FedTax

TaxCloud

3 / 5 15 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Small to mid-size online retailers. Our sellers typically have their own website while also selling on marketplaces such as Amazon, eBay, Etsy and others.


Average Ratings

15 Reviews
  • 3 / 5
    Overall
  • 3.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 3 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $9.00/month
  • Pricing Details
    TaxCloud can be FREE or fee based. Fee based is a minimum of $9/month.
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • FedTax
  • taxcloud.net/
  • Founded 2008
  • United States

About TaxCloud

TaxCloud is a Cloud-based sales tax management & compliance service designed for online retailers. TaxCloud offers sales tax calculation for any address in the United States as well as registration, filing, remittance, detailed reporting and audit response services. We currently serve over 21,000 online sellers. TaxCloud has two pricing options available - A FREE service which is funded by our state partners and a fee based service. Our mission is to make sales tax easy!


TaxCloud Features

  • Catalog Management
  • Channel Management
  • Customer Accounts
  • Email Marketing
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Multi-Store Management
  • Order Management
  • Product Configurator
  • Promotions Management
  • Returns Management
  • SEO Management
  • Shopping Cart
  • Address Validation
  • Audit Trail
  • Consumer Use Tax
  • Exemption Management
  • Tax Calculator
  • Tax Filing
  • Taxability Verification
  • Transaction Tracking
  • Value Added Tax (VAT)

TaxCloud Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Capterra-loader

Slow/Poor Customer Support

May 30, 2018
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: We have liked how easy it is to calculate shipping in our WooCommerce store when their Simple Sales Tax plugin is not having compatibility issues.

Cons: Our organization has been using TaxCloud for tax calculations over the past few years in conjunction with the free Simple Sales Tax plugin for WordPress. The original developer of the plugin did a good job of keeping it up to date with the changes in WordPress and WooCommerce. Then TaxCloud acquired the plugin and now dealing with customer support for the plugin is a nightmare. As others have said, support typically takes over a week to respond to tickets, even urgent ones.

There was a recent software incompatibility with Simple Sales Tax and WooCommerce that took nearly two weeks to get addressed and resolved. The first person who replied, Stephen, obviously didn't read the ticket and provided a "solution" that was unrelated to the software plugin issue. The support staff later replied saying that he would provide an update once they had an action plan to fix the plugin issues but that reply never came. Eventually, they finally fixed the plugin issues but it simply took much longer than it should have.

They recently changed their prices for the monthly package (we pay the fee because we don't allow them to file our tax returns for us). With the price increase evidently came no improvement in customer service.

We're strongly considering switching to another tax services provider that has a better track record of actually helping customers, especially paying ones.

This review is not unfair and is an accurate representation of our experience with the company.

Vendor Response

by FedTax on June 04, 2018

What Jeffrey indicates is accurate but has to be put into context. There was an issue with the SST plug-in caused by an poorly communicated update to the Woo platform which created the issue with the SST plug-in. In addition, we released our new UI and did a price change at the same time. This caused record ticket & call volume from our 1000's of clients which as a small company we needed to prioritize. Not using this an excuse but rather just sharing the reality of what happened. Our call volumes have returned to normal so response times are normalizing. I'd also point out that as the FREE and low cost provider in the marketplace we don't have the resources to pick-up every call or respond to email tickets as they come in. We apologize to Jeffrey for his experience and hope he will remain a TaxCloud customer.

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

Jun 19, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: All sales tax functionality is simplified, and now is much more cost effective. The service has been completely re-engineered and is much improved. The new reporting and customer interface are superior to anything else on the market. I love not having to buy an expensive enterprise software solution. TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs. TaxCloud is a true very powerful cloud based system providing my business with a tremendous service that frees up valuable time and resources.

Cons: No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern. However, this is short lived once the immediate anxiety of employing a new service is overcome. I quickly realized that this is an efficient customer friendly self service platform, and after integrating the service most all customer service issues were unwarranted. Therefore, there was little need for me to actually request customer service. That said, this product is a tremendous value. I could pay more for a competing service with more immediate customer service, however there does not seem to be any advantage in doing so. Once up and running TaxCloud is seamless and needs no additional handholding, and their scalability, reporting and functionality is the best value out there.

Overall: Extremely cost efficient scalable sales tax processing and reporting that eliminated all burdensome sales tax matters. Sales tax is now easy. By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Very poor customer service - takes days to respond to technical issues

Jul 06, 2018
1/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to install. The top line reporting is clear and concise for completing quarterly sales tax returns.

Cons: Recently increased pricing model so our few $/per month increased to more $ per month. For this you get a slower dashboard and unresponsive customer service. It used to be so much better.

Overall: It took care of our sales tax computations and saved time and at one time worked well.

Vendor Response

by FedTax on July 10, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our service and we apologize for the service issues you encountered. Regarding the customer service issues, we are taking action by hiring additional staff which will help us be more responsive than we have been recently. Based on the limited nexus footprint of your business and the recent Wayfair ruling by the SCOTUS, you should move to our Automated Compliance service - which would be FREE to you.

Tax Cloud Helps you keep track of internet taxes

Sep 15, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Do you have a business that you need to collect internet taxes on? Well then I would highly suggest you use Tax Cloud to make sure you are collecting the right amount. Each state is different, and with Tax Cloud, you can be sure you are collecting the right amount. It gives you monthly reports with the breakdowns of everything. It even has automated compliance for 24 states! I have been using this for the past 6 months, and not sure what I did without it. Great software to help you keep track of your internet taxes.

