MapInfo Pro Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About MapInfo Pro

Easily visualize the relationships between data and geography. Learn more about MapInfo Pro

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 32 of 32 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 32 of 32 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Augusto P.
Librero
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2018

“A great GIS option”

OverallMapinfo has a great set of tools that other GIS software does not have, one of this is the Spider Graphic who allows to make connection between a point in the space with many others and know what are the influence or some spatyal variables, in our case we use this to know where are the theaters that the peoples use to go and where they live, we this data we can calculate and average of time to take to the public to get to the theater.
ProsMapinfo offers everything a GIS user needs, simple interphase, a lot of tools, the capacity to work with huge amount of data, and modelling extension to do 3D analyst. The best of Mapinfo it is work with its attribute table they are easier to job in comparison with another GIS system, knowing some codes you can easily add attributes and modify the information of your spatyal data.
ConsThrough the times Mapinfo it has been a little behind of software more expensives like ArcGIS, they are improve a lot, but for some people they are still a Desktop Mapping not a full software GIS, but this version has shows that Mapinfo it is not so far to of ArcGIS or any other software in the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Victor N.
Director de Planes Urbanos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2018

“MapInfo Pro, a good tool GIS”

ProsMapinfo presents a good option for those who wish to work with an average cost owner GIS, with tools for generating and editing objects, loading data associated with objects, updating data, including arithmetic procedures resulting from the link of multiple variables, linking with robust databases, among other basic things. In addition to the above, a very valid option to convert polygons to lines, extract the vertices of those lines and return them points, generate polygons based on points obtained from GPS or polygonal decreed by means of laws In addition you can generate thematic maps based on qualities attached to the objects and their form of representation, with the aim of covering various objectives, determining areas of influence, algebra of polygons, areas of influence of market points by means of Voronoi methods , also called Thiessen polygons. Through the Universal Translator module you can import or export vector data, converting .mif or .tab formats to .shp .dwg .dgn formats, considering the projection system defined for the original file.
ConsThe handling of the print design is complicated, as well as maintaining a workspace without errors, the automatic labeling of layers can overlap if the configuration is not handled by scales, the representation of the data in 3D is deficient if the acquisition of the special module for that. The management of the compilation of files in directories and subdirectories should be as orderly as possible, since a detail in the wrong transfer of a workspace can completely cancel the work done, it is not easy to define the conditions of plotting You must have a lot of experience with the software so that you do not waste time in details, because MapInfo grants many attributions to the user, that if he does not know about the theory that supports the program, he can fall into many errors of representation or calculation. The process for granting you a trial license is complex and tends to give an error.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Nomar Salvatore M.
Terapeuta respiratorio
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“Excellent program for georeferencing cartography. ”

OverallOptimization of time in the elaboration of cartography thanks to the georeferenciación of omagenes without coordinate system, that in comparison to other programs (GIS) you can not do it, additional to this you can do the union of data base without so many steps and almost never generates any error.
ProsIt is ideal for georeferencing images that do not contain an established coordinate system, since the program has a tool that allows you to perform georeferencing using equal points from another image already encoded.
ConsYou can not use accents in any file of the program, since it does not register you and generates an error, which has the consequence that you can not open a workspace and lose all the information that you had installed in it. This means that you can not print the cartography in the most optimal way (Spanish-speaking countries), since accents are almost always used in different words.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Ana Karina G.
Dirección Técnica de Proyectos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018

“MapInfo Pro: desktop geographic information system”

OverallStreamline and automate your daily geoinformation works with the best GIS software to carry out market studies. Visualization: locate and know your customers better, analyzing your target and looking for potential new clients in new areas in expansion. Efficiency: I divide my territory into microzones to organize my sales, my expansion or my direct marketing or distribution actions.
ProsMapInfo Pro is a powerful, functionally rich desktop mapping, is a geographic information system adapted to user comfort, is friendly, easy to use, with an excellent geocoding tool that allows you to geographically locate any address with accuracy. It is also very good for geomarketing, since it allows you to share maps and complete graphics in information. It is compatible with numerous operating systems, databases and applications.
ConsIn some cases it is difficult to transform the files when they need to be used in other software. I do not find almost disadvantages
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018

“the best GIS to carry out studies of spatial analysis”

