SimplySignUp

YourVirtuoso

4 / 5 39 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Music or dance studio owners


Average Ratings

39 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $29.95/month
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • SimplySignUp
  • www.yourvirtuoso.com/
  • Founded 1985
  • United States

About This Software

Reduce the administrative burden of running your dance studio or music school, providing tools to fill classes, and more.


Spotlight_media_placeholder

Features Checklist

  • Attendance Management
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Class Management
  • Competition Management
  • Instructor Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Online Payments
  • Online Registration
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Recital Management
  • Scheduling
  • Student Management

Product Reviews

Music Together website via Yourvirtuoso

Nov 04, 2016
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Overall ease of use of the back office.
Love the financial reports, enrollment reports, and other reporting options.

Cons: Would love to be able to offer a shopping cart. So families can pay for more than one class (item) in one purchase.
Would also love to see the ability for my families to buy gift certificates in any amount (or in any predetermined amount) with an automatic coupon code being sent to them upon purchase (I realize I can create a coupon code and send it to a family, but wouldn't it be great if they could do it all themselves from their home?)
Is there a way for me to create a set of classes (say, Winter Term classes) and list it on the website without activating it? In other words, without allowing people to register? I'd just like for them to be able to view it.

Overall: I have always been very torn about my experience with yourvirtuoso.

When I first purchased this website template and web services, I loved everything about it. I still am very happy with the back office services (ability to build class offerings for my center, financial reports, coupons, etc.) Overall, things are easy to use.

The biggest disappointment I have with the service is the customer service and the actual website template options. The service, while timely, is usually general and the staff seems short and non-thorough in their answers. This is just my experience.

The template options are just plain out of date. I was told months ago that there would be new, updated and relevant template options coming our way. While I understand that this is quite an undertaking, I feel like we have been given consistently inaccurate information. First, new websites would be available end of summer, then, in September, then, by the very latest, the end of October. Still have not seen a thing. I am so ready to jump ship at this point, but like I said, the back office software is what is keeping me with you. I am disappointed, but have hope!

I hope this review is helpful. These are my opinions based on my experiences.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks for the review & feedback Kayla. I am also frustrated by the delays in releasing the new templates. They are ready to go, but we are being asked to wait by MTLLC to coordinate the release with theirs. There are a couple of options for displaying classes without registration. You can see them by searching the help system, but if they do not meet your needs let me know. The Gift Certificate idea is a great one. I know a few folks have found ways to do it, but integrating it with our registration/payment system would be a big help. I'll put it on our list. Gerry

Your Virtuoso review

Nov 03, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I have used Your Virtuoso for my Kindermusik business for several years and have been fairly happy with it. I use a Wordpress blog for my main website with a link to YV for people to register. I also use the back office to keep track of registrations and payments. As I am not much of a "techie" person, it has been a bit of a learning curve to become familiar with how to set everything up, but Gerry and his staff have been very helpful. I have had some issues with people paying by credit card for their tuition, and odd amounts have been taken out at odd times, but I think that is just something I have been doing incorrectly, and I need to spend some more time learning that part of the setup.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Ann. Let us know if you need help setting up those payment plans. Gerry

Your Virtuoso has been incredibly helpful!

Nov 02, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I have been using Your Virtuoso for a number of years. The back office is incredibly helpful with record keeping, organization, and communication. It is ever evolving in response to users' needs and requests. Jerry Cobley and his team do their best to constantly improve and add needed features. The few things I am not as happy about may already have fixes and I just haven't found them?? They are that I would like to have greater ability to customize the web page graphics, and occasionally attach word docs or photos to group (class or school) emails. As I said, it may be possible I've just missed those. Thank you, Your Virtuoso for helping us get online and having so much worked out so beautifully!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Teresa. Most of the graphics can be customized, so if there is one that you are not sure about, just submit a help request and I will take a look for you. The best way to handle attachments is usually to upload them to google drive and add a link in your email or mailing. Gerry

A learning adventure but well worth it

Nov 02, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: wide range of functions

Cons: not as easy to use as I would like

Overall: I find the features very comprehensive yet it is not as easy to use or as intuitive as I would like. I like the new Help button on the bottom of the pages to review solutions or contact the owner.

