Who Uses This Software?

A powerful, flexible POS system for restaurants, bars, and all types of eating establishments, found in thousands of restaurants in 89 countries.


Average Ratings

67 Reviews

  • 3.5 / 5
    Overall

  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 3.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $69.00/month
  • Pricing Details
    $69/mo paid annually $79/ mo no contract 0% financing on hardware
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Free Trial
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Lavu
  • www.lavu.com/
  • Founded 2010
  • United States

About Lavu

Lavu's intuitive, mobile POS and restaurant management platform is designed specifically for small to medium food and drink establishments with 1-3 locations. Lavu's mobility and ease of use help streamline operations and increase revenue while delighting customers. Offering in-house payment processing, online ordering, detailed reporting, loyalty programs, labor management, inventory management, and more, Lavu saves time and money while providing all your point of sale and management needs.


Lavu Features

  • Cash Drawer Management
  • Employee Management
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Loyalty Program
  • Separate Checks
  • Split Checks
  • Tips Management
  • Bar POS
  • Barcode Scanning
  • Commission Management
  • Discount Management
  • eCommerce
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program Support
  • Pricing Management
  • Restaurant POS
  • Returns Tracking
  • Sales Tracking
  • User Access Permissions
  • Barcode Scanning
  • Commission Management
  • Customer Account Profiles
  • Discount Management
  • eCommerce Integration
  • Electronic Signature
  • Gift Card Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Multi-Location
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Delivery Management
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Mobile Access
  • Online Ordering
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Separate Checks
  • Split Checks
  • Table Management
  • Tips Management

Lavu Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Saves us time and money, works great for us!

Sep 28, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I started using Lavu Point of Sale about 2 years ago. Before switching to the system we were using paper tickets, I didn't realize how inefficient this really was until I made the switch to an electronic system. Not only are we now spending less time managing each order, accuracy has gone up, and my shrinkage has gone down. The kitchen is only allowed to make items that are rung into the system and print out which has help cut down on theft or giving items away. The biggest time savings is getting the customers checked out. Previously during our lunch rush we would have a line of people waiting to pay and leave, now we are able to handle them as they come up to the counter since everything is already totaled up in the system.

Another big help has been the ability to use iPods to take orders at the table. We usually have a rush after church on Sundays, sometimes a line at the door. Before my servers had to go to the table, take the order, then take the ticket back to the kitchen. Now my servers go to the table, take the order, hit send and it prints in the kitchen. Then they can go straight to the next table. Anything we can do to speed up the time it takes to turn a table is a plus.

The amount of features that have been added in the last couple years has been amazing, it's nice to see that they are actively working on the software. The biggest thing for us has been the addition of 'always offline mode'. You just use the system and the orders go to the cloud in the background. When we first got setup we had some issues with the internet which interfered with using the system. They offered us a local server option but I did not want to install more hardware. While my internet situation was much improved by switching from DSL to cable I always worried that my connection going out could be a possibility. With the new version (3.0.3) the system keeps working even if my internet connection were to go out.

The Lavu POS software has worked great for us and I highly recommend it.

As good as any "Industry Standard"

Feb 22, 2019
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Better price point

Very intuitive and easy to pick up user-interface

Speedy screen operations, no waiting for screens to load

If you have experience with other POS systems this one will be very easy to get started with

Great team behind it

Easy to add new items to menu (you dont have to be an expert to fulfil managerial roles on the system)

Cons: There is not much that I can say against LAVU. As far as Point of Sale Systems it is just as good as any of the big dog's systems but with an affordable price point. I never had an issue with the system in my year of using it.

Overall: We used this in a tequila bar that I was a bar manager at. We were very high volume so we needed a good POS system that never crashed, and operated quickly to minimize waiting on the system to perform functions. I think in that regard this is a great system and I would recommend it to anyone.

Vendor Response

by Lavu on March 01, 2019

Hi Sean,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear Lavu is working well for you and your team! Don't hesitate to call us at 855-767-5288 if you have any questions.
The Lavu Team

Great system, could use a few more basic features that many other systems use.

Mar 01, 2018
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Love the ease of use. The customer service has been really good as of late. Would for the most part recommend to any business.

Cons: Need some better basic features:

-Option for end of day report to reconcile as if the credit card tips were given out as cash to the servers, as this is the process for most restaurants.

-Better tip reporting capability for employees. It would be great for it to ask for total tips to be asked when employee is clocking out. There are many reasons for this including tip out, tip pool etc.

