Altru Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Altru

With Blackbaud Altru, your organization can consolidate admissions, membership, fundraising, merchandise, marketing, and more in one revolutionary, cloud-based software solution, giving you a clear view of your supporters. Learn more about Altru

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Adam C.
Data Analyst
Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“A complete non-profit fundraising and ticketing tool”

OverallInitially, we saved tens of thousands of dollars migrating our POS, CRM, and online ticketing platforms to the single Altru platform. We've never regretted it. That was about seven years ago, and we're still happily using it. Altru generally does everything we want it to do. It's great for admissions and event ticketing but not a great tool for email marketing or running a gift shop, though it does send bulk emails and allows you to sell merchandise. If you have an email marketing tool or gift shop software, keep it.
ProsAll our donor, patron, and visitor information is in one place, secure in the cloud. We rely on Altru to keep all our sales, donor, and member records together so we can see all the ways our constituents connect with us. This also makes reporting much easier, having all earned and contributed revenue recorded in one database. This also makes training easier, as there's only one system that many of our staff need to learn and interact with, everyone from ticket sellers to fundraisers. Finally, using one cloud-based system requires fewer administrators and no server hardware, streamlining staff and IT costs.
ConsThe financial and revenue setup can be intimidating, since there's a general ledger behind all the sales and revenue transactions. A general ledger must be set up, fiscal years created, transactions mapped, payment types created, payment methods created, etc. It can be daunting without a background in accounting or bookkeeping. You will need a trained financial professional to help oversee the financial configuration. Blackbaud will help you set this up initially, but you will need someone knowledgeable to oversee those parts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Lisa S.
Associate Director, Donor Relations/Prospect Research
Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2019

“Awesome!”

OverallOriginally purchased with ticketing in mind, the entire organization uses Altru for fundraising, notes, accounting interface, membership, events, donations, analysis and reporting. It has given the ability for staff to know about the donors & ticket buyers and how they interact with the organization. This opened up the lines of communication for staff allowing everyone to work together.
ProsAltru has everything in one place. No reason to have multiple databases and separate spreadsheets not talking to each other. Invited your constituent to an event, they gave a donation, bought a ticket, they became a member, received a mailing? It's all there on the constuent's page. Notes, relationships, interactions, documents uploaded are all in that constituent record. The canned reporting for membership and sales is good and is easily supplemented by specific queries that you build. Customer Service is incredible. Besides knowledge bases, an awesome community for sharing and getting info, the chat service is incredible. They actually solve issues and answer questions with real experts.
ConsThe online webforms are very basic and could be better to help with the user experience. The email directly from Altru is cumbersome and not user friendly, which is sad since it does give the ability to be shown in the constituent record. But I hear they are working with Mail Chimp to streamline this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2019
Chelsea D.
Database Manager
Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“Altru does it all! ”

OverallI have been using Altru for about a year in a database management position. There were so many training resources available when I first started, and continued support from our account manager and chat support. There is an article for every problem I could run into. It has been a great experience learning how to use this database and implementing the use of awesome features that we weren't previously using!
ProsI love that my company doesn't have to have many different databases to perform various tasks. Altru allows us to have a complete 360 view of our organization and our customers. We use it for all of our CRM needs - ticketing, programs, special events, donors, memberships, revenue reporting, etc. The support available through the parent company Blackbaud is so helpful for working out the kinks, as well.
ConsThis software is very expensive. Especially since the primary organizations who use Altru are non-profits.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Shannon K.
Director of Special Projects
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2015

“6 Reasons that Altru Rocks”

