Codeship Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Codeship

Codeship is a hosted Continuous Integration and Delivery platform. It sits between your source code repository (e.g. GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket) and the hosting environment (e.g. Amazon Web Services) and automatically tests and deploys every change in your platform. Your Engineering team can focus on developing better applications instead of wasting time on maintaining a cumbersome CI server. Codeship scales with your needs, allows you to speed up your test suites and enables your developers to Learn more about Codeship

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Abhinav K.
Sr Software Integrator
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019

“A faster way to ship your code.”

OverallCodeship simplify and enhance your CI/CD pipeline by speeding the bug catching. Image caching feature integrate with docker and speed-up the build pipeline with help of docker image cache. The notification dashboard help in to let you know the process of your code and also let you know if any action is needed in case of break.
ProsCodeship is a platform to achieve the Continues Integration. This open source tool comes with the two versions, Codeship basic and Codeship Pro. The advance user friendly web-based graphical user interface help in to implement the continuous integration pipeline for code delivery. Shared build nodes and parallel testing and deploy help in to speed up the development & delivery pipeline. We can scale-up the pipeline any time to optimize the testing and delivery process. Once the test cases pass it create the logs and automatically deploy system. Integration with Docker help in to easily managing the container in our build environment. The pro version have a advantage of configuration via the repository.
ConsCodeship is really an amazing tool to get hands on it, but compare to its features its community size is not as large as expected they should work on to scale-up the community size. They should at-least provide the three parallel test pipeline in free version also as once the user implement it know the power of the parallel test pipeline.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Gurleen K.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019

“Codeship - A faster way to ship your code with CI”

OverallThe web-interface provide flexibility to set up and configure build server. The Codeship Basic version come with the 100 builds/month, a concurrent build agent and a parallel test pipeline with unlimited number of projects with no user and team limit. Best feature in it is dependency caching parallel test suites to speed up our builds and DevOps process.
ProsCodeship provides the platform to deliver the code with confidence as it speeds up the development and operation process. Customization, maintaining and scaling the infrastructure is simple with the help of Codeship. Build & Automation test templates helps in catching the irrelevant code and bugs in CI/CD pipeline. The Flexible workflow allows us to control the build, test and deploy hierarchy can be modified as per need of the development pipeline.
ConsCodeship come with the in-build integration but some plugins stop working after the upgrade. The Codeship basic as the feature is disabled. To work with Native Docker we need to upgrade it to Codeship PRO version which come with the flexible workflows and configuration options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019
Ramindu D.
Software Technical Lead
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Simple build pipelines across multiple platforms”

OverallCodeship has enabled me to manage application deployment automation across heterogenous platforms, providing easy-to-use integrations with both deployment environments and version control systems.
ProsCodeship provides a well-integrated, simplistic approach to creating build pipelines on a variety of platforms. Be it major cloud platform providers or your simple webhosting where you copy your files using SFTP, Codeship has the solution for you. Integrations with major platforms are out of the box and very easy to configure. It also provides a good deal of integrations with various version control providers so that you can trigger your code deployments with a single push to your repository. Codeship also provides simple and effective monitoring tools and notifications.
ConsAt times, the parameters implementing a particular configuration such as SFTP push may not be self-evident. However, this can be resolved easily by reading the documentation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Tobias S.
IT consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2018

“Everything you need for automated quality control and continuous deployment”

OverallCodeship helps me make sure everything works as it should and gets deployed to where it should. This automation both removes tedious work and also makes everything run so much better in the end.
ProsI love how easy it is to get started with a new project in Codeship and that it doesn't require you to clutter your repository with yet another configuration file. Speaking of configuration, Codeship offers a very detailed level of it and I've yet to find a use case where they haven't been able to cater to.
ConsI really can't think of anything. Even the free version of Codeship delivers enough functionality for most projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Program Development, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Very Useful”

ProsI love the service, I'm QA and I can follow all deploy running in many platforms, I can see all problems and wich steps the errors happened.
ConsSometime the system does not update in real time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Erdem A.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“It is really easy to setup and use.”

OverallVery useful for continous integration.
ProsEasy to use, easy to configure. Integrates with github. You can debug your failed builds by literally connecting to build machine.
ConsSometimes it becomes down and prevent builds for a long time. If we have a hurry, it would become problem for our team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Avatar Image
Enrique B.
Desarrollador de software
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Codeship is great for code coverage and continuous integration.”

ProsEasy configuration, using setup files on your project. It has native docker support and lets you define containers for your build environment.
ConsCodeship may not be that easy to use for newcomers who don't have any experience with continuous integration. The pro version is also expensive, but they have a free version as well that will work for some users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel C.
Product Developer
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018

“So-So CI/CD Tool”

OverallCodeship is good at telling you if something works, but not so great at detecting what is actually wrong with a piece of code.
ProsIn general, Codeship is good to have on our main software project. We have a quick view of whether our new code works. It helps to speed up the review process.
ConsThe main problem that we had as a team were false failures. We often saw that a code change that had no real issues would fail due to something external to the code itself. When we began upgrading our stack, we found that Codeship became more trouble than it was worth.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2018

“Terrific managed solution for CI/CD”

ProsThis software helps bridge the gap with unstable builds and deployments. Setting it up with your project is relatively easy.
ConsThe price can come a bit steep but may be cheaper than paying somebody to set up your own CI/CD software.

Vendor Response

By Codeship on May 9, 2018
Ahoy there, thanks for the review, we absolutely appreciate you taking the time to do this. In regards to the rating for support, would you mind letting us know what we could do to improve? We try to do our very best for each and every support case we get, but there is definitely room for further improvement and getting additional feedback on this would be great. You can reach me directly via email at mlocher@cloudbees.com Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with and have a great day. ~ Marko
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“Great for code deployments ”

ProsI like how easy it is to deploy my code and add code review and comments. It makes the process painless.
ConsSometimes the software might not update comments fast enough, you would have to referesh the software for changes to take effect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Paul T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016

“Ship with ease and confidence”

OverallWe tried them all but always came back to codeship. Codeship provides the most user friendly workflow for building, testing and then ultimately deploying your code. We successfully ship our code to production multiple times a day thanks to having codeship on our team.
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“Very good Continuous Integration service”

ProsCodeShip integration with GitHub is very good and there are many resources allowing users to get started with ease.
ConsWhat I dislike most about this service is that it's a bit expensive and they could have a cheaper plan for small companies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018