eClinicalWorks PM Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3/5

About eClinicalWorks PM

eClinicalWorks is a privately held leader in healthcare IT, providing comprehensive Electronic Health Record (EHR) and Practice Management (PM) solutions used by more than 850,000 providers in more than 20 countries. Learn more about eClinicalWorks PM

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 280 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 280 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Andrew N.
System Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“Sufficient but lackluster”

OverallAfter using the product for 10 years our practice had learned to master the inefficient workarounds to where they have become 2nd nature. Unfortunately, recent server stability issues forced us to look for a new solution. Our hosted platform was eventually upgraded/moved to a more stable server farm however it was too late and the process to replace the software had already began. We eventually migrated to a new solution.
ProsThe price? As far as bargain EHRs goes, this is probably front runner, but the industry is lacking in innovation and functionality and this product is no different. Where you save money up front you pay for it by having a lack of features and seemless easy to use workflows. We constantly had to create nonsensical workarounds to achieve an acceptable workflow that was less painful for the providers but made it 10 times more difficult for the staff.
ConsAs a provider, you grade how easy an EHR is to use based on the number of clicks. As an IT professional you are able to assess a software's efficiency based on numerous other metrics. As the later, I can say by far the worst aspect is the number of clicks. With no redeeming qualities to speak having to drill down 5 or 6 menus to get to a patient's documents or financials and then be forced to back all the way out before checking on a 2nd patient's info is maddening. User's are forced to keep 2 instances open so as to not be forced to close a patient's demos/chart if they have to take a call and open a new patient's chart. This of course is explicitly denounced by eCW as forbidden. We do it anyway ... it's the only way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Progressive EHR with lots of options”

OverallI've worked with a number of EHRs (NextGen, Practice Fusion, ARIA, Meditech, Athena) and this has overall been my favorite. Most often the complaint I heard from people was the inability to understand the support reps, but compared to other vendors, issues were resolved more quickly. A lot of the offerings are add-ons and do have a cost, but compared to other vendors, I found them significantly more reasonable and thought the product was a very good value. Overall, it worked well. We were cloud based and had very few issues with the hosting. I would definitely recommend.
ProsVendor is very progressive in developing new features. For example, we could pull data from home blood glucose meters or fit bits into patient visit notes if the patient linked an account through the portal. Tracking for CCM billing was easy and built into the system. Patient engagement features were great, such as automatically notifying patients that prescriptions were sent to the pharmacy, calling for appointment reminders from the schedule and updating responses directly to the appointment. If you need to notify the entire schedule of a provider absence, it's very easy to automatically send out notifications. Lots of technology options for collecting data including inexpensive check-in kiosks and apps for phones and tablets. Software can be an installed application or web based. The software is very flexible in most cases and there are numerous ways to get from/to anywhere in the system quickly. You can open multiple instances of your login to allow you to document in one chart while viewing something else. Integrated faxing made for one less thing to support/review.
ConsReporting on clinical data is not good at all. It's very difficult to search the database and get accurate results on labs/medical history/diagnoses/etc. We tried RCM services early in their existence and found them very unreliable but that was a number of years ago. Updating note sections during a visit could contain a slight delay when clicking between different sections of the note, but not terrible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“You can get by with it but it is plagued with unhelpful support, errors, and out-dated”

OverallNot satisfied.
ProsYou have the ability to do most things you need for medical practices. You can schedule patients, upload documents, run reports, bill and make claims, submit claims electronically and through paper printing, fax, e-prescribe, make telephone encounters, keep user logs, etc. It is an overall all-comprehensive product.
ConsThere are so many glitches it is pretty ridiculous. We are always playing catch up to fix numerous things that goes down. There is never a 2 week period where everything is running smoothly. The technical and customer support is also weak. They do a good job of getting back to you most of the times, but it takes them quite a bit of time to figure out what is wrong and fix it. Not only that, but communication is a bit tough as I believe most service technicians are located out of country and have heavy accents. ECW also charges you for so many add-ons that it gets to get ridiculous. They push their products and interfaces so that you need to pay them more than the monthly base. Also, ECW is starting to get out-dated and behind. When we first signed up with ECW about 14-15 years ago they were top of the line. But they have quickly fallen behind all the other electronic medical records systems that have started. It has been frustrating trying to keep up, especially because of all the new medical record regulations government has been pushing. ECW is also not friendly with other databases. If you need to submit certain information and electronic secure messaging, you can only do so by forcing the other party to sign up for ECW's communication system which of course no one wants to do. Also, if you try to switch out of ECW, all the data in ECW cannot be transferred easily. They purposely make it hard for you to switch out and hard for anyone to work on tech. I'd say skip.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
cheryle b.
FACH director
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018

“Great for our small health department”

OverallWe spent the time to document our processes and identify areas where we wanted change. When the business analyst came, we were able to concentrate on how we wanted the EMR to work. This is the difference in having someone install an EMR with the "usual" processes and making it work for you. They are very willing to work with you to make the product work for your needs, you just have to identify what you want. If they can't change something (we wanted a couple of languages added to the list in demographics and couldn't because they were not on a standard list) they can work with you to find a solution.
ProsThis is a very cost effective EMR for our small health department. We are able to customize progress notes to allow for fast and efficient documentation of immunizations. Messenger can be used to call and cancel patients if an emergency happens and we need to cancel patients. This can be done from the internet anywhere, which can be a big help not to have to go into the office during a severe weather event. We have had very responsive staff from eCW who helped us during customization and implementation. The chat feature on the support portal can give quick answers (except on Friday afternoon). The support techs have always been quick to get back to us. The eCW university that has videos to either train new staff or remind current staff of processes is very valuable. This saves trying to construct training materials on your own.
ConsData entry for historic immunization records is time consuming. I look forward to a time when we will have bi-directional data transmission with our state immunization database, which will eliminate the historical documentation. As others note, there can be difficulties with communication if a support person does not have English as their first language. It just takes slowing down and being patient.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Jason A.
Director Business Operations
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018