Recommendations to other buyers: The marketing/mailing features need to be updated so it functions better. Owners and teachers need to be added to newsletter mailing in weird way. Email is not easy to track what is sent

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks for the review and feedback Jan. We are working on some ideas for the Mailing system, so your thoughts are timely. Gerry

Longtime YourVirtuoso User

Nov 02, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I've been a small business owner for eight years and have been a faithful YourVirtuoso user the whole time. I find it very easy to navigate, the customer service is outstanding (Gerry Cobley is wonderful and always responds in a timely manner to inquiries, if not immediately!), the back office part is user friendly, and my families have never had any problem using the online enrollment system for my classes. I highly recommend Your Virtuoso!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Kelly! Gerry

Good for a Small Studio

Nov 02, 2016
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: No way for clients to print own invoices

Overall: I have been using the product for 5 years and it does what it needs to for me. I would love to have the option for parents to print their own invoices for tax purposes, as this takes up a lot of admin time. Customer support is awesome, Gerry gets back to you almost immediately. I had a problem a little while ago and they were very patient with waiting for some information. Great system for a small studio!

Recommendations to other buyers: Find a way to allow clients to print their own invoices for tax purposes.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 15, 2016

Sherri, Did you try the mailing variable we added. I believe this would allow you to send an automatic email to all your customers annually with the tax information they need. Gerry

Great online enrollment and support.

Oct 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The enrollment feature is great as is the record keeping for payments and balances.

Cons: It took me a little bit of time learning how to negotiate the software.

Overall: My overall experience with YourVirtuoso has been very positive. Although do not take advantage of all the features it offers, I am very pleased with the enrolling options it offers my students. I am a very small studio and so I am gradually learning about some of the feature that could be a benefit to me. The couple of times I have had to correspond with Gerry I have received a helpful and timely response.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Marilee Gerry

Mixed Feelings

Oct 12, 2016
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: From a back end use standpoint, the program has a lot of desirable features and isn't overly difficult to use. From a user standpoint, the product is bulky and I regularly find myself helping customers find what they need on our website. I can't manipulate the template and fix those issues, nor can I have a back end designed to visually match a self-created front end so it's hard to find a solution to the user issues. I do like the variety of choices in the mailing feature but the constant need to save and then revisit material is time consuming and it is difficult to make it visually stimulating. The reporting, though, is excellent.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Colleen, I do hope the new templates provide the customer experience you are looking for when they are released. Let me know, Gerry

Past User Review

Oct 12, 2016
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: That you can do registration and payment processing all in one place

Cons: Transferring students always made the financial portion incorrect, having payment reports that were unreliable, not being able to get a proper Canadian Tax Report for Income tax purposes, That families had to see a yearly total when they registered even though we only charge per month.

Overall: I have just recently left YV as I could not get the features I was looking for. Families were seeing the amount for the year when they only had to pay monthly, when we moved students from one class to another, the financial portion went bizarre, and there were Canadian Tax reports that I asked for several times and never received. Customer support was not satisfactory for me. YV DID get me to a level with a business that was wonderful, but I have definitely outgrown it.

Recommendations to other buyers: Customer service needs to be improved. My new provider has phone support M-F, 9am-6pm. If we call, they answer and walk us thru any issues. They e-mail support even more than that, and you get a response within 30 minutes. YV needs to aim for that.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 15, 2016

Louise, I am sorry we could not meet your needs. I had hoped that the special mailing variable we created would provide a good solution to your Canadian Tax situation. I understand the trade off between disclosing the total amount to be paid over the year vs potential sticker shock, and we were able to only display the monthly amount up to the final payment checkout. We do respond within 24hrs to support requests, and try to exceed that target whenever possible. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and good luck with your continued growth. Gerry

Your Virtuoso

Oct 11, 2016
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: It's a great product overall. I just wish they had more flexibility. There are too many presets. Things may be different with the updated version.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Dee. There certainly are a ton more features, website templates (mobile friendly) and options for adding images etc. in the latest Version 3. Let me know if you want to discuss upgrading. The extra $10 is well worth it, and we can transfer all your data for you. Gerry

Good if you your system matches theirs

Oct 11, 2016
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Automatic withdrawal, price

Cons: Not always user friendly. Takes a while to receive the payment.

