JAMS Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5

About JAMS

Enterprise workload automation and job scheduling for the modern enterprise. Schedule, monitor, and manage critical cross-platform workloads from a centralized solution. Automate smarter using triggers, dependencies, and sophisticated workflow logic. Manage jobs through a desktop or web client, or through APIs. Eliminate manual processes and deliver superior service levels in all areas of enterprise IT. Learn more about JAMS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Bruce C.
Software Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“JAMS helps IT do their job”

OverallOur team has used JAMS extensively to manage a number of different tasks/processes on several different servers and different operating systems (unix/windows) with a number of different methods such as scripting (bash/powershell) and SSIS calls and calling URL endpoints as well. This is a very flexible tool and it works well for our IT services team.
ProsJams is a pretty full featured job schedule tool. Jobs can be scheduled to run on repeated (hourly) or one time. Jobs can be tired or chained if you want as well. The interface is well done so you don't spend a lot of time finding what you need to modify or update a job. My favorite feature is the email log for completed or errored jobs, so you can get right to work - from your email tool by viewing the log.
ConsI have found that the search/query tool doesn't default to the current day when I'm looking for a job. I realize that some users want to keep the query as they left it - thus the need to keep the previous dates and query string. Perhaps a "reset to default" button to clear everything up and get the query tool ready to use would be helpful.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Thanks for the great feedback, Bruce! We're thrilled that JAMS continues to be a useful tool for you and the team. The search/query behavior is very powerful, but something we're actively working to improve upon from an end-user's perspective. Be sure to keep a close eye on the Release Notes for an update on that front in the near future! If there's anything else you need, or features you'd like to see added to JAMS that could benefit the user base, please don't hesitate to reach out to your JAMS account rep or JAMS Support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Nancy G.
Engineer IV - Systems, IT-Data Management
Package/Freight Delivery, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019

“JAMS ease of use, ease of understanding”

OverallVery positive. It is a great tool for a variety of teams to use. At our site, the non-production JAMS instance is used to insure the jobs / setups work as expected BEFORE being deployed to Production. And once in Production, Setups & Jobs can be visually monitored by the general public. A variety of notifications on a job's status can be sent automatically, thus eliminating the need to involve valuable "production" resources to answer routine inquires of process owners. Win-win!
ProsJAMS has an amazing amount of processing capabilities available. However, the support team is an invaluable part of the product. The support team has been fantastic in helping me to understand what capabilities are available and exactly how to use them. Response to on-line chat requests are answered very quickly. They offer to set up GoToMeetings for hands on assistance. And, on the rare occasion the technician doesn't know the answer, he will find the answer for you! Amazing! They take customer support seriously! The product is tremendously robust too!
ConsIt can seem a little clunky when using the UI. Sometimes the response time in viewing the detail screens is slow. However, it is difficult to know if it is the JAMS product or our environment that is slow in rendering results.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on June 4, 2019
Thanks for the review, Nancy! We always appreciate hearing success stories like yours, and strive to provide industry leading support to all of our customers. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you ever need anything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019
Craig H.
JAMS Administrator
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“JAMS Scheduler From HelpSystems”

OverallAs I stated above, I have been using JAMS since 2009 and here it is now 2019. JAMS is easy to install and once up and running JAMS just keeps on running. JAMS is extremely stable. The JAMS Support Staff is very knowledgeable and respond if needed very quickly. JAMS Support also resolves any issues quickly and resolves the issue the first time.
ProsI am the JAMS Administrator at one of the largest Banking Financial Institutions Worldwide. We have been using JAMS Scheduler since 2009 in our Credit Card Division and Mortgage Division scheduling and running thousands of batch reports worldwide each month with no issues, automatically running all jobs on time as scheduled and as requested. Another vendors scheduler system used in other divisions is called AutoSys. Once Line of Business partners see JAMS they ask: How do we convert from AutoSys to JAMS.
ConsCONS would be just that during major upgrades from one release version to the next higher release version, ex: version 6 to version 7 migration, the new version is NOT backwards compatible, thereby causing to have to perform the Big Bang approach to upgrading to the newest release.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Awesome review, Craig! We are extremely happy to have you as a long time customer, and proud of the fact that JAMS continues to be an integral part of Bank of America's ecosystem. Let us know if we can be of any assistance, and we look forward to continuing to strengthen our relationship with your team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Chris P.
Enterprise Development Mgr.
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Center of our universe”

