CARA Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About CARA

Generis provides CARA, the leading content and information management platform for regulated industries. CARA is used by more than 400,000 users across industries including Life Sciences, Finance, Government, Engineering, and Utilities. Customers include 8 of the global top 10 Life Science companies. CARA is a cloud-first platform providing functionally-rich solutions for regulated business processes, including a comprehensive end-to-end platform for Life Sciences. Learn more about CARA

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
William M.
Software Developer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Easy to use - intuitive Administration\Control Panel”

OverallWe have a legacy home grown application that is over 20 years old and on old technology (Mainframe\COBOL\CICS). It is tricky to integrate it with newer technology and one unexpected consequence of this is that it is difficult to retain younger workers with the older technology applications. Area by area we have been moving them off of the old and onto the new and the user experience is far superior. Greater search capabilities and options to integrate with modern applications.
ProsI like how easy it is to get up and running. Within hours, we were able to install the product, connect to Documentum and have a basic working User Interface.
ConsIt's a testament to the product that have to nit-pick to find anything. Exporting and importing the overall configuration is all or nothing so there is no way to make minor development changes without exporting\importing everything. We have a few configuration settings that are customized by environment (i.e. test\model\prod) that I have to change manually each time I import changes from Test to Model and Model to Prod. I would prefer more granular export\import capabilities when developing to only export\import the object I am changing. For instance, Dashboards and Custom Actions allow exactly the kind of capabilities that I prefer. That and the "cleaner look" lead me to using Dashboards much more frequently - almost exclusively. There are a few features in the more traditional Explorer UI that it would be nice to have in the Dashboard\Portal UI like drag and drop, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Tim P.
Associate Director
Pharmaceuticals, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“Great tool, great support!”

ProsThe flexibility of CARA is astounding and we have had many successes in adapting the tool to our internal business processes and ensuring that it is meeting the needs of all stakeholders.
ConsWe are still on an older version but looking forward to upgrading soon and enjoying all the improvements in speed and functionality that have been made.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Michelle D.
Manager, Retail Pricing
Retail, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“CARA is an amazing office tool!!”

OverallGetting out of the paper world, greater organization and tools that help us prioritize with ease. It was easy in the paper world to lose track of things on occasion but with CARA that's no longer an issue.
ProsIts taken us from piles of paper on our desks to entirely electronic documents and provides a better, easily searchable file retention system. We can reference old documents as necessary with ease with its user friendly navigation. Its also great because we can partner with top notch CARA experts to customize options to help our specific office needs. They are always accommodating and ready to help.
ConsSometimes its slow when searching but honestly its nothing that's a show stopper and could be because we haven't upgraded as of yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Anshika B.
Project Lead
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“New to Content Management? CARA makes it easy for you!”

OverallI am a satisfied user of CARA 1.Easy to access via browser 2.Drag & Drop features 3.Easy movement of documents across folders 4.Highly configurable watermarks & overlays 5.Taxonomy, Category, Dashboard, Views & Capabilities - Very thoughtful features
ProsAs an End User - Easy of use As an admin - Ease of configuration & customisation, Readily available upgrade packages
ConsThere are certain product issues at times which CARA support is unable to help in troubleshooting as they would ask for a replication scenario but that isn't available always! Suggestion: Its an evolving product I understand & the venture with Box should be fruitful too. The suggestion that I have is, the partner companies should have easy access to rapid deploy packages. Quarterly meetings would also help build strong relationships with both clients & implementation partners.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Jeff L.
Lead Analyst
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“An Extremely Versatile Tool”

OverallWe're using CARA for various use cases, including replacing a legacy reporting tool, minor workflow for several business lines, and basic search and view functions.
ProsSpeed of new set ups and the versatility of the tool. We're still finding new ways to utilize it.
ConsDashboard reports are lacking some features that we would like to see, but new ones are being added all the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Ashraf E.
ECM Architect
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“CARA is the ECM real Face”

OverallExceptional
ProsEase of use, Ease of setup, Ease of deployment, Ease of Migration, Ease of configurations, Ease of Integration and Ease of dealing with the vendor.
ConsDocumentation can be a little better, more details need to be included
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Anees R.
Technical lead
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“Cara - a new way to work with your dara”

OverallI have never seen a large amount of user perception change when we move from firstdoc to Cara. Cara is fast, intuitive and easy administrative tool.
ProsVery user friendly Highly intuitive Highly configurable Easy deployment Easy integration Good support
ConsLess experienced in regulatory area Less documentation focussed Less product testing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Avatar Image
senthil v.
Software Administrator
Pharmaceuticals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“CARA is 100% a better product than the Webtop & Firstdoc ”

ProsIt is fast, ease of use and very good for Admin to troubleshoot and multitasking unlike the previous content management tools like Webtop,D2, Firstdoc.
ConsNeed a good annotation service to be added to CARA.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Stephanie A.
businesswomen
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018

“no flaws”

ProsThey are stable, and highly configurable product. It is truly a great product and designed with the user in mind.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018
Nathalie O.
Senior Associate
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Review from an irregular user”

ProsIt is very easy to learn how to use it and the videos received from the vendor although lengthy were useful
ConsThere were some features like dragging and dropping that were not present at the time
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019