Minitab 19 Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Minitab 19

Minitab has the markets most trusted tools that streamline your workflow, a comprehensive set of statistics for analyzing your data, and visualizations for communicating your success. From quality and reliability engineering to product development, business analytics, and process validation, Minitab is your partner in your data analysis journey. Combined with unparalleled ease-of-use, Minitab makes it simpler than ever to get deep insights from data. Learn more about Minitab 19

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 172 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 172 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Paula C.
Math/Computer Science Teacher
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“I use this analysis software with my AP Statistics students and have used it for many years.”

OverallThe program allows my students to work with very large data sets and allows me to assess their analyses very easily.
ProsI liked the package because it was a professional use package (not just deigned for classroom use) and it was still easy enough for my students to use. There is a small learning curve to overcome, but my students adapt to the package very quickly. The iterations I have used started with version 12 and I am now using version 17. They product has become more streamlined over the years and more user friendly as well. The support I have received from Minitab has been excellent and utilizing the license server for my lab allows me to deploy the package to more computers. That is a real plus when one machine goes down and I need to use all my licenses.
ConsSome of the graphical outputs are still not as good as MS Excel, but they have been improving over the years. I wish it could do a back-to-back stem plot, but that's a minor inconvenience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Very good for descriptive and inferential analysis”

OverallI use minitab 18 very often to analyze process variations of food production plant, also it is used to report the improvements on any process based on any change.
ProsMinitab offers a very good end user experience for descriptive and inferential analysis. Also minitab product help tutorials are very good and well explained that cover most of the possible doubts. The interpretation of results that minitab provides on integral analysis like Capability analysis or hypothesis testing is very useful for sharing with management.
Cons*Developing scripts on minitab is not as intuitive as it should be so doing repetitive task can be a headache. *Also querying data from an external data source could be easier, at this moment requires a well defined DSN file and adjusting filters on data to retrieve could be also easier. *There are not enough modeling methods on minitab
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Joshua S.
Equipment Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“This is an excellent product for statistical-based analysis.”

ProsWhat I like most about this product is all of the functionalities available for performing statistical analysis on both real-world data and theoretical studies. The built-in functions and graphs are absolutely excellent and save a lot of time by automatically doing computations on data sets that would otherwise require additional software for computation. It is very easy to input the data and then have so many different options for essentially "auto-analyzing" the data through the large variety of statistic tools made available with this program. I am yet to hear of another program geared to this level with statistical analysis tools.
ConsWhat I like least about this software is the way that some of the graphs are generated. Sometimes graphs with many data points may come out very messy and crowded and I feel that steps could be taken to improve the aesthetics of such graphs as essentially the point of graphs is to allow the reader to have a good visual with the behavior of the data or whatever it might be which is being presented on the graph. As such, I feel that better aesthetics are critical for communicating this information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Komala Raj M.
Regional Manager
Sports, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2019

“Comfortable if you have knowledge in the field. ”

OverallMinitab is helping me to analyze my customer details specifically on each categories. Name, district, etc.
ProsWhatever the data, we can easily manage it and get the statical analyze through this minitab software.
ConsIf the project is closed, some time its confusing which is saved, Weather the project or worksheet on the default name. Its occurs only the system power goes unexpectedly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Jhon B.
Apoyo Profesional
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018

“Statistical quality control, such as philosophy and practical tool”

ProsMinitab facilitates processing, very quickly for data analysis and the clarity of the graphics are better than those of SPSS. Its statistical tools are precise and easy to use, allowing us to access a better knowledge of the information contained in the data, with an important saving of time in the collection, analysis and interpretation cycle. You can work something basic starting with the descriptive statistics to statistical methods for predictions such as regression models, ANOVA, Time Series and experiment designs.
ConsThe variety of statistical analysis that Minitab can perform, It Is Not As Wide As SPSS And SAS. What It Means That For Research Fields Applied With Specialized Techniques, for example, it is not the ideal option for neural networks in the field of artificial intelligence or in the case of geostatistics, Since this type of analysis will have to be programmed through the macro system. While Macros Language is Powerful, it is a Long Time Investment for Complex Procedures.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018
Riley E.
Industrial Engineering Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“A Powerful Tool”