OverallThe RISD Museum has been using Altru for almost 3 years. While some aspects of the product could use improvement specifically web forms, email analytics, and merchandise there are many ways that Altru rocks: 1. The conversion of our old data went very smoothly. The database experts at Blackbaud were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. 2. Second, Altru is very easy to use. Our Visitor Services staff was up and running at the front desk with only an introductory session and some in-person support that first week. 3. Altru tech support at Blackbaud has been more responsive and helpful than any other software company I've worked with. They understand my work, not just the software. 4. You don't have to be a database expert to become an expert at Altru. My team members have taken ownership of their data and processes. I love sitting in a meeting and having someone else say, "Did you know you can do this in Altru? Here's what I'm doing and I think it will work for you." 5. Blackbaud is actively trying to improve the product. I've personally been involved with discovery by development teams working on reporting/queries and security/access. 6. The Altru Community is very active and supportive. Often, I don't need an answer to how the software works. I know how to make the software work but sometimes there are multiple right ways to do something. So my question is more about best practices and how others are doing it. It's helpful to hear what has worked at similar organizations and what hasn't. The bottom line is that there are pluses and minuses with any enterprise system. We evaluated six different systems before selecting Altru and chose based on what we thought would work best for our organization, our team members, and our business processes. As someone once told me, when you buy an enterprise system, you're not just buying software, you're also buying a business model. It turns out that Altru does, indeed, work well for the RISD Museum.
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2015
Avatar Image
Lisa H.
Visitor Participation Coordinator
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“My experience with Altru began about 2 years ago. It was easy to use and had many useful features. ”

OverallReporting and database management
ProsI really enjoy all the reporting and smart queries Altru can produce. It allows your job to be much easier and efficient. I also really am impressed and appreciate the customer support. Since I'm fairly new to Altru, I have a lot of questions. Knowing someone is there to assist means a lot to me.
ConsSome of the features are great but at times you have to do 5 other steps in order for something to work. If there was a SOP for everything in Altru already created...I'd be in heaven.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Dannielle B.
Database Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2016

“Altru - 360 Degree View of Your Constituents”

OverallWhat Altru does really well for arts & cultural organizations, that other CRMs do not have the ability to do, is create a holistic view of your constituents - ticket buyers, donors, event attendees, etc. Everything is in one database, and there is no need to deal with various imports and exports in order to view your data in one place. Some areas of the system lack flexibility and depth - web forms, ticketing - however Blackbaud releases new features on a very regular basis, so it's constantly improving.
ProsBrings together ticketing and fundraising/membership in one CRM Helpful Support available to chat online
ConsMore flexibility needed with web forms More flexibility needed with fundraising reporting Sales Orders are too rigid - need to be able to edit and add appeal codes
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2016
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2018

“Wide-ranging data management software with improving support/training options.”

ProsCovers every aspect of museum data management, from fundraising to programs to events and more. Excellent customization of data queries to manage data and run reports. Offers many levels of depth, to serve both front-line staff and power users.
ConsLittle/no training and support offered until very recently. Limited customization of layout, view options, colors, and categories in constituent records. Sometimes requires many, many clicks to achieve simple goals/record changes/reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2018
Avatar Image
William (Bill) S.
CFO & Vice President of Business Affairs
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“After 8 years we have found the promised land!”

ProsThe support and the solution go hand in hand. We went "live" just over 12 months and we are learning more and more everyday on how we can leverage the solution. 100% integrated with our accounting. Blackbaud has setup a platform that is engaging and interactive for users to connect with others in the community as well as developers. The solution is improving and so are we.
ConsSometimes we find development improvements that seem critical to our organization to take longer then we would like. But we live in a day of instant gratification and once recognized we can be patient.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018

“An improvement over our previous system, but still needs some fine tuning”

ProsWe now have the ability to get a true look at all the ways our constituents are interacting with our organization. Prior to implementation, our organization was very siloed, with each department using separate databases.
ConsThe product has a long way to go with the web forms and email functionality. It would be great to have usable metrics for online behavior.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018
Elizabeth D.
Assistant Manager of Visitor Services & Admissions
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2016

“We have had Altru for around a year now and overall I am very happy with its performance.”

