Secret Server Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Secret Server

Secret Server is an enterprise-grade solution to discover, secure, manage, and audit privileged account passwords and credentials across an organization. Available in on-premises and cloud editions, Secret Server is feature-rich and user-friendly. Additionally, the available Secret Server SDK protects privileges used in the DevOps environment with the same security best practices and management tools used throughout the enterprise, while maintaining the velocity and scale DevOps teams demand. Learn more about Secret Server

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Yannick V.
System Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017

“Very secure and useful tool”

OverallWe're using this tool for 4 years now in the business and are very happy with the possibilities of the tool. It's easy to manage and get reports based on activity which is very useful. It seamlessly integrates with AD for SSO authentication and 2-factor authentication is possible as well. A nice feature to have would be a captcha or SMS message for 2-factor authentication, but this has not been implemented (yet?).
Pros- Lots of possibilities and integrations - Reporting and monitoring - Password heartbeat - Mobile app (with possibility to download a local copy of the secrets)
Cons- Currently, 2-factor authentication relies on external parties for which a subscription is needed. It would be nice if they could offer free methods as well (captcha, mail, ...) - There used to be a Java-based application to get a local copy of the secrets in a computer, but they replaced it with a Chrome add-on which is pretty slow and easy to manage.
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018

“Full-Featured Password Management Solution; Relatively Easy To Use”

OverallSecret Server provides a great way for us to store, manage, and provide access to passwords within our organization. Passwords stored range anywhere from company social accounts to AD service accounts used by IT/Engineering teams. I like that the software can be integrated into AD in order to manage access by group. It's also nice that the super admin cannot view all passwords in the software: they have the ability to add/remove users, but the access to the passwords themselves are separately managed.
ProsI think the AD integration is the most important feature for us. It allows us to use our AD credentials when logging so we don't have to remember a separate set of credentials to get to all of our other credentials. It also allows for AD group management of access to our specific password folders within Secret Server.
ConsWe don't fully utilize all of the extended features, so the cost of the product is becoming a bit steep for us. We were able to negotiate good pricing when we had more users utilizing the software, but now that our team is much smaller now, our licensing is set to go up. That being said, the licensing cost is the worst part for our company as it is set to double at our upcoming renewal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“Enterprise Password Management”

OverallComing from previous password solutions like KeePass make this an attractive product although it is expensive it offers many security minded features but like many products, its strength lies in the hands organizational or departmental leadership. For passwords that must be group shared, the tool is useful.
ProsFunctional password manager with features that allow users to share and update passwords without risking the compromise of authentication information. Allows for auditing and history to ensure that trust is maintained.
ConsToo easy for someone to use master admin and access information that is not needed. Organizational policies and manager preferences can make this tool difficult to trust by users. Browser interface can be clunky and difficult to navigate. If you have multiple groups using the product, extra thought needs to be given to how data will be shared and organized.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Ian M.
Operations Engineer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019

“Amazing Password Storage Tool”

OverallOverall, Thycotic's Secret Server is a solid product, and one I would definitely recommend that anyone in the market for a password management tool at least take a look at for consideration.
ProsThis tool is very easy to use and has a Chrome Extension that makes it even more amazing. I really like the password generation tool, as well. You can setup templates and integrate with AD to determine who is allowed to view which groups of secrets based on their OU.
ConsWhile I do like this product better than other password management tools I have used, it is certainly not the cheapest option out there. Also, there is no readily available warnings for when you are about to hit your licensing limits for number of secrets stored.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Matthew U.
Senior Support Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018

“One password portal to rule them all”

ProsSecret server is the best password site to be used between users. With the ability to sort clients, types of secrets, generate passwords, link directly to logins, copy and paste passwords, and obfuscation of passwords, the list honestly goes on. You can be scheduled to be notified if someone accesses a certain password, or if someone needs to get a password they don't normally have access to. There is a free version that I use at home to store all my passwords so that my wife has access, should she need them.
ConsThe ability to make custom secrets is severely missed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2018

“Easy to user interface - Secure storage for passwords”