OverallUsing JAMS at last 3 sites I've worked. There is no other competitive product in the price range. And should be included as part of any Direct Commerce system install.
ProsInterfaces with virtually everything we have running, Windows Server, Linux, iSeries and is the central part of the production environment. Proved to be a great catalyst for developing in PowerShell.
ConsClients tend to lose connection with server as it does not refresh consistently (v6), sometimes frustrating that other sessions will show different job statuses. Needs a frequent restart, not just a simple refresh.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Great review, Chris. Thanks for that! We often compare JAMS to the cardiovascular system of organizations, so your review title is very fitting. The JAMS Client connection can be affected by the network being leveraged, however we've focused development efforts in newer versions of JAMS (V7) to increase resiliency between the JAMS Server and Clients. We hope you get a chance to check it out for yourself soon, as well as experience all the new features that come in V7! Of course, if you need anything, please don't be shy. JAMS Support or your account manager are always available!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
David W.
GIS Architect
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019

“More than just scheduling”

OverallWe have been very happy with the JAMS product and the Team @ MVPSI overall; the product is very stable and the vendor team is very responsive with issues and helping the customers.
ProsWe have found the flexibility of the JAMS product to give us a great breadth of use cases. Beyond just doing conditional job execution; we actually use it for workflow orchestration on larger processes where a job can monitor other jobs and continue or fail the larger process.
ConsThere have been growing pains shifting from the V6.5 to V7.x version of software so much changed in the UI/UX that getting use to the new front end has been tiresome. The installation process has also been problematic over the years; but appears to be more stable in the most recent version.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on June 4, 2019
Thanks for the great review, David! We hope you continue to enjoy the flexibility and robustness of JAMS, and always be sure to reach out to us if you ever need anything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019
Joseph F.
Sr Technology Engineer
Utilities, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Excellent Workload Automation Scheduler Solution”

OverallExcellent quality and reliability. The cost makes it a very simple option to go with considering what the software offers. A true Enterprise class workload automation solution.
ProsThe scheduler is very flexible and reliable as well as scalable. We use it for all our ERP transmissions and automation tasks and it's very easy to use! We also found it to be AWS cloud friendly.
ConsThe software could probably be even more intuitive for non technical people. Perhaps offer a forms interface that follows a workflow. To be fair, I don't think there isn't anything out there that offers this though it would be very helpful as it is a need.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Thanks for the great review, Joseph! JAMS is a very technical solution, and one of JAMS Development's recent initiatives has been to make it more intuitive for business end users. We hope you have a chance to check out the improvements soon! If there's anything else you need in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out to your account manager or JAMS Support. We're here to help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Greg E.
VP Application Development
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Best automation software for processing inbound/outbound files.”

OverallGreat files automation at all levels. Great dependency checking. The new Workflows are a great addition and very useful for full scale "thinking" by the flow or processes.
ProsVery configurable with PowerShell and many other languages.
ConsWhen I am in the system and I undock my laptop, the software loses it's connection to the server. So you have to close the software and reopen it. But that is the least of my worries.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Hi, Greg. Thanks for the review! It's great to hear that you're having success with your file processing and PowerShell jobs. Client connection is something that JAMS Development has been working to improve in newer version of V7.x, so hopefully you're able to upgrade soon for a better experience when undocking. If there's anything else we can do to help, please don't hesitate to reach out to JAMS Support. We're here to help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Mehul S.
Operations Analyst
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“JAMS Product Review”

OverallFirst and foremost JAMS helped us moving our windows based scheduled jobs which involved manual efforts. Since moving 100+ jobs to JAMS we no longer have to manually monitor the jobs. Overall, we're very pleased with the product and their customer support is exceptional.
ProsEase of use, Robust functionality, built in features like connecting to Oracle EBS, FTP, SFTP, FILE COPY to name a few.
ConsSo far none. Though we are on version 6.5 which lacks some reporting features but moving to 7.x version soon. And hopefully we will have what we want.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Thanks for the review, Mehul! We are glad that JAMS has freed you and your team from manually monitoring Jobs across your various systems. If you need a hand with V6.5, or making the move to V7, please don't hesitate to reach out to JAMS Support. We're always here to lend a hand if you need anything!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Jerry F.
IT Manager
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019