OverallI love that Altru is constantly receiving updates and that the customer service team really does listen to feedback from the customers. I also think the customer service is wonderful and always available - which is great! I also really appreciate that the system is very intuitive. Once you get the basics down, you can pretty much figure it out - and if you cant, there are tons of resources to help you. I do wish the reporting was a little better and more concise. It seems like there are always 5 different reports that all pretty much do the same things, just in a slightly different way. It would be nice if some of these reports were combined and more filters were added so you could more easily customize one report for what you need and not have to look at three different reports to get the numbers required. I also wish that the system was a little quicker. There are some days where the system can bring our front of house line to a crawl because it is responding so slowly. It is not all the time, and it is not always a very very long wait - but even a 30 second lag time can seem like eternity to front of house staff & to guests. I also wish that we could customize some things to better fit our business specifically, and not always have to come up with work-arounds for little things. Overall I am very very happy with Altru and think it is an amazing system.
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Altru by Blackbaud Review”

OverallI know a good amount how to deal with things on Altru, but if something comes up that you don't know, it's not always self-explanatory how to get done what you need to get done. Sometimes you have click on quite a series of things that you would never things to click on to make something happen. That being said, it doesn't seem to glitch often, which is nice. Again, having all the needed resources right there in one software is a helpful.
ProsI love the amount that you can do on Altru and that it can all be done in one place. Whether it's keeping our volunteers organized, scheduling tours, selling event tickets, etc., it can all be done right there in Altru.
ConsThere are multiple ways you can do everything. Rather than having one concise way to do each action, you have to search to find many not simple ways to do everything. Sometimes, screens look slightly different on different computers as well, even though they've all been updated. It's amazing how much you can do, but it would be so much easier if the methods used were more concise.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019

“Altru”

OverallNot a bad product. Please add a point of sake tool for gift shops!! Hey
ProsEasy to use database for non-profits. Great tool for data analysis.
ConsI would like to see a built in capacity for point of sale. I currently have to use two services when I could just use one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019
Dawn M.
Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Excellent donor management system”

ProsVery comprehensive donor management system that allows for total donor management. Information input and multiple layers of security.
ConsFees are a bit higher than other donor management systems but well worth it for the product line and information captured.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Dave J.
Sr. Dir. of Marketing & PR
Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2017

“Altru is a powerful tool to capture and analyze data to make strategic decisions”

ProsEase of use for an entry-level user. The system has an incredible ability to capture and relate data. Customer support for individual issues is very strong. The ability to automate regular procedures (renewal notices, new member mailings, etc.) is very strong. The web forms are quite easy to use, once you get the hang of them, though they are difficult to customize.
ConsE-mail formatting is a little wonky. The query tools are so robust that they come across as daunting, even for high-end users. Written support is somewhat weak (and Knowledgebase difficult for me to navigate), which causes me to rely on (the excellent) one-on-one customer support more than I would like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2017
Gillian A.
Database Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2016

“comprehensive product that has been very useful so far”

OverallIt's worked well for our newly-expanded museum over the past year. We've got a growing membership program (~12,000 members) and our highest visitation and we can find that information we need for reporting from the reports and queries. For the most part, we've been satisfied with what Altru has to offer. For the areas we find lacking (mostly volunteer management and merchandise), support offers a page where you can contribute an idea for improvement to be voted on, and we have seen some of these implemented in the update releases which are scheduled every 45-90 days. We are only in our first year of use, but I think down the road we will have the majority of our needs figured out. The interface is relatively easy to learn for basic tasks (e.g. daily sales) and query can be used for more complex information, although we do wish there were more reports straight out of the program. The support team is very knowledgeable and readily available and the Altru Community is full of other users who can also help you through your specific question or issue.
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Definitely not a great took for volunteer management ”

ProsFrom what I can see, this software looks like it could be a great tool for some applications. As I mean it is great for the money if you are looking to have a tool to maintain unlimited accounts, but that is really the only true good aspect of it.
ConsI have head to use the software for volunteer management at several locations, and to be honest besides from keeping track of personal information the volunteer side is terrible. They trying to force you to buy they're really expensive side a volunteer management, but there are better programs out there for much cheaper. To give you an example, to run a report you literally have to go through 8 to 10 steps and hope it is what you're looking for. It is really not user friendly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Jose O.
Information Services Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2015

“great way to keep track of our constituents”

