Who Uses This Software?

Inbound and Outbound Tour Operators and DMCs selling customised itineraries and specialising in niche markets.


Average Ratings

21 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $270.00/month/user
  • Pricing Details
    Per-year pricing is available at a 9% discount.
  • Free Trial
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Mac
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Tourwriter
  • www.tourwriter.com
  • Founded 2004
  • New Zealand

About This Software

Your personalised itinerary travel software solution. Tourwriter conveniently manages the entire client process; drag-and-drop itinerary creation, automated supplier confirmations and custom reports are just a few features to look forward to. Your clients will love our mobile App and online itineraries, for easy access on the go. Support is 24/7, back-ups are daily and your secure data with our online file server. Experience Tourwriter's 14 day Free Trial to see how different life could be.


Tourwriter Features

  • Central Reservation System
  • Customer Database
  • Flight Booking
  • GDS / OTA Integration
  • Itinerary Creation
  • Marketing Management
  • Payment Processing
  • Promotions Management
  • Quote Management
  • Rental Car Reservations
  • Single / Group Reservations

Tourwriter Reviews

Great implementation support! Easy to work with, full of helpful ideas and ways to improve workflow

Jul 26, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Putting together an itinerary is quick and easy for our sales agents. Sending the booking request to the vendors is now a process that only takes a minute. Before TourWriter it was a very long process and there was a great potential for human errors. They are always willing to talk about a problem that may come up and offer a variety of solutions. This allows us to decide which solution is best for our company. They have great people working for them who really take the time to listen and explain and never seem to tire of our many questions! Our booking process has become very streamlined and we are now able to hire and train new sales agents since TourWriter is easy to learn and use. We have just completed the set up for our accounting module and plan to roll out the Groups module in the fourth quarter.

Cons: If TourWriter had the ability to assign a task to a co-worker then it would be perfect! We would then be able to get rid of the steps we have to add to Asana for each booking we process. Currently, the tasks in the to do list can only be set up for the person assigned to the booking. But we have many team members doing differnt tasks on each booking, so if we could assign them to the person responsible, then we would not have to go outside of TourWriter to do anything!

Overall: Better workflow. Easier to train,cross train. All of my staff can see what has been sold or quoted so nor more confused sales agents trying to figure out what another agent quoted or booked. The tool is easy to learn, so when we hire new staff, it is faster to get them ready to sell.

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on July 26, 2017

Kathy, thank you very much for taking the time to review Tourwriter. We are delighted that you are already reaping the time saving benefits that Tourwriter provides. We are also thrilled to hear that you have been well looked after by the broader Tourwriter Team and that training new staff is quick and easy for all concerned. With regard to the item on your wish-list, we love customer feedback, and you will be excited to learn that the ability to assign tasks to a co-worker is on our Product Roadmap, for release at the end of the next quarter. In addition to this we plan to enhance the feature further by allowing you to optionally set default due dates for both your tasks (e.g. send a follow-up email 7 days after the client returns home), and task reminders sent to your team. If there is anything else you can think of, that will help us make Tourwriter your one stop shop for all your Tour Operator operational needs, please let us know!

Happy Customers

Apr 25, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality

Comments: All Blacks Tours has been a client of Tour Writer since the business started in 2012. All Blacks Tours utilises Tour Writer software for the day-to-day management of our tour operations. This includes managing inventory, reporting, client contacts, suppliers and production of itineraries.

Tour Writer has enabled All Blacks Tours to alter and improve its use of the software as the business has developed and needs have been recognised. Continual improvements of the Tour Writer software means that we are always finding ways of improving our business processes.

We recommend Tour Writer to any similar businesses.

Hard to set up, but extremely customizable. Saves time, prevents mistakes

Apr 21, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very customizable with the help of their very capable programming team, helps save time and prevent mistakes in itineraries

Cons: Really hard to figure out most efficient way to use it at first- so many variables in travel!

Overall: It's a little hard to get this set up, probably because it is very customizable. Once it is set up, it works really well. Team is friendly and supportive and will work with your deadlines.

