OutSystems Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About OutSystems

Note: OutSystems is an enterprise solution and not typically suited for individual use. Thousands of business customers worldwide trust OutSystems, the #1 low-code platform for rapid enterprise-grade application development. OutSystems is the only solution that combines the power of low-code development with advanced mobile capabilities, enabling visual development of entire application portfolios that easily integrate with existing systems. Learn more about OutSystems

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 236 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 236 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Manish J.
Tech Lead
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019

“Best RAD (Rapid Application Tool) available in the market”

OverallI was core .Net developer but when i learned this tool development become fun for me and you feel craving for learning more n more every day. Community is so helpful and full of experts who always motivates you to achieve the best. In few years, i am become tech lead in this technology and passed the professional certification as well. we are in a position to deliver the enterprise level application in few months & customize any feature in few hours. It's flexible enough to implement your ideas into reality.
ProsYou don't need to be technically expert to work on this tool, its easy to learn, if you are logical & having development experience in any technology - all tutorials with practical implementation & study material are available online over the Outsystems Portal. Easy to implement the responsive design with complex features using ready made template & tools available over the forge library. Community with Outsystems experts is 24x7 is available to help you. You will always get best solutions through this community & expert advice's as well. Development is fun with Outsystems, if you have ever worked in .Net or Java you can easily compare the features offered by this Tool like consuming & exposing API's, Integrating with Other systems, Asynchronous services like Timers to process the heavy job or large amount of data. In terms of security, you don't need to take care mush about it, platform itself take care of most the things by simply enabling & disabling it at platform level. In terms of performance, you can easily maintain the multi-tenant application with tons of records. Flexible enough to customize and reuse. Having the option to create your own component using .Net extensions and compile the same in your environment and use it in form of action/functions. No need to have separate Dev-ops team, Outsytems provide the Lifetime Inbuilt tool to manage the release and deployment at single robust platform, also provide the concrete analytical report of production environment.
ConsThere are few restriction while using Outsystems Platform like you cannot play with systems entities or core platform components. Sometimes, it become challenge to migrate data or application from one platform to Outsystems. Performance & scaling can only be achieved only if you are expert in Outsystems otherwise it's difficult to achieve the bench mark for large application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019
Travis C.
Managing Partner
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“The software delivery platform that is all about BUSINESS VALUE!”

OverallI have been in the low-code/RAD space for over 16 years, even developing and selling a RAD tool that was targeted at a specific vertical, and nothing checks all the boxes like OutSystems. It is a large system, and it needs to be. When I read how people identify Price as a Con, I felt that they had missed the point. Sure, OutSystems is not inexpensive but the value provided far outweighs the cost, especially to the business users! The time saved by the platform solving your IT problems will most likely cover the cost of the OutSystems License. Simply put, OutSystems takes care of the IT problems and allows you to spend a lot more time with the business solving real business problems!
ProsI want to talk about the platform! Organizations spend millions of dollars trying to maintain information such as master data, application lists, component usage (jQuery) etc., or the developers and architects must pull this information together in a mad scramble, while interrupting many projects. In seconds, OutSystems can not only identify which applications are using any object, it will also show where it is being used. How many application documents to you think exist that have never been opened after the sign-off? Millions? Multiply that by the hours spent creating them. Millions of wasted hours providing zero business value. OutSystems is the documentation! The OutDoc app is real time app documentation. If you do not like the look of the OutDoc report, change it! Ask your users what drives more value to them: IT people solving IT problems by creating rarely used documents? Or, would they prefer the platform take care of the IT problems while you spend much more time helping them solve real business problems? One Click Deployments: Gone are the days where you spend hours or sometimes days deploying and promoting your applications through each environment every few months. 4 Layer Canvas promotes proper architecture to ensure current and future applications are scalable and maintainable. The Discovery app will identify architecture issues. Without proper architecture and reusable components, you cannot even think about DevOps.
ConsLacking the ability to encourage highest quality apps in the Forge App Store. Many of the apps in the Forge App Store are easy to use, very helpful and well documented. However, many of the apps lack documentation or examples, making them very difficult to get full value. Compounding the problem, this often results in having to ask the community how to properly use the app, which is now impacting other people. Many people will say the apps are free, "stop complaining". I argue that they can be far from free and I would be willing to purchase a well-documented app if I knew it would save time. This might lead to a nice competition within the app store where everyone can win. Searching the content on OutSystems.com needs to be fixed! OutSystems has A LOT of documentation, but the site does a bad job searching it, especially if your search criteria has more than one word. Although in the last couple of days, the search has improved so it is possible this was a addressed. OutSystems isn't perfect, but from a big picture perspective we are splitting hairs at this point. Besides, how many hours of IT projects are spent splitting hairs? The few items mentioned above are fixable and what is great about OutSystems is we can add them to the Ideas list for OutSystems to consider in a future release.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Avatar Image
John W.
Web and Enterprise Team Lead
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018

“One of the most efficient Mobile device application development environments”

OverallOutsystems was chosen as a platform to rewrite a legacy product developed over 30 years and bring it into the cloud. It has been a really good choice for an organisation that had no web or cloud experience and has helped avoid many of the basic mistakes that could otherwise have been made. Whist there are some limitations on flexibility and price the benefits and speed to market far out way these.
ProsThe Outsystems development environment it very easy to use for anyone with previous development experience as well as being a great place for those with little or no development experience to come up to speed quickly. Allows fast prototyping whilst keeping good consistency and a polished appearance Provides a good balance between continual deployment and traditional dev-qa-prod staging Enforces inter module dependency integrity Enabled good UI-Business-Data separation whilst still allowing for RAD Good merging and conflict detection when multiple devs are working within the same module Projects and applications are rock solid and stable once released Easy to bring non Outsystems developers up to speed Realy good certification and training material
Cons Priced at the high end and not cost effective for small scale development Shows some signs of instability in the publishing process with very large and complex projects On the PaaS version you are heavily restricted on access to the infrastructure and cannot get access to simple functions such as SQL replication or database maintenance options. Lack of skilled developers with pre existing Outsystems knowledge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018
Ritchie A.
Software Architect
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2016