Overall: I really like having an automatic system but I find myself having to re-do things over and over instead of being able to copy and paste. Having parents reenroll seasonally when I teach continually throughout the year is hard because schedules change.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Gwendolyn, I'll email you to follow up. You do not have to use a seasonal semester model, and sessions can be cloned. I would love to understand your business model so I can recommend the best way to set up YourVirtuoso for you. Thanks, Gerry

Great system

Oct 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Great system and fast tech support! I've been using Your Virtuous for almost 10 years now and love it!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Christie. Gerry

Virtuoso review

Oct 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Cons: It takes a week to two weeks to get payments deposited into our bank account. Really slow for cashflow.

Overall: We love Virtuoso because we can keep track of all of our students, which classes they are in, and payments all in one place. We can even have our families on auto pay!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Erica. I'm always looking for ways to speed up that settlement process, but so far I have only found solutions that would be much higher fees - I'll keep looking :-) Gerry

I'm organized!

Oct 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Once you know the program it's very easy and quick to set up classes, input family data, do specific mailings, figure out who has a balance due!

Overall: Your Virtuoso has been my "business office" since they first came out. I love it. Gerry is helpful and open to feedback. Before YV I was so disorganized and swamped with all the management stuff...to tears. Now I have time to teach more classes. Definitely pays for itself.

Recommendations to other buyers: take the time to get to know this software. As with any program there are details that will cost you time until you figure it out.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Yvette! Gerry

Great help for my business

Oct 11, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: easy to use
reliable

Cons: not so much up to date

Overall: Your virtuoso is running my business website and doing a great job. through them our costumers get easy acces to their information on-line and can make changes payments and more.
for me as an owner it is a great way to communicate with my costumers, collect money and run reports
it makes life so easy !

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks Shay, I am waiting impatiently for the release of the updated templates too! Gerry

We love Your Virtuoso

Oct 07, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: After ten+ years of paying a developer to manage our website we started using Your Virtuoso. What a savings in time and money! We can make instant changes to our teacher bios instead of saving up enough changes for our developer's 15 minute minimum. There's a make-up class feature built in too which is great because we used to pay for another make-up scheduling website in addition to our regular website.

The accounting portion works really well for tracking different types of tuition and enrollments - easy peasy! I also love that I don't have to do a vendor credit card security class every year as Your Virtuoso is in charge of that portion as well and I no longer have to hire my former web-developer every year to make sure we're compliant.

It does take a little time to figure out the system but once you get used to it, it makes running a Music Together center a breeze! Your Virtuoso is not custom designed to each center's specific needs but the overall application and features makes the service EXCELLENT value. I'm so glad I switched to Your Virtuoso.

I can't imagine using any other service!

Oct 07, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use, many features

Overall: I have been using Your Virtuoso for many years, and it just keeps getting better and better. Gerry is very prompt in helping with any issues or questions I have. My music business has a beautiful website that takes care of all of my needs from providing information to prospective families, to accepting card payments, to keeping track of tax information (absolutely invaluable at tax time!). There are so many features to the website---too many to list. It is a great value for what is provided. I cannot imagine finding any other service that would provide all of this in one place. I am a happy customer since 2007! Thank you!!!

Recommendations to other buyers: Don't hesitate to purchase

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Heidi, You made my day! Gerry

Long Time User

Oct 07, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I have loved having a system to help keep me organized, not just for the current month or year, but for the long term. I have used Your Virtuoso for years and I really appreciate the way I can look back and see what trends have been in my business in the long term. Very helpful in running a business. I have never used the web site feature as I already had one, but I have used the enrollment portion and then the class lists. Very helpful and amazing to be able to go back and the different functions to track trends in my business.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Kim, Have you checked out the website templates in Version 3? The upgrade might be worth it if it saves you a bunch of time and hosting $ to keep your current site up to date? Gerry

So much more than just a website!

