Altaro VM Backup Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Altaro VM Backup

Altaro VM Backup is a virtual machine backup and replication solution for Hyper-V and VMware. Designed for IT departments, IT resellers and consultants, and Managed Service Providers (MSPs), it provides robust, streamlined, enterprise-level functionality, such as WAN-Optimized Replication, CDP, Augmented Inline Deduplication and more. It is characterized by ease of use, speed, affordability and a Lightning Fast Support Call Response Guarantee of under 30 seconds. Try it for free for 30 days. Learn more about Altaro VM Backup

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 82 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 82 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
shlomo f.
Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Why we moved from a competing software to Altaro backup software.”

OverallWhile we are a smallish company, we have a pretty large virtual environment, mostly for development and testing purposes. We currently house about 80 VMs and have at our disposal about 60 TB of disk space. We were unhappy with our current backup software and started looking for alternatives. Altaro was chosen as the replacement software primarily due to their exemplary support services, fair pricing structure and a rich set of features and functions. As a software company ourselves, we are very aware and sensitive to the level of support that comes with purchasing a software. Altaro offer 24/7 technical support, and they are very good at resolving issues and answering questions.
ProsExtremely easy to install, configure and get running. Within 15 minutes, all the Hyper-V hosts and the VMs were recognized and ready for backup. A non-experienced junior employee can get the product up and running. User GUI is very clean, clear and intuitive. We managed to perform all the tasks without reading any instructions. Altaro is fast, very fast. The first time we performed a full backup, there was concern that it completed too soon, and that the backups were not usable. But we restored to a test drive and they all checked out. The incremental backups with deduplication are even faster, taking only a minute or so per VM. The Deduplication compression is very good. We are currently looking at over 80% savings of space. The price is right. They have a very fair pricing structure for both licenses and support services and offer discounts and incentives when needed. Offsite backup feature easy to implement. Using their offsite server setup file, any computer within the intranet/internet can become an offsite backup location. Consistently improving their offerings. With every new release of the software, clients are introduced to new features and functions, many of which have come from the clients themselves. They listen to the client's feedback. Exemplary support services. One of the few companies that offer 24/7 support staffed with senior technical resources. We have always been able to receive support and assistance almost instantly.
ConsToo sensitive with error codes from storage devices. In cases that other products complete the backup and restore, Altaro fails due to minor errors reported from storage devices. I wish they would complete the backup and just add a warning that there was an error code reported. Using a new storage device resolved the issues in our case. No support for defining many backup JOBS. You can only define one primary and one offsite backup source, and each VM can only belong to these 2 sources. It would be nice to be able to backup a VM multiple times, to multiple primary sources, each source with different location and retention policy. This can be achieved only by a many to many relationship between VMS and Primary/Offsite sources. I was told this may be coming out in the next release.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on August 12, 2019
Thanks for reviewing Altaro VM Backup - we really appreciate it. We confirm that the support you require for backup jobs will become available in v8.5 of the solution, scheduled to be released later this year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Dale B.
Support Desk Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Altaro VM Backup”

OverallWe have reduced the average time of recovery for a failed server. Clients appreciate that we can recover their business servers within a few hours instead of a few days. We have been using Altaro VM Backup since v. 4 I think. I was impressed with the early version and have specified Altaro VM Backup as our standard for Virtual Machine environments. The addition of the Cloud Management Console and integration with ConnectWise is a big plus.
ProsSetup and configuration is fairly quick. Restore options allow for a granular file level from a VM image backup. Ability to restore to different host. Ability to copy an Offsite backup to remote location. Support for Cloud storage sites for off site backup storage. Speed of recovery time on a failed host. Able to restore a VM to new host within a couple hours. Compression and de-duplication saves storage space on backup media. Product support is excellent. Usually able to solve errors within the Support Chat. Support is always ready to answer even the simplest question to help us out.
ConsThe local management console is not password protected. Limited explanation of error messages in the software. Setting up network connections to NAS storage can sometimes fail with cryptic error message.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on February 25, 2019
Thank you for reviewing Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate it! We do understand where you are coming from here, however, efforts should be made to tighten the OS security layers in this case. If a hacker gains admin access to the server, this means that they have access to the backup data with or without the Altaro console. We agree that having restricted access to the console would be a great feature; in fact, we have discussed having granular access for different users but we cannot offer an ETA for this just yet. Currently, our primary recommendation here is to strengthen password policies for accounts that have server logon access, and restrict access through the OS layer itself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
System administrator
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Best backup tool for that amount of money”