“A really slick RAD tools with some particular strengths”

OverallI've actually had occasion to make RAD-style tools in the far-flung past. This is the sort of platform I would have made if I could. Some of the initial steps are a little harder than you would expect, but once you are used to where everything lives, it's easy to find it again. Coding is done via flowcharts, and these are pretty easy to use, not to mention fairly easy to use straight up as diagrams to show other people what's going on. OutSystems is pretty good for only showing you matching options, e.g. if you need a date, it will show you everything local with a date and important functions, like the current date. If you adopt certain naming conventions, OutSystems will fill in the type for you: IsSuccess will become Boolean on account of the "Is" part. JobEntryId will become a Job Entry Identifier. Database design is extremely easy, just add, adjust and publish in a tree or diagram and migrations are automatic, though when you remove things, it won't remove them from the database automatically. Using the databases is even easier. Drag and drop the columns, join whatever is not automatically joined, add sorting and filters and OutSystems will try to choose a sample of your data. This sample can be changed by changing the test value, e.g. let's see UserId = worker1. There's a "business processes" that looks strongly inspired by BPMN 2.0, though it is not identical. These can be used for long-term states or even just simple asynchronous programming. The web interface side of things is pretty slick, though it can be quite ornery about exact placement. I would recommend using the widget tree view instead when this happens to avoid frustration. There is some pretty good support for Responsive Web Design, especially if you choose a theme designed to show on many devices. If you are missing some functionality, one option that is available is to make extensions. I've made a few of these. The programming side is a bit esoteric , and there are some odd holes (can use a list of records but not a list) but it's pretty good once you get the hang of it. A few complaints or improvement opportunities: it would be nice if it was a bit more object-oriented. Built-in tools for data migration, especially between Development, Testing and Production, would be most welcome. I also found myself desperately wishing for a try...finally construct. Java versions of components are a bit neglected. It's been very, very productive all said.
ProsThe hard things made easy - the BPMN capability, the tree editing and republishing of data entities, the Responsive Web design. Also, the fairly intelligent guessing about properties, the rather speedy resolution/propagation of name changes, deletions, etc. The monitoring software is pretty good.
ConsIf you're developing an extension, it's a four-step manual publishing process to update. No try..finally. The licensing model per certain kind of object encourages bad coding to try to save costs. The visual editor for interfaces goes crazy far too often, making the widget tree the only consistent way to edit them. The lack of built-in data migration is my biggest sticking point right now.
Recommendations to other buyersThere's actually a fair amount of power here for something that looks "toy-like" from a distance. Prepare for the occasional thing to just be really difficult, like doing master-detail lookup lists, but they will seem almost sensible in retrospect :)
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2016
Esther P.
Senior Manager: IT Solutions
Management Consulting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2016

“Development Game Changer”

OverallThe business landscape has rapidly moved to digital operations. To be successful your business needs not just to be resilient, but also to embrace a resilient culture. The technology that supports business operations should be agile enough to embrace the continuous changing market landscape and enable business to move at the speed of change. The Outsystems platform reduces development time by up to 75% and accelerate time-to-market by a factor of three. This provided our organization to cost effectively implement locally developed solutions and other businesses in a significant shortened time. Our main focus is now more on the user interface and interaction, which provides the value expected.
ProsThe speed to develop and making changes to applications developed Development is done logically with very limited hard coding Ease to develop mobile applications and submissions to the app stores Ease to use the native features of devices Built in change management and control of the development and release process with a one-click publish feature Built in security features in the platform Excellent support and community forums Technical aspects very well documented and user friendly The true change and debugging features are invaluable Notification and guidance on dependencies for changes made to modules Cloud hosting option The investment by Outsystems to provide annually new features, functionalities and keeping up to date with technology trends and providing their customers with the tools to easily stay abreast Pre-build modules provided, which eliminates the need to develop commonly used functionality
ConsCost in South Africa is expensive due to weak currency and exchange rates Difficult for developers used to hard coding to change their way of thinking to grasp how the platform works. However, this is not a flaw of the platform, but rather a change required in the mindset of traditional developers.
Recommendations to other buyersThe agility and ease of to develop and change system with the Outsystems Platform provides organizations the ability to disrupt and quickly adapt to digital requirements in the market. This product revolutionizes the software development landscape and organizations will have a leading edge in their markets as IT can move faster that the speed of business change and eliminate the legacy trying to keep up with the speed at which business requires change.
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2016
Yukie W.
Sales Support Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2016

“Review of OutSystems Platform”

OverallI was able to start use ServiceStudio though I have a little knowlege of Database and SQL. OSP allows us to get pleasure and fun by starting developing applications first, and then we are interested in the back architechture such as SQL sentence, server and client structure, and so on and start learning. It will be good tool to start learning of developing web application, and fill the requirement of professional developer.
ProsVIsual Modeling, Beautiful Screen Design with default theme, free design with javascript and CSS, SmartPhone and Smart Device support, Cloud/OnPremise support, Auto-implemented performance logs, robustness of application, real time bug detection, auto-versioning of application, no-lockin architechture, multi-language support, etc.
Cons- Localize problem - many of Japanese developers are not good at English, therefore it is difficult to increase the number of OSP developers easily. So it is expected that all documents and videos are translated to Japanese. - Need cooperation feature with printing format like Excel diagram and PDF. - Need cooperation feature with accounting system. - To get the approval to purchase subscription license in Japanese companies, it will be better there is many license structure not only with AOs and Users but also type of purpose such as "For create Portal Site", "For create internal attendance and leaving system", and so on. - Need product loadmap which describes wchich version of OS will be supported in the future and how many years current version of OS or Java will be supported.
Recommendations to other buyersJapanese customer want more long time support for each version of OSP. Because it is common among Japanese companies to do all the test before updating, so it is not easy to update the version in Japan than other countries.
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2016
José M.
Consultant
Utilities, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2016

“Built-to-change”