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It does almost everything, website, enrollments, billing, make ups, mailings.

Cons: I wish the newsletters could have good formatting (like Constant Contact)

Overall: I have been using Your Virtuoso for 10 years and love it. The flexibility it provides is just what I need. I love that I can set up billing, send out emails/newsletters and run all sorts of reports. From attendance, to income reports for tax forms, bank deposits, and more, it has saved me so much time every month. It is great that parents can access class information, make payments, schedule make ups, preview classes and that saves a lot of time as well. All my questions and any issues/concerns that come are promptly answered as well.

Recommendations to other buyers: nope

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Cathy! If you want to forward me your favorite newsletter format I'll see what we can do ;-) Gerry

Gracenote Family Music

Oct 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Overall, my experience with YourVirtuoso is positive. The value for the money is nice, but I have some trouble using the administrative site and several customers jave complained about how complicated it is to register on the website.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks for the review Heather. I'll see what can be done on the family registration side, but we do need more that basic family info to get them enrolled. Any suggestions would be welcome of course. Gerry

Lyrical Children's review

Oct 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The back end is pretty extensive for current classes running and current families.

Cons: There is a definite learning curve for those that are not computer literate

Overall: I anxiously await the updated site as I feel the current templates are very outdated. My families find the site difficult and confusing to navigate. The back end for the most part is fine now that I have been using it for a while. I do wish there was more search abilities for the prospective families. I also feel frustrated with the email marketing limitations since I do not know html.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Marie, Do you have some specific suggestions on prospect search? The advance find lets you specify name, email and last contact date - do you need phone perhaps? Regards, Gerry

Quality studio program st an affordable price

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There are many capabilities that I like but most of all the ability to target customers based on certain criteria & print reports in a flash.

Cons: I would like some fresh new templates to choose from for the home page and be able to restore a session if I accidentally deleted it. ¿¿¿¿

Overall: I have been using Your Virtuoso for approximately 13 years. I have been very pleased with its many accounting, Email and personalized functions. It's a quality program & service for the financial investment. The customer service is excellent. They always respond very promptly to my questions.

Recommendations to other buyers: No

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Dana. Looking at new template options. Do you have a style/example you like? Gerry

Love YourVirtuoso

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It does what I need for my business - online enrollments, automatic payments, class lists and attendance, scheduled emails, and keeps all my records as well as provides a good professional website

Cons: It can be tricky to learn how to use

Overall: I have used YourVirtuoso since I opened my studio in 2007. After taking the time to learn the system it has been wonderful for me. Customer service is prompt and professional when I have a question. It takes care of registering students, collecting automatic payments, scheduling and sending emails, and all my record keeping. It may take a little time to become familiar with the system, but the help is there and I have found it to be a great value. I never worry about it doing the job I need to make my business function!

Recommendations to other buyers: Take the time to read and follow the helps and use the customer service email and phone # when needed and it is great!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Tricia!

Quick review of YourVirtuoso

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Focus on Kindermusik specifics

Cons: Basic level is not adaptable to my specifics. I know that I can upgrade, but the cost is a concern.

Overall: I have used the basic level of YourVirtuoso for many years. It was a great way to transition from old record keeping to the specific business online management that I really needed. I've appreciated the responsiveness of Gerry and the team throughout my time with YV.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Rebecca! Understand the cost issue, but at $29.95 I still believe it pays for itself in no time ;-) Gerry

Rating YourVirtuoso

Oct 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: YV doesn't have all the "Flashiness" that others in my field have w/their websites, but the Functionality of it is great. I use YV every single day, and appreciate the customer support!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Joan

Your Virtuoso is a Solid Choice

Oct 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: features
online registration
online makeup scheduling
online preview scheduling
setup for automated payments

