Who Uses This Software?

Kindful serves nonprofits with a variety of missions, who are seeking simpler workflows and reduced redundancy. These organizations believe in the power of online connections and fundraising.


Average Ratings

29 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $100.00/month
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • Kindful
  • www.kindful.com/
  • Founded 2011
  • United States

About This Software

Kindful is a cloud-based nonprofit software platform optimizing fundraising & donor relationships. Kindful does all of this without the gimmick of limitations. Kindful helps your organization increase fundraising effectiveness through all channels while providing tools that assist you in building stronger relationships with your support base. As a hosted solution Kindful provides a secure software platform accessible anytime & anywhere you have an internet connection.


Features Checklist

  • Campaign Management
  • Donation Tracking
  • Donor Database
  • Event Management
  • Gift Management
  • Grant Management
  • In-Kind Donations
  • Matching Donations
  • Mobile Donations
  • Online Donations
  • Pledge Management
  • Receipts / Statements
  • Recurring Donations
  • Volunteer Management

Product Reviews

Getting better all the time.

Aug 31, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: User friendly, cost effective, great customer service. Chris Lovett (Kindful) has been responsive and very quick to help. Couldn't be more pleased.

Cons: Still in the development stages with a few kinks to iron out.

Overall: I think that Kindful is an excellent product for the money. They still have some things to work out. It's a new product. I have worked with the Cadillac of databases. (No names) BUT, even though it had a lot more ability to pull out specifically what you wanted....unless you were an expert user it was so complex that most people got invalid data. What I like about Kindful is, it's very cost effective and user friendly. There customer service is super quick to respond and help. For smaller non-profits I don't think you can beat it. I look forward to watching it grow and develop.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on September 01, 2016

Thanks so much, Terri. We are so glad you appreciate Kindful's strengths and appreciate even more your willingness to help us improve. Expect to hear from our Customer Success team to gather more specific feedback on the features that would make your reporting experience the "Tesla of databases." ;-) Thank you for letting us serve you. Kindly, Annie

With Kindful, I finally love my CRM

Jan 28, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We used to use Salesforce for our CRM. However, it's built for enterprise and is bulky, hard to setup, and confusing to use. Moving to Kindful was a welcome difference, and well worth the added cost.

Kindful tracks all our donors and contacts. It syncs swimmingly with MailChimp (our email marketing tool); directly from within Kindful we can see all our donors, what emails they've opened, when they've given or reached out to us, and so much more.
Even better than their great approach to donor management, they have a wealth of additional features for online fundraising. We had previously been using Classy for peer to peer fundraising (like when you do a 5k run and people can set up their own pages to fundraise on), and Kindful does all that easily, at no extra charge. They process cards through PayPal or Stripe (we use Stripe), and you only pay Stripe's normal fee (2.9% + $0.30 per transaction). Kindful also manages event registration and ticketing. They also have donation widgets you can embed on your website, for both one time and recurring donations.

Snailers! This feature alone is half the reason we switched. You can easily set up mail merge templates and print snail mail for sending. We like to do an end of year letter every year thanking our supporters for their help, and summarizing what they gave. This has never been easy to do, but now is a simple couple clicks in Kindful. Create a template, then choose which donors you want to use, and hit Print. They all come out correctly formatted per donor.

Kindful has eliminated so much manual labor and annoying work we used to have to do. Having all event date, online fundraising, and peer to peer fundraising in a single place, and seeing it seamlessly sync to Quickbooks Online for accounting- it's beautiful.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on January 28, 2016

Thanks Kyle! We're so excited to have Because of Ezra on our team! Keep up the good work and let us know how we can help you grow! - The Kindful Team

unhappy with this database, big mistake for our non-profit

Dec 03, 2015
1/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Marty in technical support was very nice. The system just cannot meet our needs. It is integrated with Network for Good but most of our donors are snail mail and not online. The import function to add new donors never worked for us. It has been over two months and my direct mail donors still are not in the system. The automated search for donors to thank never worked, had to be tricked into searching every day. Too expensive of a database for what it delivers. Asked for my account to be canceled and refunded a month ago and still waiting... buyer beware

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 11, 2015

We're very sorry you had negative experience with Kindful. Unfortunately, the self import too is not for every organization, which is why we recommended the custom import for your data during our initial conversations. We also want to note that we made every effort to remedy your situation by offering this custom import free of charge, providing complimentary one-on-one support through Marty, and offering you a refund. We have many clients who use Kindful to meet all their donor management needs, but deeply regret that Kindful was not the right solution for you. We wish you best of luck in finding a system that fits your needs.

