Who Uses This Software?

Independent therapists or groups of therapists (whether formally or informally connected).


Average Ratings

40 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $40.00/month/user
  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Psych Select Software
  • www.therapyappointment.com
  • Founded 2007
  • United States

About TherapyAppointment

Practice management software for mental health professionals. One solution for online scheduling, electronic claims, EMR charting, appointment reminder calls, encrypted (HIPAA-compliant) email, credit cards, and more! Patients can schedule online, and enter their own information. Automatic claims and credit card billing: you simply chart progress notes. Designed by a psychologist in private practice to simplify every aspect of clinical practice. You provide the therapy; we provide the rest!


TherapyAppointment Features

  • Appointment Reminders
  • Appointment Scheduling
  • Assessment & Treatment Plans
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Claims Management
  • E-Prescribing
  • EDI
  • EMR / EHR
  • HIPAA Compliant
  • Inpatient / Residential
  • Multi-Provider Practice
  • Patient Portal
  • Personnel Management
  • Progress Notes
  • Single Provider Practice

TherapyAppointment Reviews Recently Reviewed!

Great product

Nov 14, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Even though there are a number of redundant features because we are a self-pay private practice and don't work with insurance, it has certainly made our scheduling process easier and more streamlined

Pros: Easy to use and quite intuitive. The training is helpful but we have not needed a lot of customer support - even though it is available - because the software is quite user-friendly

Cons: I understand the use of various colors to distinguish availability, payment status, etc, but the choice of colors used are not exactly easy on the eyes

Great customer service!

Nov 01, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: TherapyAppointment is very simple to use and easy to understand and navigate. It is a great system for a small practice or individual provider.

Cons: Notes were lacking structure integrated in the system. We found that, without copying and pasting our own structure with state requirements, it was easy to miss required pieces.

Easy to use

Oct 05, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that it sends reminders to my clients automatically. I also like how easy it is for my clients to login and check my schedule and schedule themselves.

Cons: I wish clients were able to fill out and sign my consent forms and releases to avoid having to do them in my sessions.

Great for small practice or one provider.

Aug 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: This system is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. It serves its purpose, but if you are looking for something with bells and whistles, this may not be for you. Want something simple that makes scheduling easy? Then you may have found the perfect system for you.

Pros: The scheduling function is really easy. Integrated credit card processing allows for easy check in and payment, right from the schedule. It is easy to use, and the minimal functionality keeps the system from getting overwhelming. It is completely cloud based for easy access from any device with internet access. I haven't used customer support much, but when I have, the response time was almost immediate and all my questions were answered.

Cons: Functionality is limited. There is no ability to create invoices from the system, so we have to use an external system for billing. It is very manual. If you don't do much external billing, or if you can submit insurance claims completely electronically, or you are completely private pay, this system would be perfect. Another con is that when you add a new patient, that patient must be added under a single provider, not under the practice. If one patient sees multiple providers, that patient will end up with multiple records and multiple accounts. It can get quite confusing for note taking, payments, and data updating. If they change their address, you have to update a bunch of records, not just one!

I have used this product for years and love it.

Aug 08, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: All in one system for managing your practice. This is by far the easiest and most complete system I have found for scheduling, billing, accounting, and charting.

Cons: There are very few cons to list. Perhaps the only gripe I have (and it has long since been resolved) was some server downtime when they were transitioning to a new server. When everything is integrated into one program downtime is disastrous when you have several providers.

Overall: Easiest practice management software that I have found. Their tech support is outstanding and you actually get to deal with people who work at the company and understand the system! All requests over the years have been resolved quickly!

User-friendly program

Jul 11, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is easy to use and understand. Learning curve is minimal. Tech support is helpful and responds in a timely fashion

Cons: The choice of colors is not very easy on the eyes. I understand the reason to have it color coded, but the choice of colors could be better

Not meant for large practices

Jun 13, 2017
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I enjoy the customization of medical record notes and the separation from your psychotherapy notes.

