Who Uses This Software?

Checkfront is built for Tour & Activity Operators, Rental companies and Accommodation providers.


Average Ratings

41 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $49.95/month
    See pricing details
  • Free Trial
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
  • Support
    Online
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Checkfront
  • www.checkfront.com
  • Founded 2008
  • Canada

About This Software

Checkfront is a fully hosted, cloud based booking management, and e-commerce system. Your application is ready as soon as you create your account. You are given a unique, secure website where you can manage your business from anywhere, anytime. With Checkfront you can centralize your reservations, accept payments online, track your inventory, and streamline your business administration. Enterprise class booking management to small and medium size businesses affordably, and pain-free...


Checkfront Features

  • Activities Booking
  • Booking Notes
  • CRM
  • Guest Management
  • Multiple Rate Plans
  • Online Booking
  • Payment Processing
  • Promotions Management
  • Revenue Management
  • Single / Group Reservations
  • Third Party Booking
  • Accommodation Booking
  • Activities Booking
  • Central Reservation System
  • Coach Booking
  • Custom Packages
  • Customer Management
  • GDS / OTA Integration
  • Itinerary Creation
  • Payment Processing
  • Price / Margin Management
  • Promotions Management
  • Quote Management
  • Reservations Management
  • Vendor Management
  • Website Management

Checkfront Reviews

This company based in Canada [one of my favorite places] needs to up its performance.

Jun 12, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Nothing especially they way we were treated after being told the original cost had increased to more than is actually quoted if you need to use the product.There are much more professional organisations with much better backup around.

Cons: Backup is only via computers and when they do not know how to fix they end connection.The absolute worst was when we decided it was not performing in our 40 unit Motel and canceled.What did they do !!! deleted all our Motel booking records for the past 3 Months the time we had been using Checkfront??? No Contact just delete everything, make our clients lives a bummer.Very professional or very bitchy ??Grow a professional attitude boys, not everyone suits your system but don't spit the Dummy when a customer finds they want to go elsewhere. it is called the Hospitality Industry, Try some.

Overall: none .we actually lost 3 months records after they deleted all information when we cancelled subscription after finding the support offered was hopeless.Highly Proffesional Conduct !!!!

Vendor Response

by Checkfront on June 12, 2017

Hi Rob, I am so sorry to hear that we failed to make a good impression. We do offer various warnings about our data retention policy, including two warnings within the form you have to fill out to delete your account, but I am certainly going to re-examine our process to see if there is a way we can be more clear about how important it is to download a backup if you are going to delete your account. Currently, we store data for 30 days after account deletion. Although you left us back in October, I have been able to restore your account from our archives so that you can login and access your old data. You can download a specific type of data, or click ¿Export Backup¿ within your system settings to download all of your data. If you have any trouble accessing your data, please don¿t hesitate to reach out to our Support department, or you can reach me personally at angelah@checkfront.com. I hope this helps to improve your experience with us. Warm regards, Angela H.

Great Booking System that Integrates well with Website

Jan 27, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Customisation, Functionality.

Cons: Steep learning curve, but with support we've been able to create the right solution.

Overall: Use this across 4 websites and 3 seperate businesses. Was able to create a bespoke solution for our complex booking system covering max bookings per time slot, multiple product types, taxation, ticketing, special events and more. Have been using product for over 1 year, and it is far superior to other similar booking/waiver type products on market. Complete solution for bookings, payments, waivers, deposits and more.

Great customer service, who have been available whenever we have needed it and have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Recommendations to other buyers: Take the time to learn the product from the reps.

Central to our organization

Jan 20, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's infinitely adaptable, and when faced with limitations, you bring them up with the support staff, and they will see to having the program modified.

Cons: Only that its real-life software, so perfection is still a ways off.

Overall: I just wanted to convey a HUGE THANK YOU! We did a data export from Checkfront for one of our routine procedures and noticed that the "End Time" data has been added to the "End Date" field for all Booking Index exports, as we requested in the Help system, and even on the screen displays. THANK YOU SO MUCH for doing this... it will be a huge boon for us in managing the resource usage for hourly bookings.

Checkfront is absolutely central to our studio management here (https://www.urbanglass.org/studio). Now its very more valuable.

