Zen Planner

Zen Planner

4.5 / 5 15 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Fitness business owners who want to spend their time doing what they love & sharing their passion, rather than sitting behind a desk handling the administrative work required with running a business.


Average Ratings

15 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $80.00/month
  • Pricing Details
    No hidden, start-up or monthly recurring payment fees. No contracts.
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Zen Planner
  • www.zenplanner.com
  • Founded 2006
  • United States

About This Software

Our all-in-one fitness club management software provides everything you need to turn your passion into a successful business. With payment processing & auto-billing, Staff & Member Apps, integrated websites, scheduling, automations, workout tracking, detailed reports & more, you have everything required to grow, nurture & retain your members. Our straightforward pricing includes payment processing & there aren't contracts or hidden fees. We offer free support with a satisfaction rating of 98%.


Features Checklist

  • Attendance Tracking
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Check-In Manager
  • Contract Management
  • Employee Management
  • Event Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Marketing Management
  • Member Portal
  • Membership Management
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)

Product Reviews

Had high hopes, customer service was much to be desired.

5/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: When we started to expand our Taekwon-Do school I had to divide and conquer with my current 2 black belts. They would teach nights I had to be at another location. After reviewing many different membership tracking softwares and website I was torn between MindBody and Zen Planner. I found MindBody lacking in some areas and liked the look of Zen Planner (plus it was compatible with iOS and Android, since we 3 black belts had both.
Once I made my 1st initial payment and took the 1st 2-3 set-up classes it took over a month for customer service to help me upload my students into the database.
At first I tried myself but was just taking way too long. When I asked customer service they told me to send it in a specific format (which I did convert from Excel). When I did send the file, I didn't hear anything for days. Emailed back after 2-3 days and customer service told me it was the wrong format. So I reformatted and sent again.
After that fiasco I didn't feel like paying $70 a month for subpar customer service and cancelled my subscription.

Pros: Lots of options to make online accounting, marketing and attendance easier.

Cons: Maybe too much to choose from. Interface is very confusing at times. Customer service is the worst for the amount you pay per month.

Payroll is terrible - that's a HUGE part of my job that I am now doing manually!!!

3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Switched from MindBody in October and I wish I hadn't. Mind body was unwieldy and cumbersome, but I could do everything I needed. Mind body is easier to use by my clients and it's great for collecting money, but it's TERRIBLE for doing payroll. I have a martial arts school and fitness center. We also do private training. I am now having to figure out private training by hand and I am still struggling to accurately pay my fitness people from NOVEMBER because I can't run the reports I would like. I don't pay out on pre-purchased packages until the classes are used, and we pay our staff on a per person rate, and there is literally NO WAY I can get an accurate report for this. So it's great for managing clients, and the client portal is good, and I can easily collect money, but after that, it's absolutely useless. I've called them about it and I've basically been told that yes, payroll is awful, no, there are no immediate changes to this, but hopefully if enough people complain they'll make it a programming priority.

Vendor Response

by Zen Planner on February 16, 2016

We apologize for the challenges you've experienced with payroll since implementing our solution, Tavia. We understand that you have specific functionality needs for payroll, and unfortunately our solution currently does not meet these needs. Our Product Team is evaluating enhancements to our payroll capability, including paying by appointment, but we do not have an anticipated release date at this point in time. We truly appreciate feedback like this, as feature requests from our current customers help drive product enhancements. Please continue to reach out to our Customer Advocate team with any requests you may have. Our team welcomes this type of feedback, and will work diligently to help you find a solution to any issues you may encounter.

Much better than MINDBODY for a martial arts school.

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I have been using MINDBODY for nearly 2 years and as my dojo started to grow and I wanted to better manage my students, however, I discovered many setbacks with MINDBODY.

A friend told me about Zen Planner and how it was just for martial arts schools and I looked into it and it was a win-win for me.

The interface is great, easier to use on all devices.

Vendor Response

by Zen Planner on December 17, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, Sanjit! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear that Zen Planner has been a great solution for your school. We look forward to continuing to help grow your school in the future.

Zen Planner Is A Score For My Business

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: My business┬┐Capital MMA & Elite Fitness┬┐has been running on Zen Planner's software since 2008. We chose Zen Planner because it was web based, inexpensive and valued customer service. Throughout the years Zen Planner has consistently listened to my personal feedback, and has acted on it to make improvements and upgrades. They are extremely responsive to any issues, and their staff has gone above and beyond to accommodate my needs. I heartily recommend Zen Planner to anyone in need of a professional management software solution for their business.

Easy to learn, amazing customer service, saves me time and money!