OverallAfter spending some time working with other web technologies, such as .NET, python and Java, it's difficult not to feel some enthusiasm while developing a brand new web app with the OutSystems platform. But why? ... some may ask. Well, if you spend 5 minutes looking at its IDE (Service Studio), you will quickly understand. The way the fundamental concepts are organized on it - Data Model, Business Logic, Interfaces and Processes - they easily allow you to materialize the business requirements into each layer, creating a thriving application. At the end, if the business needs change or if requires some adjustments, the complexity to change the application, in order to be compliant with the needs, is far more simple with this technology. In a nutshell, it's a real built-to-change technology. Driving the focus to my latest experience with the platform at ENGIE, the applications developed in OutSystems are actually allowing the end-users to perform both day-ahead and intra-day nominations to the Electricity Transmission System Operators (TSO) - Elia and TenneT. In one hand, knowing how critical it is to have an energy imbalance of zero all the time, in order to avoid any energy disrupt of the network grid, and in the other hand, given the floating energy market prices and the unexpected interventions to the power plants, it's critical that the applications be constantly responsive, enabling the end-users to adjust the Production Plans and to communicate these changes to the TSO within 15 minutes. This kind of business responsiveness, allied to the fact of having new versions of the applications going live every 2 months, demands a zero-downtime during each application deployment. With the OutSystems platform, the goal of having a Go-Live without any runtime interruption can be easily achieved.
ProsWell, the motto is not mine, but I surely have to apply it in here: "The IDE of my dreams!" This is certainly a good reason to drive the adoption of the platform. Any developer keened to fulfill the business needs on time will surely understand the advantages of using it for development. The simplicity allied to the legibility of the written code in this IDE, reduce the gap between the business requirements and its materialization into lines of code. For last but not least, the built-in application Lifetime - which is part of the platform - is surely a gem for any DevOps team, providing them a powerful mean to control and to revert any deployment between environments.
ConsKnowing that the road to perfection always ends up in the horizon, there are definitely two points that should be mentioned: the first concerns the lack of legibility of the application's Javascript and the second one, the lack of built-in Unit Tests. If your application is mainly a client-side application, written in Javascript, the platform may not be the right solution for it. In the other hand, if it's intended to execute all the business logic at the server-side, you should definitely spend some time evaluating it.
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2016
Curt R.
Contractor - Unisys Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
March 15, 2016

“Outsystems Platform for Agile Development”

OverallI was hired for a project to help convert a license and permit system from a legacy mainframe system (my expertise) to a web based system. The original plan was to use a Common Off-The-Shelf (COTS) product to do this but realized that the legacy solution was so specific to this organization that it would have taken many millions of dollars to customize the system. When looking for alternatives I found Outsystems and was able to quickly put together a prototype and plan that would give them all the capabilities they needed at a reasonable cost and time.
Pros1) Learning curve is very quick - after watching the videos I was productive within two weeks. 2) DevOps is built-in - many developers never think about the additional issues and concerns related to deploying fixes and improvements to a working application. The DevOps capabilities of the Outsystems platform removes these concerns. 3) Extensibility is a huge issue with any platform and Outsystems delivers completely in this area. From the Forum components that are available to the ability to write your own extensions in .Net or Java, there is nothing you cannot do with the platform. 4) No lock-in - many enterprise customers are concerned with being committed to a platform 'forever'. The Outsystems no lock-in capability eliminates these concerns.
Cons1) The built-in menu system is weak - while it's adequate for simple menus it can't do anything complicated. For example, implementing a Mega Menu type of menu is challenging though anything can be implemented with some work. 2) Outsystems is very receptive to ideas from the community but there's no way to know when/if those ideas will ever get implemented - some of the best ideas have been around for over 5 years with no feedback from Outsystems. A rough roadmap of what will be implemented in the future (with no guarantees) would help me plan work to take advantage of those features. 3) Pricing has been a sore point in the community for quite some time. While a base price is listed on their web site, the base price would rarely cover a full enterprise application. Also, pricing is geared to enterprise clients making it almost impossible to be used for small applications.

Vendor Response

By OutSystems on August 19, 2016
Thanks you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review Curt - it's because of users like you that tell us what is working and what should be improved that our product and company continue to grow and evolve. Thank you.
Source: GetApp
March 15, 2016
Avatar Image
Sujan S.
IT Application Developer
Hospitality, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“Excellent software and very well thought about the end to end process of software development”

OverallEliminates lot of issues encountered in traditional software development. Helps to build really quality applications. Piece of mind after deploying to production.:D
Pros-Easy to use and built in ui and template gets people up and running in few mins. -Structured development -Built in widgets prevents developers from developing the same components again and again (like pagination, menu bars, navigation and many more) -Focus on solving business problems instead of technical challenges -Code reuse is encouraged as AOs are tied to licensing -Deployment is nothing to worry about. Database scripts, versioning of code and migration all taken care by the platform -Refactoring is piece of cake with TrueChange. -Developing CRUD applications is a breeze but complicated applications can also be developed with ease. -Monitoring and logging taken care by default no setup is needed.
Cons-Although custom code can be written via integration studio, it would nice if we could write code inside of the service studio itself. -Some features like event based programming or reflection or looping fields of an object could be supported as out of the box features -Updating shared extensions will result in all the applications (that are using the extension) being redeployed -For the mobile apps, it will be good if the apps converted to purely native. (only an opinion) -Could have licensing for individuals (free lancers) :D
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
HÉLDER A.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2016

“Simple and Powerful!”