Recommendations to other buyers: If you need scheduling software, use it!

Customer Support has Dropped.Off so much-extremely disappointed/frustrated

Dec 03, 2016
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Originally Checkfront was excellent with customer support and now it's response time is 3 DAYS to get a response. There are much better biking systems available that are more user friendly and cutting edge with features. They don't answer phone calls anymore and all trouble shooting needs to be done solely thru email back & forth-give me a break there's only so much that can be don via email. They told me that I should upgrade mu plan to a higher monthly price for the phone support & "better" customer support. Had typically hibernated the account in the winter & kept account open & have been paying year round. Extremely disenchanted with the service. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE TO BLOW CUSTOMERS OFF--how UNPROFESSIONAL!!

Vendor Response

by Checkfront on December 16, 2016

Hi Nicole, We are so sorry to hear that you are frustrated with our Support department. We do offer different levels of support at each pricing tier, but we also do our very best to not enforce these limits while our support volumes are low, and it is not affecting our ability to serve other customers. The last thing we want is for you to feel disappointed and frustrated. We always strive to create the best possible support experience and regret we have failed you in this. Our Support Manager Chris will reach out to you to see what we can do to improve your experience!

Now THAT is service !!!

Nov 07, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Great service and the software does everything it promises !

Cons: Nothing, because all new future requests are dealt with and they keep improving the software.

Overall: We are a small belgian family entertainment center based in Brussels in the heart of Europe,

CHECKFRONT changed our lives ! We have now dozens of bookings each day automated, planned as such and in multiple language (we have three languages over here)

The reason I give them a 5 star ranking is that their service is just unseen !!!

Try it out, their support team is outstanding and they really listen to idea's and input of their customers.

I think Checkfront will be the leading booking software worldwide with this approach.

Their service is amazing, you can mail them, chat them, even if you raise a question no one has raised before their customers advocate comes back to you after some time and they find a work-around !!!!!

Put your money in this product, you will not regret it ! I wrote this review on my own initiative after I have been blown away by their outstanding service over the last months.

Checkfront team knows what they are doing and they are really really good at it !!!!

Recommendations to other buyers: Yes, we tried a lot of others, do not hesitate, they give a free trial, use it ! We did and we were baffled by the unbelievable 24/24 support, in an online industry where support can be a painful issue, these people at Checkfront have taken it to the next level. I am not affiliated with them, I am just a very very happy customer that wanted to get the word out there!

Outstanding Product

Oct 12, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Fully customisable

Cons: N/a

Overall: Checkfront is the only solution I have found that can handle bookings per hour at different rates. I tested so many systems prior to Checkfront & it really is superb. The customer service support is outstanding. I use the system to book Babysitting staff, knowing what it can do, using it for consultants etc would be a breeze. Fully customisable!!

Good value for the cost of the program.

Sep 25, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Businesses that are looking for a simple solution to their reservation system that is easy to install on their website while keeping more money in your pocket should try this program. The initial set up was difficult for us as we demand a lot from the software we use but with the help customer service we had things working and have been in constant communication about features we would like in future updates of the product.

Awesome program Awesome support

Sep 15, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It just works. I get exactly what I need and it saves me hours of time.

Cons: I have zero complaints

Overall: I book over a hundred volunteers each year and it's a one-person show here. I don't know how I did it before CheckFront, I really don't. So many steps are now automated for me and it's a breeze to keep track of bookings. I use notifications a lot to send volunteer handbooks, orientation videos and other important documents that I used to have to track and send manually. What a relief to be done with that and to be using notifications instead.

Recommendations to other buyers: I work with others in this industry and suggest to them all the time, get on CheckFront and your life will be tons easier.

Solid and efficient booking system, excellent support.

Sep 14, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Like any other service you need to spend some time getting to know the system. Once you do you'll understand how easy it is to use. If however, you run into trouble Checkfront has the most fantastic support ¿ probably the best online support I've ever experienced. Before I tried Checkfront, I considered Squarespace the place with the best online support. Not anymore: Checkfront beats them all.

Cons: From my experience - none.

Overall: I only have positive things to say about Checkfront. It can all be boiled down to: It works. If you are looking for an online booking system, Checkfront is what you need.

I'm so glad I chose this!