Overall: Helps me to keep track of my internet sales tax w/out all the hassle of figuring it out on my own.

I would give them minus stars on customer service. Their email doesn't work and no one return calls

May 17, 2018
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: They provide free service & filings for member states if you register with the SST as a model 1 filer. You also limit your choices if you choose to back away from them.

Cons: 1. Can't communicate with them. Changed pricing structure, yet they over charged and there is no one to communicate to and email bounces back.
2. They don't provide any assistance on setting up Tax Categories. The definitions are theirs, yet they provide no support.

Avoid using them unless you have a strong IT team and will take risks

Vendor Response

by FedTax on May 31, 2018

We apologize for the difficulty in getting to our service desk recently. The release of our new UI and a new pricing change has created a large volume of calls. As we are the service provider that can offer a FREE service, we don't have a large number of resources available to deal with surging call volumes. Rest assured, we will respond and deal with any issues you are experiencing.

Sales department was enthusiastic. Software integrated well. Problems caused mayhem with no fix.

Jun 12, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 2.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Mostly the software runs seamlessly once it is set up correctly. Helps avoid expensive business costs.

Cons: When there are issues with accounts that need attention the customer support is not there. Trying to get things back on track is not being addressed for their end. While TaxCloud claims to be easy it becomes difficult and frustrating to make corrections. I will consider a different Tax integration system.

Overall: The software took a time burden from my shoulders.

Vendor Response

by FedTax on June 18, 2018

Thanks for the review. Glad to see the positive ratings on overall quality, ease of use and Features/functionality. We apologize that our customer support has let you down. We do our best with limited resources trying to maintain our FREE service offer for small businesses. We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours and have plans to invest in additional support resources in the near future.

Inexpensive and works well. Straightforward implementation. Looking forward to new marketplace apps

Nov 07, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It's potentially free, and easy to implement with many e-commerce platforms and marketplaces. They're about to launch a new UI, along with new marketplace mobile apps, using Polymer Web Components. That should allow me to have all my sales channels centralized in one place, which will be great.

Cons: I have to file in all 24 streamlined states in I want to use TaxCloud for free, though I admit that that point might become irrelevant in 2018 with all the regulatory changes.

Capterra-loader

Solid plugin with woocommerce

Mar 14, 2018
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It was a bit difficult to setup, but once I got it going, it provides me with solid reporting every month.

Cons: It's a straightforward plugin as I use it with wordpress and woocommerce. Honestly, the biggest con is that the setup process wasn't easy. I also wish that I could download past invoices from the website, but currently it's only being emailed to me.

Vendor Response

by FedTax on April 23, 2018

Hi Daniel - Thanks for the review! We just released our new user interface to our website. Hopefully, the set-up process is easier to navigate now.

Terrible customer service

Jul 25, 2018
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 2.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I've been using this software for over a year and It works most of the time, however didn't calculate the tax properly.

Cons: I talked to customer service at least five times and promised to call me back, but never actually called me back.

Vendor Response

by FedTax on July 26, 2018

We appreciate the feedback Rita and apologize for the service response issues you've encountered. We have been dealing with much higher service ticket volume in recent months due to several factors including our UI upgrade, pricing change and mostly the Wayfair SCOTUS decision. We have increased the size of our support team recently and will be adding more people and improved processes shortly. We appreciate your business and are focused on doing better.

Quality, easy help with taxes

Sep 21, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love that this software makes taxes so easy for me. I usually hate doing this and it pretty much is set up to automatically just calculate what is needed. I love it.

Cons: There is really nothing I dislike about this software. It is very easy to use and is very quality and accurate

Overall: peace of mind, quality accurate help

Capterra-loader

This is very easy to use

Mar 06, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The best is it is up to date in all city and local taxes that can change in an instance. We saved some money from a local tax that had expired.

Cons: Well, it is something that you could probably get through local and state offices , but if you do enough business it is almost free.

Easy to Set Up, It is Free, Does the Hard Part for You

Jul 22, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: TaxCloud is really free. Easy integration with shopping cart. Well documented user and technical guides.

Cons: Tax exemptions is still not clear to me. Somewhat difficult for the novice, but good integration with other system helps.

Overall: Helped in complying with state laws.

Vendor Response

by FedTax on July 23, 2018

Thanks for the review Andrew! We appreciate your business!

Terrible Customer Service

Jun 19, 2018
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It has a free and paid option. This seemed great since similar services charged a much higher monthly or yearly fee.

Cons: Zero customer support and their website doesn't work. Called several times and submitted a ticket, which we followed up with several times and it still took 10 business days to receive a response. Unacceptable when you need to get your online store up and running and it will only calculate a few of the states.

Overall: None

Vendor Response

by FedTax on June 20, 2018

As we have stated in prior reviews on customer service, we are the FREE option and as sxuch don't have unlimited resources. We had a UI update and a price change simultaneously which caused our response times to trouble tickets to outpace our ability to respond as quickly as we'd like over the past 6 weeks. For this we apologize, and we're working to improve here. The comment that we only calculate sales tax in a few states is patently false. We calculate in all 50 states at every address in the US. As a Streamlined Certified Service Provider we are audited regularly and if this claim were the case we'd be de-certified. Lastly, I'd add that this company name is not listed as having an account with TaxCloud...so take it for what it's worth.

Makes Complex filing easy!

Dec 13, 2016
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: It makes it easy for online businesses when it comes to Salea tax and the UI is easy enough to navigate and use. The stack covers from collection to filing making it one stop shop for all the filing!

Dec 01, 2017
1/5
Overall