Recommendations to other buyers: You need to give a lot of thought to how your itineraries work to be able to automate them.

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on May 17, 2017

Kimberly, thank you for the kind words! One of the most pleasant clients our team has had the pleasure of working with. Glad we could help with automating all of the tedious manual processes that were obstructing efficiency of the business. Looking forward to more years of continued mutual success!

After much research and years of use - THIS IS YOUR BEST OPTION!

Apr 17, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ease of use, the cooperation during implementation, their ability to recreate my wishes to a perfect itinerary that works with the industry quirks specific to my market. Finally, the system is never down!

Cons: A few steps in the data entry process could maybe be simplified, but nothing that is big.

Overall: I own a small travel agency called CostaRicaTravelMarket. Most of my decisions are mapped on a grid. I will research fully, select the market options and grade each value proposition. This is the same process I followed when we decided to upgrade our itinerary management software and we hit a home run! The software if fantastic, versatile and very easy to use. I have to say the production of itineraries, reports, quotes, and pricing documents are very professional looking and efficiently produced. I have used it with FIT's and groups and the functionality is great. Definitely designed by people inside the field who understand fully the quirks and nuances our industry has! I have to say for us, it has fulfilled some CRM functions as well. It allows me to keep track of the tasks for each client, and it gives me great reports on supplier actionable lead times and payments. The implementation was wonderful! Alison is the most professional, courteous and thorough implementer and Account Manager ever. I was told the implementation could take anything between 2-3 weeks to a couple of months depending on my pace of response, as a lot of the actual customization they carry out will depend on the client's specific methods, supplier profile, data entry speed, etc. I was up and running in about 6 weeks. Agent presented me with a schedule on how the implementation would progress, all in a logical and efficient sequence. My timing in fulfillment of tasks determined the speed of implementation - on their side they were timely every time. I read some ones review below before writing mine, and I have to say I find it incredible to believe because from my own implementation, I can honestly say I was impressed at the team work they displayed and the flawless cooperation they provided from across the globe to help me advance in a speedy and efficient manner. I wanted my itinerary in a very specific way, I also wanted two other documents to create quotes and area suggestions. They created all three without me having to compromise on any change. I was in awe at how sometimes I felt I was asking for something that seemed impossible, yet agent would take on the challenge and come up with the way to get it done! Every time! I never heard a "oh sorry, no - that cannot be done...." So my final recommendation is you cannot go wrong with Tourwriter! Hands down this is the best alternative in the market and I strongly recommend it. You will not regret it.

Recommendations to other buyers: A software is 50% of the product. The implementation and support team is the other 50%. Tourwriter provides 100% satisfaction.

Key software for our DMC

Apr 17, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: We have been using TourWriter for 10 years now and the software is at the core of our business, enabling us to efficiently store customer and supplier data, match all in itineraries, process book keeping, create custom documents, extract reports, etc. The essential tool for inbound travel companies and DMC in our opinion...

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on May 29, 2017

Thank you for such a great TourWriter review Sebastien. It's great that you have embraced the full functionality available in TourWriter, particularly the accounting offering and the custom documents. The way you utilise the data extract reporting tool, to learn from 10 years of business experience, and to make meaningful business decisions, gives you an edge. Frogs New Zealand truly is an inspirational Inbound Operator, making it a niche travel operator TourWriter is very proud to work alongside.

Transition with Ease

May 16, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: When taking over a business such as Hospitality Plus ,which has a long standing reputation for delivering very good service, you tend to feel you need to exceed the standard for your clients to feel confident to continue doing business with you. TourWriter made it possible for me to focus on the level service we delivered because they took care of the technology which made operations feel like a walk in the park.