Cons: Servers go down from time to time; minimal integration between providers of the same practice. messaging system not user friendly

UNBELIEVABLE RELIEF OF PRESSURE ON ME AS A THERAPIST

Jun 08, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Can I just tell you that in 3 years I've never left my building but perhaps 2-3 times without every note being completed, every bill submitted to insurance panels! I had an arguous and ineffective employee for 10 years before I found Therapy Appointment that forgot to bill, forgot to submit, forgot to attend to errors( some we never knew for years- I mean years). It's almost been error free for us since using Therapy Appointment to " shepherd" us to remember- I mean It alerts you to everything- it's unbelievable! If a person feels they can find better, I'd love to see how- it has given me an ability to go home after entering my work, get timely paid( for the 1st time in all those years)- I'm not being theatrical- it's amazing!

Pros: Always a live person helped me trouble shoot- and I mean fast! ease of use Keeps me disciplined Saves me time never a HIPPA problem shields me largely from an easy error Thorough I've never been this organized

Cons: I can tell you if people complain and not be understanding of " rough waters" and adjustment errors during software upgrades and apparent hackers- then they have really missed the point of how Therapy Appointment has " knocked it out of the park" 99% of the time! Yes, this rough patch happened a few times but each time they jumped on it with full attention.

Expect Outages

Jun 07, 2017
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 4.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I am in the process of switching over to a different system.

Pros: Easy to use, you can make some very basic templates if you want. No significant training needed to get started Low cost

Cons: Frequent outages Poor customer service - I asked for a partial credit due to significant outages and was arrogantly told that the electric company does not issue credits, and the most they would do would be to remove the outage time from the last bill when I decided to leave their system. They have promised an update for a while now, and still no ETA. Templates are very basic, you can only make a template with text, no check boxes, etc.

Vendor Response

by Psych Select Software on June 09, 2017

We have continued to test the software changes made in response to the recent service outages. and are convinced that the problem caused by by our new password encryption system using too many resources and crashing the system has been resolved. We also have a compensation policy that you will likely not find from most software companies. Here is our policy: we consider any service outage that lasts for more than one hour to have a significant impact on the utility of our system. For this reason, we consider any day with outages totaling more than 60 minutes to be a "lost day of service" for which compensation is appropriate. We count four such days in the last month; therefore, we will be giving credit for four days of service. This is consistent with the End User License Agreement that you accepted as a precondition for use of our system. We understand that you may rely upon TherapyAppointment as a locus of organization of your practice, and recognize that a system outage can disrupt the operations of your practice. We will continue to strive for consistent service delivery; we believe that the recent problems are resolved.

When it's up and running, it's good. Not great, but good

May 30, 2017
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The system is good, there are many improvements that need to be done. It's better than doing everything manually.

Cons: The amount of time that the system is down, especially lately. You can't even get a hold of anyone, not even to leave a message. No customer service person when the system goes down, they don't answer the phone.

Looking for a new software

May 30, 2017
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: My office of colleague are sadly looking elsewhere for our EMR.

Pros: user friendly and customer service is very helpful and kind. Love the 24 hour text message reminders to my clients.

Cons: The site is "out of service" often and refunds are not offered. I would not be concerned for a refund if this was not a regular occurrence, but unfortunately this is becoming a familiar pattern. My other concern is I have two different office locations and the software does not allow myself or clients to distinguish between the two offices when signing up for sessions.

Great system but keeps constantly crashing interrupting my practice

May 30, 2017
3/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Get a back up system so that you do not have so many constant crashes.

Pros: Billing, accounting, scheduling, and note taking are integrated in a user friendly way. Customer support is somewhat responsive.

Cons: System crashes weekly at which time you cannot chart, schedule, or do anything. Very frustrating to waste time and lose clients because of constant crashes.

You definitely get what you pay for

May 25, 2017
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Not like other systems which have a lot of drop down menus, exploding text, radio buttons etc. to decrease documentation time. The one included template that has drop down menus, is not customizable. Notes are pretty much free hand typing but can be used with dragon if you want to document after seeing your patient. This really is basic and when the system goes down, at least twice a month for the entire day, customer support is unreachable. I have lost entire notes from system glitches and failures that happen frequently. It appears that the up time is about 95%

Pros: This product is pretty inexpensive and does the basics. It is easy to figure out how to use, because it doesn't do much.

Cons: Not for practices doing medication mgmt. and therapy, minimal customization, system frequently down

Group Practice

Apr 14, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: We use this software for a group practice, but it would be great for solo practice as well. All our therapists and manager loves it.

Pros: Ease of billing, patient portal Incredible customer service

Great user interface

Apr 12, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Excellent customer support. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Easy to use billing software.

