Who Uses This Software?

TOPS is designed for community association management, specifically organizations managing condominiums and HOAs.


Average Ratings

44 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Windows
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • TOPS Software
  • www.tops-one.com/one
  • Founded 1985
  • United States

About This Software

TOPS [ONE] is a fully web-based platform for community association management. For Management Companies and Self-Managed Communities, TOPS [ONE] provides an all-in-one management experience. Combine your portfolio, accounting, management and automation tools into an All-in-[ONE] solution that just works for you!


Features Checklist

  • Calendar Management
  • Committee Management
  • Contact Management
  • Content Management
  • Document Management
  • Member Communities
  • Member Directory
  • Membership Management
  • Online Payment Processing
  • Owner Management
  • Property Database

Product Reviews

Not stable, unreliable

Jul 21, 2016
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The software has so much potential.

Cons: The desktop version is written in an antiquated software language which limited many of the data fields. The on-line version is severely limited on features.

Overall: We purchased TOPS software almost a year ago and from day one the software has been unstable. We were sold on features that don't work, i.e. iPhone app that is no long supported, labeling pictures with date stamp or GPS data, etc. Everyone at their company has a different way of accomplishing or doing things, so every time you call, you get a different answer. TOPS GO is very unstable, i.e. can't upload pictures, can't save GPS tagging, etc.

Recommendations to other buyers: A total waste of money, I would NEVER recommend this product.

Vendor Response

by TOPS Software on July 21, 2016

Hi Thomas, I am so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your TOPS experience. I appreciate you taking the time to spell out your issues, and I wanted to address them in kind: 1) The iPhone app is no longer supported because we updated to GO 2.0, a device independent web app. Every client on the old version got a free upgrade to this version. 2) GPS encoding and time stamps for images are stored in our database, not in the image metadata. There are many apps you can get on your phone if you want it to store in the actual picture file. 3) Because of the open structure of TOPS, there is more than one way to do just about every function. I have reached out to Stefanie, your Account Exec to call you to develop an action plan to resolve any issues you continue to have. I also recommend you take a new look at TOPS [ONE], our brand new platform for accounting and management. It is very feature robust and sports a modern interface. Andrea Drennen, Marketing Manager

Fantastic for HOA Management

Jul 23, 2014
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: When I started my company 21 years ago, I used AccPac to implement the accounting for the homeowner associations my company managed. I found AccPac to be expensive and not tailored to HOA Management. Their Representative introduced me to Sage, but it didn't really fit my needs. I started using TOPS in May 2008, and was amazed at how easily it flows. I also appreciated how they offered different modules so I could buy only what I needed. TOPS Professional is more streamlined, and more user friendly than what I had been using. I am extremely happy that it is tailored for HOA Management. The support team is fantastic! The only negative for me is I could not get the bank balances properly reconciled, and therefore I have continued to use Quicken for printing checks, scheduling EFT payments, and reconciling the bank statements. An additional step, but also a good check & balance system. Also, I prefer Quicken's check register printouts versus the TOPS check register that prints after entering the checks on AP.

Vendor Response

by TOPS Software on July 23, 2014

Vicki, thanks so much for the positive feedback! I am very interested in your comments about reconciliation and report formats. I have asked one of our best accounting specialists, Nancy Marry to connect with you and figure out what your needs are and what we can do to help meet them. Feel free to email me at andread@topssoft.com if you have any questions. - Andrea Drennen, Marketing Manager

TOPS HOA management software

Jul 17, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The integration from my previous software to TOPS went very well with their data conversion. The product is very easy to use and much easier to navigate to get to the function that you want than with my previous software, Asyst Data Group. I really like their violation letter tracking and generating module with the only negative being that you cannot print out just a list of homeowners that are at the fine and hearing stage. I love their work order module with the ability to track work orders by tenant. Entering and printing or emailing the work order is so easy. Being in California, I was worried about customer support from Florida but they have extended their support hours to cover the west coast. Negatives ..I wish the Expense GL printed on the vendor checks and that when you are entering invoices in the Accounts Payable module that there was a quick button to get to the payment history for the vendor you are entering an invoice for rather than having to go back to look up that vendor on a separate screen. The good news is that they are constantly listening to input from users and try to add functionality if enough users request changes. I can't say enough good things about them. They really have been a great help any time I need them!

TOPS is TOPS!

Jul 17, 2014
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: TOPS Software is incredibly industry specific. The developers have truly tapped into what is needed to be an organized and top notch Property Manager. TOPS allows them to handle the myriad of details and projects with ease.

Banyan/GRS Merger

Jun 12, 2014
5/5
Overall

Comments: Business is great in Palm Beach County and we are having growing pains. We are in the process of merging Banyan Property Management and GRS Management Associates. Both companies were each managing over 100 communities prior to the merger. Now we have integrated two TOPS installations onto one IT platform. The folks at TOPS have been consistently helpful every step of the way. Teri's technical support team are great folks. Each team member is knowledgeable and patient. Teri's team is truly one of the best technical support groups I have worked with over the course of 25 years in the IT industry. Thanks guys. You are the best!

Vendor Response

by TOPS Software on July 23, 2014

Jennifer, thank you so much for sharing your story! Integrating two companies into one is a nightmare by anyone's standards and I am so happy that the process has gone (relatively) smoothly for you. I can't help but agree that the TOPS support team are secret superheroes, hiding their capes in a drawer by their desk!

TOPS SUPPORT

Jun 11, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have been a customer since 2009, and recently decided to move our data to another server. We would not have done this effectively without the help of TOPS support. They has gone out of their way to make sure this is done correctly. Anytime that I have issues or need an answer, they have been great to communicate with. Tops is always trying to improve their service, and I have seen that through the years. TOPS has made some changes to their support service and it is a great change so far. I would highly recommend TOPS as their property management software. Please keep up the positive changes.

Vendor Response

by TOPS Software on June 11, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words Treva! It's great to hear that our efforts to improve our service are having a positive effect. For more on recent changes to TOPS support, watch the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAXt-fRpR4o