Vendor Response

by Lavu on March 06, 2018

Hi Joe. Thank you so much for the feedback. We're glad to hear Lavu is meeting your needs and will strive to keep improving to make your experience even better.

fraud by billing request or shutdown lavu

Sep 04, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: about the sistem we are of course happy after one year of lavu at our restaurant, our job is helping from lavu, accouting administration kitchen and all is going in perfect harmonies

Cons: fraud by billing request or shut down lavu. Yes that happen two times , last time few days ago I get a message on a strange open windows of lavu account, was about to pay or shutdown the system but we always pay, so I was worry what happen if shotdown lavu at my place then they ask the min payment, so I used my credit card for pay it but at end they took more for Hosting PAID without any consense from me. we used to pay an agent of lavu so he doesn't answer fast half and that can happen. Now he said like last time they will refund to me but of course after some month... so disappointed about it. Hope to try back faster my money because the agent he asks me to pay him to because isn't his fault. hope someone tries to explain and solve my problem.

We are pulling our systems out of our restaurants

Jul 27, 2017
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: About the only thing that is positive about this system is that it is internet based and we can move freely about the restaurant to serve our guests.

Cons: Billing is constantly inaccurate and the system shuts down during service because of this.

If you're ok with the system going offline with no warning due to inaccurate automated billing issues and 3 hours on the phone with inept customer service reps while having zero access to input orders, print tickets to your kitchen, bills for the customers and not being able to process credit cards than this IS the system for you!

Our sales and install guy was a joke. Over promising on system answers he didn't even know but said yeah it does that. When it came to menu input it took him 2 weeks from start to finish and we had to just take over and redo everything ourselves.

Reporting functions that should be available that weren't we were told would be "coming soon" in the next version have not materialized.

Customer service is absolutely horrendous. If you like long hold times over an hour most times or a we will call you back message many hours most times then again this is the system for you!

Overall: Nothing to come close to outweighing the cons

Vendor Response

by Lavu on August 21, 2017

Hello Blaine,

We are sorry to hear about your experience and hope we can solve these issues you've been having. Our customer care manager is looking into the issue now and will reach out to you. In the meantime, we recommend reaching out to our 24-hour customer care line 1.855.528.8457 with any immediate issues you may be having. We would be more than happy to address the problems with your system. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had and look forward to working through these issues.

-Kristin

A good system but customer support is most often disappointing

Jan 05, 2018
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

2 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use Joshua Maestas from customer service was so incredibly helpful. He took time to listen to the complicated scenario we were trying to resolve. He followed up when and how he said he would. Most of the time our customer service experience is frustrating but he was truly a breath of fresh air.

Cons: Back end reporting; customer service. There are programming bugs and we continuously are told "development is working on it" but never saw any resolution. If it isn't a priority for you and not intended to be fixed then don't tell us it is being fixed.

UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Aug 21, 2018
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The iPhone app. Really nothing else, really.

Cons: WOW! Where do I begin? Should I start with how they outright lied to me to make the sale? How about sending a completely incompetent tech support personnel company to help me with my network? Maybe I should start with the fact that they billed me today for Quickbooks integration that I DON'T EVEN HAVE!

Let's start with the outright misrepresentation of their product. I specifically asked if they had online ordering and I was told yes we do. After I had purchased the system and went to set it up I asked "Well how do I set up the credit card integration for the online ordering?" Then I was told "Oh we have online ordering but we don't have online payment" WHAT!!? This is 2017 not 1999 what do you mean you don't have online payment? "We had a problem with it and had to take it off line, we should have it back up by Nov."

Well today is 08-21-2018 and guess what I still don't have? You got it - online payment.

Overall: But wait there's more! How about the fact that the kitchen printer prints two checks, that no one can seem to fix. Not only does it waste an enormous amount of paper but it is confusing as the checks are not identical and it blows through a ribbon in 3 or four days!

Occasionally it will resend an order back yo the kitchen that has already been made, etc...

The is no individual item printer assignment either which means that you have to send an entire category instead of just one item to a screen or printer.

Vendor Response

by Lavu on August 24, 2018

Hi John,
We are very sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing. I will have someone from our care team look into this and get back to you as soon as possible.
Thank you

Online all inclusive restaurant POS

Jun 15, 2017
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: There is an open ended API for other application integration, but we are not savvy enough to do this ourselves. It would be great if there were more companies and different aspects of integration on the back end for more high end analytics and functionality. (IE: Quickbooks, Simple Order, Etc.).