OverallOverall, anyone who is employed performing statistical analysis on data sets should be familiar with Minitab. This is tool that holds the basis for all commonly applied statistical analysis techniques.
ProsMinitab 19 is a major leap from previous versions. This tool has significantly improved the usability of more complex statistical analysis functions by improving the in-process teaching of correct application as well as background selection based off of data types. From simple to complex, Minitab is a powerful tool to gain accurate and rapid stochastic interpretation of your data.
ConsMinitab is still stuck on this tabular Excel-type format. They need a UI overhaul of the data input screen vs the data analysis screen and should treat the two separately. The analysis tool is undersold in the current format.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Devices, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2018

“Great for data analysis as a student and in the working world”

OverallOverall, this is great for data analysis as a student and alright in industry. I have not come across anything in industry that I couldn't do on Excel, but I prefer Minitab since I have been using it for longer.
ProsI have been using this software since back in my college days, and it was a serious competitor to Excel. Obviously both have their perks and benefits, but I find Minitab to be better most of the time. There are a lot of tutorials in case one isn't familiar with it, which is great for first learning the software or improving over time.
ConsI have had a hard time in the past importing data, and have had issues getting plots that I need. There should be a wider variety of models. Some graphs, especially ones with lots of data, can be difficult to read. I have experienced this across most data software I use, but it is still a con.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Ganapathy S.
Operational Excellence, Quality Assurance & Health, Safety & Environmental Manager
Paper & Forest Products, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Minitab 18 user review”

OverallAs an ASQ CSSBB, CQE & CMQ/OE, I use Minitab 17 or 18 practically every single day at work. I have used Minitab now for the last 10 years and I have yet to come across what I could even remotely crefer to as an issue with this software.
ProsThere isn't a better software out there for any level & complexity of statistical data analyses.
ConsIt actually has an upper limit for the number of graph windows that can remain open at any one time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Mohammed E.
Professor
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2019

“My students love using Minitab”

OverallMinitab helps me to save a lot of time and effort. I used mainly for my students because the software is very easy and it is also available for windows and Macbooks
ProsMinitab is a great software for statistics. I highly recommend it for my students during their last year for their graduation projects. The software is pretty simple and there are many tutorials available that help the students while using the software. Importing data is so simple and generating graphs is very easy. There are a lot of statistical tools available but I like to use ANOVA and student-t test.
ConsNothing so far but sometime I find it hard when it comes to printing data and reports
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2019
Avanish V.
CIP Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2017

“Great Tool”

ProsIts a nice tool for statisticians can import the data easily from excel and with in few clicks we can generate the graphs and can easily demonstrate them
Consit would be better if they give more examples often we have to go to youtube to search for videos. The help library should have been made user friendly
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“Student Engineering Projects”

OverallI have used this product multiple times for student projects. The process to analyze data in the software is simple, and ready for presentation. Would highly recommend for use as a primary statistical analysis software!
ProsMinitab has incredible ease of use! Any project that incorporates charts is a simple 2 minute process in Minitab. It also has simple means of exporting the charts to whatever presentation or report vehicle utilized for a project.
ConsIf you have not had ample statistical analysis experience, or statistical basics, this program could definitely seem overwhelming for all it has to offer and what you can customize on an analysis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Ganapathy S.
Operational Excellence, Quality Assurance & Health, Safety & Environmental Manager
Paper & Forest Products, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Minitab 19 user review”

OverallI've used Minitab all the way from version 15 to 19 for in-depth statistical data analysis and I have yet to be disappointed.
Pros An entire handbook of Statistics is built into its highly underrated Help menu
ConsNothing really! When will Minitab 20 be released?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“I do statistical analysis for many of my projects, Minitab is essential for this analysis.”

OverallNot only can I run any statistical analysis that I may need, I can also learn about ones I did not previously know. And with an easy Microsoft Excel import function you can run regressions on any data sent your way.
ProsAny kind of statistical analysis you need done you can find with Minitab. While in many other programs it takes careful wording of equations and an innate knowledge of statistics Minitab lays it out in a very clear manner. Whether you want to run an ANOVA, a Chi-squared test, make a histogram, or run a multiple regression model Minitab offers all of this and more. Furthermore, I have spent a good amount of time going through Minitab's tutorials and those are worth their weight in gold. If you ever worry that you forgot everything from your college statistics course: don't. This program will teach you everything you need to know.
ConsIt could be better at offering ways to print your projects, it can look jumbled if you do not set it up carefully.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Avatar Image
José Luis P.
Quality Chief
Building Materials, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Minitab, the best tool for quality management”

OverallI used minitab to run time series plots, charts and control charts, as well as Pareto charts, fish bone charts. I really felt like a Black Belt using this tool, all the quality data was presented to the upper management using minitab.
ProsI remember using this software at college, on my quality control and Quality management classes. 6 years before, I was working as a Quality chief on a roofing company and got the chance to purchase it for problem solving, advanced data analysis and charting tasks for Six Sigma. I loved it, I really liked how it can handle a large array of statistical analysis. I also liked the tutorials that came with the software, they were very easy to understand.
ConsNothing! I would recommend it without hesitation!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Alex D.
Metrologist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Solid statistical software with a large amount of useful features.”

