OpenLM Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About OpenLM

OpenLM is a leading provider of software license management solutions for engineering applications. OpenLMs innovative solutions enable IT, professionals, to get a clear view of the organization's license inventory, effectively manage and monitor the actual usage, plan license maintenance and procurement, and optimize the utilization of expensive engineering software licenses. OpenLMs platform fully supports FLEXlm, DSLS and other license managers, and thousands of CAD & GIS applications. Learn more about OpenLM

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018

“Great product in an easy to use package”

OverallNegotiations with 3rd party vendors have gone very easy knowing exactly where and how often their tools are used in our organization. I can honestly say we have saved millions of dollars knowing which licenses were needed in which locations.
ProsopenLM gives great insight into license usage across any size network. Without this tool, we would have no idea how many users are running engineering applications, for how long or which locations need which software the most. In the past few years, they have added a great number of features. If you provide any budget for CAD, FEA, or any other critical software, this is an indispensable tool that will pay for itself in the first year.
ConsOpenLM is based in Israel so support times used to take a few days. While support is responsive, the typical request is for log files which can be quite large and contain a great deal of sensitive information. We have several support requests where we determined the problem was a database issue and could not be resolved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Pharmaceuticals, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019

“Good value for money”

OverallOpenLM are very helpful and their support staff are wonderful. I had an issue with one of my license servers in OpenLM and a support engineer went live with me right away to fix the issue!
ProsThe software is very flexible, with a solution to almost any licensing issue I have. They cover a wide range of license managers, making our company's license consolidation much easier and cheaper.
ConsIt was a bit hard to understand the full scope of what OpenLM offers from the website, as they have many extensions and solutions to each problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019
Damon L.
Systems Architect Assoc
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“Great license management product”

ProsOpenLM is compatible with nearly all network licensing utilities (FlexLM, DSLS, RLM, etc...) On top of this, this their development team is very good about adding requested functionality for customers. Just a quality product at a very reasonable price.
ConsWhile the information supplied is invaluable, we do experience hiccups in monitoring especially when upgrading a license server to a newer version. OpenLM customer support is very good at handling these issues if you provide them with full logging of both the server and broker.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Jatin P.
System Admin and O365/Azure Professional
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Excellent Support from Support Team”

OverallHighly Recommended :)
ProsAwesome Reports and UI with good Support Team
ConsNo Cons - Everything that we need is covered in the Software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Mohamed R.
Network Administrator
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“Neat product with a userfriendly interface”

Prosall the required information located in one dashboard. easy access to information. The free version gives you a better understanding of the software before you make the purchase decision. Easy installation of the service. Not to forget about the Excellent customer support!!!
ConsWould like to see a popup notification function which will help the admins to lookout for service interruptions
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Devices, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“Great at Capturing Usage”

OverallA great tool that has allowed us to make informed decisions about our licensing needs and allowed us to save money in licensing costs.
ProsEnables conversation with the business on licensing needs based on real usage.
ConsSome limitations on being able to look at specific locations (workstation selection has a limit) which hinders our ability to isolate usage to our business categories.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Kenny L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2015

“Great functionality and support”

OverallThis is perfect for keeping track of my group's ArcGIS license usage. Though the web interface for the SaaS offering could use some improvement, the pricing is very reasonable, the monitoring capabilities are extensive, and the support team is super responsive. I originally had some trouble with using the software, but the OpenLM team was willing to have multiple calls with me to guide me through my issues - not many companies do this. It should also be noted that the SaaS option lacks some key features that the On-Premise version offers, so be aware that there are downsides to the convenience of SaaS. Even then, I believe their SaaS offering is still pretty new and they are constantly making improvements to it.
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2015
Claude O.
BIM Manager
Architecture & Planning, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“OpenLM”

OverallAs a BIM Manager of a firm of over 250 staff, it is very important for me to know how our Autodesk software is being used. We have a mix of AutoCAD\Revit users and have no efficient way of knowing what our actual software usage is. With OpenLM, I can get real numbers based on actual use of our software licenses. This is critical information for us when making decisions on purchasing licenses. Our initial reporting from OpenLM indicates we have the potential to reduce our licenses by 25%.
ProsThe variety and detail of the licensing reports and features. And getting actual license usage information.
ConsGetting to know the interface and understanding which reports and features were most important to us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Chris D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2015

“OpenLM is constantly improving. ”

OverallPrice - costs considerably less than the "top of the range" competitor. OpenLM is constantly improving. Good range of monitored license types. Has become more robust and tolerant of target server availability. The broker should not be considered an optional component, it is a must. A server could be unavailable for data collection for several months, the broker will store the usage data and transmit it when contact is renewed. As it is a web app response time when reporting can take some time.
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2015
Rajesh R.
IT Manager
Aviation & Aerospace, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“OpenLM License manager”

OverallVery good. OpenLM team explained the various license management features available succinctly.
ProsIntegration to Active directory, close and release the license in FlexLM licenses. Useful dashboard, integration of multiple license vendors.
ConsNo support for LUM or DSLS for CATIA licenses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Mark A.
UK Information Manager
Oil & Energy, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Excellent support, easy to use software and value for money”

OverallOpenLM makes the reporting and management of our technical licenses much easier. We now have overall visibility of our license estate and can report this to the business very accurately.
ProsHow intuitive it is to use. No messing about with days and days of configuration and if you do get stuck, support bend over backwards to help you.
ConsThat we didn't discover it sooner.......
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Ashin S.
BDM
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Software Asset Management using OpenLM”

Prosmanaging software usage based on total usage
Consmore technical sheets & user manuals, more case studies on satisfied customers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
SANDIP S.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Excellent tool to monitor the Rational usage of Software .”

OverallExcellent
ProsExcellent tool to monitor the Rational usage of Software .
ConsNot seen any thing negative to talk about .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Mateo R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016

“Great Software, Affordable Prices”

OverallVery efficient system that helps us manage our software licenses on a daily basis. We use their active agent tools which offer a great way to actively save and release idle licenses.
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“OpenLM”

OverallEasy to use & setup, provides the neat usage analysis details
ProsIt monitors the application idle usage, which is lagging in most other software.
ConsThe interface for business people who doesn't have knowledge about Software jargon could have been better.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019