Jul 31, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It was easy to install. There were a lot of tutorials. The customer support is fantastic. I got my booking function to look exactly as I wanted it to look on my website. It saves me a crazy amount of time from trying to deal with customers manually or by email.

Cons: It seems complicated at first but if you follow along with the tutorials and just kind of play around with it is amazing! It is not something that is going to take three or four hours if you have a lot of items to add or if you are looking to do things like classes or weird things that the program was specifically designed for. But the end result is worth the time you spend.

Overall: I have no experience or training in building websites but I did my whole website myself by watching videos and using tutorials. I also used Checkfront for adding a booking and payment system for my business.

Recommendations to other buyers: I didn't set it all up before my free trial expired and I probably should have. In the end I ended up just getting a subscription and setting it all up. Once it wasn't free anymore it really gives the incentive to actually get it going! I'm super glad I chose this program.

Complicated systems for Dummies :)

Jul 31, 2016
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that this software can accommodate any complicated idea that I want to achieve when it comes to booking my tours.. and also I have just discovered the power of the Partners accounts. It has broadened my idea of how I can sell and increased my success potential. I do not have a lot of experience in this field but the featured of check front has given me a platform of growing my business and gives me a vision of what I can accomplish..

Cons: I haven't really discovered anything so far that I like least because I am in such a learning curve.. I am in the mode of discovering all the new things that I can do so far.. I might have a comment on this in a year or so. Oh yes!! It would be fantastically helpful if Checkfront would send a notification to my cell phone from the app or something that I have got a booking.. I have to log into check front all the time to see if I have a booking..

Overall: I own and operate Stellar Micro Creations, in Rome, Italy. I have absolutely no experience with systems and programming. The check front booking system was incredibly over my head because it was very complicated but in the end it is good that it was so complicated because now I know that it can accommodate every complicated need of booking for my products.. I learn more and more options as I go along. The thing that has made this all possible for me to do is the fantastic support team at Checkfront. Once I got into the groove of communicating with Checkfront I have made hastened the development of my learning curve and am WAY more relaxed and not worried because I know that there is a support team that can help me. Anyway, I have so much more to say. There is also support in the Blogs. I had changed my approach to how I would start my business by reading one of the blog posts about referral business instead of using the costly Adwords which were not really working with my small companies start up budget. I consider the support team and the system as a partner of my business.

Fantastic tool

Jun 24, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy interface, admin from the APP on the mobile, flexible customer communication and easy integration with add ons..

Cons: Nothing at the moment

Overall: This system gives you the flexibility to set up your customer communication and what shall happen during the time from a booking until the customers checkout both on SMS and Email... This is really flexible and can messages can be triggered easily based on your need. This gives you less before the customer arrives and good customer information. The second is the easy way to implement 3 party payment gateways like Stripe and the automatic generated invoice sendt to the customer one email with "pay now" button in the invoice connected to the payment gateway.. It is easy to integrate the add ons and if you have any questions they have premium support. One more thing, they have "ready to go" booking pages..

Makes life simple

Jun 15, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Great customer care, always on hand with advise and experience. They are really friendly and understand how important each clients experience is through my website using their service. Any questions through there live chat are always answered quickly and ensuring the advise works and that I am happy every time. Great team !

Lacks key features and functions for tour operators

Jun 12, 2016
2/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software has around 60% of what you would expect from tour operator ecommerce

Cons: There are some very clear shortfalls. Attention is not being paid to their potential customers.

Overall: This software was trialled, however it was not designed with a tour operator in mind. There are some clear shortfalls. It appears that they are disconnected with the industry's requirements.

Recommendations to other buyers: There is an opportunity for other programmers to create complete software which is useful for tour operators. Checkfront is lacking and seem disinterested in getting on track.

FANTASTIC TECH SUPPORT!!

Jun 03, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The tech support is really excellent here, all the time. Room for improvement in the software: plea make it possible to print, normally, item events. Very odd that only page 1 prints. Tried it a few times. Also, odd, and a nuisance: if an item has a rule and also a price, one must create TWO DIFFERENT item events for it! So strange. Also, one is not told this int he online helf and videos either. Your software could be made more efficient . Thanks.

Truly responsive support outweighs any weaknesses in this system.