OverallI use altaro backup for few years now, started with the free licenses for 2VM environments and with every new version there is bunch of new features (like CDP, replication for example).
ProsThe biggest reason for use of Altaro VM Backup is the price. For reasonable money you can get full package of virtual machine backup tools. Now it is even cheaper (for small environment with 2-3 virtual machines) with Altaro MSP program, for like 5 bucks a month per VM you get unlimited plus license - such a great deal!
ConsThe only cons in some cases is no option for Hyper-V host backup. I know, it is necessary in like 3% of cases, but still, if you are part of the 3%, you have no chance with Altaro and you have to use another app for host backup. I was a bit disappointed with new limitations of free license - no retention policy available, no immediate backup notification to email in V8. But anyway - you can now always jump to MSP program for really small money.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We actually do have plans to release a backup solution for physical servers, which will give the option to restore that physical server to a VM. That said, it will not handle hypervisors, the Hyper-V Host should not have anything aside from VMs running on it, so normally a one-off or periodic backup using Windows Server Backup should be enough to cover your needs, as the data that is changing is inside the VMs themselves, which Altaro VM Backup is backing up regularly. We have a more detailed blog article about this here if you're interested in further reading: http://www.altaro.com/hyper-v/hyper-v-backup-strategies-dont-worry-management-os/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Dirk B.
IT
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Altaro Backup - The Only Way to Go”

OverallWe are a small IT services company and we use it to backup all of our clients servers. It has come to the rescue on several occasions. From a "borked" Windows server upgrade to an partially encrypted server we have been able to restore the clients server/data with little or no loss of data. It makes us look like heroes. We have tried other solutions and none give us the all the features that Altaro has at a reasonable cost.
Pros- the ability to boot from backup is a life saver. On more that one occasion we have had to boot from backup after the clients onsite IT accidently "borked" their SQL server. With boot from backup the client was able to continue working while the software completed the restore of the VM in the background. - offsite backup allows us to store the nightly backups from our clients at on offsite location, with this feature we no longer have to pickup and return drives on a daily basis to our client locations. Not only do we save time, but we are able to charge for the service and save our clients money on the costs of a daily hard drive rotation.
Cons- trivial, but it would save a step if when upgrading the software it would uninstall the old software for you. Currently you have to remember to manually uninstall it first then install the new release
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Steve B.
President/CEO
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Excellent Set-it-and-forget-it Software”

OverallWe are really happy with the software. We've resold and recommended it to a few customers of ours. We've been using it ourselves for years. It's by far the best backup software we've used. We love how we set it up and then it just works like clockwork. I wish there was some way it could set up a method to alert you from the cloud ONLY when it was supposed to backup but didn't for whatever reason. We keep the failures and success e-mails coming in because we need to try to cross reference to make sure certain backups were a success and that it didn't just go offline, or the e-mail alert stopped working - and the backup stopped working. I also wish it could monitor the hardware as well...so it could tie into DellAlert and send that to the cloud...so it could be a total backup and monitoring solution for us. For now though, it does the primary job of efficiently backing up everything.
ProsReliable, Easy to set up, and Efficient. We also love how it dedups data and how it can alert you when a backup fails.
ConsI did not like how the upgrade required us to create all the backups all over again requiring us double the storage space. That requires some juggling. But after a few successful upgrades, we cleaned house and had it back to normal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Chris G.
Owner
Computer Networking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Back up you can trust”