Cons: emails often get blocked when sent through Your Virtuoso
need a more customizable registration form and don't like the screen and pdf enrollment confirmation that parents get when they register online themselves

Overall: I have used Your Virtuoso for a number of years as the owner of a Kindermusik Studio ranging in size between 200 and 300 students typically. I was elated when Your Virtuoso was originally released. It immediately made my life (and especially taking student registrations) tons easier. Suddenly I had registrations coming in overnight, without my having to do anything in terms of entering or even processing them. I find the account tracking, reports, rosters, and most of the registration components to be incredibly useful and have stayed with Your Virtuoso all these years as a result. It is a solid choice for a reasonable price, and I would certainly recommend that Kindermusik studios give it a look. I understand that the newest version also allows for online registration for makeups and even preview classes, additional features that I think are incredibly useful. My main issues with Your Virtuoso are that we often have problems with our emails being blocked since they show as being sent by Your Virtuoso rather than directly from us. I also needed a more customizable registration form over time as well as a different layout for the screens that parents see when they login.

Recommendations to other buyers: I would LOVE if it connected to Trello.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Joy, Glad YourVirtuoso is simplifying things for you. Any suggestions on the confirmation pages? We can change those as long as it works for everyone. Email deliverability is a constant challenge of course. Are there particular customers that have problems? The pages the parents see are much better, mobile friendly, and more customizable in the new Version 3 if you wanted to look at upgrading? Thanks again, Gerry

YourVirtuoso for Kindermusij

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I have used yourvirtuoso for my independent Kindermusik business for several years. I would say customer support is the greatest feature. They respond immediately to any questions I have had.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks so much Rebecca. Gerry

It's ok but could use improvements

Oct 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I think the overall functionality is ok. It's sometimes hard to find what I'm looking for but the customer service is pretty good. There are several things that could be improved upon like different search queries, the ability to inactivate a location or teacher without having to delete them (thus losing all the information and data from that location) and having more up to date templates and email formats. Music Together has changed their whole look and there are no available website templates to reflect that which puts our business behind the times as. I think the websites themselves are not so intuitive and have had several comments from families saying they can't find what they are looking for. Especially when it comes to finding a specific class. It would be MUCH better if there was a way to list classes by location on the schedule page rather than have them all mixed up with some classes at a location listed at the top, then classes at a different location followed by more classes at the first location etc. I think people often miss all the options for locations because they assume all the classes in one location to be listed together. Yes, I know they can search by location, but from what I hear, most people just go directly to the schedule page. Your Virtuoso is ok but could be awesome with some updates! The customer service is prompt and very helpful when needed so they get extra points for that.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Hi Jessica, Thanks for the review and feedback. Those were such good suggestions many of them are already in place! Two new MTLLC templates are done, and just waiting for MTLLC to launch. You can make a location inactive under Setup/Locations. We don't have that for teachers at this time however. The last major release also changed the way the schedule displays for larger multi-location centers such as yours. The list can now be broken up by location if you enable that in MyInfo/Preferences. Sorry if that was not clear in the release notes. Thanks, Gerry

Your Virtuoso - great software for music teachers

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use, dependable, reports contain the info we need, and class rosters are exactly what we require.

Cons: It doesn't pro-rate fees automatically. For example, when a student registers week #4 of our 14-week session I have to take out time to do a manual credit adjustment requiring several time-consuming steps. I look less professional when I have to explain to the new parent how we will refund their credit card after they pay in full. We've lost a few students over the years during the multiple emails back and forth trying to gain their trust that we really will put a credit of $48 back into their credit card.

Overall: We've used Your Virtuoso for 9 years and couldn't operate our business as easily or successfully without it. We've had very few problems over the years but when we have, support staff was quick to resolve issues (mostly user related!).

Recommendations to other buyers: We'd love to see the programmers fix this simple problem of calculating pro-rated $ amounts for us!