Jun 01, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: It's been quite a journey to set up our bookings to use Checkfront. I've integrated it into our pre-existing Xero.com accounting system, and into Outlook, and also into a series of mini-apps built on Podio.com. We've succeeded and now we're live, after a few months work.

There is a lot to learn about the various structures available in Checkfront, and one should not expect to grasp all the alternatives quickly, but only after some trial and error. However, the Checkfront support team have been great, making it all possible. They are fast to respond, they engage if you want a dispute (!) and they feed back constructive ideas to the developers which results in changes to the documentation and the code. They even duplicated my system and made "how-to" movies using the copy of my own system as an illustration. Stunning, actually.

The finished result makes us look professional, and will avoid errors in all the tasks which have now been automated, so we're delighted, especially as the prices are entirely reasonable. Thank you, everyone at Checkfront, especially the support team!

Not what i expected

Mar 11, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Have just turned to the Soho Account after 2 times of using a free account. I had contacted one of their customers and they had clearly stated that the only issue with checkfront is handling multi day tours....i thought that it wouldn't be such a problem, but trying to configure a nine day tour (i have been on it for more than 10 days, with reasonably good support from the staff), have ended up that i have to just name the tour 9 day, 9 days will not be allocated in the calendar, and the worst is that inventory cannot be handled and i have to do it myself....Quoting their words on one of their replies (after upgrading to Soho account) "How the customer solves his inventory issue is by managing it himself, as well as having the name specify the amount of days, i.e. 8 days." Very disappointing of them not to tell me that before i went for the Soho account, but they only waited until i payed the Soho account to admit it themselves.

Now that i am finally up and running with the tours.....which really look great.....i have a continuous problem having 4, 5, or even 6 different staff member answering my questions...and the answers are not at all consistent and somehow they do not tend to realise the issue and all i have to do eventually is solve the issue my self....
It takes me at least so many days before i get a head on answer....

Everything is generally OK but the support is very poor.....

Checkfront is The Best

Feb 29, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Since we switched to Checkfront in August of 2015 we have booked over 3000 orders with great results.

The reports and product information are easily exported and adjustable to our requirements

The customer service is excellent and quickly responsive and to top it off, the pricing is reasonable.

We have recommended Checkfront to Company in our are that does and extensive array of tours and they are also very pleased with their results.

One of the Best Decisions we have made was switching to Checkfront

Exceptional customer service

Jan 18, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This is the message I sent to Checkfront recently:

Just wanted to say thanks for your support over the last month or so. I have been a designer forever but have been learning some basic development skills this last year. The support I received from the Checkfront team was absolutely the best technical support I have EVER received. Always prompt, accurate, helpful and detailed. Please share my sincere appreciation with your colleagues.

The right choice for the tech savvy rental business operator.

Dec 19, 2015
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The features available in Checkfront allowed me to customize the customer facing booking experience nearly as close as to what we had in mind.
Checkfront support is very responsive and are very much professionals with their product.

An the final bonus, the price is very reasonable. All this is said one month into initial configuration and use. Will revisit after the busy season and it has been tested under fire.

A must have for hotels and tour operators!

Dec 18, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have been using Checkfront for over a year now and we love it! We thank you for creating such an easy, efficient and innovative tool to use. By just using Checkfront, we know
that you have spent a great deal of time thinking about its layout, workflow and us, the users! Recently, our hotel won an award as the World's Best Beach Boutique Hotel
(http://www.boutiquehotelawards.com/luxury-hotels/drake-bay-getaway-resort/) in
London. We think that Checkfront contributed to us winning this award in
several indirect ways.

Excellent Product & Service

Jun 26, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Great product, I have all my needs of a reservation system sorted and best of all customer service has been of great and quick help, always there when you need them

We use it for booking golf packages with ease. Produces great reports. Great looking invoices.

Jun 23, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: It is completely scaleable, light, and easy to configure. We've found it can do as little or as much as you need.

Great booking application for small businesses

Jan 22, 2012
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Really nice booking system. A breath of fresh air! Prior to Checkfront we managed a year round business with a spreadsheet and Google calendar. We did that for far too long!

Cons: No big complaints of yet. Just wish I'd found them sooner.

Overall: Recommended for any business looking to streamline their business. A+