OverallAltaro products are terrific products that do their job. I have used their backup for a long time and it has work without fail for me. It has saved my but more than once. I have had hard drive fails and encryption virus that it has saved me from. It is well worth it.
ProsThis software is one you can set and forget and it does its thing without fail.
ConsIts not let me down yet. It took me a bit to get the interface, but it wasn't terrible. I am bad about not following directions though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Steve F.
IT Director
Food Production, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Great VM Backup Software”

OverallWe are backing up Hyper-V and VMWare VMs and the overall experience has been fantastic. We had virtual Exchange Servers that needed individual message restores, and this software was able to handle granular restores as well as the entire VM backup. Love this product!!
ProsThe ability to back up both Hyper-V and VMWare VMs under one application, with options for scheduled offsite backups and the option to run scheduled tests for past backups.
ConsSometimes the error messages can be hard to decipher, although I did not take care of the available support options.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup. Indeed we are working on more detailed error messaging, and we are putting efforts into publishing additional KB articles which error messages can link to in order to provide a `next step¿ for each error scenario. However this is not always possible and sometimes we simply do need to look into further logging to provide further recommendations and solutions -- and in those cases you will of course find our team ready to help, quickly!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Norbert G.
Head of IT
Broadcast Media, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Affordable and easy to use backup solution with outstanding performance and stellar support!”

OverallSo far Altaro has helped us to perfectly protect our large growing VM population (500+ VMs) with ease. The overall performance is more than impressing and the deduplication/compression is outstanding. Last but not least the fair pricing and the simplicity of the licensing model is very much appreciated.
ProsEase of setup and handling Nicely streamlined workflow and appearance Perfectly supporting Hyper-V clusters Backup speed Compression effiency (extremely good compression (around 80%) with ultra-low cpu footprint Stellar support!
ConsMajor version updates often introduce not only new features (...), however so far the support team was always able to help out quickly. Some optimizations could be made to ease the management of large VM populations (500+) Default settings should be customizable throughout (e.g. Schedules, Retention Policies)

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thank you for you reviewing Altaro VM Backup. We'll add your vote to this feature request - thanks!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Jarret S.
Operations Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Set it and forget it”

OverallI backup 1 host with 5 virtual machines on it nightly.
ProsI like that it runs my backups nightly and only notifies me when there has been an issue.
ConsFor a novice with virtual machines like myself, it can be a bit overwhelming initially. I know it is designed with people with far more expertise than myself in mind.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Ryan H.
IT Infrastructure Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Easy to use out the box!”

OverallThe sandbox functionality is fantastic. Really helped with troubleshooting a corrupt VM. The in-app support has always rectified any issues within 30 minutes, which is far better than any SLA based support from other third parties. Extremely cost effective - was even able to trial with 2 licenses indefinitely to ensure the backup was bomb proof. Once we saw how reliable Altaro was, we purchased immediately.
ProsStraight forward step-by-step design. In-app software chat support. Frequent QoL improvements. Quick and easy implementation. Hassle-free, worry free backup.
ConsThe software is so good for VM's that we wish it had hardware functionality. It'd easily compete with major vendors like Symantec for physical backup.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Many thanks for your review -- We actually do have plans to release a backup solution for physical servers later this year, which will give the option to restore that physical server to a VM. We will keep you posted!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Alan M.
IT Manager
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Backup bang for buck”

OverallI've been using it for over five years to back up my virtual machines. It's a great product and I only wish I could back up my branch domain controllers with it. It's never let me down.
ProsEasy to use, easy to setup Regular updates Ability to replicate entire servers to Hyper-V host in hot site Very space efficient Exchange mailbox item level restore Competent support Priced competitively
ConsDoesn't do physical machines: if it did physical machines to tape libraries as well as disk I'd use nothing else for backup Support doesn't cover all time zones: there's sometimes a delay in getting assistance