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 07, 2016

Thanks for the great review Jeannie, and the feedback on pro-rating. We do have automatic prorates for monthly (subscription) payment plans, but I suspect you are looking for a plan that is paid "Up Front" that would prorate based on which week of the semester it is. It's on our list! Thanks, Gerry

Makes the business easier

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to keep records for your business

Cons: Not user friendly for photos

Overall: I love the fact that YV makes the business part easier so I can concentrate to teach. However, I would love to see YV be more user friendly, adding pictures, videos and etc. these items just need to be much easier.

Recommendations to other buyers: I would love to see more freedom in how the pages look.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Michele, I hope the new help widget and help documents can be useful in getting those pictures updated. I understand it is a multi step process that can have complications with image size etc. I'll take a look at the process and see if there are ways to streamline it. Gerry

Good but needs tweaking

Oct 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Good but needs tweaking. Recently I've had many families tell me they cannot find my schedule on the website I also see that it is difficult to view all classes from the website just to browse to see where classes are offered and on what day even if the classes are full. I've also had several instances where at the website allowed 13 children to be registered in a class where the default maximum was set for 12. In those instances I've had to call those families and tell them that they was a glitch with the website and that we are only allowed a maximum of 12 children per class. I've also tried to update my biography information and teacher information but can't seem to find a way to make that happen. I wanted to edit information for one of my teachers but also could not get the edit button to work.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks for the review Susan. We are making a change soon to make sure the class list shows even earlier in the typical browsing flow. That should remove any difficulty there. That 1 extra in class question comes up from time to time, and it is a trade off we had to make when a family with 2 kids wants to enroll in a class with one open spot. The feedback we have to date is that most (but not all) educators would prefer to get the 2 enrollments. Let me know if the bio editing is still an issue. It should not be a problem unless, perhaps, you were pasting from a MS Word document which can cause HTML style conflicts. Thanks again, Gerry

Your Virtuoso Review from Mountain Song Music Studio, Inc.

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of adding class semesters, schedules, coupon codes.

Cons: Needing to add "required field" for families who do not enter phone/address when creating account. I also run two summer semesters and I cannot create a separate Summer Session I and Summer Session II button for this.

Overall: Overall I have had a very good experience with YourVirtuoso. The website is easy to use, even for someone like me who isn't that tech savvy. I can add class semesters/schedules easily, I can see family account info, class rosters and make switches on the back end if necessary. My teachers can be included on automatic communications which makes things easier. The customer service has been improving in terms of length of time of response and they are open to suggestions and feedback. Families generally have an easy time navigating the site, finding class schedules, registration, demo classes. I really like the online make up scheduler for ease with make up classes. There are quite a few functions that I have not used yet so I am still learning. Overall it's been a really great experience and I highly recommend it.

Recommendations to other buyers: Customer service doesn't always respond in the same day - they are getting better though. Also sometimes the website is being updated so access is sometimes limited (doesn't happen very often), I don't think I always get prior alerts about this.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 06, 2016

Thanks Jane. We are looking at ways to allow more flexibility with Session icons. I'll let you know. Gerry

Great service!

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use and great tech support.

Cons: Kindermusik no longer uses it as one of their main reporting softwares. They developed their own in house version. This complicates things a bit, but not enough to stop using YV!

Overall: I have used Your Virtuoso for many years. It is an invaluable part of my studio bookkeeping. I find it easy to set up and schedule my classes and great for keeping up with reports, attendance, and finances. My customers also find Your Virtuoso easy to use. Most of them use it for their online payments for my studio classes. Registrations are straightforward and payments are simple. Whether for an extended studio or Kindermusik only, I highly recommend Your Viruoso!

Recommendations to other buyers: No. Super service.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 06, 2016

Thanks so much for the great review Pam. We really appreciate it. Gerry

Not bad but needs improvements

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ability to clone sessions. Fairly easy to use. Price point is great.

Cons: Public site looks incredibly outdated - I would say by 15 plus years.
Lack of certain features as previously explained: cannot adjust font sizes, system times out/freezes, not all photos work, client access to print receipts/statement/invoice with tax shown.

