Tessitura Software Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Tessitura Software

Database that handles ticketing, fundraising, memberships, customer relationship management, and more for arts and entertainment Learn more about Tessitura Software

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Music, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“A top-tier ticketing and CRM solution for arts, cultural, and musical venues”

OverallTessitura is the lifeblood of our organisation used by our box office, marketing, and fundraising departments to store all manner of customer information. It is a powerful piece of software with many customisation options that, when configured and utilised correctly, proves a useful tool.
ProsTessitura is a mammoth piece of software that has lots of features available for ticketing, fundraising, and marketing. It holds a wealth of constituent data and we can write our own SSRS reports in-house to query this data. Support is amazing, very quick to answer any queries, and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the software. It has been relatively easy to upgrade our software/database version following the very useful documentation found on the Tessitura Network website. The TN website also features webinars, a community forum, and is packed full of information on upcoming networking events. Tessitura also offer a Tessitura Network Express Web (TNEW) website solution for online bookings which integrates well with the Tessitura software.
ConsAlthough the software itself is very customisable with custom plugins and such, it can cause headaches when upgrading to newer versions and has the potential to cause issues - these customisations must be backed up, checked for compatibility, etc. Technical support has originally been handled by agents in the US which had the potential to cause issues with time zones with our organisation being based in the UK, however they have recently restructured their support for Europe and have implemented a new helpdesk system which have helped improve this situation greatly. There are a lot of functions and features that I still feel I've barely touched on as an administrator, as well as there being a steep learning curve for end-users due to the sheer number of features available. UI elements do look a bit dated compared to other solutions on the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Music, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“A beast of a product”

OverallTessitura is at the heart of everything we do as an organisation. It holds our customer data, we use it to manage our ticketing and website offerings, to manage Direct Debits and donations, marketing, and much more. We could not function without it.
ProsIt is so customisable, and does so much. There are facets for all areas of our organisation.
ConsIt is so customisable. This is an amazing feature, but comes with a lot of pitfalls and makes life challenging at upgrade time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Katie K.
Development Database Manager
Performing Arts, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017

“Industry-standard database for arts & culture”

OverallDetailed data for informing managerial decisions, increased interdepartmental communication, many facets of constituent knowledge and ways to slice and dice our donorbase
ProsIntegrates all departments on the same database. Highly customizable. Integrates with many other common industry systems (mail2, Boca, etc.). Great reporting capabilities. Fantastic support documentation and staff. The user community is unparalleled in skill level, camaraderie, and enthusiasm. Ability to share an instance in a consortium environment, with advanced settings to control who can see what information.
ConsSteep learning curve - it can be difficult to get beginner users to do much more than search for and look at records. Not the most user-friendly interface. Customizability also means the out of box product can be pretty bare bones compared to everything the software is capable of.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017
Corinne R.
Membership Manager
Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Designed for larger orgs with data management support”

OverallIt has been hard to learn, and I frankly still don't feel confident pulling lists that my data is correct. I appreciate it's enormous capacity on the back end, but there's not a lot of front-end user options.
ProsThe record integration is absolutely seamless. I can look up a constituent and see exactly when they came, what donations or purchases they have made, etc. The tech support is robust.
ConsI have taken a training class in this product, have some experience in coding, and still feel like I only barely understand the basics. It is hard to learn, not intuitive at all, and has more functions than we can currently use at our size (small-mid-size museum) Plus: Expensive!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Brian G.
Membership Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2018

“I used Tessi in my time at a nationally-renowned Symphony orchestra.”

OverallEase of ticketing, seating, and viewing the house. I enjoyed the option to charge directly each purchase, as opposed to batching gifts individually like I did in RE.
ProsI find that Tessi is very intuitive and use-oriented. When I started with it, I was obviously overwhelmed, but that was tempered by it's relative ease of use, and the vast online resources available for questions that did arise.
ConsHaving used both Tessi and RE, I will say that one is much better for Box Office organizations (Tessi) than it is at housing constituent info, giving history, and basic fundraising needs. RE has robust capability for storing/targeting/querying on/exporting etc. much more so than RE.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Music, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018

“Essential ticketing software for Arts venues”

