SigmaPlot Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About SigmaPlot

SigmaPlot provides more than 100 different 2-D and 3-D graph types. From simple 2-D scatter plots to compelling contour plots, SigmaPlot gives you the exact technical graph type you need for your demanding research. With so many options, you can always find the best visual representation of your data. Industry specific modules include; Electrophysiology, Enzyme Kinetics, Ligand Binding Module, and Curve Analysis Module Learn more about SigmaPlot

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Joseph L.
Biologist
Environmental Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019

“Unparalleled!”

OverallI use SigmaPlot to analyze patterns and construct graphs for general public and professional audiences. I have been using different versions of SigmaPlot for at least 10 years.
ProsThe graphing capabilities of SigmaPlot probably put the software on the map. The user can select among a great number of options in 2-d and 3-d graphing. The graphs are easily customized, much more so than in Excel, and their appearance is highly professional. They are exposed as high resolution graphics (or low, you choose!) for your documents. Some people may overlook, though, the awesome statistical power that SigmaPlot offers as well. In addition to some parametric and descriptive stats, SigmaPlot excels in linear and non-linear modeling. The software provides the user the opportunity to truly explore the meaning of the data plotted in their graphs. Admittedly, I know that the software is "canned" and does not require users to write code to analyze, which in some cases may be preferred. But for the vast majority of operations that I've seen people need in my career, SigmaPlot will do the job and do it well.
ConsOne feature I would like to see improved is the interface for writing my own non-linear model and fitting it to the dataset. The software provides the option, but unfortunately it is a bit clunky. I often struggle with knowing what the software needs (e.g., starting initial values?) or how to identify the parameters. In this sense, I think Systat (Sigmaplot's older sister) is far superior with how a user writes a nonlinear model function. I wish Sigmaplot would take how it's done in Systat and use that interface in their own software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Political Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“Great to work with”

ProsThere is no comparison between this and its competitors. Graphing is what it does and does well. The options range from linear or bar to 3d and functional response surfaces. The user can also smooth the data for graphing and has several options to do so. With the ability to conduct linear, nonlinear modeling, and ANOVA, this software may be all a person needs!
ConsDon't expect to get much of a help file with this. While excel does a great job of walking a user through problems, I never thought that the Help file for sigma plot was that helpful. Instead, I think the user must really expect to spend some time with the software to learn it. The good news? The software is easy to work with!! Just get started. The data import is much easier than for R or Past, and the graphing features are exceptional as compared with excel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Kevin N.
Process Development Engineer
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“SigmaPlot is great for low-mid level statistics”

OverallOur business uses SigmaPlot for data analysis of large data sets as well as for publication grade figures.
ProsSigmaPlot will automatically test for normality and equal variance with simple statistical tests and let the user know if those assumptions failed and if a new test should be run. These are very helpful when analyzing large sets of data.
ConsWhen making figures, the software can sometimes not show a set of data. The figure tab needs to be closed and reopened for the figure to be fully shown.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Nitin K.
Post doctoral Researcher
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“One of the most powerful statistical software”

ProsThis software does all kind of statistical tests and results are accepted by all the research publications
ConsThe software is expensive and is not affordable for individual use
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Brian H.
Professor
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018

“SigmaPlot is my go to software for publication quality graphs and even data analysis.”

OverallWe use SigmaPlot for data analysis and graphing, producing high quality images that get published in our manuscripts submitted to journals.
ProsThe quality of the graph produced far exceeds any other software program, and it provides lots of basic and advanced options for data analysis - for me, it has everything I need to visualize data and evaluate trends (statistically) over time.
ConsThere's a bit of a learning curve to the tricks of the trade, but once you get there you are good...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Carlos R.
Head of Industrial Metrology Lab
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“I use SigmaPlot since university (+20 years) and its the more easy graph tool that i use. ”

ProsIts useful in the analysis statistical, multivariate, fitting curves, 3D visualization. The graphs dont see like simple toys, are vero professional and complete. Its really good for make the graph and visualizations for papers and similar publications.
ConsWill be that any say that have tricks for better and fast efficient but i think that permit make many variations impossibles with software like spreadsheets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018

“Sigma Plot was extremely easy to use while also producing professional looking graphs”

OverallProducing professional graphs that are used in presentations, papers, and progress reports. Saved a lot of time since the software is the easiest to learn scientific graphing program I have used.
ProsI like the ease of use of the software. All of the components used to analyze graphs are easy to find and work really. The ease of use is comparable to Microsoft Excel which is a major plus since there is not a steep learning curve to learning the software. Also the ability to export an editable graph to a word doc, powerpoint, or any other software is useful if you want to place a graph as a place holder and go back to edit later.
ConsThe costs of the software can get a little high due to it being subscription based, if you're a student like me and only use it a few times a month it is hard to justify the price. However, if you're a professional and use the software daily the price is very reasonable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“My default software to make graphs”

