Who Uses This Software?

Kindful serves nonprofits with a variety of missions, who are seeking simpler workflows and reduced redundancy. These organizations believe in the power of online connections and fundraising.


Average Ratings

37 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $100.00/month
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • Kindful
  • www.kindful.com/
  • Founded 2011
  • United States

About Kindful

Kindful is a cloud-based nonprofit software platform optimizing fundraising & donor relationships. Kindful does all of this without the gimmick of limitations. Kindful helps your organization increase fundraising effectiveness through all channels while providing tools that assist you in building stronger relationships with your support base. As a hosted solution Kindful provides a secure software platform accessible anytime & anywhere you have an internet connection.


Kindful Features

  • Campaign Management
  • Donation Tracking
  • Donor Database
  • Event Management
  • Gift Management
  • Grant Management
  • In-Kind Donations
  • Matching Donations
  • Mobile Donations
  • Online Donations
  • Pledge Management
  • Receipts / Statements
  • Recurring Donations
  • Volunteer Management

Kindful Reviews

Very positive and make the tedium more pleasant

Sep 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like being able to filter searches, add notes, upload documents. I think it has a friendly and colorful interface which is nice when you're staring at it all day.

Cons: I wish there was a section on a profile to allow for more points of contact with individual besides just note section. Like volunteer, visited, phone call, email, and space for notes in each point of contact.

Kindful's easy to navigate platform has been fantastic for our organization to maintain clean data.

Aug 30, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The Kindful software is the most user friendly donor database I have encountered. Anyone can use this software and set it for their needs.

Cons: Kindful is excellent for less computer savvy users but can be frustrating for more computer literate users. There have been times when setting up campaign landing pages or forms that I would like to be able to edit the HTML but this is not an option. I would also like to be able tp have more if/and statements when running reports.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 31, 2017

Hi, Tiffany! Thanks for giving Kindful a review! It sounds like we share a love for clean data and user-friendliness, and it brings us joy to hear you've been able to navigate the software easily and efficiently. We appreciate your feedback about the depth of options. It's a fine line to make software easy to use while also giving flexibility to advanced users. In our quest to make Kindful a great solution for all types of users. this feedback is super appreciated! I'll pass it along to our product designers and try to promote the flexibility you seek. Thanks again for a stellar review! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

Kindful is very user-friendly for a small, non-profit, non-technical staff.

Aug 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is designed to serve the needs of non-profits. It has been developed to balance the needs of the daily user and the required reporting for a growing organization. The support team is extremely helpful and responsive. For the most part the functionality is very user-friendly and user training can be done in a short time.

Cons: There is a gap in the donor management process. There is no automated process to move a contact through the Donor cycle which means manual updating through custom fields. The video instructions are good for explaining the benefits of specific features but they don't explain how to perform the tasks/process to get to the results promises.

Overall: Donor management and integration with other online tools is key for non-profit success. The support team is excellent in not only telling you what to do but explaining how it works within the system.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, Karen! Thanks for writing a positive review! It thrills us that you've been able to take advantage of user-friendliness, and, in cases where you've needed help, have found it in our support team. We know not everything is perfectly intuitive, so it makes us happy to hear that when you've needed help, you've gotten it. Your feedback about the donor cycle management is great. We preach the donor cycle to our customers all the time, as we firmly believe in using this method to fundraise. Making that process easier in our software is always coveted feedback. We also appreciate your critique on our videos. We're trying to ramp those up more in the future, and this feedback about what they're actually accomplishing will set us up really well in our future video efforts. Thanks again for submitting this review and for being such a great person. Keep rockin' it! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

Kindful has radically improved KBFPC's donor management

Aug 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Customer service is outstanding - I can often find my answers in the help menu, but when I don't the email response is almost immediate and very thoughtful & thorough.
There is little that I dislike about Kindful.
Support during start up was personalized and authentically interested in what my needs and questions were, I didn't ever feel that I was being pitched to.
It is quick and easy to set up and link with Stripe etc. Importing donor information from our previous system was very simple, but I felt that Kindful staff were ready to assist at every step if I needed.
Day-to-day I get just the right amount of updates in my email inbox. Payments and new donors are quick and easy to add. The dashboard is attractive and has very relevant information. Reports are easy to generate.
I have recommended Kindful to several other local agencies - and I found it myself from another local agency.
Price is right for a small non-profit, too.