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on May 16, 2016

Thanks for a lovely review Sharon. Great to hear the transition to TourWriter was easy and you have already increased sales thanks to the focus on your service levels! We look forward to helping you grow into the future.

the ideal product for any size tour operator

May 16, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Surpassing a six figure revenue stream and still keeping our manual processes was becoming extremely cumbersome and error prone. I never realized a perfect software existed, that was tailor-made to fit a tour operators needs. Tourwriter is extremely efficient, familiar (looks just like MS Office) and easy to pick up. After everything is set up and implemented, the return comes in almost instantly. Our company has been using TourWriter over 5 years now, and I can't imagine how we used to do all of this by hand. Drag and drop itinerary creation, publishing proposal documents, booking supplier services, generating financial documents, its all automated.

The only thing that's missing is a built in accounting module to link up to our QuickBooks, but we've seen software with this feature, and the price tag increases drastically. We have no problem sticking to the current export into QB method that's available here.

Strongly recommended.

broken promises and poor service

Jan 26, 2016
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: My company purchased the software almost a year ago, and were told we would be up and running in 6 weeks. We are still waiting to be able to utilize the software to help us. We felt that the person training us on the services was rude and impatient with us, but continued to interface in hopes that the software would come together quickly. We have had nonstop contact with the IT team at TourWriter, and our itinerary still cannot be built as promised. Upon contacting the owner of TourWriter about our displeasure, he proceeded to blame our employee as the reason why the system was not up and running. We have invested thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours into this software and have seen no results and had no support from the TW team. This software is not worth the stress and hassle that it causes.

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on October 05, 2016

The reviewer was only partly involved in the Implementation process and didn't go on to be a TourWriter user. Our most successful implementations are when the owner of the business is driving the change and adoption. Two major factors were; the main people who were trained by Tourwriter left the company just as we were completing their training program and custom reports. The new person that took over decided not to be trained and didn't follow our advice to apply best practice. We offered to retrain their staff and fix up the incorrect changes they had made in their custom reports, for no charge. Tourwriter staff spent around 30 hours of retraining, 30 hours of database loading, and 40 hours of correcting their continuous requests for changes to their reports, for NO charge. We eventually got Tourwriter to a stage where it was ready, they then decided to stick to their previous processes.We wish them all the best

Wonderful software

Jul 24, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: TourWriter is a wonderful software for travel agencies. It has changed the way we do our job helping us saving time and being more efficient!
The support and training has been wonderful. It took us a few months to implement the software and start working with it BAU but thanks to the training and support service this process has been easy.
Thank you so much for making our work easier!!

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on July 24, 2015

Thanks Samuel, it's great that the TourWriter Implementation went smoothly, and you're enjoying the ongoing support. Most importantly we love to hear that TourWriter has transformed your Spanish travel business. and given you the platform to grow profitably. We love to hear that our clients are growing with us!

A good help to organize travel information

Dec 10, 2014
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Tour Writer allows you to register all the traveller information, from the clients' wishes to the flight schedule and the description of the tours. Sometimes it is difficult to standardise the program for all the different companies, that's why some details still need to be improved. But it is absolutely a good tool to have all the information registered and organized in the same place.

Excellent software

Nov 29, 2014
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This is a great piece of software for those looking to create smart looking itineraries in an efficient manner. The team in New Zealand are very dedicated to getting the product just right for each client - tailoring it where necessary, and the support team in India are highly responsive to problems and really do help in fixing any snags which come up.
Of course the product is only as good as the data you load into it and loading hotel and touring information, rates and photos is a big job (which TW will help you with). It's also an ongoing process to keep updating and refining the material, rather than a "one off" and it's done.
In summary, I would highly recommend this industry specific piece of software to other tour operators.

Tourwriter - fantastic!

Nov 26, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This has been a huge help to our business. It saves time and money and ensures we can provide our clients with quick, thorough itineraries and travel quotes. I have used a few systems over the years and Tourwriter is the best software for travel itineraries.

