Spillman CAD Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Spillman CAD

Computer-Aided Dispatch (CAD) solution that enables communications centers to manage calls from multiple agencies, even across several jurisdictions. Dispatchers can have immediate access to critical information including real-time call updates, reports, logs, special instructions, premises information, and unit responses, as well as automatic alerts on wanted or missing persons, Learn more about Spillman CAD

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Law Enforcement, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017

“We use this system daily. There are a few glitches with the system.”

OverallParts of the system are great! The ability to link records together, the ability to import name and vehicle tables directly from Statelink, however, the glitch with the dashes being imported takes away from the usefulness because they require manual removal and it ruins the efficiency. No one seems to be in a hurry to come up with a fix.
ProsI like the ability to link records and import from Statelink to create tables, however, there are glitches. Parts of the system are very efficient and user friendly.
ConsThe aforementioned glitch with importing a name from statelink to create a names table, will automatically insert the dashes into the driver's license box, while their own data entry standards prohibit using dashes. Has been this way for months and they haven't created a fix. It requires manual removal of the dashes. I also wish that if you need to update something in a closed call, that there was one step, instead of having to update both the call and law side. We also have an issue with Spillman randomly putting comments from 6 years ago into calls that we enter today. Again, they don't seem to be able to come up with a fix.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017
Madison K.
Detective
Law Enforcement, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“Spillman ”

OverallThe ease of use and the amount of information at our fingertips due to Spillman is unparalleled for a department our size. Spillman is constantly creating new modules to better their software and the way we document our every day service calls.
ProsThis software is used on a daily basis by everyone in my department. If it's not being used on a desktop computer, officers have it up and running on the MDTs. Tracking calls for service and radio logs could not be easier. See every involvement and/or locations any one person or persons have ever had. Connect people with associates and locations. I also track my sick, personal, and vacation leave using Spillman.
ConsSpillman is only as good as the modules you purchase to use with it. There are a number of modules offered by Spillman however each have to be purchased individually as I understand it. The modules are not cheap but again, you pay for what you get; every module we have purchased have been well worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Daniel B.
Director of Communications & Information Technology
Law Enforcement, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Near Perfect”

OverallOverall my experience with Spillman CAD has been fantastic. I would highly recommend this to anyone.
ProsSpillman does almost everything my agency requires for full CAD and RMS. It is simple to use for dispatch as well as patrol. Having a wide range of modules will definitely increase its worth, however at a cost.
ConsEach module comes at a cost, which is expected, but for the full experience, the additional modules are necessary. After the Motorola acquisition and massive growth of the company, their customer support has suffered. It can take a while to reach someone and there have been times where the support rep was unable to resolve an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Kristy M.
Director of Administration
Law Enforcement, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017

“Great product.”

OverallThe amount information now available at the click of a button is amazing. No challenging searches and special characters.
ProsEase of use and access with clicks of a mouse. The icon based, point and click to get to the information is paramount in our business.
ConsWe have consistently had challenges with our mapping. The need to have best routes to calls is just not there yet. It's possible that our GIS is the failpoint on that challenge though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017
Avatar Image
Michael M.
Adjunct Professor
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2017

“Career changing.”

ProsThe ease of use. Our dispatch system and records management was atrocious until we bit the bullet and made the purchase.
ConsCost and more specifically the cost of each module. The challenge is that government entities tend to cherry pick based on cost so some things are left up to the "old way" of doing things because it's deemed less important than others. Then systems don't work well together.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2017
MYRA M.
FCIC Agency Coordinator
Law Enforcement, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017

“Great program, has many, many features”

Prosease of usage, also different ways to find what your searching for, the training prior to using the software, customer service
ConsSometimes, a program can have too many features, causing what should be simply to become complicated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017