Cons: Pros FAR outweigh the cons!
Some of the features are not completely intuitive, especially the naming and categorization of them. Sometimes I have to click on several tabs to find the feature I was looking for.
Some of the "field" names do not function as I expect them to - but customer support assisted me in writing a query to fix them all at once. (it was not too problematic)
I don't love the formatting for snailmailers and acknowledgements - but I haven't spent a whole lot of time trying to tweak them. I print envelopes from Kindful, and export the list of acknowledgements and mail-merge that data into a document I prepared in Microsoft Office; again, not a big deal, but I had to figure out this work-around.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, Catriona! Thanks for writing such a glimmering review. It really brings us joy to see how much you've been able to benefit from Kindful's features. It sounds like your setup was really straightforward, you've had good experience with processing payments, adding contacts, and reporting, you feel good about the price, and all your needs have been answered by our support team. We are incredibly excited to hear that has been your experience. Hi-fives all around! User-friendliness is always top-of-mind around here, as we strive to make Kindful as approachable as possible. Your comments about navigating, tabs, and fields have been passed on to our product designers, as well as the comments about letter and acknowledgement templates. I'm glad you discovered a bit of a workaround in the meantime, but we'll pass all those details along to improve some functionality there. Thanks again for the feedback. We are always looking to improve! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

We use it daily and it is very user friendly. Even those of us who aren't tech-savvy can 'get it'.

Aug 29, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the way everything is organized, Dashboard/Activities/Contacts... I like how reports can be automatic from the system straight to my email, daily. I like that once the credit card/ACH info is entered, we don't actually have access to those numbers, and helps with PCI compliance. When there is an issue, we email support and they respond promptly, within 24 hours, and are very friendly and very helpful. I love the size of Kindful, because I feel like they still take input from clients to improve their systems.

Cons: When a donor makes a donation and pays for the transaction fee, you have to go in manually and split the transaction fee from the donation. On days that we have recurring transactions come out, it takes us an incredible amount of time for us to find and go through all the transactions to manually split the transaction fees from the donation itself. That is very time consuming. I personally call donors often, and there is a way to make a 'note' on the donor's profile, however, to access the last time I called, I would need to scroll through transactions to find the last note or go out and create a report. There should be a 'note book' that I can open and see all our correspondence, no matter if the call was in 2012 or today. (Both of which I have brought up with Kindful Support, and they know it's an issue we have with the software).

Overall: More streamlined than our previous interface, more user friendly.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, Brittany! Thanks for such a great review. It sounds like you're getting a ton out of the software, and that really excites and energizes us. We love seeing our customers succeed! I really appreciate what you had to say about the size of Kindful. We really want to be personable with our customers (which includes receiving and responding to feedback!), and it sounds like you've had that experience. I also wanted you to know we've also started rolling out phone support for all customers, so you can reach our nice folks during normal business hours at (888) 854-3230. As for the transaction fee splitting and notes view, those are both great ideas that I'll pass along to our product designers. I'm hopeful we can work on those as future updates! Thanks again for writing in. Talk to you soon, - Jared

I have worked for several non profits and used several databases, Kindful is by far the best!

Aug 29, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: They really thought of everything. Recurring gifts, ability to sync to Quickbooks, automatic reporting, soft gifts, tax receipts. Great layout and easy to navigate! The price is affordable and the customer service is amazing!

Cons: The search filter is super robust but sometimes it's too many choices to find what you need. I'd love to see their saved reports be modifiable.

Overall: This software is a game changer for Non Profits!

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, McKensey! Thanks a million for the positive review. We've worked hard on making our interface easy to navigate and use, so I'm glad to hear that's been your experience! Kindful's filtering capabilities are super robust (like you said), and I totally understand how that makes it hard to determine what filter to use. I can tell you with confidence that we're working on a comprehensive list of all the filters, providing explanations and use-cases for each one. I think that's going to be a huge asset for our users that dive deep into reporting. I'll pass along the request to modify saved reports. I think that's a great idea! Thanks again for sharing your thoughts about Kindful. Sending a digital hi-five your way! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

This CRM is easy to use, saves us time and money as well as provides a good platform for donations.

