Protean Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Protean

Process manufacturing solution for pharmaceutical, life sciences, food & beverage, and chemical companies. Learn more about Protean

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jonathan B.
Commercial Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Protean has transformed how we operate and do business”

OverallMuch quicker to issue jobs, get them done, get the info, quote for repairs and invoice on the completion. Complete traceability of events, no lost emails or 'who's dealing with this' scenarios. The engineers can take photos on their phone and send them straight to the office via Protean to ensure we quote for and order the correct replacement part.
ProsAll relevant modules in one place with live data and analysis using the Protean Intelligence feature. No need for additional spreadsheets to support it, it's all here in one package. Excellent telephone and email customer support with webinars, videos, and online help also available. Easy to use app which isn't web based so doesn't rely on network connection for continued usage Regular software updates. Protean are receptive to enhancement requests for future updates to their software.
ConsEnhancement requests can take a while to implement, but any bugs found are usually ironed out quickly. Bespoke reports or specific software changes can be quite costly. Learning curve can be steep for new software users due to power of software (it doesn't hold your hand through processes), but classroom training is available in Coventry.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Barrie P.
Director
Facilities Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Very Happy Customer”

OverallFrom the initial discussion we had through to the implementation and eventual roll out of the system Protean were absolutely brilliant, I remember the go live day, we had one of their support guys on site to help deal with any last minute issues, there were none !!! by 10am we were drinking coffee and chatting. As a business owner you need to be sure you have good systems in place so that staff can undertake the work quickly and efficiently. I have no problem recommending Protean, we are all very happy with the system.
ProsIt is tried and tested so when a new release comes out it works every time. Once you understand the system it is very powerful and can produce a lot of very useful information. The quality of the end result paper work that the customer sees is very good. although this is an off the shelf product it can be adapted to most situations. (more than others on the market)
ConsWhen looking initially it can be a little confusing as it looks complicated, that soon goes away once you understand the layout. The web portal could look a bit nicer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Simon M.
Head of After Sales
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2017

“Protean is core to our operations and their support is excellent. ”

ProsProtean is very user friendly and intuitive for the users. New users find it very easy to work with and can quickly get a grasp of the basics. The support we get from Protean is very good, the help desk team are very responsive and can usually resolve any issues very quickly. The engineer PDA's are simple and clear to use and we are looking forward to the improvments in the planner board. Protean are evolving their product and listen to our feedback positively.
ConsAt times we find that the reporting is a bit clunky, but we are told this will be resolved when we upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2017
Nigel P.
Operations Director
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“Have been using the software for over 10 years, would not consider using anything else”

OverallControl of our operations, invoices out on time, visibility of our performance
ProsThe ability to extract data to Excel and to do the acrobatics thereafter, quick and easy analysis is possible. There is a full audit trail to satisfy the finance auditors. Support is excellent, the support staff know their product inside out.
ConsGetting non standard reports can be costly and takes time, but that's about it. We use multi currency features which was a challenge to get it working properly, but it works perfect now
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Andy D.
Director
Facilities Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“One year in”

Overallwe have combined all our separate systems into protean with great success
ProsVery user friendly, saves a huge amount of time.
Consmulti equipment jobs can be difficult to make corrections if not done correctly first time
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
James S.
PROPRIETOR
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2017

“EXCELLENT PRODUCT, MADE MY BUSINESS EFFICIENT AND SAVES SO MANY HOURS”

OverallMY BUSINESS LOOKS MORE PROFESSIONAL AND MOVING WITH TECHNOLOGY. I HAVE SAVED ENDLESS HOURS ON PAPER WORK AS THIS SOFTWARE SAVES THAT WORRY. MY DATABASE GETS BUILT BY THE DAY USING THIS SOFTWARE - MAKING MY BUSINESS MORE VALUABLE.
ProsI FIND THE EASE OF QUOTING & INVOICING INVALUABLE, AND SAVES ME HOURS OF TIME ON ADMIN, WHICH WHEN YOU ARE A NEW BUSINESS THAT EXTRA TIME CAN BE USED TO MUCH GREATER BENEFIT. TRACKING STOCK AND PLANNING THE ENGINEERS DAY FOR WEEKS AHEAD IS ALSO GREAT.
ConsSO FAR I HAVE NOT COME ACROSS ANY CONS, THE ONLY ISSUE WAS TRANSFERRING FIGURES ACROSS TO SAGE WAS NOT POSSIBLE BUT THE ISSUE WAS RESOLVED VERY QUICKLY
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2017
Bryn T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2017

“Protean, 6 years on.”

OverallWe are a Tail Lift repair and maintenance company, and have been using Protean for six and a half years. The beauty of this system is everything is in one place, for us being able to type in a registration number and find all the information on the type of lift fitted, model, serial number, year of manufacture etc, pull up every job we have done, who did it, when it was done, who signed it off, what parts were fitted, where the parts came from, in a few seconds allows us to provide our customers with outstanding service and back up. One of our biggest customers fleet department recently had an audit, and our job sheets and examination reports were commended for being the most concise and easy to follow the auditor had seen. We have just started the process of becoming ISO 9001 accredited, the consultant commented on how much easier the process will be, because of protean with its ease of traceability and proof of processes. We highly recommend Protean
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2017