Pros: Very versatile and easy to use. Easy to make modifications and adjustments within the system and customize to our specific operation.

Cons: Sometimes connection of iPads can be a little shotty as it goes for the order takers communicating with LAVU KDS, and it has been hard to get the problem fully resolved, but it only creates a mild irritant and not a full distraction from the overall business.

Thank You Lavu

Jun 17, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: To the team at POS LAVU, Just wanted to thank you guys so much for listening to some of our concerns over the years about upgrades to your systems. When we came on board with you guys we were somewhat hesitant to your system. After we made the change we feel as if we all have grown together. We would like to personally say thank you for the time and effort you have put into your growth and we expect to be with you for many many more years. And by the way we now have 3 restaurants with your system and are looking to upgrade two more...Again thank you from all of us at the Pugliese Group...

STAY AWAY

Nov 27, 2017
1/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

2 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The interface is user friendly, and tickets get sent to kitchen without many problems. But we could do this with paper

Cons: Everything else! Whenever we have a issue they send it to the "developmental team" also known as the black hole. When we signed up they said "offline processing was in the works" that was 2 years ago. Reports are literally ALWAYS wrong. If you look at sales on two different reports they never are the same. For a span of about three months they miscalculated sales tax, having us over pay hundreds of dollars! For a long time they randomly doubled numbers on server reports, and now there is a random .50 added to numbers on servers reports. I have a tax background an I informed them the liability they were putting on us and our servers by misreporting so they showed me on the IRS website where they were right, THEY SET UP THERE SYSTEM BASED OFF THE WRONG PART OF THE IRS CODE. Not to mention that it randomly opens tickets from all different times that we have to re-close and I'm not sure we get paid for them or not. When we call customer support they are really nice, but our issues always get sent to the "Developmental Team" to never be heard about again!

Nice Job Lavu

Jul 19, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I have a pretty big place, with a long wine and cocktail list, but this handled all of our menu, and getting running was fast with one of the distributors we found in our area. We switched from an older POS after our contract ran out, and this seemed like the new, efficient thing to try out. It was a quick install, and way less than what I paid before. I miss some of the inventory ordering and employee scheduling my old system had, but this makes up for it in other ways. My servers picked it up right away, almost no training needed

After one full year - still happy

Jun 13, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Overall, a good product and always recommend to others.

Pros: System is fairly easy to use and navigate. Easy to setup menus and configure accordingly. Customer support is pretty responsive and quick although sometimes questionable knowledge to help with all situations. Cost for system is excellent.

Cons: Fonts can be a bit small on pos interface and thus hard to read. No big cons to comment on other than have had some big hassles configuring system to work with different credit card merchants and being bounced back and forth with customer support to resolve.

Not A Fan -Would suggest Pen & Paper

Feb 07, 2018
2/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

2 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Generically, the price is what what the draw for me an my small Craft Beer bar. I even recommended it at the beginning to a few other customers, but it was a mistake.

Cons: Not customer support per se, but the fact that when they utter "development team" right there, there is no hope your problem will be solved. None. They now call a problem that needs the development team a "Feature Request" which is the nice way of them saying, "No, we are not going to fix it, ever". A "Feature Request" sounds like you are imposing on them to do something special for you, instead of just fixing the software to work as intended

The back end web software is in shambles and rarely works as advertised. The reporting features give you decent onscreen views, but you cant reprint a ticket that you can see on their backend web interface. The "print layout" for some tables dont work and give random data.

Discounting system is not robust.

Overall: Benefits: It was a band-aid for when I didn't have anything. LAVU has now become an albatross around the neck of our business.

Vendor Response

by Lavu on February 12, 2018

Hi Jamie, We're sorry to hear your experience with Lavu has not been positive. We strive to provide the best experience for our customers and would love another opportunity to try and resolve any issues. Please call our 24/7 Customer Care team at 855-767-5288 or email us at support@lavu.com. Thank you, Lavu

Excellent POS System

Jun 15, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use and the reliability. Hasn't crashed on me in the three years I've had it.

Cons: Lags every once in a while.

Overall: Bought the system for my pub about three years ago and I'm glad I did. Lavu has helped my staff open/close tabs much quicker than before I bought the system. I'm making more money and I can say that part of the reason is due to Lavu. Excellent POS system.