OverallBuild applications fast powerful, change them even faster, accelerating the development with existing resources, simplify the process of change Integrate with all existing systems and data sources and maintain order with the management and analysis The cost to make a change to an application during development increases exponentially with time, complexity and versions With agile methods becoming standard, application development has become a continuous exercise in change quick Productivity OutSystems platform was built to be fast so you can start working immediately Are obtained in applications in less time and with less risk than traditional solutions Speed and Code Combining visual modeling with your code to deliver high-quality applications at the speed your business demands Extending a powerful modeling environment in all layers from the UI to the complex logic for modeling and database processes With a JavaScript UI code, your own CSS classes, Java or C # code, APIs multiple database technologies Development of Multi-Channel It helps reduce the time and cost of development once for all devices Can be created beautiful and advanced UIs that perform well on all platforms, devices and the Web Get engaging experiences with drag and drop simplicity with Open Platform open platform that provides standards-based code and accumulates with extensibility You can extend the visual models with standard or custom code such as JavaScript, Java, C#, SQL, CSS and HTML Integrate with any external database and use APIs rest or SOAP web services for integration with their existing mission-critical systems Enterprise-Grade Platform It is scalable, allowing you to build and manage large portfolios of applications, created by teams of developers working on separate modules simultaneously Scale applications linearly as they grow from hundreds of millions of users It generates highly secure code that passes the audits of large financial and government institutions stricter safety reduced costs Significantly more time, money and resources are often spent on maintenance of an application than is spent on application development To save time and simplify the tasks that are done quickly and simultaneously tested so that the process is easy and fast No Lock-in Most platforms on the market can only be used and changed with the platform built OutSystems is the only platform that offers non-lock in truly can separate Java applications or C#.
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2016
Ravi V.
Tech Lead
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017

“Very Good Product. Very Fast Development.”

OverallThis product is one of the best cutting edge tool in the market for Rapid Application Development. This product shines if you to want to create web applications or mobile applications in a fast paced manner. There is some learning curve involved if you want to do lot of customizations on the front end but back end business logic implementation should be a piece of cake with lot of training material (videos and documentation) available on outsystem.com
ProsRapid Web and Mobile Application Development. You can create a basic web application or mobile application within minutes. Managing Deployments has never been so easy. Managing security framework for an application has never been so easy. Managing environments infrastructure, Load balancing, Elasticity, DB setup and object creation has never been so easy. There are lots of good features that platform provides will definitely overcome some of the cons listed below.
ConsHeavy customizations in cloud environment is not possible. For example if you want to enable CDC options or Full Text Search Options in SQL Server is not possible.
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017
Christian N.
IT Advisor / Software Architect
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017

“Positively suprised; and that is still going on”

OverallWorking / developing / creating with the OutSystems platform for a year now .. Sceptic as I always am about the promise of low-code and then "getting a lot of magic" ... OutSystems does a very good job in actually keeping their promise. Yes there is a learning curve but you get into it very fast. Yes it is more for developers than for business people ... but we can now both work together much faster in creating something we need / like. Also very impressed with the deployment process. It is a breeze. And I actually perform updates without sleepless nights because the platform helps me check several dependencies during development but also at deployment time. By the way .... this is platform not a tool. You can use the platform to support companies with a lot of users .. it is serious shit ;-) Only thing that is difficult to get an idea of is what type of license you need. For my client we had to buy additional points because we needed more ... that is of course a bummer ... so OutSystems if you are reading this ... this would help customers ... getting a better estimate of the license they need. But the pro's out weigh the con's by far. Good luck choosing your next platform!
ProsSee my review ... And let's not forget the amazing community that has been very helpfull ... it is alive and kicking
ConsSee my review; difficult to get an idea of the license you need as a starting company
Recommendations to other buyersThis is a platform not just a tool ... Once you start using this you will soon use it to rebuild other systems in your company ... So make sure you are prepared for that ;-)
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017
Avatar Image
Vitor Emanuel E.
Senior Software Engineer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“10 year software development with Outsystems”

ProsOutsystems enables software development to be way more faster compared with common development using C#.NET or other languages. Integrations with external systems with SOAP and REST are easy to be implemented off the shell, but a developer can always implement specific libraries for other integrations. It's easy to make simple queries but it's also possible to create specific database scripts (T-SQL, etc) and run them from the platform, if necessary. It's also easy to implement a good framework architecture with Outsystems, since modules can be easily reused by different End User screens.
ConsAs it is very simple to develop applications with Outsystems, it can also be the source of some performance problems if the developer does not have much experience. But that's not a specific and unique problem of this technology.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Remco D.
Senior Outsystems Developer
Oil & Energy, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
March 11, 2016

“Best experience ever with a development environment”

OverallI've used the Outsystems platform for more than 8 years now. Over the years you can see the quality of the platform and speed of development improving. I use the product to improve business processes and to reduce human interaction during processes by automation of repetitive tasks. The problems that can't be solved by the platform directly can always be solved by using a 3rd party extension that can be integrated into the platform. Outsystems can handle all types of applications from single user to large usergroups (more than 3000 concurrent users accessing the same application). I've not yet seen a competitor of Outsystems that works as good or better and has the same or better support (from the company as well as the community). So for me this is still the platform to work with.
ProsThere is not just one thing I like about the Outsystems Platform. I like the ease -of-use to build applications and the speed of deployment to production, The out-of-the-box Analytics to monitor the performance, the quality of the supportdesk and the active community.
ConsThe only thing that I don't like about the platform is the mystery around new versions. I would love to see a roadmap with a timeline for new functionalities and bugfixes. In relation to this I would also like to see from the Development Team which Ideas that are posted on the forum are put on the backlog and which will never be delivered.

Vendor Response

By OutSystems on August 19, 2016
Remco, thank you so much for your review and for ranking OutSystems so high compared to the the competition. We strive to continually deliver better product and services and to really partner with our customers, therefore we really appreciate your support.
Source: GetApp
March 11, 2016
Grayson U.
Senior Application Engineer
Financial Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“OutSystems makes life better for tech and business teams”

ProsOutSystems truly does live up to the promise of 10x development. The cost of the platform is offset completely by freeing up developers to provide vastly more value for every minute spent working on projects. Perhaps not obviously, it also improves the quality of products significantly. Developers get time back to actually work with customers in the target markets and operate on feedback. Divisions and companies can become more agile and keep up with an ever changing world.
ConsThere are some limitations with collaboration amongst teams. Because the platform uses a modeling language which exists in three dimensions, typical version control features like branching, merging, and pull requests do not currently exist. This issue can be overcome by changing the way you organize your teams and how they do work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Brian G.
Senior Software Engineer
Gambling & Casinos, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“Powerful tool for moving from ideas to prototypes to MVPs”