“It gets the job done”

OverallIt gets the job done for us and it probably just like most other EMRs they all have issues but at the end of the day they allow you to record your notes and bill the insurance.
ProsECW can get most of what you want done. I work mainly on the reporting side and staff support. The ability to pull reports is pretty good with their EBO system. We get almost everything we need reporting wise from that system whether it's financial or encounter data. Their support is pretty responsive usually calling back the same day in most cases. Their billin service is pretty good and is very reasonable. Our company pays about 8% totally cost with ECW which is pretty much the industry standard.
ConsThere are sometimes a lot of clicks with ECW. Anytime you do an upgrade something is not going to work which is very frustrating. If you are a CPC practice you will be frustrated as their reporting dashboard took until the middle of 2018 to start working and then we upgraded and now we are waiting on a patch to get the dashboard back up. Don't expect to speak to anyone that's first language is English when you call support. We started with ECW in late 2015 and we had to setup everything from scratch which we thought was really strange as they have so many practices you would think there would already be templates for almost everything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018
Debbie H.
Project Manager
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 13, 2018

“This software company continues to update the software and tries to keep up with the ever changing Health care industury”

OverallSupport has improved over the past 6 months. The technical teams really care about solving the issues that arise. You can really tell the staff at eClinicalworks are very committed to customer satisfaction. When so many companies are not concerned with customer satisfaction I am glad that we are using on that is.
ProsAlways changing and updating the operation of the Software to keep up with the ever changing Health Care Industry
ConsThe Software is so flexible and we have been using it since 2006 we really need to develop additional ways to make documentation of Progress notes easier for the providers. When we were trained back in 2006 to develop templates and to use the software for our Providers a lot has changed over the years. It has be difficult to keep up with all the enhancements and developments to the software. Now is the time to really take a good look at how we can go back to making documentation even better for our providers to improve their experience with seeing the patients and not feel so much like it is all about computer documentation and not about the patient any longer. As we move forward into fee for service payment for providers, more is required of the providers and easing their burden is key.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Kerri P.
Credit Restoration Agent
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2019

“What's In Eclinicalworks For You?”

OverallOverall our company has been well pleased with Eclinicalworks, it has assisted in helping us know what areas need improvement for reporting, organized in one system tasks for tracking, assisting the provider in knowing what is being billed and received, and just changed the way that things are done in our practice. I do agree there are a few hiccups, but as they change a little each month more and more of those minor problems are worked out. Plus if you encounter an issue you can check their website for knowledge prior to creating a ticket and watch a simple self-explanatory how-to video.
ProsEclinicalworks is an all inclusive software. I love the fact that you can send messages to staff and track whether or not they have worked and the general way the software works. It has a fax inbox, document box, prescription box, and a great way of tracking progress in all areas.
ConsI will say there are a couple of downsides to using eclinicalworks but the pluses definitely outweigh the minuses. If you have any issues a ticket must be made and you must await a call back for issues to be resolved, and the billing cannot just be batched at the end of every day and billed, each claim must be touched. But the upside to this is that this eliminates errors as you must look at every claim. It does take a little more time but you have fewer errors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“EMR with lots of empty promises”

OverallI would not recommend this product, you should do some research and really consider another. They have had two legal issues within the year already and that is a huge concern as a user who spends a pretty penny for this service. Moving to another EMR is a huge pain, but eventually we will be moving away.
ProsIt has a lot of features and they try to stay ahead of the game, for the most part it does work and they can use 3rd party vendors. The web based version is much more modern and faster than the desktop version, however the UI is very different and can take some getting used too.
ConsPractically everything, for one the support is terrible and you can barely understand what they are saying half the time. The EMR has TONS of issues and they never have an answer, when asked about known issues thay always say " there are none". No software is perfect and everything has known issues, they refuse to awknowledge issues and its ridiculously cumbersome to support from and IT perspective. Especially when changes occur out of nowhere and permissions have been reset and changed without warning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018

“Terrible Experience”

OverallHorrible
ProsLots of features but sometimes less is more and it becomes cumbersome and time consuming.
ConsTech Support ALL out of India. They don't tell you this when you purchase. Tech support can't speak English well thus a terrible language barrier and EVERY phone call with them takes a minimum of 45 minutes due to this so you lose tons of time thus revenue. Tech Support Horrible and no one knows what the other one is doing or has done. Let me say that again, TECH SUPPORT HORRIBLE. Plus didn't seem to fix anything. Glitchy and lost documentation on several occasions requiring re-entering. RX Printing did not work right the entire time we had them (2 years) MIPS reports was not done by them as we were told and they had to walk us through doing all the reporting ourselves. You have to pay for extra training. The training we recieved or 5 days was all the trainer fixing glitches and little training was possible. Data migration from eclinicals was a nightmare. We couldn't wait to change EMRs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018
Antoinette T.
Office manager
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 7, 2018

“eClinical is best for large practices.”

ProsFull practice software for all aspects of managing a medical office and patient charting. Able to accommodate several practitioners and staff allowing for large volumes of files and database. Very straight forward practical application to use given all the functions available.
ConsMany features were not used as it is not easily streamlined for a specialty practice. Tech support/service call response is immediate but actual support and repair was often deferred to a later time and was difficult to communicate with their staff, located overseas. Costs for eclinical is expensive.