ProsEase of use. Wide range of statistic tools to help portray the data that I want, in the way I want to do it.
ConsA lot of the learning of how to use the software is trial by fire. Not all the features are perfectly lined out in the beginning.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“Best way to represent data”

OverallExceptional in giving accurate results
ProsResults can be interpreted quickly since the software gives results in no time
ConsFor some reason it is not supported in some of my devices
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Tariro K.
Research Associate
Research, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Minitab the best analysis software for students”

OverallVery impressed with how easy it allowss students to have a good data analysis foundation
ProsI liked the fact that minitab is very user friendly and its very easy to use when learning the basics of data validation, analysis among other functionalities. The interface and functionalities resonate very well with most textbooks used by students so its easy to follow through the procedures.
ConsSome of the output quality like graphs still not really up to like what you get with other softwares but looks like its being improved as the newer versions are coming
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Minitab 19 - Review”

ProsMost of the statistical analysis can be done. Nice and simple UI to the output
ConsIt takes more time to analyze a huge set of data with many parameters. And gets not responding after sometimes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Balakrishnan N.
PhD candidate
Research, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Statistical analysis made simple”

OverallAmazing statistical tool for beginners and advanced users
ProsEverything you get in a click of a button
ConsHelp commands should be more elaborative. currently very concise
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Josh B.
Program Implementation Manager
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2018

“Powerful to a Fault”

ProsMiniTab is incredible... it flattens a decade worth of Lean Six Sigma Black Belt practice into a one-stop-shop calculator tool. If you're like me, then you've built hundreds of Excel tools from first-principles... which means your transition into Minitab should be fairly easy. As long as you take this product seriously, you'll be fine... but it's not meant for casual users.
ConsEven understanding first principles of numerical management, this product can be a little disorienting at first. It's like a swiss army knife with a thousand tools... you're never quite sure where to find what you need. While the product integrates well with Excel, it can be easy to make a mistake in the way your data is formatted before entering. If you're working with someone who isn't at the LSSBB level, they literally won't understand anything about this product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Lonnie J.
Manager, Business Ops Improvement
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“The best tool for statistical analysis and graphical representation of data. ”

OverallEasy analysis, amazing graphing. The best tool for statistical analysis.
ProsThe software is easy to use, but also provides plenty of support/help resources. Provides the widest array of statistical analysis tools. The graphical outputs are amazing. I am able to constantly wow executive leadership with Minitab's control charts and other diagrams.
ConsAlthough many options are available for individual users that make costs effective, justifying the cost of the software to my organization has been challenging.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Meliksah T.
Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Simple but sophisticated Data Analysis tool”

OverallMinitab is a good data analysis tool for especially business units which does not mostly have professional data analysts/scientists. So anyone can use Minitab to analyze its business data, regardless of the background.
ProsI like how Minitab is simple, AKA, easy to use but still have many features and tools to analyze and manipulate data. I like how it is possible simply copy-paste from Excel sheet and plot any graph that is needed in literally seconds, then customize the parts of it by simple double clicking.
ConsThat's rather a design issue but when closing data tables/workspace sometimes it closes Minitab and any unsaved progression is lost and that's of course sad.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Samuel T.
Research Assistant
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 1, 2019

“Statistical analysis made easy for Industry”

OverallOverall we haven't identified a better statistical analysis software that can be at the reach of professionals regardless of their statistical knowledge breath and computational experience. We utilize it in the job shop, in training and education, and projects.
ProsThe functionality of Minitab is easy to use and adds value across the organization, from R&D experiments to Process Quality Control.
ConsThe point and click functionality of Minitab makes it easy to follow and implement, but becomes tedious and monotonous to go over multiple windows and tabs for advanced users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 1, 2019
NIKHIL K.
Project Controls Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017

“I love everything about minitab. ”