OverallOverall I have enjoyed the time I've spent developing in Outsystems very much. It takes a lot of the tedious mind-numbing work out of the process and lets you focus on creating awesome solutions.
ProsI really like how easy it is to get a prototype up and running in days or even hours/minutes. To be able to put something in your clients hands that they can see and interact with so quickly is very impactful. From there, making changes/improvements in an iterative fashion is very comfortable.
ConsIn multi-tenant applications I've found that scaling can be an issue in regard to views generated for each tenant and those being updated with each release. In a traditional sense the read uncommitted setting on SQL server is something to adjust to and not exactly something I felt comfortable with (but I understand why the platform does it).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018
helder a.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2016

“Build applications fast powerful”

OverallBuild applications fast powerful, change them even faster, accelerating the development with existing resources, simplify the process of change. Integrate with all existing systems and data sources and maintain order with the management and analysis. The cost to make a change to an application during development increases exponentially with time, complexity and versions. Combining visual modeling with your code to deliver high-quality applications at the speed your business demands. Extending a powerful modeling environment in all layers from the UI to the complex logic for modeling and database processes. With a JavaScript UI code, your own CSS classes, Java or C # code, APIs multiple database technologies. It helps reduce the time and cost of development once for all devices. Can be created beautiful and advanced UIs that perform well on all platforms, devices and the Web. Get engaging experiences with drag and drop simplicity with. open platform that provides standards-based code and accumulates with extensibility. You can extend the visual models with standard or custom code such as JavaScript, Java, C #, SQL, CSS and HTML. Integrate with any external database and use APIs rest or SOAP web services for integration with their existing mission-critical systems. It is scalable, allowing you to build and manage large portfolios of applications, created by teams of developers working on separate modules simultaneously. Scale applications linearly as they grow from hundreds of millions of users. It generates highly secure code that passes the audits of large financial and government institutions stricter safety. Significantly more time, money and resources are often spent on maintenance of an application than is spent on application development. To save time and simplify the tasks that are done quickly and simultaneously tested so that the process is easy and fast. Most platforms on the market can only be used and changed with the platform built. OutSystems is the only platform that offers non-lock in truly can separate Java applications or C # code.
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Development Platform that brings a new experience and speed of delivery”

Prosreally like the idea of being more focused on the business than in the code, but at the same time, if we want/need to be innovative and push our geek-side to create new components and integrations, we can also do it rapidly, using all the C# / Java / Javascript / ... capabilities. This, allied with the greater stakeholder engagement and satisfaction, the fast time to market, speed of change and full lifecycle maintenance and great community and support, are all keys to several successful projects on all kind of industries, top companies and all over the world.
ConsWhat I like least about Outsystems is the fact that the licensing price is too high and it could help more the smaller and medium businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Garth B.
Junior Mobile Developer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Simple To The Point Review”

OverallOverall I highly recommend it for business projects and people who need to develop fast. But for those who like writing the code themselves like me. You will probably end up using the platform and coding stuff on the side like me. So I really like what they have built and highly recommend investing some time into learning a bit about the platform. :D
ProsSpeed of development is insane. Outsystems really cuts dev time to a minimum. The speed that you can build things from the Functionality that is built into the system is really good. I use the platform at work for web dev. But it offers app dev as well and for android and ios in one build. No need to build different builds or versions for different platforms. One build covers android and ios. Overall there functionality is fantastic.
ConsIt get's kind of complex as you get more in depth as to what it is you are capable of doing with the platform. But like everything you can be average or great and if you wanna be great you gonna have to put in the time to learn. The biggest personal downfall of the system is that it takes away a lot of the actual coding. For me this is more of a preference as I personally love to sit and crunch code myself. And you can build with code in there program but there's really no point unless you doing something extremely custom because they have already built in the functionality. The system overall is great, really simple and drag and drop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Daniel K.
Senior OutSystems Developer / Techlead
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2018

“Why didn't I started with LowCode platform OutSystems earlier?”

OverallThe customers for which we deliver projects are from many different industries, we build solutions for field service companies, insurance companies, pension administrators, business consulting companies, etc.
ProsThe speed in which we can deliver web and mobile applications for our customer, and the developer experience, where most repetitive work is taken care of by OutSystems. Also the fact that it is a complete platform with all the DevOps build in is great! Last but not least the OutSystems community is a very active community of professionals, help is always available very promptly why you get stuck.
ConsDebugging capabilities not (yet) up to par with traditional development tools like Visual Studio, especially the ability to change values on the fly and to alter execution path. Then again visual debugging mobile application in an iPhone or iPad from my Windows developer laptop is amazing!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Christian N.
OutSystems Architect / Lead Developer (MedVinden B.V.)
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Implement business value with the speed of light in a beautiful way”

OverallI love it. .. I was sceptical at first but it has proven me wrong. It is a way to talk about business value instead of code and deploy this fast to your customers
ProsVisual modelling of data / Integrity checks (nothing is deployed when it breaks something else) / SilkUI (standard UI components so yuo doný have to make them all) / Ease of deployment between environments / Ease of integration with the rest of the world (REST, SOAP, database connections, extension with C#)
ConsWhen using the correct architecture (4-layer) and you have a lot of espaces/modules ... you have to refresh a lot modules (rebuild manually) ... this can take some time ... So when you want to test your code you sometimes first have to wait for a rebuild
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Remco D.
Director Outsystems
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Long term low-code OutSystems user review”

OverallI've been working with Outsystems for the last 12 years and I've built a lot of different systems while working for different employers. From automating business processes to rebuilding complete core systems. I've also built several mobile applications for different user groups. The overal experience on all projects is that the platform is very stable and improves continuous with every update. Nowadays they split the Studio from the Platform and this results in even faster delivery of new functionality. I've never had any regret from the switch I made 12 years ago.
ProsSpeed of Development Ease of technical implementations Open Community around Outsystems
ConsSince I'm an expert Outsystems users, I don't like the initial responses of the support desk. It takes time to get to the right person at the support desk.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Avatar Image
José O.
Outsystems Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017

“It a fantastic development tool, easy to learn and easy integration with other programming languages”

ProsThe holistic view of an agile project of IT. Easy implementation of Rest and Soap WebServices . Easy integration with Database, safer and faster production climbs through Lifetime. Migration of new versions without complications in stack C#. Front-End user friendly and updated. Back-end It's all about business knowledge, easy to understand , develop and debug. It requires a smaller IT team meeting the requirements of the Scrum methodology. It has a fairly large community Outsytems components repository and excellent Webinars to learn and consolidate knowledge.
ConsStack java with more complicated migrations. It is not an ETL tool for now, but it is possible to implemented.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017
Nick S.
Outsystems Developer
Warehousing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
March 16, 2016

“Outsystems rocks!”