Great product with great potential

Aug 25, 2015
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I love the ease, feel and capabilities of Kindful that I have used so far. There are some minor improvements that need to made with the software in general but I am sure over time and as they continue to develop and improve they will do that. Most of it have to do with the aesthetics of the program. But as for what it allow you to do with donor management and tracking, online giving and social media campaigns, it is wonderful. And the customer service is great They are always so helpful and quick to respond and that is always appreciated when you are trying to figure something out or get a specific type of information. Great job Kindful. We look forward to staying with you for years to come and seeing how you continue to grow and expand for your users.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 03, 2015

Thanks Jenna! We love being part of your team and are always looking for ways to improve Kindful for all our customers - your feedback is valuable! Please continue to keep us updated on your experience. - The Kindful Team

Give Kindful a try!

Aug 20, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I had a dream and didn't know where to start. Kindful helped point me in the right direction to get Colors Say up and running. The personal attention I received was informative, positive, and encouraging. They will help you grow your dream and tailor it to your needs.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 21, 2015

Thanks for your review, Kaci! We're honored to play a small role in making your dreams a reality! Continue to keep us updated on your experience and let us know if there's anything else we can do to help you grow! - The Kindful Team

After 7 Months with Kindful, we pulled the plug. Be cautious!

Aug 11, 2015
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The customer support team was fairly prompt in replying, but often they weren't on the same page. Not only that but we were being strung along for much of the time we were working with them. We were often promised that if they received a file, that it would be up in no time. After 7 months we were done with the broken promises.

We were originally attracted to Kindful because of the ease of use and because it appeared to take something complicated (which some donor management systems can be) and make it simple enough for anyone in the organization to use. They offered support, and unlimited users which were a plus. Not only that but we were promised from the time of uploading our previous database and quickbook files, that it would be a month max before we were online and running.

Unfortunately, we did not received what was promised. We were asked multiple times for different files and tweaks to the files and it was clear that we were not a priority for the staff. After back and forth of needing different files for 6 MONTHS, we gave an ultimatum that we would need to have the system up and running by the end of the 7 month or else we would need to find another provider. By the 7th month, we were still promised it was almost ready (something they had been promising since the 3rd month that we had been paying for the service). In the end, the system was never finished and we were never fully functional. We filed a complaint with the better business bureau. Kindful responded with a timeline that made it look like they were diligent. We responded with scores of emails that left no doubt they had dropped the ball and there has been no reply since then. We are a small non profit with basic and general methods of receipting. We use Quickbooks but Kindful required multiple practices which forced us to create work arounds simply to use some of the methods we have used before. We are all about change, but when the new methods require more work, we tend to want to keep it simple and efficient. Kindful made some things easier while making other things harder.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 17, 2015

Kindful is not looking to throw stones here. While we certainly would have preferred a different outcome in this situation, and believe we had finally arrived at one before World Link decided to cancel, we can provide a timeline to show all the interruptions faced. There was a longer than anticipated timeline we experienced during this process, and we spent many times waiting on necessary information from the organization at multiple times throughout the process; this review fails to mention the countless calls we took and after-hours support we provided. While this process has taken longer than expected on both sides, we worked diligently during business hours and even overtime for World Link. Some of these discussions happened prior to weekends and resumed the following week, as well as after organization representative's weeks away for missionary work. World Link successfully used Kindful's software to receive donations and automatically thank those donors repeatedly.

Awesome Donor Management from a Fantastic Staff

Dec 18, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: These guys know how to get done what you need. They are helpful and willing to go out of the way to make their product fit your organization. Support responds instantly!

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 03, 2015

Thanks for your review, Scott! We love working with you and certainly value your feedback. Please keep us updated on your progress and let us know if there's anything we can do to help you grow even more! - The Kindful Team