Vendor Response

By eClinicalWorks on February 12, 2018
Hi Antoinette- Thank you for your feedback on eClinicalWorks. I'd like the opportunity to chat with you more about customizing eCW for your specialty as that seems to be a challenge you're having with the software. We use eClinicalWorks to provide billing services for our customers and are the largest certified reseller in the nation. I'd be curious to speak with you more to see if we could help. Feel free to reach me at 800-769-5288 x2207.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 7, 2018
Christopher H.
Physician
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 6, 2017

“Long time customer, pretty much done with eCW”

OverallI have attended about 8 eCW users conferences, including the first one in Orlando. I am a superuser. Initially, I was optimistic, but over time I have seen a lot of false promises and lack of USER -driven improvements. The whole feel of eCW is that of a clunky data gatherer. It is absolutely dreadful at the point-of-care. I didn't go to med school to be a data entry clerk. The piecemeal product now. Nickel and dime every little feature/service. When will an EHR come out that makes sense at the point of care?
ProsCustomizable - but be careful - you may have to redo everything after an upgrade. Reporting features and back office 'ok'. Portal, Healow app and eclinicalmobile are decent (though erx through mobile is wonky).
ConsToo many clicks. Too many windows. Tiny boxes. Tiny font. Poor format. Early 2000's feel and look. Upgrades often require the user to fix data (re-map, correct NDC codes, etc. etc. etc.) which is a total pain for staff and the providers. Too many ways to achieve the same thing, just causes confusion. Internal messaging a joke.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 6, 2017
Jenny B.
Practice Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Customer Service”

OverallOur practice has benefited from using the Messenger product. We use it to primarily do text appointment confirmations, and wellness reminders monthly. During influenza season sending out a blast to parents via text message to get flu shots helps tremendously! User friendly, up to date dashboards for MIPS, MACRA, billing is awesome and new features for the EMR side are always coming through. I find it a great product for doctor offices!
ProsEase of use and intuitive. The company always listens to the users for suggestions and problems. Customer support is great. I like how they follow up within 24 to 48 hours of a service ticket to make sure everything is functioning. I am very pleased with the customer service team because they always call me back in the same day. The chat option is great for a quick answer as well.
ConsIn the beginning the training was not what I thought. However, in the last 6 years the webinars have expanded and ease to watch and print power points as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Larry H.
Physicain Assistant
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 10, 2018

“Poor customer service and tech support. They are extraordinarily slow in responding to EHR problems. After placing tickets and contacting support online no significant response from them or signs of fixing the problem.”

OverallI am posting this poor review due to a lack of response from tech and customer support. I would not recommend this EHR because of our my current issue with product and it should have been an easy fix given its been 5 months.
ProsReasonable ease of use for an EHR but all of EHRs still stink. More reasonable cost than most and was not dissatisfied with company until an update in August/Sept. Our particular problem has not been fixed in the last 5 months and I have not gotten any reasonable response back from the company about this issue. This particular part of the EMR was working well prior to the last update.
ConsPoor tech and customer support. My office has sent him ticket after ticket online without any hint of trying to solve the problem. So not matter how cost effective the product may be or the ease of use if they are not going to respond efficiently and effectively to our user needs then they are not worth using.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 10, 2018
Andrew H.
CFO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018

“We switched to eCW two years ago and have never looked back, very forward thinking. ”

OverallEase of use from clinical side, good product from Practice Management. Forward thinking with patient engagement.
ProsOur clinicians feel that the setup is much more efficient than some of the other eHR packages we have use. I like we're they are going with the web based content and PHM. We see a lot of value in the product and feel it has been a great investment. From a financial standpoint, the monthly subscription service helps small businesses who can't afford to put up large sums of money for initial license fees.
ConsTheir report generator is a little more difficult to use than some products, or you don't have access to all fields. We utilize their Query writer often and then dump the data into Excel. Their Report Writer suite can be powerful, but requires advanced knowledge of query writing, which many small to medium sized companies likely will not have available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Liked interoffice message system and personal reminders”

Overallfairly easy software, liked communication with others through this system as way for all employees to see past relevant events related to particular patients.
Prosbeing able to set alerts ahead on date and assign them to other team members to myself for reminders late. This kept the patient care organized and allowed me to quickly set alerts for follow up without forgetting anyone or letting care slip. having a place to put messages to others or yourself about the encounter were useful to have and having a separate area for permanent messages for all to see vs having personal messages in the chart allow ease of use and documentation of recurring issues with a certain patient.
Consfound it overall to be quite good, easy to learn. my only concern, which might vary by practice or have been fixed now was that coding colors for the provider schedules were too similar in color for not that similar or too similar categories such as light pink and dark pink being cancellation without excuse and with excuse. and reschedule and cancelled, which caused some mistakes and ended up in patients receiving calls when it was not necessary.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Jenny B.
Practice Manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“I really like eClinicalworks PM.”

OverallOpportunities to improve our medical outcomes in all areas and departments.
ProsAll like the most features under the Billing navigation tab especially. The registry is the fastest way to get info drilled down to your specific needs. We are using the kiosk and questionnaires. This feature has helped tremendously with meeting Clinical Integration (CI) measures. It has also helped streamline patient check in and collecting outstanding balances. There are always new things to learn and try - always evolving!
ConsThe EBO reporting system. I do not find it easy to learn. I do not find it fits or is workable in the medical field. The reports do not give you current, month to date or year to date totals on your reports. You cannot create reports that give that information as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Michael W.
IT Manager
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2018

“My ECW Experience”

OverallOverall I think there is some improvement that can be done, but ECW gets us through the day to day functions. The support staff could be a lot better. All in all, ECW does what we need it to do.
ProsECW offers a lot of features that our staff utilizes. Our staff loves the jellybean system and how it makes referral, telephone encounters, messages, etc easier to see. The resource schedules are very simple to view and utilize. Running reports in ECW is super easy.
ConsThe staff support is slow with ticket response. Even when the ticket is marked high priority, the response time takes hours sometimes. We experience a lot of slowness on a day to day basis. This is referring to the ECW product itself. Our providers have complained about being in the rooms with patients and having to stall due to system slowness.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2018
Jody T.
CEO
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 23, 2017

“Great All inclusive Product”