Overall: I would like to see a few upgrades to YV. While I do think it is a good program I think it is missing some key features. In particular, you used to be able to adjust the font size in emails. That feature disappeared a year or two ago and has never returned. This seems like a basic function that should never have been removed. I also find that when I am writing a lengthy newsletter, the system tends to time out and freeze. It doesn't not auto save and on numerous occasions I have had to rewrite a newsletter 3 times due to this happening. I don't think it should time out when I am working in the program. I've also had issues with photos. Suddenly photos that I have uploaded and saved and previously used turn up as question marks in my emails - even when I try to re-upload them. The system does not give me a reason why they are not working and I can view them in my saved photos. So this is very strange.

An additional feature I would like to see is the client being able to print off their own invoice, receipt or statement that also shows tax amount when they access their accounts.

And finally I would like to see some improvements to the Kindermusik public site templates. They are extremely outdated looking. The price point is great for YV which is why I continue to use it. However I think it's past due time to make it look fresh and and hip.

Recommendations to other buyers: I already stated everything

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 06, 2016

Mandi, Thanks for the review. You have some great specifics there, and I am going to add them to the feature request area on the support site. I don't know if you reported that image issue, but I suspect it is a known issue that we fixed a few months ago. It affected iOS mail and caused images to not load due to security settings needed for those mail clients. Send us some suggestions for websites you like - we are periodically looking for new template ideas. Gerry

Great product for registrations and "back office" detail.

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It has become much easier to use since I first started using the product. The upgrades have always been an improvement.

Cons: No specific cons for me. When I have any issue, I contact the support available and have always had success. They have even done the steps necessary to add "buttons" or videos to a page for me since I am not that technical.

Overall: I have been using YV for several years now. The initial use and set up took some time, but I know the product well and probably don't even utilize all that it has to offer. Whenever I have had any issue, I have always gotten a quick response.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 06, 2016

Thanks Nancy!

Great for beginners!!

Oct 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I had never run a business and I was not computer literate when I began using Your Virtuoso. The initial set up of my website was a bit of a "nail-biter" for a nervous person like me, but the instructions were clear and concise. What I really love is the technical support that I receive. If I ever have a problem I just send a message and it is answered almost immediately. I would recommend your Virtuoso to anyone whether you are experienced or not. It has helped make running a business a less daunting experience.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 06, 2016

Thanks Ann! Glad we were able to make some of the challenges of starting/running your own studio business more manageable. Gerry

Your Virtuoso

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very inexpensive and does a good job of providing reports and credit card processing services.

Cons: Very limited on presentation of website.

Overall: I have been with YourVirtuoso for 8 years now. It has undergone many improvements and upgrades which has helped to make it easy to use. The structure is somewhat limited, however for price you can't beat it. YourVirtuoso handles all of the back office things as well as providing reports etc that help you run your business better.

Recommendations to other buyers: Would recommend, particularly to help with your book keeping.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 06, 2016

Thanks Rachel. Glad you are enjoying the features of YourVirtuoso. If you have some nice website designs you have seen, please feel free to contact us through the help system and provide a few links. We periodically do template updates and would love to know what you are looking for. Regards, Gerry

YV review from take note

Oct 06, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: For the most part I've been very happy with YV. There are some things I wish it had or would be easier to do. The price is reasonable.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on October 06, 2016

Thanks for the review Jessica. If you want to provide some details on features you would like to see, the new support site has a feature request area at: https://yourvirtuoso.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/sections/205702007-Feature-Requests Gerry

A great solution. All in one at a great price

Dec 09, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Includes website, and a merchant account at no extra charge.
Everything updates automatically whenever we add a class, session etc.
Takes the grunt work out of managing the studio.
Replaces the need for Constant Contact too.
Automatically processes payments every month (or whenever they are due)

Cons: Doesn't handle costumes yet, but it is coming soon I think

Overall: The most complete solution I have seen. It just lets us get on with the fun and important stuff like the teaching and the marketing.

Vendor Response

by SimplySignUp on November 08, 2016

Thanks, Gerry