OverallI got introduced a little bit more than 2 years ago to the Outsystems Platform. Since that day I fall in love with the drag and drop system. It's so easy to just create a small app in just a couple of minutes. Where using the platform to build applications for around 25+ users to use. With some application used by over 150+ users there getting pretty big!
ProsIt's nice to see that OS is improving each day. The training videos and webinars are a real benefit for the new developers. The easy drag and drop technique is so nice to work with. I don't hate coding but this is just some much better. For around 1.5 year I started with the OS Cloud service that is free available for everyone. OS did a real good job to open a free possibility to let you play around with their software.
ConsI think the main market for OS are the big companies with 250+ employees. By opening a cloud environment they let you use the application for free. Only if you have a company with for example 1 till 50 employees there is no solution for you. The license is that expansive that it's not possible to pay for small companies and the cloud environment is not for production use. I think this could be improved to also fill the gap in between free and real expensive.

Vendor Response

By OutSystems on August 19, 2016
Thanks for the kind words Nick. It means a lot to us when our users say they are in love with the product we've crafted with so much care.
Source: GetApp
March 16, 2016
Justin J.
Solution Consulting - Senior Director
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
March 15, 2016

“Love to develop with OutSystems”

OverallI started using OutSystems in September of 2009. At the time, the learning curve was really high... few video tutorials, the community only had a couple of active members who were working for OutSystems, the Forge had a very limited number of components, etc. I gave it a shot on a personal project, and I was hooked. It just WORKED. Since then I've been involved in some of the biggest OutSystems customers (in terms of usage) and biggest projects (in terms of scope & size) out there, and I am still delighted with the product. It does exactly what I need it to do. It makes the easy stuff trivial and the hard stuff easier. It is not a perfect product (really, what is?) but it is the best way to write Web apps that I have tried.
ProsIt is easy to use and easy to learn. The visual logic layout simplifies development and troubleshooting, and allows the business team to participate at a lower level than traditional coding models. The entire team at OutSystems (and especially the support staff) are just really good, smart people who work hard to help their customers and users.
ConsSome use cases are still hard to implement. The library of UI widgets still needs to grow. A native reporting solution is really needed. Automated test options are weak.

Vendor Response

By OutSystems on August 19, 2016
Justin, thank you for taking the time to review OutSystems. It's great to have users like you in our community, using the product for so many years and helping it evolve and grow with new ideas and feedback. Keep it coming!
Source: GetApp
March 15, 2016
Patrick B.
Sr. Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016

“Next Level Software Development”

OverallAs an experienced programmer I had some trouble to make my life easier. Trained to use code I can create anything. But as I got used to OutSystems, I cannot think of an easier way to create solutions for business problems. It reduced the time spent on a lot of things, leaving time in projects for the new next thing to implement:) Beside that, the model driven development ensures code quality and control. Combined with the excellent usage of LifeTime, going from development, testing, acceptance and production is a breeze. And when it does give some problems, a roll back is just as easy.
Pros- Speed - Quality - Flexibility - Business Processing Tools
Cons- Rethink software development - Loosing control of the underlying technical things - SQL is managed by the system, so tuning and in depth control is harder
Recommendations to other buyers- Go for it, it will amaze you :)
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016
Kilian H.
Functional specialist
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
March 17, 2016

“The best RAD and Agile tool on the market”

OverallOur company (a relatively small energy supplier in the Netherlands, less than 100 employees) has used the OutSystems Platform for over five years to solve almost all of its business needs. Sales, sourcing, CRM, billing and (e-)invoicing, intrabranch communications, the customer portal - it's all developed using the Platform, without any third party software (safe the software the Platform runs on). We work in an agile fashion with short delivery cycles, providing user benefits and company value every two weeks. This shows the versatility of the Platform in providing everything we need for RAD - both for new development and for maintenance.
ProsEasy, intuitive IDE; easy deployment and maintenance; highly productive; easily scalable; free personal edition in the cloud; ever evolving, embracing new technologies fast, new major versions at least once a year, bugfix releases regularly; excellent support staff; active community.
ConsPretty hefty licence fees, not suitable for small businesses. Needs additional licences for the infrastructure it runs on (MSSQL or Oracle DB). Still limited design patterns for UI design (no problem for business software, limiting for creative minds).

Vendor Response

By OutSystems on August 19, 2016
Kilian, thanks for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear that you're using OutSystems for 5 years now, and delivering such a wide range of applications to support your business.
Source: GetApp
March 17, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“The quickest way to a high quality application”

OverallIt is the best option out there if you are looking to skyrocket your development agility. I am confident that the average website / web application could be rebuild in a few days.
ProsThe ease of use I amazing. With normal coding I would take a day to set everything up ( maybe more depending on the project ). With outsystems there is no need for setup. Just start a project and publish. That's it, The (web) application is already running! Also, no overly complicated data or OO design needed anymore. Outsystems mostly takes care of that.
ConsThere are still some really small points that need to be taken into account when developing with outsystems. to work faster, functionality wise there are still some things to be added. Also if you're looking to develop with outsystems if you're a small company, its very pricy in that scenario. Personally i would like to see a viable option for personal use / small businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Tailored and guided low-code app & web development”