Great software for Tour management

Nov 24, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Pros:
Works great for creating and editing itineraries for people or groups.
Deeply customizable itineraries.
Great and attentive Customer Service
The webinars and videos for explaining features are helpful
Report creation feature is great and the TourWriter team will customize your reports so they are as you need them (our suscription entitled us for 2 free customizable reports, yours may vary)

Cons:
User interface could be a bit more polished, but it's been improving constantly.
Adding contact information / PAX information could be a bit more intuitive and comprehensive, especially for larger groups.
Currency conversion could be a bit more customizable

Great for FIT's

Nov 21, 2014
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: After searching lots of products to make our Receptive business easier, we partnered with TourWriter a year ago. After a pretty steep learning curve for setting up our 100 or so vendors with what seems like countless options, all is going really well. Their was lots of setup time involved but the TW staff was there to help along the way. They helped us train our staff with one-on-one instruction and the videos are helpful to refresh memories.

We recently added a staff person and training on TourWriter was easy and our new employee is up and running with little effort.

Ahipara Luxury Travel

May 05, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Our experience with TW remains excellent on all fronts - the Database functionality works well feeding suppliers through to specific itineraries. The new publishing reports work well and the support that we have received from TW in creating new reports and customising TW for our use has been very good. Our main disappointment with TW is its limited online capability - we feel TW needs to move forward in making itineraries and data available online and also incorporate a map functionality so that clients can get a visual of where they are going in New Zealand

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on May 05, 2014

Hi Karen, Thanks for the positive review. Fantastic news... we are developing stronger online functionality in the not too distant future. I will be in touch with more info.Cheers, Jason

Shamrock Vacations Quoting Software

Apr 30, 2014
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Since beginning researching and comparing the range of software that could best fulfill our current and future needs, we quickly determined that the Tourwriter significantly outshone the others in terms of reputation, affordability, and support. After testing Tourwriter, and with one to one support we began using Tourwriter in Jan 2013. In fact, in addition to fulfilling the requirements of our current situation, the product offers a number of supplementary capabilities that could prove useful down the road. We have access to additional bespoke reporting, at anytime. It is continually being developed, and developers are open to listening to what we as customers need from the software.

Vendor Response

by Tourwriter on April 30, 2014

Hi Isabella, Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to working with you as you continue to grow. Cheers, Jason

Excellent itinerary writing tool

Oct 09, 2013
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Tourwriter is a fabulous product and has revolutionised our itinerary writing and has enabled a much smoother process for keeping track of everything. We dont use the accounting function, but everything else works brilliantly and customer service is excellent.
The only cons are the cost which has gone up significantly since we bought it and the fact that it's not an online model so it can only be accessed on the computers it is loaded on to.

A travel agent software made by travel agents

Oct 08, 2013
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I have been using Tour Writer for four years now and I can say it is very reliable. It never goes down and despite the huge time diference between Brazil and New Zealand, the support team is very reactive.

Tour Writer is an amazing tool for travel agencies. I wish I had more time and patience to go deeper into it and learn more about its inumerous options.

Review of TourWriter

Oct 07, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This is fantastic software for travel companies:
i just love few features which not only saves time but are very handy in day to day operations.
like:
1. Client location report
2. itineraries and vouchers are created while you are costing an itinerary
3. group costing (saves you a lot of time)
4. make bookings with press of a button
5. send itinerary and vouchers straight from the system
6. Cloud based system so accessible from anywhere. i can hire staff in India and save cost.
7. No fear of losing data.

if initial set up is done properly, can save you heaps of time later on.

Tourwriter review from Exploring Ireland

Oct 04, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have been using Tourwriter for the past 4 seasons which has proved to be one of our most powerful tools. This has been able to increase our volume, speed of bookings and even distribution of suppliers across the country, helping to avoid funnels into some suppliers while leaving others less used which speeds our bookings.

Support at Tourwriter has always been fast and productive, helping to adjust it it suit our changing needs which is essential in business.

Great system, great staff!

TourWriter is easiest to instal and use tour operator software

Nov 03, 2009
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Useability
Flexibility
Size
Support

Cons: Accounting not integrated

Overall: Superb software for any small to mid size tour opertaor....can see why they are doing so well!