Jessica Schell is TREMENDOUSLY helpful and knowledgeable!

Dec 01, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Ease of use. New employees can figure things out quite easily.

Integrates smoothly with Vantiv (Mercury) including their gift program.

Cons: Until just this week, I would have said that the inability to take EMV, Apple Pay, etc. through our current merchant processor was my biggest challenge.

Thankfully for the support staff, I was able to purchase the equipment necessary and will be up and running with our new terminal and it's new features soon!

Lavu is easy to use and has fantastic customer service

Dec 01, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: INTEGRATION with 3rd party delivery sites via Chowly (so no more manually inputting orders from seamless/ delivery.com/ eat24/ etc. into the POS system), easy to use, good quality hardware, fantastic customer service (anytime I call, the question gets solved the first time; customer service is friendly & very effective; always easily accessible), lots of amazing features (reports, inventory management, employee management) When I first contacted Lavu, we were only interested in switching POS systems for 1 reason: integration with 3rd party delivery sites. Lavu didn't have the Chowly integration at the time I first contacted them, but 2 weeks later, I got a call from my sales rep saying they were in the process of speaking/ partnering with Chowly. Lavu is a small company (compared to other POS system companies) and all employees work out of 1 building in Arizona. This is a major advantage to me. There is not a lot of red tape, they work closely together (if I have a question for someone in another department, my sales rep would literally walk over to them and ask) and things get done... FAST!

Cons: Nothing to do with Lavu - it's just that apple software (i.e. iPad) is more costly than using Android-based systems (i.e. tablets) but the iPad is MUCH more user friendly

Lavu has been great for us!

Jul 25, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Financial Reports. Time cards/Payroll. Theft of employees. Tip tracking. Busy hours of operation. Training testimonials. All of this is helpful to us.

Pros: Customer service is fantastic! The best support out there, we really feel like they listen to us and are responsive when we need something.

Cons: Initial set up of the hardware was a little clunkier than I hoped. Software was way easier and then we were up and running.

Capterra loader

Best Restaurant Software Yet

Nov 03, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: -Love the ease of using an iPad

-Size of the icons

-Different color option icons

- Different categories available

-Ease of table organization

-Ease of checkouts

-Very well laid out

-Easy clock-in

Cons: -Hard signing process, customers complained

I am very glad we use this software.

Oct 01, 2015
5/5
Overall

4.5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I have been a Lavu customer for over 16 months. The system is fantastic. We used to use Aloha. I have been able to cut my employee costs and increase customer satisfaction.

Cons: Not answering calls and having to wait for them to call back. While they did that very quickly for the most part, I sure do like when they answer. They have been working to make that happen.

Recommendations to other buyers: By being able to use the iPod's, my servers don't have to leave the dining area. They are always with the customers, not running back and forth with notepad in hand, then back to the old POS computer. The customers always see our servers in dining area. They don't have to try and wave someone down when they finally walk through dining area. The system is very adaptable.

A value buy

May 15, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: This product works very well for me and gives me a great value at the price point of the equipment.

Pros: It is very customizable. I'm a midsize family business and the cost really hits the sweet spot. The fact that they use apple only products forces me to pay a premium price for the hardware but I know that the equipment will retain its value. They always end up answering my questions even if it takes a while but I can make changes and check the numbers instantly.

Cons: This product does need to be used with a fast internet set up. My set up is 75/75 so it's quite fast. I have no problems with it working and can make changes anywhere but I'm tech savvy and I do suggest an additional purchase of a laptop if you do not have one to do in depth tracking and editing.

Solid product with exceptional online support response time

Jan 05, 2017
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to navigate for both service staff & back office.

Cons: Reports are lacking.

Overall: We have a small coffee house and cafe open for breakfast & lunch. LAVU system is perfect for our needs. Extremely easy to navigate for both service staff and back office. Handhelds are easy and super convenient for guests and servers. Minor issues with some of the hardware and wishing they had more easily customizable reports. But I will say that they have been very receptive about creating new reports.

Generally Satisfied, no Major Issues

Jun 13, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I like your service in general. No serious issues.

Pros: I like all the options that you see and change yourself on the backend from the internet. General usability is also pretty easy and straight forward.

Cons: Not many cons. Some functions like splitting checks seem to be a bit complicated for some of our waitresses. The more intricate features, which is to be suspected I suppose. We have also had some problems with customer service in the past, one person telling us it's the credit card merchant and them telling us to call you, very complicated and a pain in the ass. Your customer service reps need to know what they are talking about.