OverallI used e-clinical for 7yrs as a Front office and Billing Manager in a Family practice Clinic. It has some great functionality and really includes about everything. Customer support was very lacking and was hard to get things fixed it a timely manner, you had to rely a lot on your own IT staff. Overall great product that I still consult on all the time.
ProsGreat Billing area and claims management. Great reporting. Love the Patient central hub, you can find anything from there.
ConsCustomer support and setup for full functionality is lacking. if you know how to use the system it is great, learning it past the webinars is difficult.
Recommendations to other buyersthe Cost is really high and there are several other products that car comparable for a lot less and better support. if you do go there makes sure you choose a clearing house that integrates well with the system and who will talk to them for you. otherwise it will be a big headache.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 23, 2017
JENNIFER N.
Administrator
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2018

“Specialty in Alabama”

OverallI have seen several comments that ecw is affordable. It is not....it's very expensive and they nickle and dime you to death. They tell you products are free and then a year later you get a huge bill for a service you were told was free. We probably pay a FTE's salary in what we pay annually for ecw.
ProsGreat product if you can actually figure out how to use without spending tons of hours and money on training. They stay on top of current issues and regulations.
ConsWe have had bugs in our system since it was built in 2012. It has never gotten better. No one speaks English as a first language EXCEPT FOR SALES DEPARTMENT, of course. Typically when we have questions or problems we let it go for as long as we can because we know how long and horrible it will be to deal with tech support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“An amazing software to use for a medical office who wants everything in one place!”

ProsI love that this software has everything you need in one spot. You no longer have to open 2 or 3 programs, because this does it all! You can view the schedule, look up a patients medical records and visits, and view all their information/notes in one place. It is easy to use once you get the hang of it. Customer service is very quick to respond to you when placing a ticket and make sure to quickly resolve any issues you might have. This software has so many more features compared to other softwares I have used and you have so many options when scheduling someone.
ConsThe layout of this software is very confusing to say the least. It has so many great features, but everything is very scattered. It took me months to learn all the reports you could run and all the billing features. The medical records would get very frustrating at times because certain things that were entered in would not save at times and just disappear. This software is also expensive, but I will say you are able to accomplish so many things so it is worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Samuel C.
Physician/Owner
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018

“I have had a love hate relationship with ECW for 10 years, I would love to change to something that would make my life easier, but also be cost effective.”

ProsI can copy over most any part of the prior note, but I can separate out most any section to bring over. Currently cheaper that several other programs.
ConsA lot. The entire system is compartmentalized and so it the support, so often times one support area will do something that has adverse affects on other things. The system does not make it easier to function, way too many clicks, its unstable and will freeze up or require a reboot. They nickel and dime you with very high prices for adding interfaces, adding documents, and the program does not work well on an iPad. They have good videos for starting out, or adding new people, but nothing when it comes to advanced or indepth education or training or best practice setups or ways to make things flow easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018
Cathy E.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2012

OverallOur organization has 3 doctors that are primary physicians to residents in nursing home. We provide service for 9 nursing homes and continue to grow. We have 4 office staff and are all virtual. We use eClinicalWorks and Group One for billing and host through PSM. We went with eClinicalWorks because Group One billing was incorporated with them and also the hosting of the server. We did not want to have to update our own software. We are a relatively new business and did not have any software previous. We bought it in 2011 and the implementation went fine. The team did learn how to use eClinicalWorks quickly and the templates have been very useful. In regards to customer service I find that my main contact at Group One Tara Carney has been fantastic. When I have a need or issue she is right on it for me. She seems to know who to contact for me and they get back to me in a timely manner. eClinicalWorks customer service is much tougher because of the big size and it seems that 4 people contact me about something that one person could take care of. I understand that it is large and things need to go through channels so I have just accepted that I will get many phone calls and need to go through many people. I seem to go back to Tara to have her handle the situation for me and she always points me in the right direction. We are a different type of health care business and I know we have pushed a few people out of their box to get the functionality that we need to provide the best quality of care for the patient and to make it a great working environment for all. In doing so eClinicalWorks and Group One have always been receptive to growth and change to fit our needs so we can progress and that has been very much appreciated. I would have to say the Group One has been fantastic and is the main reason that we are very happy with our choice of EMR. I would like to give Renzi Russell and especially Tara Carney much of the recognition they deserve for providing excellent customer service and a fantastic knowledge of their positions. Tara has been wonderful with all she does.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2012
Kari T.
General Manager
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018

“eClinicalWorks Review”

OveralleClinicalWorks is a great product but is pretty expensive so our smaller, one provider practices wouldn't be able to afford it. I know you get what you pay for, but it's unfortunate that it's so costly that a lot of providers won't even consider it for that reason.
ProsIt works great for large practices. The collection module works really well for our office, especially automatically uploading accounts to our collection agency. It has a huge amount of settings and options to chose from, which is great but can get overwhelming.
ConsCustomer service is always very prompt in their responses, but when they call it's very hard to understand them. Half the time the issue is not resolved because of communication problems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018
Robin H.
Practice Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“No enough space to write down all the complaints about this software and their support staff”

OverallTroublesome from the start. Training was awful and we paid for 2 separate training classes for our employees. They were charging us for things that they didn't even have set up. We finally hirer an IT/Rn person that could help us with this program. Our employee is constantly telling ECW tech people what they need to do because they have no clue and we don't have the access to make the changes. We asked ECW many time to open our system so we can do what we need to and they stated that we would have to pay an additional $7000 to $10,000.
ProsDon't know because this technical staff has no idea what they are doing not to mention all the things they've messed up like making our doctors templates disappear, to reporting our MIP's to the government incorrectly. We have everything documented and screen shot and will be turning over our findings to the Dept. of Justice and Health and Human Services Office of the Inspector General. Along with the Attorney General of the Justice Departments Civil Division.
ConsThis is our breaking point when ECW employees do not know how to do they're jobs and now has affect the reputation of our Surgeons by reporting our MIP's to a government office as a group when we were clearly supposed to be reported as individual doctors. So instead of our MIP's score being above 90 on all our doctors they are now publicly score as 7.17. This will now not only make us lose money we should have received from the government but can actually cost us money on our reimbursements. We have spent all morning on the phone with QPP to try to correct this error and are getting no support for ECW. We have tried all morning to reach out to people at ECW and no one will take our call. WE ARE NOW TALKING THIS IS OUR SURGEONS REPUTATION TO ARE AFFECTING!!!!!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Mamatha A.
physician
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 4, 2019