OverallExceptional, We were successful in our strategy. Thanks to low code environment where we could focus more on user needs and less on architecture and coding discipline.
ProsOne of the best low-code app development tool out there in the market. One Click deployment & roll back. Offline data storage, built in templates and seamless integration with iOS & Google play store. Mature and well designed tool that builds good looking apps & web platform. Significantly reduces the time to market and new features can be rolled out in a few days.
ConsEnterprise plans aren't cheap only desktop IDE for Windows
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“A great new platform with great opportunities”

OverallWe are a complete Microsoft tech stack across the enterprise. We wanted to move out of InfoPath for forms and business process creation. So, we implemented Outsystems Cloud. Creation of forms is pretty quick with a decent looking interface with hardly anything to code (well unless you have your own custom business layer / logic). Connects pretty well with our on premise databases. Performance although while handling huge amounts of data is a concern to us as we immediately see the slowness. But will recommend it to others.
Pros- Easy to use - Easy to package and deploy - Hardly any downtime during the deployments - Good looking UI
Cons- Performance when handling huge amount of data
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018

“Outsystems - Be Agile, Be Productive, Be a Hero!”

OverallVery Satisfied with our current experience and support.
ProsOutsystems is a user friendly development platform that adds agility and productivity in a dynamic business environment the demands immediate results to maintain a competitive advantage. Outsystems provides continuous upgrades and features, excellent documentation , and to notch support. Try Outsystems today and be a HERO!
ConsThe challenge in using Outsytems is the learning curve involved to integrate with your current environment when solely using as a front-end. The templates and demonstrations are very well, but documentation and is limited when using connectors or REST services to connect to your existing database. It would be helpful to better document best practices for developing a 4 layer canvas architecture and the use of structures and lists. Not a deal beaker through.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018
Grant M.
Founder
Insurance, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2016

“Upgrade your software team at the push of a button.”

OverallI love using Outsystems. The platform has allowed us to replace all our legacy systems in a matter of months. It has enabled us to catch up to our competitors and even surpass some of the incumbents. Soon we will be one of the industry leaders in our sector from a tech standpoint.
ProsOutsystems frees up huge capacity on your dev team. You find that for the cost of an average developer you will get a minimum of double the capacity out of your current team.
ConsIt is hard to say. We have been using it for 18 months now and I believe it is the perfect system for your business apps. I think building a high frequency forex trading system in outsystems might be a challenge but that would be about it.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you want to deliver high quality apps faster and more reliably than ever before then this is for you.
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2016
Avatar Image
William A.
Senior OutSystems Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Make the hard things easier to do”

OverallI have been working with OutSystems since 2012 and it has been something special for us, because we can accelerate our developments and all the surroundings (DevOps).
ProsEverything is easy to make even with critical process. The learning curve is something special because it is not only for technical people.
ConsThe price is quite high but when you start to make it part of your business you are able to increase your IT and then the price makes sense. Another thing that I need to highlight is the capability to automate business process very quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Pranav P.
Software Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Best Low Code Platform Ever...”

ProsI have been using outsystems for an year now and I must say that I am really impressed with it . This is the best low code platform that I have used till now. The positive point about that I liked is , its easy to learn ,You don't need to spent lot of time learning it and most of the key features/logic are already present that can be easy included in the application. Another positive point is its user and role managements . Implementation of Authentication and Authorization is very easy here.
ConsThe only con that I witnessed is , you need internet connectivity work in outsytems (for Web Development).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Ricardo P.
Outsystems Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2018

“Fast, simple and full of joy! - Service Studio Platform 11: The Future is near!”

OverallIt's incredible how this is the first solution that can deliver software at same speed that business grow! We can change and mutate our code almost at "light speed" with many many many tools to integrate with other tehcnologies without any extended work! It's simply amazing!
ProsIncredible speed, easy understanding, great code manipulation and of course, the Final Result! Simply the best and most motivating IDE to develop WEB and Mobile software that we can use!
ConsIt's not compatible with Linux. But hey, now it works in MAC!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Utilities, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“OutSystems as an digital acceleration platform”

OverallWe're using OutSystems to address Digital Operations and Digital Core initiaites where mobile apps are a 1st class citizen. So far OutSystems has proved its value in helping us accelerate our digital transformation initiatives both from the techology perspective and from the agile mindset approach that we're also applying throughout the company, which is a 'native feature' when using the platform.
ProsComplexity encapsulation, ease of use: setup and ongoing evolution, mobile and web 'native' coverage, integration capabilities, speed of delivery leveraging an iterative and incremental approach
ConsOutSystems competences in the market are short regarding the demand. So, not a techological issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Rob v.
Implementationconsultant
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2017

“Easy with OutSystems”

OverallHaving had a few experiences with OutSystems now, I am positively surprised about how easy it is to set-up and maintain an app. Also about the features of this year released options for mobile and offline apps are really cool to see. It's more about plug and play then development. Of course it is still the developers responsibility to set-up apps in such a way that they are readable and maintainable, but OutSystems gives plenty options for doing that as well.
ProsThe easiness of building an app. The tool supports you all the way in building apps and if you just do not know what exactly to do then examples and suggestions can be found on the internet and in the community.
ConsIt is up to the developers to realize a readable and maintainable app and not all developers are used to applying discipline all the time.
Recommendations to other buyersDo not think OutSystems will solve all your problems and make all your problems easier. OutSystems will help you create fast good looking apps, business representatives can join the developer along the way. Do always keep in mind that if an application does complex things, it will also be complex to realize in OutSystems (any development tool/language)
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2017
Russell H.
Web Developement Manager
Logistics and Supply Chain, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017

“Promises great savings; Takes a little time to get there.”