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on February 21, 2019
Thanks ever so for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate it. I wanted you to know that we will soon be providing backup of physical machines and will notify our customers and followers about this in due course. We're also now starting to provide 24/7 support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Steve C.
VP of IT
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Solid product for backing up Hyper-V VMs”

OverallThe software is constantly being updated, which is good to see. It is solid and robust. I have had several events where I needed to restore individual files or emails, and it has worked perfectly. I also had one server that hard-crashed during a Microsoft update. Restoring the system was fairly quick.
ProsThe software can be setup and automated in a set-and-forget method. I have it email me status reports so I know if there's an issue. It just works.
ConsWhen you first open the UI, there is a slight delay while it checks for your license status. If you try to do certain functions prior to the software confirming you are licensed, you will be notified you're running an unlicensed version - minor heart-attack the first time that happened! Now I just wait a few seconds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Joseph B.
Information Technology Officere
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“Altaro is a fantastic product at a reasonable cost and does just what we want in a solution.”

OverallThe any issues we have with our backups using this solution are almost always a problem with Microsoft shadow copy or something similar interfering with Altaro. Everything else is golden.
ProsThe speed of backups and compression/de-duping are phenomenal and the features available are fantastic. I love being able to send my backups to an offsite location and not having to worry about data volume, and I love being able to pull files at will, and spin up backed up clones to test for or locate issues. I've also come accustom to great new features being developed for nearly every new release.
Cons-having to start the backup chain over again between version upgrades -having to rely on Microsoft's shadow copy, which fails every now and then
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Ricardo B.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Poor Support and issues with disk space”

OverallWe use Altaro to backup our hosts with hundreds of VMs. We are now migrating to a different plataform, due to the lack of support to ReFS and the other limitations stated above.
ProsEasy of use. It take some time to learn the software schema, but after that, it is very easy to use on the day to day experience.
ConsSupport is almos informal. There is a ticket number, but the follow up is poor. Chat is almost always offline. About disk space, the backups keep groing indefenitely, even if the VM has not much updates. The optimization tool to recover space does not work properly, takes too long to execute, while it runs, it blocks ALL backups funcionality and at the end there is almost no space freed. There is no limit for backup space per VM or per storage. You need to always keep following up the disk usage. There is no support for ReFS, what is a shame for a software that runs on Windows Servers and ReFS has been around for a while already.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 18, 2019
We are sorry that your experience with our support team has not met our usual high standards. Our support team prides itself on the great feedback it receives from customers, so feedback like this really does stand out. We answer support calls within 22 seconds on average and follow up email tickets within 2 hours on average. Our customers have the option to use chat or phone for quicker responses, our chat is online 24 hours a day. Do email support@altaro.com with more information about when you were dissatisfied, and we'll be glad to investigate further. Your backup repository will grow only if the VM has new data - our deduplication and CBT make sure of that. Re the optimization tool, we are working on a better backup format that uses the freed-up space more efficiently. We're sharing your feedback about no limit for backup space as a feature request - thanks. Our recently launched `Mount Virtual Disk' option allows users to grab their backed up files from ReFS partitions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Aaron G.
Owner
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“The best VM backup”

ProsWe have been using Altaro VM backup for about 4 years now and our experience has been exemplary. The compression and deduplication feature is phenomenal, I never imagined I would be able to keep 3+ weeks history retention and still have my backups take up less space than my VMs themselves. The offsite server is also a huge bonus, absolutely free, just pay 3rd-party hosting and storage fees and put the server wherever you like. Their support is top-notch.
ConsCost can get a little high if you have a lot of hosts, but still worth it and still less than most other options
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Patrik M.
Owner/Director
Animation, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Altaro review: small business, 2-4 hosts”

