PagerDuty Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About PagerDuty

PagerDuty is an agile incident management solution that integrates with ITOps and DevOps monitoring stacks to improve operational reliability and agility. From enriching and aggregating events to correlating them into actionable alerts, PagerDuty streamlines the incident management lifecycle by reducing noise and resolution times. PagerDuty offers hundreds of native integrations with operations tools, as well as automated scheduling, advanced reporting, and guaranteed reliability. Learn more about PagerDuty

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 50 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 50 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Michael H.
System Administrator - AppDynamics Administration and Engineering
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Pager Duty - Proof you get what you pay for”

OverallWe immediately handled the overflow of noise from Nagios, AppDynamics, Dotcom-Monitor, SCOM(from our dc provider) and were able to drop a cellular device using the centralized phone contact with Pager-Duty. We also were able to put our on-call schedule into PagerDuty to realize immediately who was on-call for what product, in what region. There was a very immediate value add realized from even just trialing PagerDuty.
ProsI tried a competitor's product which was a free notification manager up to 11 people. It took me 3 days to get anywhere with a basic task of integrating 3 of our noisiest alerts. Then I tried the PagerDuty trial and got 2 of our noisiest alerts built out in 1 day. I added 3 more over the next 2 days to go well over the targeted mark. Coworkers were excited to help put time and effort into the system as opposed to the free tool which I couldn't seem to get any traction with. The alerts were immediately available, they were easy to get posting to my cell phone, and adding additional users was a cinch. The tool unfolds and becomes more useful the more time you put into it where some tools you struggle to get right and then you're afraid to make changes.
ConsThe UI is a bit quirky in the scheduler which is a pretty important view if you have a rotating on-call shift you're trying to tie down. There was a lot of "can't delete before you delete elsewhere" scenarios where there could have been a "will also delete these elsewhere, are you sure?" scenarios. What you gain in ease of use and stability in the mobile platform you lose in overall functionality, it is simple almost to a fault and while it seems silly there's no skinning of the mobile app to better suit your personality in a hyper-customized world. I'll know shortly if they're willing to go longer but they seem to be sticklers for the exact trial length + only a little. Corporations interested in putting in a full month long or longer trial that may need that amount of time to show value, create a SOW, and have a PO issued may be stuck in limbo for a few weeks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Jo B.
Computer Networking, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“From 10,000 emails to one actionable alert: PagerDuty”

OverallI started trialling PagerDuty and other alert aggregation services after accidentally sending myself 10,000 emails. One thing PagerDuty does and does well, is cut through the noise, and helps you focus on the actionable issues. With integration with almost every alerting tool out there, including basic email - integrating a PagerDuty alert into your application or service is far too easy. The pricing is reasonable, and the phone and SMS alerting options work well, even in New Zealand. The PagerDuty app itself makes being on call so much easier, with simple acknowledgement and resolution actions, next to escalation and incident collaboration features. Having user controlled customisation, you can setup the alerting to suit your connectivity and support your sleep. After 6 years on call for a critical NZ wide system, I can say PagerDuty is refreshing change to the game. Don't hate the pager...
ProsSimple setup and easy first alert. Comprehensive incident management, reporting and analytics to focus on what matters. Highly configurable alerting that is controllable by the recipient themselves. Easy escalation, resolution and communication features in mobile application and via the web. Well supported SMS and Phone alerting and incident management - Internationally Quick and easy support for the product - from a great PagerDuty team. Less noise, more actionable alerts with comprehensive de-duplication and alert filtering options.
ConsPagerDuty is unforgiving of poorly written interfaces generating errors and despite ignoring ones' phone while in meetings, the alert will get to you, no matter what you are doing! While I love the 'PagerDuty' alerting and am amused by the 'Engineer Laughing' alert sound - having more options for custom, per incident, alert notification sounds in the Mobile app would be great.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
Narinder S.
Sr Cloud Architect
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Pagerduty is Life Safer for DBA”

OverallOverall We are happy with this product from first day as it ease lot of manual intervention for any failure or critical alert which help us to maintain our SLA
ProsPagerduty is one of the premium product that provides the best oncall features for any organization which is looking less manual ways to manage the escalation, Pagerduty provides web interface along with Mobile app and integration with lot of API's (e.g Slack) which makes this product very useful for Infrastructure,DBA and Help Desk teams.
ConsSo far i don't see any noticeable short coming which need to be explored ,i have they will add more features in their mobile app along with little bit more stability as sometime their mobile app crashes on Andriod.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Antoine V.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 6, 2019