Overallit allows me to make maps almost daily, and it is my favorite tool to carry out studies of spatial analysis in the electoral field
Prosgreat for working muntivaribles thematic maps, perfect compatibility to work with databases in excel, I have worked with large databases and manages them without problems, with each version the spatial analysis tools have been improved
Consit is necessary to improve text and polygon editing tools, in addition to updating the tools to vectorize, the printing system is not very intuitive and a little outdated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Maryory L.
Analista
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018

“It was the first geography program that I used in the university to vectorize and make thematic map”

Overall* Allows Georefenciar letters easily * Generates attributive information * Introduces beginners to the world of geographic information systems
ProsIs the geographic information system that allowed me to move from the creation of paper version maps to digital version, allows you to georeference letters from scratch to start vectorizing all the elements of a topographic chart, generates thematic maps, you accept layers of other extensions such as those produced in car cad. It has multiple tools to generate products of different variables, social and environmental. It allows me to have an attributive basis of vectorized elements
ConsIs a paid program, to generate a project is very complicated, many files are generated that are subceptible to be damaged and compromise the product, should expand the color palette, and simplify functions in the toolbox
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Rafael M.
Analista
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“A good destktop GIS with amazing tools”

ProsMapinfo was the first GIS that I star use about fifteen years ago and I still continue working with it. This GIS has a lot of tools, specially for vectorizing maps, it is very friendly in this aspect because you can do a great work with all the tools the this software offers, some option like snapping start only pushing a letter, you do not have complex process to use an specific feature. The maps are very detail and precise and the interphase in the last years has improve a lot.
ConsIn the beggining Mapinfo only uses .tab files and that was a big limitation because all the others GIS uses primarily shapefiles and there was not compatibility between Mapinfo and other software, but in the last version they correct this issue and star allowing shapefiles in the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Ricardo D.
Tecnico Electoral
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“fast, stable and with a wide variety of tools for spatial analysis, is one of the best on the market”

OverallI have collaborated in my work to generate cartography, in spite of not having professional preparation in the area, with some classes I have managed to learn to use the software and achieve the objective of developing thematic maps in the electoral field
Prosthe model for importing layers is great, you have compatibility with many formats and datum, another element that stands out is its system for handling layers is very simple and easy to manage, in general lines the program is very intuitive and covers the expectations to generate precise cartography
Consin the module to print the options of edition of the cartography is very limited, it should include some predetermined templates for the layout, as well as the texts in the cartography, these should be adjusted automatically according to the scale of the map
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
Jorge C.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“location analysis and quality mapping”

OverallWork progress
ProsWhen we talk about carrying out a study and 3D work, this tool allows me to fulfill the objective by having a simple interface and by easily adding certain attributes as long as you know the codes
ConsIt has not presented many varieties lately, however it does not make it old, it´s proven that it continues competing and resolving together with other programs in the market
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Marialcira B.
Administrativo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“It is the essential tool to work in the field of geography, it is among the best in the market”

OverallIt allowed me to develop thematic maps of population distribution in my work area.
ProsIt is one of the most intuitive programs to work with geodatabase, has excellent compatibility with other geographic information systems and allows exporting to other formats such as Shape and Dwg, the tools for spatial analysis are adjusted to work easily with other formats of databases. data.
ConsIt is necessary to improve the graphic output window of the maps. The configuration system for printing is complicated, it is also important to incorporate in the texts the ability to adjust them according to the scale of the map or plat that is being made.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Nirmal B.
RF Engineer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018

“Very helpful for site planning, rf optimisation”

OverallDaily analysis of your work
ProsVery handy and you navigate and plan your daily work. Site planning using google earth and kmz files helps to easily plan daily work
Consfunctionality of adding kmz file. Preparing sites data base is very difficult to inserting the tool
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Yemsi P.
Planificador Territorial II
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“The software with which I started my career as a Geographer”

ProsWhat I like about the software is the possibility of converting different types of layers from different programs and unify their geographical characteristics to give uniformity to the geographical work, that means, if you have layers like shape, dwg, dxf, raster, etc. , this program can unify all the layers in a single cartographic output.
ConsWhat I like the least is that it has a slightly complex system when loading the attributes of the elements represented in a map, and the difficulty that arises when configuring the cartographic output due to the complexity in this part of the program
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Manuel A.
Geophysical Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“I used it as my georeferencing tool in the University”

