Brightcove Video Platform Ratings

Overall
4.2/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Service
3.7/5

About Brightcove Video Platform

Everything you need to deliver professional quality video to audiences on every screen. Learn more about Brightcove Video Platform

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Professional Training & Coaching, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“It handles the traffic and looks great”

ProsI love how easy it is to embed video hosted on Brightcove in our website or resource center. We pull video directly from brightcove into streams in uberflip, and it requires no work beyond the initial setup. I really appreciate all of the options in players as well, from adding logos, skins, playback options, etc., it's easy to customize. Video is such an important part of our business, Brightcove is also by extension!
ConsThis is totally on my organization and not on Brightcove, but we have a lot of users in our instance. These users have caused issues by changing things in Brightcove, which cause issues on our website or on our resource center. I have not figured out how to, or if it is possible to, approve/deny changes made to videos before they are published.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Events Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“Easiest video platform ever”

ProsI use Brightcove daily as a Digital Production Manager. The entire interface is intuitive and user-friendly, from uploading videos to creating playlists to manipulating players. Their gallery players are my favorite aspect because it layouts playlists in a clean, modern player and easy to integrate into landing pages. Also their customer support is top-notch. When I have trouble with customizing a player or troubleshooting why a set of them weren't working on my webpages, their engineers provided quick, thorough support.
ConsWhat I like least is the limited analytics available. Most often than not, our clients want to know how many unique views they received or how many people viewed the video at specific time markers. Brightcove, unfortunately, doesn't supply this data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Brightcove gives all of our video content a good home”

ProsMy favorite thing about Brightcove is the social functionality that allows me to publish videos to Youtube, Twitter, and other platforms. I don't have to export video and import it elsewhere. It makes sharing simple.
ConsMy least favorite thing about Brightcove has to do with our users who upload duplicate content, or who don't use proper tags. We have thousands of videos, one video can be in 20+ languages, and when users aren't adding them in a uniform manner, searching them can be a real hassle.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Julien C.
Chef de projet technique
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 23, 2017

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 23, 2017
Avatar Image
Tanner L.
Product Marketing Analyst
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018

“Good video management platform that could use better reporting”

ProsEasy to use video hosting platform. Many upload customization options, and a great one-click landing page option. Easy to implement on landing pages and track within playlists.
ConsReporting methods are hard to get video-to-video comparison reports without using workarounds that involve a ton of manual work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“It's no YouTube”

OverallI would much rather convince our organization to swap over to exclusively use YouTube for all of our video needs, but there is still some value to be had from using Brightcove if you aren't ready/willing to go all in on YouTube.
ProsIt does a decent job at getting the analytics you need, if you're patient enough to wait for who knows how long to get the information back. You're not going to forget about YouTube, but there is still some value to be had from Brightcove.
ConsThe reporting isn't super flexible, robust, or timely. It could definitely be because of the way our organization has implemented Brightcove, but it's not uncommon to wait 10+ minutes for a simple report to see how many views a couple videos have received.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Kyley Shinead E.
Sr. Content Developer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Used to host videos on website.”

ProsSimple website hosting of videos. Video is a big part of modern websites so a tool that lets you host your videos (without a logo watermark) is useful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Christina M.
PR Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017

“Brightcove Review”

OverallIt functions very well.
ProsEase of use and functionality -- great for internal communications with password protection for all employees
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017
John S.
Attorney
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2017

“Generally positive, but a bit finicky at times.”

ProsI would view this as a barebones solution. It does what it needs to, gives you what you need and what you ask. They have made big improvements with their new client, but there must be better out there.
ConsI can live with the slow server speed and awkward interface, but oh my god the search feature is unforgivable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2017
james b.
Digital Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018

“Mixed feelings”

ProsRobust, easy to use system, very good for hosting and managing on-demand video. API useful for advanced integrations
ConsSupport is appalling / almost non-existent. Feature enhancements come at a slow pace and the good ones tend to be at extra cost
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Publishing, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“We're finally able to publish to a website, as well as social media platforms.”

ProsIt's great to be able to publish to a website, as well as social media platforms. We used to have to use several programs/platforms, but Brightcove helps eliminate extra steps.
ConsEverything is great, until you need to search for a video. Unless you know the exact tags you've used, good luck!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“Great video hosting platform ”

ProsWe really liked having a secure place to store video files. It's a nice professional way to share videos.
ConsEmbedding on third party sites an be a drag. It also doesn't have native integrations with other big platforms like HubSpot. Wistia which is another great platform does.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018