“Too many clicks/windows. Don't love the Hub system. ”

OverallI was in a solo practice coming off the free version of Practice Fusion and moved to another local area office. I believed I would be moving to an office with a great integrated software system with practice management and EHR in one and all the bells and whistles. But any other features than what I had would be more money. This one is not user friendly. I feel very badly for larger systems that mistakenly chose this software. There is an extra charge for everything. My data migration would have been cost prohibitive. Practice Fusion had let me move demographics and insurance with a few clicks in front of my eyes. Every aspect of the free Practice Fusion was more reliable, easier to use, prettier to look at/cleaner. I love medicine and patient care and EHR/business side has made it hard to find the perfect situation and made staying independent more difficult. The upgrades are odd - now there are two sections in the note - Physical Exam and Regular Exam. What? ICD-9s all remain. Why? For many tasks, another window needs to open up. That is the critical time when the software may freeze and no way around logging back out and in. Did I mention my "favorites" in prescriptions don't pop up. I can't figure out why they are there only half the time and I am typing the same prednisone taper over and over and over.
ProsI've got nothing. I was an early adopter of EMR starting with Powermed in 2002 for 5 years, Springcharts for 5 years starting 2007. 2 versions of Allscripts at a volunteer clinic and another verions of Allscripts at an employed position. I used Athena for 3 years at my solo practice and it was wonderful but I thought it was costly for a solo when the Meaningful Use dollars ran out. But looking back I would keep Athena or Practice Fusion and make it work. Every single one of these were more friendly to doctors/patients and better for workflow. I don't remember any glitches like this software.
Cons-Too many clicks. If I get a message to refill a prescription from staff. It is 8 more clicks AFTER the prescription has been sent. -Freezes and have to log out and log in multiple times a day. -Ipad and Iphone version is terrible and you cannot do work - it's just a rudimentary emergency system. -I am flabbergasted by how bad the ICD-10 lookup is. Both Practice Fusion and Athena are so good that I can't believe the ECW one can be this terrible. -Pharmacy linking is very clunky. Practice Fusion had every pharmacy in the country at my fingertips. -Record of prescriptions sent is very bad. Controlled substances are not there. Faxed ones are separate. There should be one med list with one set of dates! I have never seen this system on any other EHR. -My counter for the referral jellybean and telephone encounter jellybean always say 1 even if I have zero in that inbox - VERY GLITCHY. -E-refill requests, it rarely links the patient (almost like a fax coming in) and then it often does not link the drug in the chart and you have to search again for the drug -Diabetic supplies are impossible to send in. All e-requests for diabetic supplies have to be sent denied -Writing a prescription is very frustrating. It will say things like "duration must be entered in days" or "you did not chose the strength, dose or formulation". If you did change the strength, the number of tablets disappears and then when you go to send it, it will not send so you must return to a different screen
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 4, 2019
Robert L.
CEO
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 27, 2019

“Never used more glitchy software, nor a more poorly designed UI in my life.”

OverallThe owners/managers of this company need to sell to new managers who can overhaul the entire operation.
ProsOstensibly offers many features, from an integrated EMR/PM system to registration kiosks, etc... Once the kiosk app became functional (took months...see below), we were able to decrease our reg desk staff.
Cons1. As others have stated, the initial 5 day training period was mostly used by their staff to fix their own glitches and get the the software to a base functional state. 2.5 of the 5 days training period was used to fix things like scripts which simply didn't work. So much of the provider training time was a total waste. we were than charged additional money to have them come back and spend more time with us. 2. Content is not provided. We were told the system can be used for urgent care. after all, one fo the largest chains int he country uses ECW. They didnt tell us that chain spent a significant amount of time and money customizing the system to suit the urgent care need. 3. ECW is unable to provide suggestions for how their software should function in an urgent care environment. asking them which flow would be ideal for their software is a useless question. 4. Their software was designed by folks who have never heard of UI/UX or Human factors. As others have noted there is not a consistent use of symbology between screens. There are often multiple ways to do the same function on one screen. Sometimes the label "close" means one thing on screen but another on another screen. 5. tech support is obscene. We were unable to unfavorite certain meds form our list. It took them weeks to months to figure out why. 6. Multiple sections of the software are labelled "procedures". one area results in a CPT code being auto listed on the billing screen; one area does not. Many other illogical quirks exist as well. Good luck trying to teach every new provider these types of quirks. 7. If you are an RCM customer, many of the features they use to market themselves are simply non functional. Patients of RCM clients cant use the patient portal to make payments since as an RM client, the software does not correctly send balance data to the portal. But if you call the "portal department", they are unaware of this problem. The web based version of their software to this day (early 2019) does not receive correct balance information for patient accounts. So, even if the providers and the medical assistants use the web based version, you still have to maintain the desktop version for the front desk staff. The UI is totally different between the two systems, so you effectively have to train your staff on two different systems. Ridiculous. 8. Their entire development team and tech support team is in India. Consequently, we had to spend significant time fixing the kiosk application since literally every screen in the app had typos, grammatical mistakes and phrases thats imply didn't make sense. I screen capped them to have proof. They simply didn't understand why i couldn't use the kiosk app as it was delivered to me. This means they never even bothered to have one of their US based staff look at the product before it was released. 9. They wanted to change the pricing scheme in the middle of our contract due to legal issues they had in NY. So, they changed it in their favor without discussing it with me. Their financial analyst then used seasonal data, and ignored the peak season in doing so, to justify their new price. Had they been intellectually honest and used a full year of data, it would have altered their conclusion about what the new pricing scheme would have cost me. Dishonesty like that has no excuse. 10. Despite asking them if the price we would be paying for the software included everything as an RCM customer, and them replying yes, they then proceeded to charge me hundreds of dollars extra for each provider per year to use the escript controlled substance feature. So yet Another set of conversations resulted in a reduction in price for a period of time. 11. Can't even count the number of conversations I've had with tech support, their own billing dept, as well as their practice liaisons who knew nothing about urgent care. I want the year of my life I've spent with them on the phone back.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 27, 2019
Robin Y.
EMR Support
Medical Practice, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2018

