Sustain Ratings

Overall
3.7/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Sustain

Are you struggling to complete simple tasks? Whether it be adding new donations, creating constituent profiles, or things as simple as navigating your way through a complicated software. As fundraisers, we try to be as efficient as possible without these unnecessary hold-ups. Here at Sustain, we made it a point to develop a program that will help youcomplete your daily tasks with ease. Increasing productivity, increases donation, thereforestreamliningyour organization to success. Learn more about Sustain

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Marybeth M.
Assistant to the CFO
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Disappointed”

OverallWe purchased Sustain through Rediker because we were told that it would interact with FinACS. While I am still under the impression that there can be communication, we can't figure out how. Communication only goes one way, and that is a concern because we would be transferring accounting information from Development to Accounting. Not comfortable. Additionally, there seems to only be one person who can help us understand Sustain, and he is not good at customer service. Every conversation I have had with him has been uncomfortable at best. I am bright and pick up software easily and still always leave my calls with him feeling stupid, and yet doing everything in my power to not call back, just figure it out on my own. I am sure Sustain has more capabilities than I know, but I feel like I need to take an Access class in order to really utilize the program. The price we paid for the product and the service is outrageous in my opinion and we are almost 2 years in and just barely scraping by with our information. Certainly, I can't find the reports I need and customizing just seems overwhelming. If I had this decision to make over again, I would not choose Sustain. Unfortunately since we've already invested so much, changing just isn't an option at this point. We were brought in by Rediker, but your relationship with them is tenuous at best. Their customer service, which is fantastic, can't help me with your product. And no one REALLY understands how the programs are supposed to integrate. I would carefully consider that fact when cross selling.
Prosnot sure
Consease of access to information
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Kimberly L.
Development Director
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2017

“Sustain Review from Sacred Heart”

OverallEvery time I call I get great customer service. Love the new update! The ease of use is very easy. Customer rep is always so nice and willing to help me in any way.
ProsThe ease of use. The new update is easier to add attributes in and user to see what they donated without clicking a lot. i also like in the reports you do not have to get out of them and reenter to pull another report.
ConsI would like to learn more about cleaning up the software. The previous Development Director entered several of the same address in different ways which makes a lot of extra addresses and sends several copies of things to the same address. I have ran reports and cleaned up a lot of the database but it still needs cleaning.
Recommendations to other buyersNo
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2017
Jay S.
Director of Information Systems
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 13, 2019

“Very Small Company, Very Poor Implementation”

OverallAgain the software itself wasn't that bad, it was the implementation/migration from our previous system that was terrible and the reason we were not successful with Sustain. They set an expectation that we could just send them the SQL database from our previous system and they were experienced enough with that system to take it from there, that they had done this before. That's not at all what happened, the data got only half migrated and it was on me the customer to fill in the holes (though we paid them for implementation services). They had very little in terms of documentation, they had a migration template but didn't give it to me, I had to find it. Very disorganized and immature company, very little documentation, cannot be trusted to move all the data over you need to be successful. Also we had to ask for a new trainer, the first one we got was extremely defensive and gruff, can't believe he's in a customer-facing role, simply does not have the temperament for it.
ProsThe software itself isn't that bad. Since Sustain is a very small company with only a handful of employees, it was sort of nice to be able to talk to the guy who developed the software, you get to hear why they made the choices they made directly from the horse's mouth.
Cons#1 it's not truly web-based, you remote into a Windows server to run essentially a customized Access database. The software was a bit rigid, particularly in reporting. You can't just create your own reports, you only get what Sustain has decided to put in there. None of the canned reports really fit what our team needed and we had to pull the plug on Sustain before they could customize what we needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 13, 2019
Patti S.
ALumni Relations
Education Management, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2017

“Great Customer Service Experience”

OverallIn terms of Alumni Relations the software is geared more toward fundrasing, but with the great level of customer support I have received, it does the job.
ProsEase of use
ConsVery geared to fundrasing and less geared toward Alumni Relations. Fundrasing is possible because of Alunmni so the software should be more robust for keeping track of alumni.
Recommendations to other buyersBuild in Entry date and Leave date for alumni.
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2017
Leslie S.
Business Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Donation management”

OverallOverall the software provides me with the information I need. Because it is so multi-faceted, attending training is mandatory. Even after my initial training I find myself clicking around to intuitively get, for instance, the report I need. It would behoove new users to make a list of all the ways you plan or foresee using the product and choose the level of training necessary. And take copious notes because you'll need them for tasks that you do only periodically. I'm certain I'm not using it to its fullest capabilities.
ProsIt's relational. Can record a number of characteristics about each record.
ConsUnable to generate letters with exactly the write salutation and return address name.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Lorna H.
Director of Advancement
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2017

“Very Intuitive”

OverallFrom the first day Sustain was installed I have found the software easy to use. And the rarity I have encountered a question, great customer service!
ProsVery intuitive.
ConsNo user manual.
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2017
jonnie lyn e.
assistant director
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“sustain experience”

Overallit has been a fairly positive experience. it would be helpful to have free, regular, short web based training sessions on specific topics (similar to what rediker does for their software) more documentation, with samples of best practices some parts are a little clunky and difficult to navigate. perhaps info when hovering (i.e., "use xx for xxx")
Prosintegration to school MIS system
Conslack of documentation, perhaps too many options. if the software is truly for schools then it might not need to be quite as robust
Recommendations to other buyersan excel wizard export of all fields that is highly cutomizable.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Kimberly L.
Development Director
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Love Sustain”

OverallGreat Service when I call.
ProsI love the report system for the donations. I like how I can transfer to other programs in order to save to my files and also email them to others. I also like that it lets me know when there is an address close to another one in case it's the same address.
ConsI am not a fan of the latest update to plug in donations. I have to go to another part under the person to put it in and before it would go straight to it to enter.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Ian F.
Associate Executive Director
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Affordable with some bells...”