Aug 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The software is very easy to use, which means more of my staff will use it on a daily basis. The integrations with 3rd party vendors is fantastic. I can now capture all my PayPal donors data and it ties in with MailChimp nicely. The donation pages are very nice and allow me to segregate donations and allocate them to different campaigns and funds. The ability to allow the donor to cover the credit card fees has saved us per year as over 50% of people cover the fees. The email support is good and usually able to resolve an issue in less than 24 hours. I am very happy with Kindful.

Cons: Kindful's mobile responsiveness could be better. I wish they had a dedicated app or at least a better experience on small screens. Their email support is good, but I wish they had phone support for quicker resolution of issues. I feel the monthly fees are on the more expensive side of donor CRM tools. I would like better documentation and community involvement from customers. There is so much that could be done with it, but I don't know how to to implement some of it. Overall, I am happy with Kindful. They are a great company.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi Clay, We're so glad you're happy with Kindful. It sounds like our PayPal and MailChimp integrations are working out great for you ¿ which makes us super happy! We totally hear ya on the mobile responsiveness ¿ we're constantly working hard to make Kindful better on mobiles, since we know that's becoming more and more prevalent. We're also constantly working on new support articles, and ¿ just like you ¿ long for the day our customers become more communal participants on our support forums. On the phone support side, we have good news for you! Our support line, (888) 854-3230 is now live! You'll get connected during normal business hours to a friendly Tennessean. Thanks for writing a thorough and thoughtful review! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

Getting better all the time.

Aug 31, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: User friendly, cost effective, great customer service. Chris Lovett (Kindful) has been responsive and very quick to help. Couldn't be more pleased.

Cons: Still in the development stages with a few kinks to iron out.

Overall: I think that Kindful is an excellent product for the money. They still have some things to work out. It's a new product. I have worked with the Cadillac of databases. (No names) BUT, even though it had a lot more ability to pull out specifically what you wanted....unless you were an expert user it was so complex that most people got invalid data. What I like about Kindful is, it's very cost effective and user friendly. There customer service is super quick to respond and help. For smaller non-profits I don't think you can beat it. I look forward to watching it grow and develop.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on September 01, 2016

Thanks so much, Terri. We are so glad you appreciate Kindful's strengths and appreciate even more your willingness to help us improve. Expect to hear from our Customer Success team to gather more specific feedback on the features that would make your reporting experience the "Tesla of databases." ;-) Thank you for letting us serve you. Kindly, Annie

With Kindful, I finally love my CRM

Jan 28, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We used to use Salesforce for our CRM. However, it's built for enterprise and is bulky, hard to setup, and confusing to use. Moving to Kindful was a welcome difference, and well worth the added cost.

Kindful tracks all our donors and contacts. It syncs swimmingly with MailChimp (our email marketing tool); directly from within Kindful we can see all our donors, what emails they've opened, when they've given or reached out to us, and so much more.
Even better than their great approach to donor management, they have a wealth of additional features for online fundraising. We had previously been using Classy for peer to peer fundraising (like when you do a 5k run and people can set up their own pages to fundraise on), and Kindful does all that easily, at no extra charge. They process cards through PayPal or Stripe (we use Stripe), and you only pay Stripe's normal fee (2.9% + $0.30 per transaction). Kindful also manages event registration and ticketing. They also have donation widgets you can embed on your website, for both one time and recurring donations.

Snailers! This feature alone is half the reason we switched. You can easily set up mail merge templates and print snail mail for sending. We like to do an end of year letter every year thanking our supporters for their help, and summarizing what they gave. This has never been easy to do, but now is a simple couple clicks in Kindful. Create a template, then choose which donors you want to use, and hit Print. They all come out correctly formatted per donor.

Kindful has eliminated so much manual labor and annoying work we used to have to do. Having all event date, online fundraising, and peer to peer fundraising in a single place, and seeing it seamlessly sync to Quickbooks Online for accounting- it's beautiful.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on January 28, 2016

Thanks Kyle! We're so excited to have Because of Ezra on our team! Keep up the good work and let us know how we can help you grow! - The Kindful Team

unhappy with this database, big mistake for our non-profit

Dec 03, 2015
1/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Marty in technical support was very nice. The system just cannot meet our needs. It is integrated with Network for Good but most of our donors are snail mail and not online. The import function to add new donors never worked for us. It has been over two months and my direct mail donors still are not in the system. The automated search for donors to thank never worked, had to be tricked into searching every day. Too expensive of a database for what it delivers. Asked for my account to be canceled and refunded a month ago and still waiting... buyer beware

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 11, 2015

We're very sorry you had negative experience with Kindful. Unfortunately, the self import too is not for every organization, which is why we recommended the custom import for your data during our initial conversations. We also want to note that we made every effort to remedy your situation by offering this custom import free of charge, providing complimentary one-on-one support through Marty, and offering you a refund. We have many clients who use Kindful to meet all their donor management needs, but deeply regret that Kindful was not the right solution for you. We wish you best of luck in finding a system that fits your needs.