ProsThis ease of use for this software is great. We deployed it into our environment and users of all technical abilities have been able to utilize it. The ability to share secure passwords across teams is a handy feature as well. As admins, we share admin passwords for our Xerox machines, or other admin passwords that are needed throughout our daily work that need to be securely stored. There is also a feature to create complex passwords, which provides auto-generated passwords that can be as complex as you want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2018
Jessica K.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“Awesome journal to keep all your passwords”

ProsI like that it saves & remembers all your passwords. It can also help create passwords too. Very easy to use!
ConsEven though this program keeps a log off all your passwords, Ive always said, that it would be nice if you could use 1 password for everything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Dan S.
Client Sales Manager
Sports, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“The best way to keep your network secure, with regularly changing passwords”

OverallIt's a reassuring to know that our systems and software is safe with this software managing password changes,
ProsIt allows us to be able to maintain security at the highest level by regularly changing passwords to our most important networks
ConsThere is not much to dislike, the software allows us plenty of flexibility and opportunity to have our say in password security
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“I use this to store some passwords and other critical information.”

OverallSafe and secure storage of sensitive information. That is the main benefit.
ProsI like the ease of use for this. It works quite well for being able to store information in a secure location and to be able to retrieve it quickly and easily
ConsHonestly, the pronunciation. Every time I say it, it sounds like I have a lisp. This is partially in jest but even talking to someone about it makes it sounds silly. Go on, try it. Thycotic secret server, see what I mean?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Daniel A.
Owner
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2017

“Just what the Dr ordered”

OverallWe use both the on-premise and cloud Secret Server product to manage all of our passwords. It's one of the best and most secure products out there! There are advantages and disadvantages to both, but either one is an excellent product.
ProsHighly secure. Easy to use interface. Reliable, consistent, and priced right.
ConsThey could probably work a bit on their integration with other environments. They do well with Linux/Unix, but not so well with browser passwords.
Recommendations to other buyersTest it, try it, you'll like it.
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2017
John B.
Infrastructure Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2010

“Our Admin team uses Secret Server”

OverallSimple system to manage all our shared accounts. Couldn't live without it.
ProsSimple install. Easy to use interface. These guys have thought of everything - the system is clearly based on feedback over the years and it shows. Request approval for access, templating, automatic password changes on the network, AD integration, even finding where our service accounts are used.
ConsI wish it supported more password change platforms - currently it supports AD, Windows, SQL, oracle,, and *NIX. I wish it also handled network devices for auto password changing ... hopefully soon.

Vendor Response

By Thycotic Software on January 29, 2010
Yes - we will definitely be adding support for additional password platforms in the future. 7.0 will ship with Sybase support and MySQL support is coming soon. Also Cisco device support should be soon after.
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2010
Avatar Image
Chris M.
Manager, Technology Service & Support
Accounting, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2017

“Best Identify manager I have used”

ProsEase of use, Options for Cloud or on premise, additional identity management features when on premise. Shared passwords, OS independent. Neutralized, managed and secure, sharing of passwords based on roles.
ConsThe software takes allot of time to setup and configure for your needs, Creating templates, roles, etc. One setup the conversion of existing identity data can be tedious.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2017
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“Gets the job done.”

ProsThis software is pretty straight forward and without frills. It gets the job done and doesn't get too much in the way with flashy or over the top functionality.
ConsI wish they could keep the unnecessary functions down but give the interface a face lift. It's straight out of windows 95.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
David T.
IT Mgr
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2012

“Great Small Business Tool”

OverallI have no reservations about recommending this password manager. It's a huge time saver.
ProsExtremely easy password management. Setting permissions for various users is easy (after learning how). I can view reports of what users have viewed when they leave the company. Support is responsive and they've even implemented one of my suggestions.
ConsThere were a few hiccups with permissions when setting up the software. A quickstart document could have helped me avoid those minor delays.
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2012
Verified Reviewer
Gambling & Casinos, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“When you want to keep your passwords safe.”

OverallNot easy to enforce use for users of other tools.
ProsEasy and simple installation. Intuitive navigation.
ConsOrganizational measures and security policy can make this tool difficult to useby users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019