Easy POS without backup.

Apr 06, 2018
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: A simple system, but not for areas with semi frequent internet outages.

Pros: Lavu is a very cost effective and easy to setup POS system on the market. From a server interface it was clear and logical.

Cons: The biggest problem with this system is what happens when the WiFi goes down. It has trouble sending tickets and will not store credit card information for later processing.

Keep up the good work Lavu.

Oct 02, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Lavu is a great POS system at an affordable price, systems like the one I have would have cost me double or triple of what I paid. Inventory, hourly sales, employee time, the list goes on and on of what it's capable of doing Their team at Lavu are always improving on there operation system it almost seems monthly.

Cons: It would be nice if it were available on Android tablets.

Recommendations to other buyers: Easy to use and make modifications to any menu. And the back office is unbelievable as well.

I had an overall excellent experience with Lavu, especially with Jessica Schell

Nov 28, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Its easy to use, very user friendly and the good thing is you get a accustomed to the system really face. Definitely a software I would recommend to any start up business and big business that is in the food and beverage industry.

Cons: I was not happy so see that the printer options limit you to use only Epson. Not being able to get an Epson, I use a Bixolon, which is provided in the drop down menu but no options what so ever. Having had said that I am not able to add my logo on the receipts since i can´t configure this within the Lavu software I have no option as to leave the receipt without logo!!

Overall: control over my business especially financial over view as to what we are doing and where the business is going.

Excellent POS! Very powerful and helpful for any restaurant

Sep 14, 2016
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4.5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very high praise for the technical software end as well and the customer support which tries to attend to all issues in a timely manner. The software is very powerful and efficient once you learn how to use it properly. The price was one of the biggest selling factors.

Cons: Nothing much to not like thus far! Some things did take some learning to use or at least had to make a call to figure out how to do things such as splitting checks, or processing credit cards. But once up and running everything works very well and discovering that I am trying to live up to this pos' .

Recommendations to other buyers: Price is very appealing; love that this pos is spread by word of mouth more than by commercial and professional marketing or advertising routes - demonstrates the quality and confidence in the performance and power of the product, which no doubt speaks for itself when you learn to use it... and I myself am only using a fraction of its true capability but am working to use it as much to it's potential as possible. High praise for the customer technical support too who are very receptive and knowledgeable in finding solutions or giving answers to any questions and issues.

Lavu very helpful with bistro service

Oct 14, 2016
3/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Our bistro started using Lavu before I arrived, and when I was training it was very helpful to be able to see pictures of dishes I was ringing in. While there are some printer issues sometimes, the interface is great (very straightforward). You can even send directions for delivery orders when taking an order over the phone!

Pros: The pictures are so handy for standard menu items. Obviously if we are running specials we don't have pictures of those items, but for those who are more visual this is very helpful. Also helps train new staff on what each plate looks like.

Cons: Sometimes there are a lot of connectivity issues, especially with multiple printers (kitchen/bar/etc.)

A truly innovative piece of software.

Oct 06, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Our restaurant uses Lavu's product which has a very attractive and friendly/easy-to-use interface that amazes our customers. Lavu's WiFi based system increases workflow and efficiency and most certainly has the "WOW' factor. If you are looking to be ahead of curve, look no further than POSLavu!

Cons: To get the most out of this system you need very reliable and fast internet.

Recommendations to other buyers: POSLavu has been very helpful with their customer service and spending countless time helping us setup and support our system.

VERY BAD COMPANY!!!

Nov 29, 2018
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

Comments: Their technology group is so unequipped to do the most simple tasks. They do not follow up on cannot complete a task and the system is unreliable.

Pros: NONE, There is absolutely nothing to say. I can only put a negative review of this company and my company has suffered from their negligence.

Cons: I could write a book on how bad this system and management is and how they do not care about there customers. Support team and the CEO are scammers and just unethical. This company has cost me tens of hundreds of thousands of dollars and thousands of man-hours. Please avoid!

Other than software issues we like it a lot.

Dec 05, 2017
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Set up is easy and logical, et is easy to use and does what we need it to do...and excellent customer support.

Cons: Sometimes you can be on hold for a really long time...have tried the call back option but didn`t get a call back...

Worst customer service

Oct 26, 2017
1/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Do not even bother!

Pros: Easy to adjust and change things. Ability to access tabs on cell phone. Nothing else to say...