OverallHaving used Outsystems to improve time-to-market on a small order portal/ecommerce project we realized some savings in terms of effort but I feel Outsystems has more to give. This is a limitation of our skillset and knowledge, not the Outsystems platform. Where could Outsystems improve? Documentation. Yes, there's lots of tutorials, courses and videos, but sometimes you just want to google the answer and read it. The forum isn't that great for this as often people share projects and you have to dig inside those to find the answer. This is probably a symptom of Outsystems being a graphical development environment. The other thing you'll find it there's a raft of new terminology to grasp, and a rather disjointed collection of tools: Lifetime, Service Studio, Integration Studio, Forge etc. You'll need a roadmap to find what you need and where it lives. We're currently working on upgrading our environment from v9 to v10 - not as straightforward if you have live production apps running, so it's something to consider. But overall we are very much looking forward to rolling this out across our development teams and users. I'm not finding resistance from my hardcore PHP devs (I re-assure them by building PHP APIs to work with OutSystems), and my junior dev is enjoying the instant rewards of a rapid development platform.
ProsIntegrated development, version control, packaging, deployment and hosting.
ConsDocumentation
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017
Daniel M.
Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: GetApp
March 14, 2016

“High-productivity application platform”

OverallI have been working with Outsystems since 2008, as Consultant I have used the Outsystems platform to delivery several projects for several companies. For sure Outsystems platform keeps its promises: "The OutSystems Agile Platform gives IT the power to build and change custom enterprise applications with the speed, agility and robustness the business demands." Where Outsystems makes the difference is even beyond application development, because supports the entire application lifecycle, making it easy for teams to deploy, manage and operate up to hundreds of different apps.
Pros- Development speed with Outsystems is outstanding. - Outsystems offers a Public Cloud PaaS that's perfect to evaluate the platform. - Monitoring and Management: Configuration management of running applications and identity management are also handled out-of-the box by OutSystems Platform. All apps are automatically monitored
Cons- Enterprise licensing can get expensive.

Vendor Response

By OutSystems on August 19, 2016
Daniel, thanks for your review and for highlighting a couple of features that we also believe to be extremely relevant for every company delivering serious applications: Full Life-Cycle Support and the Monitoring and Management.
Source: GetApp
March 14, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018

“Outsystems is a great RAD platform”

OverallI really likes to work with Outsystems. Allows to the developer to focus in the business stuff, dont losing too much time programming.
ProsThe easyness thats give to the developer to understand the logic implemented. In other words, anyone that see the code for the first time can understand, without too much effort what are suppose to do.
ConsThe Imtegration studio (tool used to make integrayion with other libraries) seemsto be stopped in time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018
Neil C.
IT Technical Consutant
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Great platform which aids velocity”

OverallExcellent, We have a good relation ship with Outsystems, the platform is robust and easy to use. It certainly helps to deliver quickly and effectively across all devices
ProsFantastic IDE which is easy to use to build enterprise ready solutions Plenty of excellent online training materials, courses an support.
ConsNothing major, but we only have a single development and deployment path. Parellel developmnets needs more planning and thinking about
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2018

“I've been working with this technology for more than 10 years and I don't want to develop with any.”

OverallDeliver applications more easily and faster.
ProsIt's extremely easy to use and customize, we can easily create an application to meet our goals. Being then personal or professional. We don't need to have a lot of programming knowledge to start one app.
ConsThe customer support could be better. Nowadays if we have an error on the IDE we don't get any type of feedback if it was fixed or not. We had a time when that happened.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Outsystems at NOS, a long history”

OverallWe have Outsystems since early 2003 in our company, and this platform has some core applications of our business. Now we are on a new stage of development, using it to build Mobile Apps.
ProsWeb and Mobile Apps development, delivery applications faster, devops platform and scalability
ConsI thing that the licensing is to high and hard to justify. The 1st support line should have more skills to despiste some problems
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Utilities, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Great Development Tool”

OverallThe experience has been very good since it allows developers to meet customer requirements faster focusing on the business requirements instead of the "wasting" time on technical details.
ProsSpeed of development. Time to Market. Speed on translation customer requirements into code. Allows the developers to implement and develop skills in less time.
ConsUnit testing can be improved. Automated testing is not yet mature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Rebecca H.
Software Engineer
Automotive, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018

“Innovative Platform”

OverallWe have been using the platform to migrate our Lotus Notes and Java applications to a more maintainable platform.
ProsAbility to quickly train new developers. Ability to quickly delivery business requirements. Platform continue to provide tools to meet technological demands such as microservices & AI
ConsNothing to note. They continue to provide tools to aid in rapid application development.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“one of the best low code platforms in the market”

Overallvery friendly staff that was also available to guide us along the way during implementation and also did regular pulse check of how we were using the platform even after go live.
ProsThis is an intuitive platform to use. It is easy to ramp up and is also very versatile for use in a large organization as well. It is scalable and the vendor is a very customer friendly interested in the success of the customer doing well with the platform.
Consvery honestly speaking, there is nothing that I dislike about this platform as of date even after 18 months of going live
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018

“Fantastic application!!”

OverallMaking software faster. Is possible to increase the speed to developer software.
ProsOutsystems helps you to make software very fast. The application is fantastic, with great UI and UX that makes very easy to work with. You can build an applications in a couple of minutes
ConsDon't have much to complain it, but maybe the fact that don't have a mac os version and the prices could be a little cheaper.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2018

“Fantastic application to build fast code”

OverallWith outsystems we can build fast code, very fast that in a couple of minutes we have a web application. Is possible to build also mobile application.
ProsOutsystems is a fantastic application to build fast code. We can build a web application in a couple of minutes. The community is fantastic and helps a lot.
ConsThey don't have a mac application and the licenses could be a little cheaper or having one for small applications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2017

“Great Platform”

ProsGreat Agile Platform! OutSystems is a low-code platform that lets you visually develop your entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add your own custom code when you need it. Crafted by engineers with an obsessive attention to detail, every aspect of our platform is designed to help you build and deliver better apps faster.
ConsPrince maybe!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018

“Easy to use, to implement and to deliver. Quickness in your software delivery, really AGILE.”

OverallIt really helped me build "rock-solid" software (web and mobile) in very short time.
ProsThe Outsystems platform allows you to build from scratch any software. With numerous built-in functions, it allows you to build a simple form page in less than 5 minutes. It's really simple and intuitive to use. No more delays in delivering software.
ConsSome of the features aren't very flexible and there's always the need to use some javascript functions to built more complex pages. Still needs to mature a little bit in the next releases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018