ProsI can compile data reports at the hit of a button. I was using Excel workbook for data analysis and regression analysis but minitab is way more user friendly and less complex in comparison to excel. It also provided a lot more functionalities which are missing in excel
ConsThere is nothing I do not like about the software. I am more than satisfied with Minitab. If anything I would like minitab to be compatible with other software systems that I use on a daily basis in order to import and export data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017
Abdulkadir A.
Dr. RA
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Required for Statistics”

OverallI use the Minitab program frequently for my studies in the field of health. I can easily interpret the results. In particular, it is easy to design and analyze the tools of the experiment design. In addition, there are optimization tools both in regression analysis and many tools of experimental design, which makes this program valuable. In particular, optimization models with multiple objective functions are very difficult to solve (nonlinear programming). However, the solution can be reached more easily with Minitab.
ProsProvides ease of use, is compatible with Excel, the results are very accurate
ConsThe visual status of the graphics needs to be improved
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Jeremy G.
Analyst
Political Organization, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Statistical Analysis Software”

OverallI use Minitab to calculate statistics on data sets for my organization.
ProsMinitab is rather straightforward for statistical uses. I appreciate that the User Interface mimics Excel, which makes it more approachable to use and learn compared to alternatives.
ConsI would prefer there to be more visualization options so that I could make my analyses more visually stimulating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Huy H.
Quality Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“Good tools for researchers, analyst”

OverallWe have been using this software for more than 10 years in the company. It very helpful for our improvement projects. However, that was not easy when we think to use the output from Minitab to apply in our manufacturing information system or think how to apply the advantage of Minitab to our big-data.
Pros- Very common tool and that can be used for root cause analysis, problem solver and especially in the project needs to work with data (6 Sigma projects) - The guideline and assistance function in the tool is quite helpful for the beginner - Customer support is great as you can call, email and they can work out with you for the solution quickly. - The output/report makes sense with all logic and statistics result
Cons- The learning curve is quite long, needs to invest both time/money to know how to use the tool efficiently - The graph/report output is not perfect and sometimes it requires time to make it up - Big gap to integrate with other systems, meaning you only use this offline, no options to interface with other databases. That also shows the limitation when import/export file.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
P D.
Senior Statistical Data Scientist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2016

“Good Standalone”

OverallIf you need a statistical software that stands alone from any other system. Minitab is viable option. But, if you need it to tie to other systems to be feed the data, don't go this route. You can import data manually and copy manually, but that is it. This works the same way on export. So in other words, it is like a fancy calculator that you have sitting on your desk. Over the years they have improved their navigation thru their menus, and added some functionality to it, but still lacks to other software packages. If you have two or more systems that you use regularly (e.g. Virtual machine and Desktop Workstation), your license only supports one system. If you need it on both, you have to purchase a separate license. Even Autodesk has figured this out to not be a very viable option for their customers. Be cautious about their training packages. You are not allowed to purchase a course, but only an allotted time for a course. So like most work environments, work can take priority over completing a course. So, if you do not complete it in time, you miss out. It was a good statistical software back in their early years, but never kept up with technology and demand of the customers. And, it still has its old ghost that never were worked out of the system. I don't suggest using this. Go with some other system that someone suggests highly, that meets the demands of this age, not an age gone past.

Vendor Response

By Minitab on April 19, 2016
PD, thank you for sharing your perspective on Minitab. Per your comment about using multiple systems, please use Help > Licensing > Move to transfer a single active license between multiple computers, at no extra charge. Only a single license can be active at any given time per the single-user license agreement, and we also offer multi-user licenses if that better meets your needs. And you can fortunately integrate Minitab with other systems to automatically import data, then create charts, run stats, etc. For assistance, please contact Tech Support at 814-231-2682.
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Minitab Usage for Six Sigma Projects”

OverallOverall a good software for analysis , I will recommend it
ProsAllows Free user Trial for One month Got result of analysis in Bell Graphs for capturing deviation I have used it for Value stream Mapping , six sigma Projects , Process Improvements
Consyou will need a Laptop or computer system for this software for inputting data and for getting analysis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Kadir S.
R&D Engineer
Automotive, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Essential tool for 6-Sigma projects”

OverallWe are using this tool as a statistical data solver. You can understand the problem's inputs and effects. Weibull distrubition is the easy way to understand most cases behaviour.
ProsI've been using this program since got the 6-Sigma green belt certificate. Best assistant to work through statistical study.
ConsProgram can be develop the some tools as an user friendly. Visual appearance is important for new-users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Amanda M.
Student
Chemicals, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“State of the art calculation software”