ProsWhat I like the most about the software is that is easier to learn than other GIS softwares. Also I normally manage large databases in excel, and the fact that it has excellent connection with it makes this my go to referencing tool.
ConsA big issue I have with this software is the fact that you can't use accents, and since I live in a spanish speaking country, normally when I present my maps they come with errors. Also The software is slow at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“An excellent program to work in the elaboration of maps”

ProsHow easy it is to georeference letters or maps in the program, as well as how easy it is to identify and represent a geographical point due to the extensive library that the program has.
ConsThe main problem is the exchange of files with other GIS programs, as well as how little versatile it is to be able to use spreadsheets as excel, for graphic representation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Cesar A S.
Analista
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“A huge evolution since the last version”

ProsThe change in the interphase were amazing, now you can handle for windows each one with a different map and the software runs smooth, the tools are more usable and friendly, the print options has improve a lots of feature to configure sheets and adjust the windows map for the print, the 3D modelling is more detail and the process to make it less complex, this software has had a revolution with this version.
ConsUnfortunately in the GIS market some people are not get used to MapInfo because it begins as a Desktop mapping and it always behind other companies, but with the time they improve a lot and become one of the most powerful GIS in the market, for me it is great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Julian P.
Ingeniero Geologo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Map Info is great for my geological survey maps”

OverallI've been working with this software around 20 years and it's been helpful, with my geological surveys work at my consultant every day.
ProsI like that is very simple and intuitive to use. I can use the software to view on a map the survey points and usually take files from other programs to be incorporated in one map, is a great advantage. In addition, I can work with these maps on my survey trips, adding information in each survey point, editing attributes and exporting these maps to a final plot output.
ConsI like least the fact that is a slow software and have lost of trouble with handling lots of information. the output of the files is not always great, has to improve a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Manuel G.
Geólogo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018

“Easy to use GIS software”

OverallI really recommend mapinfo for someone who can't afford more expensive softwares, it works really well for mapping and georreferencing
ProsI love the fact that is more intuitive software than other gis programs. I used mapinfo when georreferencing outcrops and core extraction points and it was an easy and good experience overall. Also it is much cheaper than other GIS options
ConsThis software can be painfully slow when working with large files, also it has lots of problems when working in spanish since you cant use accent marks, your maps will have orthographic mistakes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018

“Good tool for mapping”

OverallThis software is easier than most GIS softwares availables and will create good and precise maps, I recommend it.
ProsMapinfo is an easy to use GIS tool. For geographical analysis and georreferencing it works like a charm.
ConsMapinfo can be slow when working with large files. Also it's color palette is really limited so it's maps are not as aesthetically pleasing as others elaborated with other GIS softwares
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Sebastián C.
Geographer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“One of the best in the GIS game!”

OverallRaster and vector data editing and and analysis at the highest level.
ProsDefinitely the raster data editing and analysis tools are the things that I like the most of MapInfo.
ConsIn reality the only thing that I dislike of MapInfo is the price, apart from that I have no complaints about this great GIS software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Pedro B.
Coordinador académico
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“ make the thematic maps of my undergraduate thesis in geography with ease”

Overall It has allowed me to prepare the maps of the undergraduate and postgraduate theses in the area of geography and the interpretation of the variables for a better geographical analysis.
Pros I like the way to georeference the objects and then represent them through coordinates on the maps. The control of layers allows superimposing information for a better interpretation and analysis of the variables
Cons The way to build the workspace when a map is made the printing scale distorts the representation of the objects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Rob C.
Senior Consultant
Utilities, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“MapInfo Pro hasn't really improved much in over a decade”

OverallI've been a user of MapInfo in one way or another for 15 years. There are some things it does well, but it has been left behind by others in the industry.
ProsMapInfo Pro is one of the old standard GIS software packages that does a lot for those not looking for a robust workflow. It's easy to get started.
ConsUnfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this software to anyone. Instead, I'd save your money and use the open source QGIS instead. MapInfo Pro doesn't have the ability to control data quality (i.e. attribute domains) using the native file format. The graphical capabilities are limited, therefore cartographic outputs look amateurish.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Liliane D.
Vendedora
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Excellent program to produce maps with information of different nature”

OverallAmong the most profitable that I find in the program is that it allows maps, tables of data and pictures in the same screen or printed page, this thematic charateristic of the layout favors the interpretation of variables
ProsThis program allows the fusion of satellite images with maps, providing more detail. For me it was of great help from a pedagogical point of view
ConsAccording to my experience, the management of databases and specifically of data can be complicated when several variables are handled
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Avatar Image
noelis q.
Geografa
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Easy use and excellent results!”