OverallVery good. Have been able to restore objects very easily when needed.
ProsStability and high amount of good features.
ConsHard to diagnose errors as an end user. However, the support is easy to reach via chat at most office hours.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thank you for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We are working on more detailed error messaging, and we are putting efforts into publishing additional KB articles which error messages can link to so as to provide a `next step¿ for each error scenario. However this is not always possible and sometimes we simply do need to look into further logging to provide further recommendations and solutions -- in those cases you will of course find our team ready to help, quickly!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Russ H.
IT Director
Retail, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Integral part of our Data Protect Program”

OverallMeets our business needs perfectly. Highly recommend..
ProsWe use a layered approach to both Security and Data. Using a Hyper-v environment we have all our assets immediately available through an emergency Hyper-V replica server. Both the main and replica get backed up regularly using Altaro Backup. That is THREE extra levels of protection! Now the LATEST BEST edition they can give a FIFTH layer of another Replica Hyper-V/Altero Backup Server!
ConsLicensing is a little bit of a pain point, no the cost, just how to maintain licenses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Alexandre G.
Network & System Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018

“Great and reliable backups so I am happy with the product.”

OverallPeace of mind that my backups and my client's backups are well executed.
ProsEase of use of the product, it is not a problem to use it for the first time and figure it out by yourself. Quick and reliable backup Possible to backup locally and externally. Quick support team.
ConsLimited database and active directory recovery fonctionnality. There is not version of the product that can be used for a physical machine to back it up completely.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on July 25, 2018
Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate your feedback. We are working on backup for physical servers and look forward to rolling that version out shortly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018
Blue P.
Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“No better software for the money”

OverallFrom day one I found this so easy to use compared to other products. Right out of the gate it worked and did its job with no issues. When the time came to need it to save me it did not fail. You will not find a better product for such a good price point.
ProsFrom day one this software just gets better and more features added for a great price point. It is easy to use and reliable. When an issue does happen support is a great help and it too just gets better over time as this software and company have evolved.
ConsI have none this does everything I need it to and more.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Simon B.
IT Manager
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Reliable & Robust”

OverallWe've been using Altaro for 3 years now and it has been very reliable so far. Support is first class. When I had a problem with it not backing up because of an mistake i made with my Virtual Host, they would have been within their rights to pass this back to me. but their tech support spent the best part of half a day remotely helping me getting that resolved. I'll always be grateful for that.
ProsIt Runs Reliably & Is very easy to use. With very few failures. You get Notified immediately if there.
ConsThe Only Small complaint is that the licencing section isn't always clear and easy to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Eugen S.
Owner
Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“KMU Switzerland”

OverallBacking up VM's is essential in a hosting enviornment. You need to be able to go back were you have been before a problem occured.
ProsThe value it get for the price is very good with Altaro VM Backup. Restoring VM's is very simple and quite fast.
ConsOffsite replication is not always working.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you ran into issues, our tech support team is ready to help and very easy to reach with a 30-second average response time! Please contact us (https://www.altaro.com/support.php) with details of your issue and we'd be more than happy to help you investigate further!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Fabian W.
IT Systems Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Affordable Business Class Backup Software”

ProsFunctional Backup is set up in no time, there is basically no learning curve at all. All functions are pretty much self explanatory. It can be used by people without any IT background at all, therefore it is a great solution to implement at customer sites that have no own IT management.
ConsBackup locations are limited, one main location, one offsite location, that's it. You sacrifice some options for ease of use.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Many thanks for your feedback. We will add your vote to this feature request!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Uri R.
IT Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Great backup solution for small or middle tier operations”

OverallVery good solution and very professional team to backup the solution, easy to use interface but it starts to be difficult to manage when amount of VM's is high or you are using multiple HyperV hosts
ProsFriendly interface Easy to master Simple purchase and deployment Very professional support team
ConsNo feedback between different configuration screens, each VM have to be added manually to storage, backup plan, and retention policy Orchestration between multiple Hyper-V hosts is complicated and not full
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Daren S.
Systems Administrator
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Great Software”

ProsIt is easy to learn to use and the setup doesn't take forever
ConsWish the error logs were more descriptive