ProsI use Minitab on daily basis for my college while it is not as simple to navigate through as Excel it provides a wider range of possibilities to complete your calculation and statistics questions much faster without using any formulas .
ConsIt takes a little time getting used to navigate between different options and choosing the adequate commands.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Adam A.
Principal Cofounder
Biotechnology, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2018

“Indispensable Tool for Six Sigma”

OverallI'm happy with it. Minitab does what it's supposed t do and can be extended to do more.
ProsMinitab has everything I need to perform analytics for manufacturing and the service industry. It's nice to put in large datasets and get clean graphs for my perusal. That being said, I don't know how well it functions for anything outside of Six Sigma. The Quality Trainer package is a good way to learn how to use the software as well as the major concepts behind it, especially since many of the people who go into SS or Lean frequently can stand to refresh their statistics knowledge. The price may seem a bit steep, but it has plenty of features and, presumably, it's a necessary and deductible business expense for your consultation firm -- unless you just enjoy playing with it. That's cool, I won't judge you.
Cons*It doesn't produce especially pretty graphs *I prefer coding in MATLAB *It can take a while to learn. Again, you're probably using this for a job that you'll be working for years or decades, so that's not really an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Margot K.
Data Analyst
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“Smart Data Analysis, REALLY.”

ProsMinitab 18 statistical software is a great tool that can be used by different companies, colleges and universities. I started using Minitab 18 when our team needed our data analyzed, we have tried different software but Minitab has come through. The Assistant feature of the software is of great help so far, especially when facing a dilemma between two choices, the feature assists in choosing the necessary step to complete your analytical dashboard or processing. It is very easy to learn as well, being that the assistant can walk you through your first task. User-friendly.
ConsMinitab is a bit on the pricier range when it comes to tools of the caliber.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
Avatar Image
oscar f.
asesor
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018

“very practical”

OverallIt facilitated a task entrusted to me that another could not
ProsThe software is very practical but at the same time very expensive for one who is a student, it would be ideal to take one for less complex analyzes that serve the apprentice's practice in order to have better results with this software and be of first necessity since it is very good
Consthe cost of the package since the income is low in my country, you do not have access to the currencies and that makes it difficult to have an excellent program
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Carmen A.
Directora de Metodologia y Analisis Electoral
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“Excellent program to manage databases”

OverallI was able to learn how to manage databases and analyze them statistically
ProsIt is a program where basic statistics analysis and multivariate methods can be done, it has a wide range of options to analyze qualitative and quantitative variables
ConsThe versions of the program should be updated constantly to be on par with other programs and the function of exporting databases should be a little easier
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Chamodhi W.
Teaching Assistant
Chemicals, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Good for statisical purposes”

OverallI used the software for the final part of my research, which was data analysis. I did analysis, plotting graphs. It was not very hard to figure out all the functions.
ProsVery userfriendly interface. I'm not very good in statistics but had to use it for my undergrad research. This software made the whole process easy, from data analysis to plotting graphs.
ConsNothing bad to say. The software worked perfectly for my research purposes. For a user not very familiar with all statistical disciplines, they might have to learn that first. But the software made the process much easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
BEN K.
QUALITY
Machinery, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“LOVE THIS SOFTWARE”

ProsI USE THE QUALITY TAB LIKE CRAZY. SIX PACK STUDIES AND CPK STUDIES.
ConsNOT A CON BUT THIS SOFTWARE IS COMPLICATED BECAUSE IT HAS SO MANY FEATURES.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Ricardo C.
Project Engineer
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Minitab Review”

OverallIn my last job I used minitab to statistically analyze the quality of a concrete plant production. Thanks to the anlyzes we were doing we noticed that the concrete supplier changed the design mix without asking any permission from us. On my current job I use minitab to analyze the down time we are having in the loading of aggregates in a ship and see ways in which we can reduce it
ProsThe simplicity to realize statistical analyses on numeric data. In my opinion it is the statistical software with the most friendly interface
ConsThe lack of features to analyze database based on string values.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Minitab 19”

Prosits the best staistical software which is very use full for regression analysis and ANOVA
Consthe range of statistical analysis is not wide as ather similar packages
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Ghulam Jilani Q.
Research Assistant
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Minitab Software review”