OverallRuns the entire CRM and ticketing solution for the organisation.
ProsCompany fully understands the requirements of the industry that it is targeting. There is an excellent community with end users willing to engage and help each other.
ConsRequires quite a lot of resource to manage and maintain in terms of staff and hardware. Would hope to see this improve in coming releases and perhaps a shift to a cloud implementation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018
Jon G.
Owner
Philanthropy, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018

“Tessitura and Fund Raising”

OverallShop around. There has to be a more efficient and effective product.
ProsThe integration of ticketing with prospects/donors is alluring, esp. for performance art organizations.
ConsThis is a ticketing software with a CRM work-around built in. It's confusing, user abusive and extraordinarily expensive. In our town, NPO's had to group together, in one building, where they created a new company that specializes in Tessitura software management. It's a clever use of the software and a business structure. This company then went out and sold it's software services to other performance art organizations as far away as Los Angeles. However, all organizations can see who has who in their database. You can't go into the account, but it becomes readily apparent our prospects and donors are being hit on all the time by all the same organizations. It's tricky. But the fact remains. Tessitura is enormously complex, just to get acknowledgements out is a lot of busy work. When I came on board, the previous development person really used Tessitura as a storage unit and did all the fund raising in Excel and Word. And from a NPO business perspective, once you commit to this software, extraction is basically a blackmail. It costs a fortune to leave it and organizations still have this challenge of ticketing tied to fund raising.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018
Siobhan P.
Tessitura Administrator
Fine Art, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 12, 2017

“Great Arts CRM”

ProsWindows based Easy to use Great support All in one package Customisable Based on SQL Server Reports can be designed in house
ConsOld reports are based on Sybase's Infomaker which is a hard product to purchase. Newer reports are based on SSRS so you will need training for this.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 12, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Great”

ProsTessitura is definitely the most popular in the nonprofit arts industry. It's ticketing and fundraising features are integrated and allows for a full constituent report.
ConsLately, the software seems outdated. Unlike Raiser's Edge, Tessitura demands a full training to know the ins and outs of the software. It's not the most user-friendly software out there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Grace B.
Piano Faculty
Music, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2018

“Could be better ”

ProsThis software has a lot of muscle power, no doubt about it. There is a lot of functionality, and every problem you come across when it comes to how to send tickets out, sending receipts to patrons, etc has a solution
Cons 1) This software is WAY too complicated for the average theater. The learning curve is very steep, which complicates the hiring process for temporary employees (cause they never get to the point of mastery and efficiency with the software), and there is no way to edit out which functions to "see" on your screen. For example, if xyz theater never uses a third of the functions of the software, there should be a way to visually hide them so that employees dont get confused about what they are seeing on the screen. 2) When it comes to entering information for credit card payments, the software designers never apparently thought about how the average patron reads out their information over the phone. You have to select the type of card used before entering the card number, meanwhile the patron is halfway through spewing out their number over the phone while the ticketing office employee is scrambling to write it down on a pad of paper cause Tessie wont let them enter the number yet. If there was more flexibility in the order that information could be entered (card type then number vs number then card type), the daily functionality of the software would be much improved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2018
Andrea H.
Owner and designer
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Tessitura review”

OverallOverall I like the program. It has everything I need to get my work done and easily see what we need to sell the following day.
ProsI recently started using tessitura and I like the simplicity of it. I am able to easily view the events and see how many seats are available for what date.
ConsOnly con I have is for the saving button, it says "done" instead of "save". It sometimes confuses me when I'm closing an order.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“I've been using Tessitura for a few months and I enjoy the ability to learn new functions every day.”