Cons: Raised their service fee twice in several years. Lots of glitches over the years. Sales team always available but always have to leave message for billing and customer support.

Not a bad system, not a great system

Nov 04, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: It's a very nice system. Easy to use and a better cost than others. It needs a lot of work providing more flexibility in changing features that your place might need more than another.

Pros: The front end interface for the servers is great. It makes order taking simple and organized. And prints out very nicely for the kitchen

Cons: The flexibility in the printable reports at the restaurant just isn't there. It's built too one way and not able to be customized for a different company

Lavu makes it easier!

Oct 25, 2016
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: As a restaurant that focuses on local ingredients with constantly changing specials, the image option for ordering in Lavu is important for servers and cooks to be on the same page. When you have lots of brunch items as specials, sometimes everything looks the same under Hollandaise sauce!

Pros: Easy to split a check

Cons: Sometimes when we have bad weather the connectivity has issues. But that's not just the POS (cell phones, television, etc.) so you just need to be careful in those situations.

The software is great and the customer support is amazing

Nov 30, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I love that it's cloud based and reliable. We had been using a pos that had a "brain" and it was really frustrating how easy the system would completely go down

Cons: I wish it had a device like the clover flex. It's a device that the server can take to the table take the customers order, take credit card payment right there and print the receipt without having to leave the table. All in one device

This is a great system.

Oct 16, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: New employees have no problem using it right away. Very intuitive. It makes other super expensive systems like micros and aloha dinosaurs. I had a couple of issues at the beginning but all were easily resolved. Technical support has been great too. I love the backend real time reports and how easy it was to set up and change menu items. My servers are also very happy with poslavu and they love taking orders on iphones. I don't understand any of the bad reviews, I believe the issues must be user error not the system itself. POSLavu is releasing updates all the time and I'm excited to see what else I'll be able to do in the future. I believe this is a great company who is dedicated to improving an already great pos system. I do recommend getting a Mac mini local server.

Fast and easy

Nov 30, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Organized and clean lay out that is easy to use . Reports are easily accessed and very thouro . The employee time card is great

Cons: This is my first pos system so I don't have a lot to compare it too. I wanted something easy to use because I'm dumb and this is very easy to figure out. I guess the only thing I don't like is paying the monthly bill .

much easier than other systems

Oct 17, 2016
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I've used some other types of POS' in the past (ex. Aloha) and this one was a lot easier to train on. Lavu also has helpful options like seeing how many hours you've worked in a pay period which is a nice function so you don't have to do it yourself!

Pros: photos for menu items, hourly pay review, can be multi lingual (helps with foreign tables)

Cons: sometimes it crashes but thankfully it usually saves your tables receipts

Lavu ... Not For U

Sep 06, 2015
1/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Pros:

If you are running a simple quick serve model restaurant (or another retail business with perhaps one terminal) then the software is easy to program and the system will probably allow for simple modifications to fit your business.

Additionally, the pricing is fairly competitive for a single license.

Beyond that limited use I would strongly suggest looking for an alternative.

We used the software for more than 2 years but are aggressively looking to replace.

*Literally dozens of server crashes... 100% preventable

*Unusable features (delivery, CRM, inventory) - for clarification all of these features are promoted and are in fact inside the package - however none of them did what we expected. None.

*Anytime there is a problem software support is very nice, and quick to point the finger at someone else (internet speeds, credit card processing, etc.)

*Promoted (not sure if they still do or not) that user devices were unlimited. ... turns out not to be true... if your user is processing sales (as in point of sale) then that device will require a paid license...

*Doesn't appear to be supporting new CC processing technology and no communication about if they will

Overall a bust and in the three years we have been open it's the stand-out worst decision we've made.

Pretty good system

Jan 10, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I started out with square pos with my single coffee shop but needing to upgrade with multiple stores I needed to be able to track and have my reports combine. This was a really good option for the money. They give me the ability to track sales and inventory across all of my stores with ease of access.

Pros: Ability to track sales and inventory for each location.

Cons: Not very user friendly but with some time it becomes easier.

Best Customer Support I've Every Had

Jan 28, 2015
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I am very happy with my Lavu system. I had some initial troubles, but the support team spent a good amount of time helping me identify the problem. My network was a mess. We didn't have something that was solid enough to run Lavu.

Now that the setup is done right, I have had little issues with Lavu. In fact, my floor is running more efficiently then it ever has.