OverallWith this program I managed to generate very professional maps in a short time and easily.
ProsThe tools for editing and analyzing data are very easy to use. It works very well to georefer data. This program helps save time and generates professional maps.
ConsIt is slow when working with large files and when you generate maps in Spanish you can not place the accents on the words.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Avatar Image
ronald s.
JEFE DE SALA SITUACIONAL
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Is an easy-to-use geo-information software”

OverallElaboration of thematic maps in a very easy way
ProsPrepare thematic maps of geographic information, showing the areas that correspond to each other in different colors, densities, patterns or proportional sizes of symbols
ConsMix all types of geometries in a single layer such as points, lines, polygons and text, which makes it difficult to manage the database
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Solid GIS software”

OverallBeing able to produce maps
ProsI'm only a basic user, but it meets my needs in being fairly simple for creating maps and plotting the position of assets.
ConsIt's expensive for a light user- particularly if you get on the annual subscription licence. As a result wl probably be switching to QGis once our existing version becomes obsolete - but hopefully will b good for our needs for a few years yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Maria V.
Gerente asistente
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018

“It is a GIS, allows to develop zoning and market routes efficiently.”

ProsIt is one of the first geographic information systems to go to market. It is a tool that applied to market knowledge can have benefits in reducing its operating costs in relation to sales volume, in addition to a substantial increase in sales. It is a tool that applied to market knowledge can have benefits in reducing its operating costs in relation to sales volume, in addition to a substantial increase in sales. It is the sum of the knowledge of the spatial terrain variable and the behavior of the market.
ConsIts graphical and cartographic quality is not the best in the market. The support formats are not the best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Isabel H.
Planificador Territorial II
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018

“Can be sufficient for basic operations”

ProsI used MapInfo several years ago, it was the first program I used to make maps. For those moments it was an excellent tool for my academic works. I think the universal translation tool is very useful, even today I miss it.
ConsIt seemed to be very strong years ago, but now it has been limited. However, it is sufficient for basic operations, but it is not very flashy or especially easy or pleasant to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018

“Decent Program for Basic Needs”

ProsI have worked with multiple GIS programs and they each have strengths and weaknesses. For MapInfo the strength is that it is a straightforward program that allows a user to easily understand the functions and create maps.
ConsThe biggest con for MapInfo is that it just isn't nearly as robust as the competition, limiting it to more basic output than other can produce.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“Good software to make basic maps”

ProsIt is a good tool if you want to get a simple and basic map. It is not very rigorous, which facilitates its use to people with little experience in projections and these issues. Its price is quite low compared to other software, this allows you to save on costs.
ConsIt has few options for cartographic output. It is not very customizable. In addition, you have to invest time to learn how to use the software, although it is not very rigorous, users who are not familiar with the use of GIS will find it difficult to understand at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Carmen A.
Directora de Metodologia y Analisis Electoral
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Ideal for working with satellite photos”

OverallIdeal to update maps and produce them new!
ProsIt is a program that can be used in an easy way apart from its utility to work with satellite images which allows to perform geographical analyzes
ConsWhat I like the least is that sometimes it takes a long time to update some functions, which generates a delay
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Maxime D.
Geospatial Analyst
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019

“Nice GIS for small organization”

ProsEasy to use, especially the editing tools. The new map layout designer is neat and easy to use. One of the best GIS to produce beautiful static maps.
ConsThere is no mean to create relations between tables. No topology validation tools
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“Functional But Not My Fav”

ProsMapInfo gets the job in a clean manner making it one of the simpler GIS programs I've used.
ConsIt gets the job done but lacks the comprehensive flexibility other products offer. Good but not great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018