“Enterprise Automation at its Finest”

OverallVery impressed with the support and pre sales teams technical knowledge. Top notch team and product.
ProsEasy to use. Nice web client. Easy to maintain, setup, update and on-board new users. This tool literally saves our organizations hours each day. Endless opportunity to add automation around the organization.
ConsWindows only can make it tough in a mixed environment but we do just fine with it.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Thanks, Jerry! Ease of use is a main point of focus for us as we continue to develop JAMS, so we're glad that you find the tool easy to use while also saving your company time. JAMS Support is always available if you need assistance with anything!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“JAMS is a legitimate scheduling system for our scheduling needs”

OverallWe are using JAMS Scheduler to schedule business process in Higher Education, including job scheduling with Ellucian Banner as our ERP. As now configured, JAMS has been working seamlessly without interruption.
ProsWe were able to transition from much more scheduling systems to JAMS for a small fraction of what our annual costs had been.
ConsJAMS Scheduler has had some technical bumps that have required careful testing and sometimes clever workarounds. However, JAMS Support has been incredibly helpful and proactive to work with in identifying issues, assisting us with workarounds, and promptly addressing bug fixes. Concerning the bumpts, JAMS has improved immensely during the past 18 months that we have owned the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Wholesale, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Jams: How to automate OpenVMS...and more”

OverallCore functionality was interfacing with an Alpha server running on OpenVMS software. We needed a way to better automate the processing. Also important was to get notifications if things went wrong, and for a non-programmer to quickly resolve issues that might come up. We did not want them looking through batch files and trying to figure out what failed and when.
ProsOne of the few programs on the market that integrates well with OpenVMS via a native agent.
ConsDebugging of scripts is more burdensome than it could be, but I like the audit capabilities where you can roll back to previous versions of a job very easily.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Stephen T.
OS Analyst
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“A Fully capable task scheduling system”

OverallSadly at this time, after spending a year attempting to deploy, JAMS is not the product for us. Not that it could not be, just simply that it is not a seamless replacement to our existing product and the amount of time to convert (re-write) all the current tasks. Variables and passing arguments to chained procedures may be possible under JAMS, however the non-capital investment and general lack of understanding of the issues at hand caused this deployment to fail.
ProsBoth Client-Server and Web app interfaces available. Supports task scheduling on Windows and Unix/Linux platforms
ConsUses old programming utilities and modules. Sales in-correctly represented the ability to seamless migrate to the product from our current job scheduler.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Gerard N.
consultant
Banking, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019

“JAMS review”

OverallVery Good product, pity about the license issue with copy jobs
Prosintuitive use an most features that we need very good support
Consthat a simple copy of the jams log is regarded as a job for license purposes

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on June 4, 2019
Thanks for the review, Gerard. We're glad to hear that JAMS suits your needs thus far and we look forward to continuing working with you and your team. If you haven't already, it may be worthwhile reaching out to JAMS Support (support.jamsscheduler.com) for a quick health check to see if we can alleviate any concerns that you have regarding the JAMS Log jobs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Davesh M.
DevOps Intern
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Excellent idea for software, clients, and scheduling. However, very buggy and not well executed”

ProsThe idea of having JAMS scheduler handle jobs and monitor them is fantastic and is the best solution so far for batch jobs while managing 20-50 servers.
ConsSoftware is extremely buggy, web client is almost unusable, constant updates, clients sometimes crashes leaving an entire system useless until restarted, sometimes updates fail wasting company time in reverting state

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on April 10, 2019
Thank you for the feedback! JAMS is constantly being enhanced and improved, so we hope your overall experience also improves with each release. If you have specific enhancement requests that you feel would help make the product better, please feel free to contact your JAMS account rep or JAMS Support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Dan P.
systems admin
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Jammin with JAMS”

Overallscheduling application and development jobs for the entire University
Proswe able to schedule systems job with ease
Consinterface even though it has been updated is a little lackluster

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on May 3, 2019
Thanks for the review, Dan! UX is a big initiative for JAMS Development, so we will continue working to make for a seamless experience in JAMS. In the meantime, let us know if you need anything from JAMS Support or your account management team. We're always here to help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Tron N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“Great implementation for automating processes”

OverallJAMS is the centerpiece for our organization in completing automated processes and deployments to production environments. Easy to use, excellent visibility and audit trail.
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016