“Great features, poor support and follow through”

OverallSupport is what would drive me away from this product. Implementation project management and installation is very good. Post implementation and project management is inconsistent and poorly managed within the company.
ProsGood readability. Results management is effective, and the integration with patient portal eleinunsted the need for calling patients about normal values. Patient portal and integrated online billing is convenient and well received by patients.
ConsMedication management is challenging. Preventative measures are difficult to manage. They are scattered throughout the EMR without a true home for everything. The alerts functions don't reflect quality measure compliance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2018
April H.
Manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017

“Customers are NOT the number one PRIORITY”

OverallOver all the system is easy to navigate. The look and feel of the product are very pleasing. If I could have my old, local technical support back, I would highly recommend this product, but due to the past 3 years of terrible customer and technical service, I'm reluctant to refer other clinics to this product.
ProsIntegrated system. Easy to maneuver from the front office to back office features. Many new enhancements over the past 10 years. "Trying" to stay up to date with moving target of healthcare.
ConsTechnical support is lacking immensely. The techs are more concerned about closing your "help desk ticket" than really helping you solve your issues. eCW states they are a Meaningful Use Certified EHR but have left their existing customers of almost 10 years in the dust when they discovered a programming error. Now clinics will be penalized 3% in Medicare payments in 2018. Report features are lacking. As of recently, they nickel and dime you for every new feature, upgrade, and/or request, such as interfaces, customized reports for all the government mandated programs, enhanced dashboards, etc. Communication with their customers, or lack there of, is very frustrating. eCW believes posting critical information on a website is "sufficient enough." When you're going to shut down the entire system for 3 days with no access or you tell your customers they're meeting meaningful use and then 7 days before the end of the reporting period eCW "discovers" their system is NOT reporting right, this should be important enough information to communicate directly to the customers, right? Nope, eCW posts the information on their website and "hopes" you log in a read the paragraph in a timely manner. NOT acceptable in my eyes. Mountains of improvement in customer service.
Recommendations to other buyersI would really research other products before choosing eCW. The program is great, but the technical support and training, which you pay a lot of money for are quite frankly terrible!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017
Phoebe W.
Office Manager
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“I love eClinical!”

OverallThis software has been a consistent highlight in my career in the medical field. It was the first system I ever used and the system I recommend to anyone looking for a high-quality all-encompassing EMR. This software will help you achieve the most with your medical practice.
ProsI love the billing functions of this software. It is so easy to post ERAs and patient payments as well as investigate claims. The charting function is extremely easy to use and customize, and the appointment scheduling through this system is the best I have used so far. My favorite section of this system though is the messaging. I appreciate how easily notes, labs, messages, and all other things are labeled and assigned to people through the "jelly beans" at the top of the screen.
ConsThe thing I would say I like the least about this software would be the reports. They were not the easiest to utilize without a large amount of effort and trial and error. That being said, I was able to obtain all the information I needed to continue monitoring my practice after some time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Carrie F.
Medical Biller
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 14, 2016

“Fantastic software, and makes medical billing very easy! ”

ProsThis software has a very user friendly interface, and is easy to navigate. The ability to view EOBS directly on a claim, leave claim specific notes to that claim and the easiness to balance out a claim/ patient balance makes it very pleasant to use as a medical biller. The scheduler tool is also very easy to use and is easy on the eyes. Overall it is a great software, and I would highly recommend it.
ConsThe software's reports are difficult to view since the changes made about a year ago. They require you to open an outside reporting website via internet explorer, and re-log in with your eClinical credentials. The way the system was prior to this, made it capable to generate reports within the EMR system. Just so you are aware, the support team is located over seas, and can be difficulty to reach at times.
Recommendations to other buyersEvaluate what your specific needs are in an EMR/EHR/Billing Software. The accessibility and ease of use definitely put this product ahead of other programs. The cost may seem excessive, but worth it in the end. I recommend making a pros and cons list before selecting a software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 14, 2016
Amber B.
Operations Assistant
Medical Practice, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017

“eClinicalWorks - ”

OveralleClinicalWorks serves our needs as a non-profit community health center. We have two internal employees who are eCW experts and remain up to date on all features, new releases, upgrade options, etc. Our success with eCW is that we have internal employees to turn to instead of relying on external customer service to assist us when we encounter an issue.
ProseClinicalWorks is fairly comprehensive, allowing us to customize template options and choose which features we want to utilize.
ConsThe upgrades for certain features, like the patient portal, are slow to be released. We have been told for years that an upgrade is on its way, but there is no release date and no further update.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017
Laura B.
MD
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2019

“eCW for small practices”

OverallAs noted above
ProsIt is one of the preferred EMRs for large hospitals, so if you are trying to get into their IPA, it helps to use it
ConsCustomer service is all outsourced. If you are brand new to this EMR, you pay for a trainer, only to find out months later, that they really did not know what they were talking about. So you wind up having to put in tickets for every problem. People call you back at random times, interupting clinic constantly, and the worse thing is that they do not speak English. They are often impossible to understand, and most of the time, end up telling you that you need another team for that. You schedule a call with that other team, and they do not know either. I have given up on quite a few things because it is just not worth the time. Bottom line is, after you sign their contract, you will never speak to someone who can speak English again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Jared W.
Health Commissioner
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Jack of All Trades, Master of None”