Pros: User interface

Cons: The only intergtated payment option is Cayan which I'm not jazzed about due to cost and the fact they bill quarterly which makes it harder to reconcile/track. Also no room assignment function is available but I've been told it will be available when the new software update rolls out soon in the spring.

Changing my EHR from Therapy Appointment

Mar 21, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 2.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Clunky and outdated. Looking for something that has more flexibility

Pros: Nothing more than what I see with other EHRs. Has scheduling and billing abilities along with calendar and client reminders

Cons: This platform has been down multiple times while they are apparently "updating" which has slowed down my work process and has cost money

It's okay, but there are better programs out there

Dec 06, 2016
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I used Therapy Appointment when I first started my practice. It worked well enough, but I switched to Simple Practice and am much happier with that. I found that Therapy Appointment didn't have enough of the features I needed and that it's interface needs updating.

One stop shop, here it is!

Nov 22, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: For a small business solution, this is perfect. This software is amazing and will make your life so much less stressful to manage your business.

Excellent Software

Aug 18, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The customer service is excellent along with ease of operation of the system

Cons: Updates are slow to come for product enhancements in a competitive market

Recommendations to other buyers: Get at least 3 quotes with demonstrations and pricing.

Great price, lots of good features, limited EMR options

Jun 13, 2016
4/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
1.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very affordable and easy to use. Great ERA electronic billing features. Offers appointment reminders for no additional cost. Very friendly customer support. Great product for the price!

Cons: The EMR is very limited, has an older interface, not mobile friendly.

Recommendations to other buyers: Therapy Appointments offers reduced rates for less than full time status, and does not charge extra for additional features. They also offer even further reduced rates for very part time people if you're operating in a group practice.

Love using TherapyAppointment!

Feb 18, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I have used TherapyAppointment for the last 5 years in my practice, Kingsport Counseling Associates, PLLC. I can say that I have had few if any problems with this system. I do like the integrated appointment reminders and also the integration it has with claims clearinghouse and makes it absolutely seamless in filing insurance claims. The other big feature is the ability to integrate the online scheduler with my website. My patients love that feature too. They can just go online and schedule. The only down side might be that it has so many features that it can be somewhat daunting to learn. But there is a lot of video tutorial support which is very helpful. The other thing is when I have needed support help, they are very quick to respond. They developers have been very proactive in staying ahead of the curve with updates and expanding servers. I just say I love the system and depend on it heavily! It's also reasonably priced and a great value as far as I am concerned (about $57 a month).

Love my virtual office assistant!

Jan 06, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Therapyappointment.com does everything I need and more. Clients are able to schedule, reschedule, check their appointments. I have a link to scheduling on my website for new clients. Clients get an appointment reminder email or text (their preference). Emails I send are encrypted. Online, HIPAA compliant, notes. I can check my schedule and notes from anywhere (I don't have to be in the office). After I write my note, a reimbursement request is sent to insurance. I could go and and on. Oh, whenever I have a question, they get back to me well within 24 hours. I think I've been using therapyappoint.com for over 4 years.

So far.... thrilled!

Aug 13, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: At the risk of sounding like a shill for the company, I can honestly say that the practical features of this program are exactly what we need for our 8 clinician office. We have used the various updates of The Therapist since they were MS DOS, until that product became so outdated and glitchy that we had to find something new. I only wish we had been forced to make this decision much sooner.

Cons: Not much to dislike other than a rather dated looking user interface.

Recommendations to other buyers: As mentioned by others, use the trial version to get a glimpse of the available features. I was a little leery of cloud based products, but when someone mentioned that my online banking is also cloud based, I allowed myself to be dragged into this century.

Great product! Perfect for Private Practice!

May 21, 2015
4/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Amazing customer service! This product is very user-friendly, especially for one who is just starting private practice.

Cons: The presentation/look of the actual program is a little outdated.

Recommendations to other buyers: It was incredibly helpful for me to watch the help videos online. Also, I've never been afraid to ask questions to customer service - they respond in a very professional and prompt fashion.

Highly recommended!

May 12, 2015
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There are numerous features and is very versatile in how you can use it. The appointment reminder, online scheduling and automatic claim filing make the running of my practice seamless and efficient. The tech support is excellent with prompt response time.