OverallData analysis for research purposes. I was continuing with research work and collected all data. One of my books reefers to Minitab example and then I used it for statistical analysis. I found this software really useful for data analysis with various features and options.
ProsThey have a lot of options to analyze data along with graphs and plot. Their customized options provide a lot flexibility to user. This software provides statistical summary, information along with the visualized graphs.
ConsI think they can still improve their user interface. Sometime it's complex to find some options. Though, there are lots of statistical software analysis on the MiniTab but there arrangement and location is complex.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Shyamali S.
Science Teacher
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“This is excellent tool for Data Analyis and statical Analysis”

ProsMinitab is a powerful statical software which can be used data analyzing. We can easily generates charts using that. So that is very useful for university students. You just need to enter the necessary data. Then it will automatically generate relevant bar charts and pie charts..
Conssoftware is tend to lag when processing large number of data sets. There are not enough modelling methods on minitab it self. If we need a modelling method we will have to purchase it. It is bit costly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“Good statistical analysis tool. ”

ProsWhat I like most about this software is that you do not need to have knowledge of any programming language. The interface is very user-friendly, and you can find all the tools in menus. The outputs, as graphs, also look very good.
ConsThis software should have more advanced statistical analysis tools. It has mainly all the basic statistical stuff.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Olivia S.
Process Engineer
Chemicals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019

“Easy, Intuitive Statistics ”

OverallI enjoyed the visual aspect that allowed the user to create multiple graphs on one image, which was then easily transferred to a presentation or poster.
ProsThis software was very intuitive. It made statistical analysis second nature.
ConsThe software could have included a wider range of statistical methods.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2018

“It was good when it was free”

OverallI used to use Minitab in my college when my school is subscribed for it. However, I stopped using after graduating because the price is high compared to what the software offers.
ProsMinitab can do data processing and statistical analysis in a quick fashion. The output graphs are clear and precise. Overall, the software is easy to use, from basic statistics to advance model.
ConsThe interface is a little bit lacking. It's hard to import external data sometimes. Price is high to access many modeling methods on Minitab.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018

“This is a very good statistical tool software ”

ProsThe way this software is organized makes a lot of sense. Anything I need to run statistical analysis on a given set of data is there (Basic Statistic, Regression, ANOVA), etc.
ConsThis software answers all challenges my daily work poses. The only thing I like the least is the spreadsheet for data entry. it's too rigid.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Brian L.
Project Scientist
Environmental Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Great for many uses, and no coding.”

ProsI use this software to do basic statistical analysis. It's got a good graphical interface, and will handle most common tests. I got this primarily because it would do what I needed and I didn't have time to self-teach SAS or R.
ConsIt does lack the functionality of some more powerful statistical software packages. Guess that's a trade-off for the GUI.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrei L.
Profesor universitario asistente
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018

“Excellent application easy to use for beginners”

Overallincreases the possibility of responding to complex problems, implementing complex statistical tools for a large amount of data
ProsProcessing of large information in a short time, wide gamma of tools for advanced statistical analysis. Among them, the custer analysis for data classification. Friendly user interface and easy to learn
ConsIt is not designed to perform complex mathematical analyzes without first programming them with macros, although it is very powerful, it presents weaknesses of use for specific specialties
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018
Gabriella R.
Student
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“Good tool”

OverallI used it for statistical analysis in a number of engineering and finance classes.
ProsExcellent analysis is made easier with this tool. Very versatile and easy to use for a variety of applications.
ConsIt took awhile to understand the ins and outs of the software, even after taking a class on it. After using regularly however, its a great tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019
Darren M.
IT administrator
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Easy to use statistics software”

OverallGreat for performing quick studies to test for statistical significance.
ProsMinitab is a user friendly statistical package software that can be used easily to perform studies to test for the significance like student-t test and ANOVA. The software can also generate nice summary charts that can be used for many purposes. I like that this tool is compatible with both windows and mac
ConsAlthough it is easy to use the software, it might take same time to get used it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Gary T.
Process Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Very easy to use”

OverallBasic statistical analysis
ProsMinitab is an intuitive basic statistical software package. It is very fast and easy to learn and use. The menu structure and tests are extremely simple to perform and understand. It is beautifully designed and the reports are very professional looking.
ConsMinitab is not super powerful or comprehensive, it does not have every feature that you can imagine but the ease of use mostly makes up for the lack of options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018