I highly recommend this product. A couple tips:

1) Get a Lavu Specialist. I didn't have one at the beginning, and it cost me. If I had gone through a Specialist, and not a DIY, I wouldn't have had so many problems at the beginning.

2) Get to know their support staff. They are really nice, willing to help, and very (very, very) patient.

Lavu Software Review

Jan 08, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like how detailed it is and how many convenient features it entails. Very effective for restaurant employees and managers.

Cons: I don't like how it can be very confusing to find everything and properly learn how to use the software.

Overall: I have had an overall very good experience with Lavu at my previous hostessing job.

We so regret the day we heard of Lavu

Aug 14, 2018
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Lavu is a POS and we dont point of sale

Pros: There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu

Cons: This is the worst decision we have ever made........we have had nothing but problems and customer support is sorry.........Our system has given us problems from day one and the only reason we are still with Lavu is because we paid a year in advance and the crooks wont give us our money back

Vendor Response

by Lavu on August 24, 2018

Hi Dennis,

We are so sorry to hear about the issues you've been experiencing. Edgar from our Care team will be reaching out to you today to see if we can find a resolution. We very much appreciate your business and are committed to making things right.

Thank you

Lavu POS

Nov 07, 2016
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Just in the set-up process, but the graphical interface is great, and once the images are in, it is very easy to navigate.

Pros: Easy to set-up easy to use. Online interface for clients is going to be a huge seller for me!!

Cons: a little glitchy still.

Recommendations to other buyers: Great product. I think that once it is out of it's infancy it will be fantastic!!!

We couldn't live without it

Sep 30, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have a wide range of clients that we cater for constantly. Some require specific menus be set up per location with the ability to add and subtract items from orders as well as sent tickets to another location (where our kitchen is). We tried Square for a while but did like that it couldn't track employee hours or send tickets easily. We just bring out a hot spot and Lavu. Haven't has any real problems with the system. Their support staff know the app and process well, I just wish they made on-site visits but I guess they are working on that soon. We are currently using the "Retro" version of the app without problems.

Excellent, fast, easy-to-use system

Nov 30, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Simple, fast order taking with plenty of options. Easy to use on IOS devices. Very reasonable cost.

Cons: Not much not to like. Configuration takes time, but comparable to others. Reporting is a little inflexible, but necessary reports are available and work well.

LOVE this product

Dec 05, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: This product is simply amazing, it is smooth running and doesn't slow down like other products I've used in the past, it has all the function my business needs, i use it for a retail clothing business and it works perfectly! don't let the pictures convince you it can only be used for a food industry! very easy to modify to company needs!

The software is easy to use and to learn.

Sep 03, 2015
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We are a bakery that changes product often. We run daily and monthly specials. The software allows us to make changes quickly, which is critical for us. We are also open late and offer specials during our late night hours. The system allows us to capture specific hours and run specials/happy hour during those hours. I employ primarily high school and college age kids. For many of them, we're their first job. Training them on the LAVU POS has been easy and does't take much time. This is key, as I don't spend operational time with staff that doesn't know what there doing on the POS.

Horrible customer service!

Jul 17, 2018
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I would never recommend this product to anyone. Cost us over huge and despite them never getting the system fully functional.

Pros: Uses hardware for the terminal that can be converted to something else when getting rid of their service.

Cons: Customer service inability to fix problems and no technicians that can be routed within 24-72hrs to get you up an running

Vendor Response

by Lavu on July 26, 2018

Hi Joe,
I am really sorry to hear about the experience you have had with Lavu as a new customer. We strive to provide the best customer service in the industry and are very sorry that you did not receive that level of service from us. If you are willing to call again I encourage you to, so we can do better and make things right for you. The # for support is 855-767-5288. Thank you, Hilary

Terrible Customer Service and Support

Aug 28, 2018
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: There is nothing positive I can say about this product. Lavu does not care about their clients just their bank account

Cons: There was no support as soon as they received our money. They promised everything and we received nothing. DO NOT CHOOSE LAVU YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED

Lavu has helped my restaurant reach new heights

May 10, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Pros: very efficient product.. has only malfunctioned once in the four years that I have been using this product and their customer support helped me resolve the issue in less than an hour

Cons: none to date

Lavu has honestly helped my restaurant become a hit around town. Before I bought this POS system my waitstaff and just overall service was lacking. Lavu has made my restaurant service 10x quicker and has also helped me better track overall trends, which in turn has led to increased sales over the past four years. I highly recommend this system!