ProsThere are so many functions to learn about this software that I always am excited to learn. Tessitura gives you so much information so many forms that it's insane on what this software can hold.
ConsIt is a bit complicated and you do need a specialist if you want to really learn how to fully utilize the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Art Organization Zeus”

OverallEvery arts organization uses Tessitura for a reason. All encompassing, it's reach is impressive, limited only by its users organization.
ProsFor donor organization, easy and effective with a wide range of tracking.
ConsUgh, ok, repeat entries were the scourge of my job. So its effectiveness definitely depends on the team who uses it. I wish there were an option for Tessitura to regularly compare possible multiple entries to combine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Cameron M.
Box Office Lead
Events Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“Great intent difficult to learn”

OverallOverall I have not been happy with Tessitura. I feel it is far harder to use than helpful. The features it offers are great but it does not make it worth the investment.
ProsTessitura has a lot of good ticketing features. It has a great ability to customize and tracks data way better than SABO. The best part of this software is when it comes to selling subscriptions. It is really easy and user intuitive when it comes to this feature.
ConsThis software is really difficult to learn and train others on. The UI is confusing and it is difficult to find what you are looking for. The worst part of this software is how easy it is to give an order to a different patron. there are no warning signs and this has been a common problem around the office.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Performing Arts, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017

“An incredibly robust ticketing and seating software”

ProsTessitura allows you to input and seat based on your own theater's house model. I like that there's a visual layout you can view to see which seats are taken and what kind of ticket they're purchased under.
ConsTessitura is a large and complicated software. I'm not even aware of all of the things it can do. It's a true learning process and companies may choose how deep down the rabbit hole they'd like to go: using it lightly or going so far as to send members of their theater to the huge Tessitura conference once a year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Performing Arts, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018

“Tessitura is an easy to use fundraising and ticketing software system that I would reccomend”

ProsEase of use in the ticketing function. One is able to see and use a seat map in real time to place and track orders. These orders are then linked to the constituents account where you can track the moves management of a particular donor and see their giving history.
ConsDoes not have the full capacity of moves management as seen in Raiser's Edge NXT but has a better ticketing and box office functionality. A better database for those who own their own performance venue and have a larger marketing than development team. Not ideal for someone who is focused on development first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018
Roy K.
UCCS Presents Box Office
Events Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“Hard to Learn, Lots of Features”

OverallI had trouble learning how to use and be effective and efficient using this software, however once I learned how it works, the experience gets a lot better. The customer support is available to answer questions and solve issues.
ProsIt is an effective organizational and ticketing program which allows for many customization options to adjust the system as needed. Additionally, the customer support has been able to get most of our issues solved.
ConsMany of its options are counter-intuitive, and the user interface is unattractive and hard to use. Additionally, it is relatively easy to make a mistake and accidentally give a ticket to a different person than intended.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Grace A.
Box Office Attendant
Events Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Tessitura ”

ProsTessitura is organized and can handle the complicated functions of our daily ticketing set up.
ConsIt is very archaic-looking, confusing, and hard to find things.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Tiiu R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2017

“Great but clunky and expensive”

OverallI didn't work with this software for that long, and never used it as a manager, but from what I gleaned it's pretty powerful. It has a steep learning curve and is quite expensive, so most mid-sized arts organizations I've worked for have used other platforms. But Tessitura is the dream, if you can afford it.
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2017
Cody A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017

“A Beast that can work for you”

OverallTessitura is the biggest and worst CRM you can use. It has a giant network of constantly evolving apps, fixes and test cases. The annual conference is huge and a boon for those in the Arts. You will definitely need a dedicated IT person for Tessitura though, as it is complex and robust.
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017
Luisa C.
Fine Art, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015

“Nonprofit Arts Endorsement”

ProsAbility to incorporate both development and box office capabilities.
ConsDifficult to access 24/7; limited abilities; not enough training for entire staff; few personnel actually use it.
Recommendations to other buyersUnique to the arts industry, some excellent specific details captured and helpful reports.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015
Verified Reviewer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017

“I enjoyed this software immensely, but because, but it can be slow to pick up.”

ProsIt is SO big. The number of features is really excellent, and I am constantly amazed at the breadth of functionality.
ConsUnfortunately, the sheer number of functions can prove daunting, often. At times, it is not always intuitive, but I eventually get around to understanding.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017
Stacy C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016

“Great for Customer Experience training”

OverallI worked for a nonprofit and this was a great way to track customer response rates for email campaigns!
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016
Liam C.
Part Time Employee
Entertainment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2018

“Tessitura Basics”

ProsTessitura is a fantastic software that helps me to track and process huge amounts of data.
ConsBecause the work I do on Tessitura is relatively simple (tracking constituent information and processing tickets) at times the software feels more complex than it needs to be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2018