transfer contribution data over to accounting system.

Recommendations to other buyers: Because of the common interface, easy to cross train people to work in different modules. Very good user manual and basic vidoe training.

Like this product

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I can input info at home and print to my home printer. I am a volunteer and not an accountant but when I have accounting type issues customer support is great at helping me through them.

Cons: Sometimes have problems with the formatting of reports.

Overall: My experience w/ PowerChurch is only with the financial modules. We have been using PowerChurch for about 7 years. Started with the PC version and have since gone to the online version. There are 4 of us from our church, 2 staff & 2 volunteers, who use it so the online version works much better for us. The online version allows you to use it from home, using our home printers which is much better than the PC version where it was set to use only the printers in the church office. Before I had to go to the Church office to print checks, statements, etc and now I can print them at home.

Still a fan after 20+ years

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Purchasing the program gives the user access to all its features; other programs require purchasing modules separately, and/or annual fees for updates;
The program can be easily installed on multiple computers on a network;
There is no additional charge for maintenance releases that are frequently issued to make the program more functional;
The program is updated every few years, and current users are able to purchase program updates for a very reasonable cost;
The online forum is very helpful in resolving issues that come up from time to time; also, technical support is readily available, even without a subscription;
Program developers are responsive to users; it never takes long for flaws in the program to be fixed. Also, the online versions and added features, like the children's check-in system, are readily available.
I'll probably think of other features after I submit this, but it boils down to the fact that Power Church Plus is a highly functional, flexible, user-friendly, cost-effective church database management system.

Overall: We started using Power Church for our membership database in 1995, and found it to be user friendly, easy to learn, and more than adequate for our needs. Frankly, our initial choice of Power Church was budget based; I had previewed Shelby Systems, and liked its features, but found it prohibitively expensive. I had also previewed some less expensive options, but when Power Church came to my attention, and the price was right, it seemed like a wise choice for handling our congregational directory information, and mailing labels. We also made use of the Activities and Skills module fairly soon after purchasing. A few years later, we decided to take advantage of the integrated features of the program, and switched to Power Church for contributions, payroll and fund accounting. I've never regretted it; in fact, I've helped three other churches set up their accounting systems in Power Church, and I would not hesitate to recommend it as a flexible, powerful and cost-effective program.

Recommendations to other buyers: I have to be honest, that I don't have extensive experience with other church database management systems. In my 30 years of working in church finance, though, I have had numerous conversations with others about various programs, and I don't know of any task I could do in another program that I can't do in Power Church. Just count me as a huge fan! ~ Diane Gross

Used with success and confidence since 1991

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Everything you could ask for such as membership data, financial record keeping and reporting, inventory of building and music, and ministry service. And it is all integrated! Exceptionally user friendly and takes little time to learn.

Cons: Too many pages of paper not used to the fullest extent that they could be. If you have not used a fund for a couple of years it still prints out a sheet every month. Can't seem to shut that fund down for a time.

Overall: We have used Power Church since 1991 and absolutely love it. Have not had to call for support since the first two or three years. Updates have been great and not costly at all.

Recommendations to other buyers: This is the best integrated system for the least cost that we were able to find and it has worked fantastic for us. You can print almost any report anyone could ask for.

Great church software

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very easy to use. Exceptional tech support!

Cons: Corrections are a little tricky but not too bad.

Overall: Our church purchased this software in 2011 and have been very pleased with. Actually have recommended it to other churches.

Recommendations to other buyers: Read the manual FIRST.

Affordable, PC-based Member/Donation Management

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: 1. PC-based with no limits regarding licenses/members/dollars.
2. Very affordable for all of the features included.
3. There are a good number of reports included with the software.
4. Their customer support and community forums are helpful, easy to use, and responsive.

Cons: 1. Lack of ability to customize the "appearance/design" of reports included with the software.
2. There is a pretty good learning-curve for creating customized reports of your own.

Overall: My church was forced to change software when our previous vendor stopped supporting their PC-based software and was pushing for a cloud/web-based upgrade. My small church only needed software for membership management and donations. Call me "old-school" but I just did not want to transition to the cloud. PowerChurch Plus was the perfect solution. It is one of the few programs out there that is both affordable and PC-based. There were no strict license requirements or user/member/dollar limits. Their support in migrating data from our old software to PowerChurch Plus was timely, accurate and supportive. I have only used PowerChurch Plus for 7 months, but I love its speed and ease of use. Oh, for those who want to be cloud/web-based, they offer an online version, too!

Recommendations to other buyers: PowerChurch Plus is a good, affordable program with lots of capability especially for small- and medium-sized churches.

Great product. Excellent service.

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We only have to enter a transaction once.

Cons: Posting! And not being able to drill down to an original transaction from a report.

Overall: Our church has been using this software since 2014 and love that it integrates contributions and accounting with easy to run reports for financial presentation and prints our donation receipts all from one system!