OverallThey're professional, know their stuff, and very helpful!
ProsThe price of this is something that just about any organization or development professional should consider. While the bells & whistles don't hold a candle to Raiser's Edge, or some of the other "cadillac" versions of donor software, you're not paying an exorbitant sum, either. For a more modest office, this is great.
ConsReports, reports, reports. Every donor software's issue will come down to reports- how easy it is to find the information you've so meticulously entered. While Sustain has some excellent qualities, like all budget donor software, you lose out on the report customization & dashboard (at a glance).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Lisa L.
Director of Advancement
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2017

“Sustain Review”

OverallThe best thing about the Sustain database system is that it works with the Rediker products so that I can bring the information into my advancement office with little effort. The training is important to learn so you can take advantage of all the options. I find the support is excellent and always get a quick answer and willingness to work with me to find the answer.
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2017
Kathleen M.
Non profit Consultant
Non-Profit Organization Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2017

“Great Software for Fundraisers!”

OverallAccessible, intuitive and a bargain. I have worked with the Sustain team for years and you can't beat the hands on customer service. Why overpay for useless features overpriced technical support?
ProsLogical interface, customer support, easy to use and train others
ConsA little cumbersome with Macs
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2017
Missy F.
Director of Development
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Review of Sustain”

OverallSupport staff has been incredible and responsive. They work with us to create the kinds of reports we need. I am not a database expert, but even I can figure out intuitively how to perform most functions.
ProsHow intuitive it is. Tracks most all important data we need. Team works with us to add new functionalities to improve it. I love that I can access it from home if I need to.
ConsThe Platform of Ericom that we use to connect is sometimes not consistent, but I don't think this is Sustain's fault.
Recommendations to other buyersContinue working with us to improve functionality.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Jon P.
Principal
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Overall positive experience”

OverallSustain has overall been a positive experience. Customer support has been prompt and helpful. In running reports or mail merges, there can be an excessive lag, but I think that is because it our system is hosted. My feeling is that if we were running the software locally, there would not be this lag.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Cindy W.
Director of Institutional Advancement
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Most unreliable software”

OverallSeacrest has had more issues with Sustain and although we call for customer support, it typically falls short. We have been told multiple times the problem is on "our end" or with Finalsite or Admin+. We have learned to work around to solve issues on our own. Reporting functions are almost non-existent and when they do work the report is, more times than not, incorrect. Edited information is often reverted back to previous information. General ease of is not user-friendly. The dashboard appears to be from 1970. We are budgeting for replacement software.
Prosnothing
Conseverything, especially reliability and reporting
Recommendations to other buyersI would not recommend this software to any other institution.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Sandy D.
Development Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Wish my predecessor had never purchased this system.”

OverallWe use the software as a comprehensive donor tracking tool. We have come to learn no other school uses it to the degree we do and it is very evident. There are constant issues with the system and upgrades. Not a fan at all.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't purchase it.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Louise J.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Upgrade for us”

OverallSustain was definitely an upgrade for us after years using another good, but basic, student information software system which integrated admissions, development, and contact databases. We have used Sustain with Rediker since the beginning of this academic year, and I am happy with the capabilities of Sustain so far. Pros: (relatively) intuitive, lots of features, good volunteer tracking feature. Cons: clunky at times, training could have been more comprehensive, interface could be updated.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Jane D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Intuitive and effective for any budget”

OverallI have been using Sustain for several years now. We were never able to afford proper ongoing training so it's got to be pretty good if I've figured out how to use the basics! There are still functions that I don't know how to use but it works for tracking our donors and members and kicking out letters easily. The reports are useful and I like that it is a Maine born company. If I get really desperate, I know that I can email customer support and they will get right back to me.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Jenny S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“I am a happy customer!”

OverallI have been using Sustain for eight years and I have found Sustain to be a very user friendly software for the most part. The customer services is EXCELLENT! Anytime I have a question or a problem, the support staff is very prompt and helpful. I love that the Sustain team is always looking for ways to integrate functions (such as wealth engine) to make it a one stop shop as much as possible. I would recommend this software to any non-profit.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Katie R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Development Director”

OverallSustain is one of the most user friendly fundraising programs I've ever worked this. I enjoy working in this program and if I ever run into a snag, Sustain customer service is available to help work through it. I would definitely recommend this company and software to anyone looking for a new program to track donor information.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Bart C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2017

“Tampa Catholic High School”

OverallWe have been very pleased with the product and the support offered. As with any software, as we use it we find features and functionality that we would like to see added. They have been very responsive to our suggestions.
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2017
Jill C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Sustain review”

OverallReally would like written procedures on how to use features. There are many that I don't know how to use. Excellent value for cost.
ConsNo written procedures.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017