Cons: I do wish that there was a way to sync the calendar with my Google calendar. HIPAA compliance prevents this.

Recommendations to other buyers: I would recommend taking advantage of the trial period to give it a try.

Makes work so much easier.

May 12, 2015
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There is so much that I like about this product. It made my life so much easier. Insurance billing is seamless and customizing is great too.

Cons: I wish you could link the calendar app to my mobile calendar. Wish I didn't have to synchronize two calendars.

Recommendations to other buyers: I would choose this product over all others. The customer service is worth it.

Software that makes my life so much easier!

May 11, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This program is very easy to use and very easy to understand with any new updates or changes that are made. Truly user-friendly.

Cons: I dislike how when a claim is rejected there is not what I would consider an easily understandable way to fix it if you are not familiar with whatever code is displayed.

Recommendations to other buyers: Give it a good try and practice with a fake client before you decide this program is not for you or your business.

Therapyappointment.com Review

May 05, 2015
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I am impressed with the customer service and tech support.

Cons: I would like this program better if I could lock progress notes individually instead of locking notes for an entire day.

Recommendations to other buyers: I think that if you wish to have an all-inclusive software for your practice, therapyappointment.com is a great choice.

Excellent product with excellent customer service

Apr 29, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software is just what I need to effectively manage my private practice. It is intuitive, easy to set up new clients, manage statement accounts, and clients like the ability to set their own appointment schedules.

Cons: Although I really like the application being web-based, those few times we've lost power (due to storms or construction) we were unable to log on.

Recommendations to other buyers: The software is highly intuitive and very user-friendly, so the learning curve is really short.

Therapy Appointment is Indispensable

Apr 28, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Therapy Appointment is like having a personal assistant. The program was designed by a therapist for therapists so it has all the features a private practitioner needs with no fluff. It allows me to maintain my schedule, chart, file claims, bill and monitor statistics and income. It sends appointment reminders and even sends birthday greetings. My clients like being able to schedule their own appointments (no more phone tag) and the customer service is amazing. I could not operate a private practice without it.

Cons: I have been using Therapy Appointment for almost 3 years with absolutely no complaints.

Recommendations to other buyers: Talk to someone who uses it! After reviewing a pile of expensive medical software that had tons of features I would never use, I found the refreshingly simple demo of Therapy Appointment. I called a few therapists who were using it to ask about their experiences and they all raved about it. I signed up that day and have never been disappointed.

Some good things, but overall not user friendly

Apr 28, 2015
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
2.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Bill was wonderful in addressing technical issues and updates to his program. It was easy to use.

Cons: It was not very streamlined and did not offer calendar views that were very helpful. The overall format was not easy to read and use.

Recommendations to other buyers: I would say that it is personal preference and what you need in a program.

I love TherapyAppointment.com

Apr 28, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a small private practice. I do all the billing myself and I love that I can write a note and bill at the same time.

Cons: I really don't have any negatives. It is a little pricey but I feel the program is worth the cost.

Recommendations to other buyers: Consider ease of use, how many tasks get completed in short period of time and customer service.

#1 EMDR TURN KEY WITH EVERYTHING YOU NEED!!!!

Apr 28, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Incredible turn key web based solution for Mental Health providers covering all aspects of EMDR, billing, intake notes, progress notes, reminder calls, documentation, easy online registration, direct billing to insurance comanies, and credit card payment processing. The developer and inventor of this product is a Doctoral Level Psychologist who understands the needs of mental health providers and he is committed to the ongoing development of the product. He and his staff are very responsive to concerns and questions. Absolutely amazing. I would highly recommend without reservation!

Cons: I am very very satisfied however the only tiny problem is when there is a problem with the server slowing down. However this company has resolved and worked with this issue. In fact the server slowing down is not a problem and it is very fast currently.

Recommendations to other buyers: Consider your needs and think about the other products available. This software is absolutely incredible and the product inventor and developer is a mental health professional who has walked in your shoes. This software is built from the ground up and evolving to meet the needs of mental health professionals. Consider there are other software programs there may be adaptations of other EMDR software just fit to mental health professionals. I have found this software to be incredible, customer service is outstanding, quick response to questions, and ongoing commitment to improving the software.

Therapy Appointment has made my professional life so much easier!