Recommendations to other buyers: You won't regret purchasing the software. The superb customer support is worth it! (Not that we have had to contact them often.)

18 Years With PowerChruch Plus

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We like the four different modules you can work with or choose options to work with. You can use selective options to work with this system or you can fully integrate the entire system into your loperations. Depends on the size of your church and what you wnat to do with it.

Overall: PowerChruch Plus has been the easiest Software program to work with compared to others we have experimented with and compared it to.

PowerChurch

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This is very easy to use and to teach others how to use. There is a large variety of reports available and we can also create our own reports.

Cons: Creating our own reports is more difficult than it should be.

Overall: I have used PowerChurch software at one location (FUMCSB) for over 20 years as Computer Manager and another location (FCCSB) for 10 years as bookkeeper/secretary. Both positions are part time--two days weekly at one and 3 days weekly at the other. At FUMCSB we began using this program only for attendance and contributions, saving the contributions on an external floppy disk. In 2010 we began using it in conjunction with Vanco Services for online giving. In 2013 we began using it for accounting and in 2014 we began using a second Fund for Preschool in order to account for Preschool separate from the General Fund as well as Consolidated with the General Fund.

Recommendations to other buyers: Don't delete any checks; reverse them instead.

quite satisfied!

Aug 10, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Software is user-friendly. Updates are free.

Cons: It takes a long time to create the database but once done, any changes are a breeze. It would be great if the software would have cross-reference capability. We would not have to download different reports to get details on a certain document.

Overall: Excellent value for the money. A member of our Church Board, an accountant by profession, decided to purchase this software. As a bookkeeper, I am so grateful for his choice. Technical Support is very helpful at the beginning. If the technicians are busy, you leave a message and they call back within 1 hour.

Recommendations to other buyers: If your organization is large, get an individual just to create the database. Also, it is helpful, but not essential, to have an accountant or a senior bookkeeper to understand the mechanics of the software, so as not to make errors at the beginning. It takes more time to correct mistakes than to do it right the first time around.

Admin Assist

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There is no need to buy other programs for all the varied tasks that happen weekly. It handles all the data base stuff like people data, mailing lists, attendance even with a spot for a picture of the family to name just a simple few. It's calendaring/scheduling module replaced my other dedicated software program. The contribution module does a a better job of keeping folks money in order and reporting it than the other dedicated non-profit software does. The accounting module & contribution module replaces my dedicated $ program. If I had the time (a part timer) I would definitely find the sermon and inventory trackers helpful as well. It is network-able so I only have to train my Pastor's how to get in to the program and they have what ever information they need when they need it, without yelling for me. It won't break your software budget.

Cons: Creating custom reports is still tricky for me to do in program so I export to MsWord or Excel to get what I need done more quickly. It doesn't help me make the weekly bulletin or monthly newsletter.

Overall: I have been using Power Church since the third version and love it. (I think over 10years) It is as complex or as simple as you want it to be for your work. A great all in one software for the large or small Church office. It's flexible enough that you can start out using just part of it and grow into using more and more of it's features.

Recommendations to other buyers: I am happy to recommend this software and company support of it. I have not had a bad experience with it. It is my partner in being able to do my work for this faith family with maximum efficiency and grace.

Office Manager

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Does what we need it to do. Tech support has been great.

Cons: custom reports are limited.

Overall: We've used the product for over 8 yrs and are extremely pleased with what it provides. If we have a question, the tech support has been great in helping us resolve any issues or questions.

Great Software

Aug 10, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The people behind this software listen to their users and improve the product in ways suggested. We rarely run into a problem that PC developers aren't already fixing. The modules work great, especially Membership, Accounting and Contributions. The Events and Receivables are good, amazing considering the price for this Software.

Cons: I wish there was a little more flexibility in the Events module for booking rooms for events

Overall: PowerChurch has been used here at St. Barnabas before I was hired 18 years ago. It has grown with us as we have grown, both in features and functionality. But it has always stayed a quality product.

Recommendations to other buyers: This software does everything you want or need for an incredible price. The support people are knowledgeable and helpful.

Easy to use and economical.

Jan 29, 2015
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We began using PowerChurch Plus in-house 2009. We switched to PowerChurch Online 3 yrs later. It is very user friendly for membership, event scheduling, and accounting. Its a perfect fit for our church. We still use the in-house version for our preschool. There could be improvements to the Accounts Receivable module, but all in all it is a good affordable software program with excellent support.

The Most for the Money

May 14, 2014
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Our church has used PowerChurch for many years. It is the most full featured for the money that I have found. It's fund accounting capabilities are equal with many that cost five times more. We wanted an all in one package that could do membership, contributions, and accounting and it has worked quite well for our church. I hope that they develop online registration capabilities soon since that is one thing that it lacks.