ProsECW truly is a full practice management system, start to finish. One system to schedule patients, track care received, and process billing is a major improvement on where our little organization started. The system contains many features that we haven't really tried to implement yet either, so I know it can do even more than we currently realize.
ConsThe problem with this system is that, while it does all things needed for a practice, it does none of them well. Bugs, minor errors, design problems, and other issues plague the system. Many issues can be worked around without too much trouble, but the point is that if we are paying for this system, it should perform as advertised.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Feelcia C.
Owner
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017

“EClincal Works the good and the bad”

OverallI have worked on Eclinical Works for several years, the product is not very user-friendly and the technical support is horrible, to say the least as you have to create a ticket and wait until they call you back and the connection is terrible and the language barrier is really bad.
ProsEClinical Works is one of the best Billing Softwares the tracking mechanisms for claims are second to none and the ability to interface with labs and other Softwares helps to make the doctor's office run a lot smoother.
ConsThe tech support is horrible and the software goes offline often and the price
Recommendations to other buyersResearch the software get all of the pros and cons
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017
Bobbie C.
Office Manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017

“Great System ”

OverallIf users are willing to use to full capabilities, this system is great! Reduce time needed for outgoing referrals, no more need for the receptionist to make patient reminder calls. ECW is geared to really work with your patients. Patient reminder calls, text when RX's are sent to the pharmacy, patient recall is great for our pediatric office. It is much easier to contact our patients that are grouped into ages for needed visits and vaccines.
ProsECW flows well from health management to practice management
ConsCustomer service knowledge of what a physician's office needs, is lacking
Recommendations to other buyersIf it all possible, close your clinic for training, at least half days for the week ECW is on site for go live
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017
Glorymar B.
clinic supervisor
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2017

“ECW is all in one scheduler, EMR and billing system”

OverallThe benefit of using ECW is that it is an all in one software: scheduling, billing and EMR.
ProsWhat i like most is that you can do everything you need with one software: schedule, EMR and create claims. ECW can be tailored to fit individual needs.
ConsThere is not much that I do not like about ECW. I use it for scheduling and billing for a mental health office and the only problem that we have come across is that we can only select primary, secondary or tertiary for an insurance plan but for mental health we bill managed care plans which are different than medical plans.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2017
Bradley B.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2014

“10 years on eCW”

ProseClinicalWorks is very intuitive and easy to use. Overall, it is an excellent EMR and PM software product that is full of the latest EMR features, which makes seeing patients and running a medical practice highly efficient. The customization and interface capabilities have also been a big bonus with eCW. It is also great value for the cost. In our 10 years on eCW, we have never had a price increase for our annual maintenance costs, and over that time frame, eCW even added 24x7 support at no extra cost (even for routine tech support issues). Also, none of our three lab interfaces or two radiology interfaces have cost us a dime. Additionally, eCW has been great at keeping up with all the Meaningful Use requirements and making it easy to attest for our Meaningful Use bonus (at no extra cost to us).
ConsThere is nothing that I dislike, but if I had to list anything, it would be that eCW offers so many features and options that I could see a new user potentially being a little overwhelmed by all these capabilities, although that's not really a bad thing when you think about it.
Recommendations to other buyersDefinitely compare different EMRs for their documentation, efficiency, customization, and interface capabilities, as well as all the features they offer, and the costs for implementing and maintaining the EMR. Most likely, you will find eCW to be the top choice. I have multiple friends on other EMRs that have seen me use eCW and have told me that if changing EMRs was not so burdensome, they would definitely switch over to eCW.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2014
Brian C.
Attending Physician
Medical Practice, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2017

“eCW hates clinicians”

OverallMy notes can be seen and read outside of a paper chart. Other than that, not much
ProsNotes are typed, so they are legible. Supposedly, the billing function is useful,however, my group does not use this.
Cons-Very slow to startup, and uses a lot of resources on your desktop computer -Too many clicks -Too easy to make mistakes and lose work (where did my 5 paragraph note go?!) -Not easy to customize -eCW often generates medical errors -interface is terrible--why can I only see 5 lines of typed text at a time? Why are there 5 buttons on a view that are all labeled the same thing? (No...use the "scan" button in the upper left,not the lower right) --too many mandatory fields that are not relevant (I just want to see his past vitals...I don't want to enter a pain score right this second...) --low quality document and photo uploads (I think that's a wound...but it's so pixelated) --Easy to lose formatting in templates (if you click here, it's ok, but if you click over there, then all hell breaks loose) --Anything that is not done in a billable visit has to be done in a telephone encounter --E prescribe module is difficult to use and not consistent. (Sometimes you can type in a box, sometimes you have to click on a little number pad, the options for prescribing are in a weird order (alphabetical, ordinal), complex dosing, like a prednisone taper cannot be done.)
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2017
Vijith V.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“A best RCM software to process day to day acticity”

OverallIt is an all in one platform to perform the day to day RCM functions. Be it scheduling of a visit or to follow-up on the outstanding AR all can be performed at one place. The inbuilt EMR feature is another advantage of this software.
ProseCW is one of our best choices to process the day to day RCM activities. Right from the scheduling of a visit till the follow-up on outstanding balance, all can be performed on a single platform.
ConseCW is available to use by installing on PC or using though a web browser. The features and functionalities that are available are good. Rare instances of slow performance on both the usage modes is the only problem we have come across.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019
NICHOLE A.
Billing
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Clinic Review”

Overalloverall, I feel its a great system and I would recommend it.
ProsThe software is very easy to navigate through. This program offers a ton of training videos. The help is great as well, you can place work orders threw the system of there is the option of live feed back (online chatting). I have used this several times.
ConsNot everything is black and white. I find it more useful to ask for help instead of trying to find it in the videos because there are so many and you can get lost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Bob C.
Administrator
Medical Practice, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018