“Great functionality and features, Robotic interface/calling/messaging”

OverallOverall, Pagerduty was a great way for us to get started creating an alert system because it's easy of use and integrates. It works well and has little to no downtime and provides a ton of features and is really reliable. However, the UI is not intuitive and pretty and the alert system is robotic making it not "fun" to use. It is pricey overall if you don't intend to use all of its features.
ProsThe thing I like most about Pagerduty is how easy it is to set-up, get working, and consistently be reliable to send alerts at proper times. These things made it easy for us to integrate into our software using their API.
ConsIt is a bit pricey, especially if you don't plan on using all of the functionality and features that PagerDuty. For us, PagerDuty was overkill for the kind of alert/messaging system we were looking for so we were paying extra for these features we weren't using. Secondly, the alert/messaging system feels pretty robotic and is not very customizable. It feels like Pagerduty was built for engineers thought it could be used in other sectors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018

“Simple, but powerful...”

OverallOur experience has been good, but it all depends on your implementation. If you don't plan your implementation and set your rules properly, you're going to have a bad time. Read through the implementation guides and best practices before you pull the trigger on making this product live.
ProsPagerDuty makes it so easy to set up your paging rules and schedules as well as integrate it with your monitoring solution. We use it with What's Up Gold and it does a wonderful job of making sure that the right people are informed of an outage.
ConsSometimes if there are multiple alerts in a short amount of time, you can get overwhelmed with notifications and phone calls. I've been in the situation before where when being paged multiple times at once, I couldn't actually acknowledge the pages because my phone kept getting called over and over again for different alerts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Patrick W.
IT Consultant
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2018

“Bring all your monitoring tools together”

OverallWe have been able to roll out this tool to our team as well as others that we work along side. It has made it much easier to communicate alerts that are received. It has also significantly lowered the amount of noisy alerts that we receive as well as assist us in not missing alerts when we are not at our desks. A very convenient tool to have.
ProsThis tool makes monitoring so much easier by bringing everything into one place. Easy to use, easy to set up, and already integrated into a lot of existing tools. Notification preferences, and schedules, and escalation policies make life SO much better!
ConsThe terminology is a little hard to wrap your head around. Has elements that are dependent on others and makes it hard to clean up after you have already set it up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2018
Kevin V.
Software Architect
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 21, 2018

“Solid solution for on call devops”

ProsPager Duty overall is a great solution for handling on call escalations for server and environment issues. It makes it easy to integrate with third part solutions to generate actionable alerts for on call engineers. If you are using a product that doesn't natively integrate with Pager Duty (which is rare), you can use their email integration to submit issues that way.
ConsThe interface for adjusting the on call schedule could be improved - when updating a schedule to cover an engineer while they are on vacation, it can be really confusing to setup.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 21, 2018
Nizam S.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Want to receive less complaints from management about response time?”

Overall Need a pay rise? Get PagerDuty! OK, subscribing to PagerDuty does not guarantee you a pay rise, but it will definitely lessen the number of complaints from your bosses in regards to the response time to server downtime. However, this may lead to a neat pay rise when your bosses realized that you are getting more efficient in resolving the downtime. Not only will PagerDuty alert you of server downtime, but it will literally alert you of any incidents that you may or have encountered (e.g email from clients, email from data centers, servers reaching a certain threshold, etc). Another feature that it has is that it can integrate with most of the tech sites out there (AWS, HipChat, Pingdom, etc). For Pingdom, instead of having Pingdom alerting us for every downtime, we just integrate it with PagerDuty. PagerDuty IS our focal point of alert for all our monitoring systems. With the scheduling feature, your team will be able to monitor the servers' health 365/24/7. With PagerDuty, our response time had improved tremendously and this leads to a decrease in potential revenue loss. We had tried its competitors out there (shan't name them), but nothing come close to PagerDuty. The only drawback is its pricing. However, the quality and service (and don't forget the potential thousands that it can save you) provided by PagerDuty is second to none. Highly recommended for businesses that depends on 24/7 servers uptime and definitely for business that provides 24/7 support.
Pros1) Alerts for all kinds of incidents 2) Integration with most of the common and popular monitoring and tech sites 3) Easy-to-use scheduler
ConsPricing (its value over cost depends on the potential revenue loss for your business)
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
Avatar Image
Filip T.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Making sure you're up in the middle of the night”