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The software seems very complex and difficult at first glance but once you tool around it is easy to use. Every time, multiple times I have sent a help request in I get assistance back within 24 hours sometimes less and even on weekends. I could not be happier with the product and customer service! It saves me time and money everyday! The best part is tracking prospect members and being able to keep data on them and convert them to members. Zen Planner is built for the business owner. Most competing softwares I have seen are more focused on the athlete and tracking workout data where as Zen Planner has focused on the business side with a secondary on athlete tracking. At the end of the day memberships is what matters. Its the only matrix of success and ZP allows me to capture and track prospect members perfectly and track everything on the business side and the athlete side.

May be 5 stars if you can get customer service.

3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Takes a minimumum of 24 hrs to get customer service. They will send an auto email..

They claim to give a free trial .. The free trial is literature.
Also , took 3 months to set up the software with no money coming in.. I had to basically set it all up myself with very little help from them. I became inpatient after 3 months of paying.. Tried to put things in place on my own.
They base there customer service on there convenience, not yours. Still waiting 3 days later resolve an issue , still no real help but auto emails .

Vendor Response

by Zen Planner on April 01, 2015

We apologize for the challenges with implementing and using the Zen Planner solution that you have experienced since signing up in January. Zen Planner takes great pride in our service team's performance and I have done a review of all of your cases since joining. While we have delivered with 98% positive customer satisfaction for the last two years, we certainly aren't resting on our laurels and we take all customer feedback very seriously. I would like to personally apologize that we were unable to meet your service expectations for both method of contact and also cycle time. I appreciate you taking my personal call and you have our commitment to help your business succeed, whatever form that takes. - Brian Lucyk, COO & Chief Customer Advocate - Zen Planner

Product review

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Overall Zen Planner provides outstanding customer service, member tracking (payment/check-in/personal info etc.) I really like the resources/blog page, the ZP ebooks are excellent reads and provides solid tips for running your fitness business.

Would love to see a CrossFit calculator (pound/kilo), w/bumper pix for members to barbell math. Maybe an app?

Vendor Response

by Zen Planner on May 11, 2015

Great suggestions, Gerson! We are continually improving our workout tracking functionality, and will add this to the queue. As for an app...stay tuned! We have a kiosk app coming out soon.

Ok but not great

3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I can do a lot with this software. Apparently does everything that Front Desk offers in their middle tier of pricing - for half the cost. I manage staff payroll and reserving classes, too. I can do analytics and reports. They have always been very nice on the phone (if unable to help.)

On the down side, it's buggy and painfully slow. Plus it doesn't work very well on mobile, either for clients, coaches, or the business owner. My athletes often say they can't reserve class on their phones. Everyone wants to do everything on their phones but ZP does not accommodate this! The workout tracking was painful to use - they keep adding features like this but I wish they would just make the ones they have work better. Their much vaunted software improvements were a disappointing thin skin over the same stuff.

Despite my annoyance I have learned to work around the bugs and stuck with them for many years. I will probably continue to wait for software improvements. Not a ringing endorsement by any means, but the software is functional and the price is right.

Vendor Response

by Zen Planner on April 01, 2015

We appreciate your feedback. We are continually investing in our solution, and have recently launched several notable enhancements focused on mobility, usability and stability. Many of our customers are constantly on the go and need easy-to-use software on their phones and tablets. This is a major focus for us, and you'll see a number of new mobile-friendly features launched in the near future. Additionally, we continue to invest in our Workout Tracking functionality, and recently launched a new-and-improved member experience for viewing workouts, tracking the leaderboard and logging results, all designed specifically for mobile. We would love to get you into our beta testing program, where customers are invited to provide feedback on new functionality before it's launched. Please send an email to product@zenplanner.com for details on joining this beta. - Christina Von Stroh, Director of Product - Zen Planner

Life changing efficiency

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Zen Planner allows me to run the client-management side of a non-profit youth fitness organization with over 130+ members and 45+ volunteers almost entirely by myself with just a few hours per week. Before Zen Planner, I would spend 10-20 hours per week manipulating multiple spreadsheets to manage our members.

Zen Planner

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Great software gives me all of the up to date technology but in a simple easy to use format. That way I get to do what I do best teach classes. Not spend countless hours behind a computer screen.

Amazing software for our dance studio!

5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Zen Planner is just what we could have dreamed of if we designed software just for us. With everything from automatic billing, credit card numbers on file, and reducing our A/R, it's just about perfect. Zen Planner has given us the ability to increase profitability and saves our office staff at least 8-12 hours of work each week. It's well worth the minimal price that we pay for all of the features in the package. I can't say enough great things. Cherry Creek Dance will continue to use Zen Planner forever.