“Great User friendly EMR & Billing software”

OverallGreat product and very user friendly.
ProseClinical Works is a very user friendly electronic medical record and billing software that can be a great asset for any physician office no matter what the specialty.
ConsThe only issue that I have encountered when using this electronic medical record software is that there is a standard drop down "filing" system but you can always design your own should you not want all of the folders to drop documents into.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 29, 2018
Jonathan F.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2014

“The Best EHR on the Market”

ProsWe love the cloud product and have been using it for nearly 9 years. I have not worried about a server backup or hardware upgrade for our production system in many, many years. We enjoy exceptional uptime and lots of cool features for everything from charge capture to population health management to HCC RAF capture. We have 17,000 web enabled patients, 5,000 of whom are logging in at least once per month. This has really helped reduce phone volume and increase continuity. Many of them are using the product on their smart phones to coordinate and understand their care. The eBO product delivers interesting, customizable, and actionable reporting.
ConsAs with all EHRs, they have been in rapid cycle deployment since 2008, as dictated by the federal government. This has resulted in some bugs and some delays in clinical development while the arcane and pretentious directives of the Meaningful Use program are achieved.
Recommendations to other buyersIf I were jumping in again for primary care, I would choose eClinicalWorks again. It may be that some software is easier to use out of the box, but eClinicalWorks is agile and can be adapted to our ever-changing marketplace in a shorter time to market. For example, providers were asked to do the opposite of HCC coding when the pre-existing condition problem existed with medical insurance. Now we are asked to be very specific to support ACO and value-based payment models, and eCW can be quickly customized to achieve this goal.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2014
Linda L.
Practice Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Pretty Average Product”

ProsIt is fairly inexpensive in comparison to other EMR programs. It provides good enough functionality for a medical practice.
ConsThere are no perfect EMR systems, however, ECW falls short on few things - functionality does not keep up with changing healthcare demands, it breaks down frequently and needs to be fixed or de-bugged multiple times each week. Customer service is extremely slow and not always able to solve problems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Tatianna C.
medical assistant
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“Professional, reliable!”

OverallWonderful! Best system out of all medical office systems I have used thus far.
ProsThis software is fundamental for any healthcare professional. simple to learn and use in any office. Whether you are a receptionist, nurse, doctor or administrator, this system is truly reliable and easy to navigate.
ConsThere is a few features that could be added on for medical professionals which would save time. However, still a very great software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“Outdated EMR”

OverallEclicinalworks emr software has lots of bugs and errors. Technical support often times can't figure out the errors and would take a week to resolve the issues. Also have hard time understanding the technical support with pronounciations.
ProsEasy to navigate with the emr, from scheduling patients, e prescribing, sending electronic faxes and inputting patient referral and insurance documents.
ConsLots of bugs and errors on emr software and poor technical support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Nancy D.
AR SPECIALIST
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“fantastic practice management software that is customizable to any healthcare practice”

OverallFantastic reimbursement ability depending on customization and training of users.
ProsCustomizable. Choices of software resellers with high levels of support. Resellers have the opportunity to provide practices with teams of A/R support.
ConsMay be complicated to some practices that are not experienced with how PM systems work. There are many options to customize that may not be fully understood when onboarding.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Frances J.
Biller
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 18, 2017

“Best EHR that I have use”

OverallI helped start up eClinicalworks at the office that I worked at. They were extremely helpful (I worked with other EHR products that were not as helpful). It was easy learning the front end and the back end. I had little trouble doing templates. I would recommend this program to everyone. I do not have any relationship with this company except work at a different office than what I work today .
ProsEverything it was easy to learn and it was easy to teach patients how to connect to it.
ConsNothing
Recommendations to other buyersIf you get this program you'll like it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 18, 2017
Kristen H.
Medical Biller
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“eClinical ”

ProsI liked that it was easy to go through your claims for the today to check over them and correct them. It was also easy to send out all of your claims at once. It makes sorting claims by doctor simple. Doing payments in it was convenient.
ConsI didn't really enjoy using the program to set patients up to be put into collections but I'm not sure that's all on the program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Ross E.
eCommerce Product Manager
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 15, 2016

“Sever side HTTPS security needs work. ”

ProsNice clean easy to use UI for appointments, prescriptions, and lab results.
ConsI have tested the eClinicalworks web service urls on ssllabs.com. The cipher security is not exactly up to par for medical applications. First of all it does not default to the second newest version of TLS (1.1) for those who can't use TLS 1.2. Instead it skips down to TLS 1.0, a version with well known vulnerabilities to a BEAST attack. Although the BEAST vulnerability is server-side mitigated, client side vulnerabilities are still possible. Also the server is set to prefer 128 bit encryptions over 256 encryptions. I understand that 128 bit encryption of RC4 and various others only recently became deprecated. Since their web blog is talking about server side updates for the application I hope they are working to resolve those issues. But the fact they make the backwards compatibility immediately skip down to TLS 1.0 is questionable. Maybe for compatibility with external services that still rely on TLS 1.0?
Recommendations to other buyersJust because a lock symbol shows up left of your browser's url does not automatically mean it is secure. Use ssllabs.com for any website you trust with confidential information such as banking, medical, insurance, accounting, legal etc. For those that don't understand the technical jargon behind the tests, a nice easy to read letter grade is provided to give a good glimpse of the product's quality of security. Otherwise in the mean time, avoid public Wifi hotspots when using this product. Also avoid using forms that support HTML without clearing your cookies for this product first. Also avoid questionable hyperlinks.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 15, 2016
Heather R.
PTA
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Easy to use once familiar”

OverallI have used this product for 13 years and it has developed nicely over the years and has become much easier to use. Notes look organized and there are very few problems. Nice for entire healthcare organizations.
ProsLooks very neat when notes are locked and easy to follow. Billing configurations save a lot of time.
ConsA few features have several steps that require a few more clicks to complete.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019