OverallIt took me a while to learn it, but totally worth it.
ProsI love that I can customize every single thing in my graph when using Sigmaplot. The graphs always look professional.
ConsEven though it is great to have everything customizable, sometimes I feel that it would be nice to be able to have some things automatic. For example, if you have 4 graphs in one page, it would be nice to tell the software that you want them at equal distance from each other, or at the same height, instead of either having to guess or go through the menu trying to find the position on each graph on the page to make sure they are all the same.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Omondi P.
Associate Programs Coordinator
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Efficient in managing and Analyzing data”

OverallIt generates a graphical representation of data quickly and easily. Anybody can use it, including those who are learning data analysis.
ProsIt can give the user both 3D and 2D graphical representation of data. It is easy to use especially for those learning data analysis, as it provides a step by step guidance when analyzing data.
ConsDoes not directly integrate with Microsoft Excel, the user has to copy paste the data in excel to powerpoint before using it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Great software for custom made -and high quality- graphs”

ProsI can customize EVERYTHING in my graphs. They look professional and ready to submit to any journal for publication. You just need to know where to find things, but once you now, you can personalize every aspect of a graph.
ConsThere are certain types of graphs that you can't do using SigmaPlot, but that has happened to me only once when I decided to do some "fancy" statistics. It drive me a bit crazy that when you use subscript on an axle and then you modify something, the subscript gets transformed to regular font size, but now that I now that it has that glitch I'm more careful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Marcos M.
Researcher
Environmental Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Boost the way you show your data”

OverallI've started working with SigmaPlot after realizing that the plots I was making for my scientific publications were low-quality and failed to impress readers. Besides, SigmaPlot offered some really powerful data analyses tools that were not available in other software.
ProsSigmaPlot offers a wide range of tool to analyze and work data and allows to export all sorts of plots as high-quality images. It's the full pack for scientists needing to work their data and create fantastic figures for their publications.
ConsEase of use is something that can only be achieved with intensive use of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Uma K.
Postdoctoral fellow
Biotechnology, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Easy Data analysis tool”

ProsSigmaPlot is a data analysis software for creating graphs easily and quickly. it's a new user-friendly.
Conssome problem while plotting and editing a particular kind of graph.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Steven H.
Core Facility manager
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2016

“Powerful scientific graphing tool for 2D & 3D publication quality charts and graphs”

OverallThis software fulfils many of the graphing needs of researchers in a university medical school. It is compatible with the output from the SPSS statistical analysis package. I have been impressed with its ability to create exact graphs of scientific data while not having unnecessary layers of complexity.
ProsUser-friendly interface.
ConsOccasional problems with pasting in data that require reformatting.
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Sugmaplot Review ”

OverallIt has helped us work on projects that requires data analysis and without spending much time and money.
ProsIt helps reduce stress of calculating long data. You rather use the software in no time.
ConsIt is not user friendly and you must have had a prerequisite knowledge before.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Great tool for professional plotting ”

ProsThe commands are extremely simple. It took me approximately 30 minutes or less to figure it all out. I recommend this software especially to plot graphs for academic publications!
ConsAll comands have to be entered manually. That can be a drawback depending on how many graphs you need to plot. For that matlab might be a better option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Hansuk S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2017

“unique graphical capabilities ”

OverallIt's very easy to use. One of the nice features of sigmaplot is its capability of sharing files with other software such as MS excel, Minitab, and SAS.
ProsNice 3D graphs
ConsIt is expensive and it does not work with Mac.
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2017
Avatar Image
Brian L.
Project Scientist
Environmental Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Good way to make understandable visuals.”

ProsReally like having the ability to make graphs that are easily understandable. Before this, I was using a spreadsheet program to make my displays, and it just can't always display your data as appropriately as Sigmaplot. The final product looks professional, and not lazy or cartoonish.
ConsIt's not really the easiest to figure out. Even being familiar with the results I am trying to display, and the layout of the data, it sometimes takes a little more work than expected to get my visuals to look the way I want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Terry P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“Does great things if you can get through the bugs”

OverallSigmaplot makes great graphs and does some good statistical analyses. However, each new release seems to incorporate new bugs, of which there are many. I use sigmaplot when I have to but I also save often because it crashes often. If you get frustrated by ArcGIS, don't use Sigmaplot. Sigmaplot is way more frustrating.
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017