OverallI have been working with the Altru system for over three years now. I really like how extensive the CRM is. I am able to keep track with all of our constituent activity as well as our sales. Altru has also been a huge improvement for ticket sales as well! Before Altru, we used Ticketmaster. Due to Ticketmaster being heavily reliant on codes, errors were common. Altru made it a lot easier for our associates to sell admissions, make reservations and report revenue. Altru is a fairly young CRM, but it has made leaps of improvements throughout the years. The online webforms are still in development and in need for some improvements. Because the Altru community is very responsive and the fact that the developers listen to the client's concerns, I am confident that Altru will become greater than it is now!
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2015
Celina D.
Operations Associate
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Well Rounded Software”

OverallI think i's a great software all around for any organization
ProsI appreciate all of the options and customization that Altru offers. It's great for keeping track of tours, donations, events, ticket sales, etc. It is a great all around management program for any organization
ConsI think the navigation on Altru can be a bit tricky. It takes a while to get used to it, but when you get the hang of it, it gets a little easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Audrey M.
Systems Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2015

“Worth the work”

OverallWe have been with Altru for over three years and in that time have seen constant improvement and updates to the product. Their support staff is the best I have ever seen with any software company. Altru is a very detailed system and it covers so many areas that have so many intertwining cogs that it can be difficult to navigate for some users and it can be a bit cumbersome. However, they are continually updating the product to make it easier to use and cut down on some of the steps, which helps. Overall, it's worth it because being able to track so much of our data in one system, giving us a well-rounded view of our constituents and how people are interacting with our organization is incredibly helpful.
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2015
Jasmin P.
Virtual Field Trip Teacher
Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017

“Altru helps us keep appointments and track payments”

OverallIt helps us keep everything straight. We are able to track multiple payment types for many different activities.
ProsAltru has a wonderful feature of copying appointments and holding them for you to reschedule. I love how there is a database of clients and you can easily search for them. Once selected it will automatically fill in all of the information.
ConsIt is not very user friendly for new users. If a mistake is made there isn't a way to undo it. Sometimes there are issues with payments when entered and you have to go in and delete the payment type and write it in yourself. I also don't like how when you check in a group it automatically submits their payment (box is checked automatically). If you don't remember to uncheck it there is no way to undo it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017
Mary R.
Admission assistance
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“User friendly”

ProsI enjoy the ability to navigate different ways to get the same result, it helps with training people who learn and think in different patterns.
ConsIt can be very slow processing non-button functions and doesn't duel screen well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Bill S.
CFO
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Fully integrated our POS, CRM, facility management to our accounting.”

ProsIntuitive design. Our team loves it. We are still learning which is great. The capacity of the system is rich.
ConsSome integration with on-line banking is not yet working well. Sometime the processing seems slow but this could be our internet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Christian T.
Researcher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“ completely cloud based, and allows unlimited user licenses at no extra charge, so you can sell tick”

ProsAltru can be accessed from anywhere. If we hold an event off-site, we can still handle admissions/registrations so long as there is a network.
ConsThere is no online sales for merchandise. The online shopping experience needs improvement. Visitors expect Amazon-level ease-of-use and Altru just isn't there yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Lindsay R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2015

“First Year with Altru - Good, effective product”

OverallWe had a good experience with our conversion. It was a lot of work, but through the process, we were able to transfer clean data with few issues. We just completed the first year of service with Altru. We slowly converted our databases into the database, beginning with our donor database. We still have a few areas to add to Altru but have found it to be a great tool to store a wealth of information.
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Altru - software review”

OverallUse at a nonprofit to take sales and keep track of events
ProsAltru is direct and straight to the point. It has a places to include a lot of information which can be good for creating thorough profiles.
ConsWhen pulling results, it only pulls primary information and if the information is not loaded correctly, it can be a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Stephanie M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2015

“Very easy to use”

OverallAltru is very easy to use, we are able to track so many pieces of information on our customers and tailor mailings to their interests.
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2015
Jim N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2015

“Easy to use and unencumbered with unnecessary features ”

OverallEasy to use and learn. Selling online through web for memberships, donations, and events has become easier to set up along with creating email acknowledgments.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2015