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thanks for reviewing Altaro VM Backup. Indeed we are working on more detailed error messaging, and we are putting efforts into publishing additional KB articles which error messages can link to in order to provide a `next step¿ for each error scenario. However this is not always possible and sometimes we simply do need to look into further logging to provide further recommendations and solutions -- and in those cases you will of course find our team ready to help, quickly!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Ian B.
IT Maanger
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Excellent Product - Easy to Use and Intuitive Interface”

ProsEase of Use - The GUI Interface makes setting up Schedules and adding VMs to backup jobs a very straightforward process. Support is also very good and there is the option to phone and speak to a support tech or contact them directly via the interface through DM.
ConsBackups of physical machines would be a nice feature as infrastructure can often comprise physical and virtual environments and it would be nice to be able to use a single product to backup the entire solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Pambos Z.
Support Manager
Maritime, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Altaro VM Backup”

OverallMy experience with Altaro VM Backup cannot be more than satisfied. A very strong application that can keep safe your VM Servers. Restore capabilities are also one of the best features since we able to use it in one situation we had. Offset its a strong feature to keep safe and secure your VM Backup Servers.
ProsIn Altaro VM Backup i like the features of backup that give you the application
ConsLeast? I don't think that i can find something that i like least from this application. From my experience working with it i can say that its very good application
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Mario G.
IT Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Altaro VM Backup - easy to use - worth money”

OverallEasy to use, reliable and stable backup / recover application.
ProsWe tried different applications for backup virtual machines, but none of them was that easy to handle. Altaro needs just a view steps to backup as well as to recover. No matter onsite or offsite. Very user friedly coming with a lot of features. You do not need any extra hardware resources for management.
ConsThe explanation of error messages is sometimes unclear.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Michalis M.
IT Manager
Investment Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“By far, the best and VFM backup solution for VMs”

ProsI have been using Altaro VM backup for a series of Microsoft host servers the last 4 years. This is clearly a straight-forward, easy to use and with lots of features software that will make your life as a SysAdmin easy. The UI is quite simple, backups are easy to restore and there are many security, time and cost options that you will definitely like encryption, fire up a VM straight from Altaro and more. Also, the support is unbeatable, quick, to the point and you can always find answers at their knowledge base. One last thing is its storage saving capability using compression techniques.
ConsI would say mostly the fact that there were a couple of versions that were unstable, but then again this was something that was announced and fixed quite soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Gregory W.
President
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Altaro exceeds our expectations”

OverallAltaro is a breath of fresh air for us as an MSP. It's reliable, integrates with our RMM and PSA, and easy to use and understand.
ProsIt is designed for us as an MSP. It is easy to use and very reliable. Tech support is always helpful.
ConsLack of replication features for VMware. Inability to backup physical machines.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on February 22, 2019
Thank you for your review of Altaro VM Backup, which we greatly appreciate. WAN-Optimized Replication will shortly be available for VMware too. We will also soon be providing backup of physical machines: Stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Dylan S.
Customer Support Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Great service and performance”

OverallAltaro makes it easy for us to get backups up and running and gives us piece of mind that they'll be reliable. Their support is top notch, there's never a long wait on the live chat and their technicians are knowledgeable and quick to resolve issues.
ProsReliability, backups almost never fail and even when they do, support is always quick to resolve the issue
ConsNot much, it works well for us, i would say perhaps the interface could be modernised but that's being picky
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Stephan S.
owner
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Altaro BackUp”

Overalli use is since many years and it simply works. today the are some other programs, which can do the same, but trust altaro abnd have no need to change.
Prosa lot of features once running, it works without any problems backup and restore is really working (i did test it) fire & forget very good and fast support (for every question a useful answer)
Consthe price is not very low, but is does a job job
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Media Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“It's so simple”

OverallThe entire package is simple and awesome, simply awesome, especially considering the price point.
Prossandbox restores, great backup options, multiple backup destinations, great restore options especially with MS Exchange, low overhead, great use of storage space, a product that's been maturing very well over the past few years.
ConsWish it would work on non server OS like Windows 10 Pro.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Anthony S.
CTO
Investment Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Easy to use and gets the job done”