Apr 28, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I have been using this program for several years now and couldn't be happier. I recommend it to my colleagues regularly. The user interface is simple and a pleasure to use. The monthly flat fee has saved me a bundle in time and money in comparison with hiring a billing person, which I did for many years previous. The customer support, which is not needed very often, is prompt and excellent, whether by phone or by internal message. The continual updates have successfully kept up with the changes in coding with the DSM-V, which is no small feat. As they say themselves - they promise that this program will never be finished. And with continual updates due to professional changes and with improvements and additional functioning they have voluntarily provided, I doubt it will.

Cons: Nothing. I couldn't recommend it more highly. As I said, I do recommend it to colleagues regularly. There is no financial incentive for me to do so.

Recommendations to other buyers: Although I mainly use the very easy and efficient billing feature, I also like the "a la carte" features of clients being able to book appointments, appointment reminder and confirmation functions, several session note options, contacting clients through email, HIPPA compliance safeguards, etc. A practitioner or clinic could use it very simply or take advantage of the comprehensive features. Of course, do look at other options, however I recommend this software highly and have had excellent experience with it.

HIPAA Concerns

Jan 19, 2015
1/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I've used this software program for 4 years and was pleased..... UNTIL they agreed to turn over medical records based on an attorney letter, not the law. Susan Whitehead told us "we are just a software company" and do not have the capability to discern what to do with records when an EMPLOYEE leaves a practice and decides to take their records with them. When an employee leaves a practice, the records remain with their employing company--and this should additionally be apparent when the intake paperwork says the records will remain with the employing practice. We had an employee attain an attorney to say she wanted and deserved them, and was granted them by TP, despite case law, intake paperwork signed by clients and client verbalized understanding. The software is great, BUT if they will violate law and ethics and will turn over your files, blocking your own access to client information for HIPAA compliance, insurance billing and reconciliation, this is a BAD company.

Vendor Response

by Psych Select Software on January 20, 2015

This comment was written by someone who is involved in a bitter dispute with a therapist who left her practice. It was and is our belief that the ownership of these disputed records is not clear-cut. It is also important to note that, regardless of any eventual court decision over the ownership of these records, there is no HIPAA or ethical violation when records are made available to the person who wrote them. Our decision was based upon (literally) hours of careful consideration of the available information, and we stand by our decision.

Not for multiple therapist groups

Apr 16, 2014
3/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This is a fine piece of work for an individual therapist. But then the designers decided it hawk it out as a tool for therapist groups. They tweaked it a little, but it falls short by making it hard for an Administrator to use.

Very satisfied!

Feb 13, 2014
4/5
Overall

Comments: I have been using TherapyAppointment for the last three years. I have been very satisfied with what it allows me to do. It has made my billing and documentation so much easier! The only drawback about this software is that it is cloud-based and sometimes the servers and internet connections are a bit slow. But I do like being able to access things from anywhere. Technical support is excellent and fast! The cost I think is reasonable and worth the $57 a month. There are a lot of features and options. Credit card integration,etc. Would highly recommend this service!

Vendor Response

by Psych Select Software on January 20, 2015

We do listen to our customers! Since this review was written, we have more than doubled our server capacity. Our average server response time is less than one second now.

It's all you need to run a 21st century private practice

Oct 31, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I have used this product for the past 4 years. It's wonderful. The designer has thought of everything you need to run a 21st century private practice. Price for me is very affordable, at $57 per month. It send reminders, clients can schedule online, the note templates are great, electronic billing with integrated credit card support is wonderful. My EOB's come back through the system so I have almost no posting to do.

Extremely Satisfied with this EMR

Oct 29, 2012
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Many intuitive, convenient features.
Simply the best product I have used, and I have tried several.

Cons: Would love it if I could e prescribe within the system. I understand it was not originally developed for use by psychiatrists / nurse practitioners - who see clients primarily for medication management.

Overall: Yes, it has so many wonderful features and very reasonable monthly fee.

Excellent Product

Jul 29, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: This product is easy-to-use and learn. The creator is open to suggestions for betterment. I'm incredibly happy that I incorporated this product into my practice, as it has made my life so much easier. Electronic billing is now a piece of cake, and I can keep up with my EOBs with such ease. Having everything in one place that is also HIPPA compliant is amazing!

Cons: None so far!

Overall: Definite investment.