Great product with great potential

Aug 25, 2015
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I love the ease, feel and capabilities of Kindful that I have used so far. There are some minor improvements that need to made with the software in general but I am sure over time and as they continue to develop and improve they will do that. Most of it have to do with the aesthetics of the program. But as for what it allow you to do with donor management and tracking, online giving and social media campaigns, it is wonderful. And the customer service is great They are always so helpful and quick to respond and that is always appreciated when you are trying to figure something out or get a specific type of information. Great job Kindful. We look forward to staying with you for years to come and seeing how you continue to grow and expand for your users.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 03, 2015

Thanks Jenna! We love being part of your team and are always looking for ways to improve Kindful for all our customers - your feedback is valuable! Please continue to keep us updated on your experience. - The Kindful Team

Give Kindful a try!

Aug 20, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I had a dream and didn't know where to start. Kindful helped point me in the right direction to get Colors Say up and running. The personal attention I received was informative, positive, and encouraging. They will help you grow your dream and tailor it to your needs.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 21, 2015

Thanks for your review, Kaci! We're honored to play a small role in making your dreams a reality! Continue to keep us updated on your experience and let us know if there's anything else we can do to help you grow! - The Kindful Team

After 7 Months with Kindful, we pulled the plug. Be cautious!

Aug 11, 2015
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The customer support team was fairly prompt in replying, but often they weren't on the same page. Not only that but we were being strung along for much of the time we were working with them. We were often promised that if they received a file, that it would be up in no time. After 7 months we were done with the broken promises.

We were originally attracted to Kindful because of the ease of use and because it appeared to take something complicated (which some donor management systems can be) and make it simple enough for anyone in the organization to use. They offered support, and unlimited users which were a plus. Not only that but we were promised from the time of uploading our previous database and quickbook files, that it would be a month max before we were online and running.

Unfortunately, we did not received what was promised. We were asked multiple times for different files and tweaks to the files and it was clear that we were not a priority for the staff. After back and forth of needing different files for 6 MONTHS, we gave an ultimatum that we would need to have the system up and running by the end of the 7 month or else we would need to find another provider. By the 7th month, we were still promised it was almost ready (something they had been promising since the 3rd month that we had been paying for the service). In the end, the system was never finished and we were never fully functional. We filed a complaint with the better business bureau. Kindful responded with a timeline that made it look like they were diligent. We responded with scores of emails that left no doubt they had dropped the ball and there has been no reply since then. We are a small non profit with basic and general methods of receipting. We use Quickbooks but Kindful required multiple practices which forced us to create work arounds simply to use some of the methods we have used before. We are all about change, but when the new methods require more work, we tend to want to keep it simple and efficient. Kindful made some things easier while making other things harder.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 17, 2015

Kindful is not looking to throw stones here. While we certainly would have preferred a different outcome in this situation, and believe we had finally arrived at one before World Link decided to cancel, we can provide a timeline to show all the interruptions faced. There was a longer than anticipated timeline we experienced during this process, and we spent many times waiting on necessary information from the organization at multiple times throughout the process; this review fails to mention the countless calls we took and after-hours support we provided. While this process has taken longer than expected on both sides, we worked diligently during business hours and even overtime for World Link. Some of these discussions happened prior to weekends and resumed the following week, as well as after organization representative's weeks away for missionary work. World Link successfully used Kindful's software to receive donations and automatically thank those donors repeatedly.

Awesome Donor Management from a Fantastic Staff

Dec 18, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: These guys know how to get done what you need. They are helpful and willing to go out of the way to make their product fit your organization. Support responds instantly!

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 03, 2015

Thanks for your review, Scott! We love working with you and certainly value your feedback. Please keep us updated on your progress and let us know if there's anything we can do to help you grow even more! - The Kindful Team