ProsGreat Price Easy to setup and to use Great Support Team Local and Cloud Backups are both great and easy to configure Keeps backup sizes to a minimum
ConsWould like to have possibility to have a backup of a physical server

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on February 21, 2019
Many thanks for your review! We greatly appreciate it. We will soon be providing backup of physical machines -- we will notify our customers and followers about this. Stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Kevin J.
System Administrator
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“No Nonsense backup solution”

OverallBackup software which does a good job making a backup of the system, upgrades do improve backup times and overal ease of use.
ProsEase of use Easy to configure Fast Backup times good monitoring reports
ConsBackup needs quite long to load a backup, After selecting a date to restore if takes arround 20 seconds to load, then another 20 seconds to build the backup. Monitoring report often shows a failed backup, when going into the report tab on the software itself it doesn't show as failed.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thanks for your review! Sorry to hear you ran into issues, our tech support team is ready to help and very easy to reach with a 30-second average response time! Could you reach out (https://www.altaro.com/support.php) with details of your issue and we'd be more than happy to help you investigate further!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Casey D.
Network Admin
Computer Networking, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Great Backup Software”

OverallMy overall experience is great, and I have confidence in this product for restoring my VM or file level restore.
ProsI use Altaro VM Backup at multiple sites. I have done image restores and file level restores without any issues. Easy to setup and maintain.
ConsI really cannot think of any. I've only used this product so I have nothing to compare.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Brian J.
Field IT
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Excellent service and amazing software”

OverallVery easy to get started and has a wide range of capabilities.
ProsWe have used the software for 4+ years now and we use it on all our virtual machines. Great product and the customer support is very attentive.
ConsThere is no real issues that our company has came across that we can report at this moment but we will stay posted.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
David O.
IT Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2019

“Best VM Backup Software, and Best Value!”

OverallWe run all VMs today, and needed a solution that was easy to use and cost effective, Altaro fit the bill in every instance, and it was also one of the least expensive we looked at.
ProsEase of use, value, great options, and the best VM backup software I have every used!
ConsNothing at all so far! Everything I have done, or tried to do has worked great!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2019
Nikos M.
Technology Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“A very usefull tool”

ProsYou can easily gat VMs backups. You save time and effort. Also the offsite feature is very usefull
ConsSome problems with VMs with Linux operating system especially with UEFI

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thank you for your review! We do actually have plans to release a backup solution for physical servers later this year, which will give the option to restore that physical server to a VM. So stay tuned! :-)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Randy V.
IT Admin
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Great product”

OverallThis software replace Symantec Backup, and works much faster and better than that program. The fact I had to use 2 offsite drives to have enough space with the old software, compared to being able to get all offsite backups on one drive with more granular settings is a great benefit. So far I love this software.
ProsFirst it was the cost vs the functions you get. As a nonprofit, this software was just what we needed. I loved the easy setup, very intuitive. Especially setting up rotating offsite drives was much easier than other backup programs I have worked with. The dedupe and compression work great, making backups faster and less of a space hog. The reports are very informative too.
ConsI have not had really anything to complain about yet. I have not used the sandbox or any higher functions yet, but granular restore was fine. Maybe the only thing I would like to see is a client that can work on the desktops for backing them up, like Veeam has. I did have one slight glitch in backups, but support quickly got me back running good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Brian T.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Altaro is a lifesaver!”

