SmarterMail Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About SmarterMail

SmarterMail delivers Exchange-level email server software features for a fraction of the cost! With lower hardware requirements, superior stability and reduced maintenance costs, SmarterMail has significantly lower Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) and is the best-in-class Microsoft Exchange alternative for businesses and hosting companies. Take advantage of instant access to webmail, instant messaging, desktop and mobile sync, user collaboration and more. Learn more about SmarterMail

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Dab C.
President
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“Multiple deployments that we support”

OverallWe have been using SmarterMail for 10+ years. We host several clients (Multiple domains for multiple years) on one of our Smartmail VM's, and have deployed this as on premise solution of a number of other clients. We have been through many versions and are still very pleased with the product as are our clients. We can host with, make money with it, and have have happy customers.
ProsIt is rock solid stable, the user interface is intuitive, clean and easy for the users to adapt to. It is affordable (much more than affordable than Exchange) for the small to medium business and makes for a great solution. The support has been good and we have had VERY few issues over the years.
ConsIt is not as powerful and as seamless as exchange (which we also host). The third party spam & AV filtering they have integrated is not very good (we have went to a TrendMicro Hosted Gateway solution to fix this). The chat feature has not been well received by my clients.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Dan W.
Self Employed
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“Reliable Email service with lots of features”

OverallMake my Admin job a breeze. Combining Email, calendar and alerts
ProsThe interface is clean and powerful. It's a single-page app. Compatible with any browser, both desktop and mobile. Its responsive layout is perfect for any screen, and any device, giving you the same look and feel regardless of how you're accessing your mailbox. It's easy to customize using the pre-built light and dark themes.
ConsCan be over whelming with the amount of features that it has, The ActiveSync aspects of the software are not the best. Was told told would need to create a separate profile for every mobile device and operating system in order to get it to work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Chris M.
System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“We've used this for a long time, lots of features but some simple things are missing”

OverallVery easy to use, easy to set up, easy to make changes ot users but missing some key features that would make it much better.
ProsThe cost is great, it's very easy to use and very easy to set up. We also have very few issues with it, very solid product.
ConsSome features are missing that seem like simple fixes. You cannot make mass changes, you cannot ask for mass reports for simple things like, are these users forwarding emails, are these users sending emails. You can go into each individually but mass reports are missing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“Very powerful Mail Server!!”

ProsThis is a very powerful, and cost effective mail server. I've used this for over 10 years and have seen VERY frequent, non-stop upgrading of features this whole time. Cost is very reasonable compared to other solutions like Exchange.
ConsThere's really nothing I can say about this. I used to not like the mobile integration, but SmarterTools REALLY improved on this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Brian T.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“We're with SmarterMail to stay!”

ProsWe moved from iMail to SmarterMail when SmarterMail was on version 4. Instantly, our mail issues went away and we could focus on the rest of out business.
ConsWe had problems with upgrading to v. 16 so we downgraded to v. 15.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Avatar Image
JD G.
Controller
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Awful...Just Awful...”

OverallWe got this software for free with our business website and it was awful. I don't ever recommend it and when speaking to the helpdesk for our Website design company, he said they even thought it was awful and got tons of complaints about it. We left for a different company that we paid for to host our emails and its so much better! Avoid SmarterMail at all costs, because its DUMB!
ProsI can't say that I can think of any pros for SmarterMail
ConsIt's Cumbersome, for some reason it takes forever for emails to appear in the inbox (even inter-company emails), terrible spam detection, difficult to sort emails, NOT that smart...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Dan W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2016

“Smarter Mail is a high quality secure mail system with super organiztion capabilties”

OverallI Have used Smartermail for 5 years. It works flawlessly and allows me to organize our expansive emails and also provides a very secure system,
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2016