ProsAltaro is easy to setup and it just works! It's super easy to restore individual files or entire virtual machines. Altaro has changed my business forever...for the better.
ConsOccasionally my backups set out of sync and I need to start them over. This is only a minor annoyance however. The good DEFINITELY outweighs the bad.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Stefano S.
Systems Engineer
Legal Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Altaro - Our best solution for HyperV VM Backup”

OverallSince 6 years we using the Altaro HyperV VM Backup and we appreciate the quickly installation and configuration of the entire environement, including the really usefully console to manage any step of the entire backup process.
ProsEasy to use, quickly to deploy, efficient support.
ConsI'm not sure if there's something negative about it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
James L.
system administrator
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“altaro-”

OverallIt's been very good and I don't have to babysit it. It's cheaper, easier to setup and has a better UI than Veeam. You also don't have constant pushy upselling like Veeam does
ProsCost of ownership. Ease of setup. User interface.
ConsThey need to fully AD backup like other titles. Support is generally excellent but I do get an occasional lemon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Altaro Made Our Lives Easier”

OverallAutomated and offsite backups, restore testing, and everything else have streamlined our backup strategy and made our lives easier.
ProsIt is a fraction of the cost of other enterprise products. It makes our backup strategy easy to accomplish and monitor. Offsite backups are a breeze with Azure integration. Backup/Restore testing is easy. Support is very responsive - not that we have needed it much!
ConsI honestly do not have any complaints about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Vincent W.
Business Systems Analyst
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019

“Great VM backup solution ”

OverallI would highly recommend this as an alternative to anyone considering Veeam for Small to Medium and even large enterprises
ProsGreat VM backup solution. Altaro is very easy to use and setup. I set this up on Windows Server 2016, with Refs on 2nd storage partition. Great de-duplication . The application has small install footprint compared to Veeam and is reasonably priced . If you primarily need to back up entire VMs then then this is your solution. If you on the other hand need to be able to restore objects in Microsoft SQL /Active Directory then read my "cons' below.
ConsThere is integration with exchange that allows you to restore emails /calendar objects directly. There is no "direct integration" with Microsoft SQL /Active Directory , unlike Veeam that allows you to perform "tables/transaction level"restore directly without spinning up a backed up VM instance. You can still make this happen by spinning up the backed up VM.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019
Ken S.
VP
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Altaro VM Backup workes!!!”

OverallTried other solutions and settled on Altaro VM Backup. Trial was free and it did everything I wanted it to do. Best of all was the cost. Check it out for yourself and I think you will be surprised.
ProsEasy to set up and easy to manage. Best part was the low cost.
ConsCannot think of anything I don't like about it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Denham M.
IT Manager
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Real simple and easy Backup”

OverallSolid easy to use backups!
ProsPretty much everything is super easy to setup and it just runs. Ran into some very minor setup problems but that was mostly hyper v server. Simple management and scheduling for all normal backup tasks.
ConsIt's not an issue with normal usage but I'd like an easier way to drill down into backups and move backup sets to a new host. Maybe an optional back up schedule for when a vm is moved to another host.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Altaro makes backup of Virtual Servers easy”

OverallBackup of virtual servers, with file level restores are made easy. Dedup uses very less disk space for backups.
ProsEase of initial setup to run a backup. Could add a vsphere vcenter to connect to all hosts and VM's.
ConsSome restores failed. file level restore from Backup of dynamic disks not possible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Marc H.
CEO
Import and Export, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Altaro is very useful”

OverallWe can send a backup to an external location without huge settings.
ProsIt is easy to install and maintain. The GUI is very intuitive. Almost no errors during production.
ConsIn the earlier version we had a lot of errors during backup procedures. Since the new version it is almost zero.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Philip A.
Systems Administrator
Maritime, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Great Value and Technology”

OverallWe are able to save costs by needing less disks for storage. Fast restore times are great.
ProsThis software is highly effecient. Its fast and has great deduplication rates.
ConsThe inability to backup physical servers and to tape.

Vendor Response

By Altaro Software on March 1, 2019
Thanks for your feedback. We¿ll add your vote to this feature request!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Marko P.
IT
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“My review”

OverallQuick backups, disaster recovery. File level restore. Deduplication and compression needs less space.
ProsA lot of features for good price. Quick backups, disaster recovery. File level restore. Deduplication and compression needs less space.
ConsNothing to report. Everything works ok, support is great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019