ProsWhile not super easy to setup, it's generally a one time things. Once you've configured PagerDuty you're free to explore all the integrations available. We use it connected to our AWS monitoring, DataDog, Rollbar and bunch of custom integrations. PagerDuty also helped us reduce to amount of alerts - it's easy to go to far, and being woken up in the middle of the night for something completely irrelevant helps you make better decisions about platform monitoring.
ConsNot all the escalation rules are clear. Editing schedules could be easier - if you do that on a one-off basis it's usually by trial and error.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018

“After hours queue management hasn't been easier”

OverallIf you don't have a 24-hour support center/team, this is a great tool to manage your queue in after hours scenarios.
ProsVery simple to manage and make adjustments to the operational flow for our team. The app is straightforward and works well. Text message and phone call features also are very hepful.
ConsThe setup wasn't the easiest. Integrating our support took a little time to ensure that it was functioning correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2018
Avatar Image
laura c.
IT Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“Pager Duty is powerful tool used for production support in a best way.”

ProsPager Duty consists of quite simple set up. It provides quick alerts for all sorts of incidents. It is integrated with the most common and famous monitoring and technology sites which is considered to be the most interesting feature. This is the straight forward app that works very well. It's feature of text messaging and phone call are equally helpful. Simply by login on call process, one can easily see schedule for all the team workers involved.
ConsThere are not any downsides of this software. One of the issue is setting up escalation levels in the beginning seems to be difficult. While integrating our support, it takes quite long time to make sure whether it is working correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Avatar Image
Victoria C.
CTSS (Client Tech Support Specialist)
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Tool used for notifications of Priority 1 tickets for our Hosting team.”

OverallKnowing that you will get notified if a High priority ticket gets in the queue (without having to pick at your phone every time you get a work email like it used to be before PagerDuty).
ProsYou can login and see the schedule for all the teams involved in the on call process. It is nice to be able to find out not only about the current week, but the future on call times as well.
ConsThe reminders when your on call turn ends. I see the need for the reminder when starts, but I don't really see the point of the reminder when it ends.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
harmandeep singh s.
Graduate Assistant
Banking, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 17, 2018

“Bulletproof Alerting”

ProsTrustworthy notifications with user configurable channels. I like alerts by text and app, with a phone call backup. I don't know what the other guys on my team have set up. It has a mobile app You can set it override system volume so you can still hear your alerts even if you forgot to turn the volume up on your device Ability to set how many and how often you are alerted before it ends up escalating to the next person.
ConsThere is some rigidity to the scheduling which has some obvious workarounds that work for us. Does currently not integrate with Logicmonitor via the API. - Nobody likes getting up at 2 AM.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“I have used pagerduty in my previous assignments. It's really a cool tool and on time. ”

ProsTimely alerting and love the pagerduty smartphone app user friendliness.the best part of this app is integration with almost anything. Good work on that.
ConsOnly grieveance I have is they have lot of improvements scope in their support team. I have had a not the best experience whenever I needed technical support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Crucial and Fantastic”

OverallI'm not really sure how I lived without PagerDuty. Once I started using it, I can't imagine not using it. Our ops group was/is small, and we needed eyes on at all hours, with a failsafe way to make sure someone got woken up. PagerDuty has been dutifully letting us know things are broken for 3 years, for a fraction of the cost of a manned "NOC".
ProsFirst and foremost, that it works as advertised. The core product has done what its supposed to do without fail for us. Additionally, the ability to effortlessly set overrides to schedules is something I've found very helpful. But perhaps more than anything, honestly, are the people. Everyone I've interacted with, be it emails with support, or discussions with our rep on the phone has been fantastic. They're enthusiastic, know the product, and eminently helpful.
ConsI can only think of one minor thing: the phone number that alerts come from has a tendency to change. In some senses though, this is a bit of a "pro". From discussion with support, this changes because of the redundant outbound calling facilities used. So I'm happy to trade the minor inconvenience of occasionally not recognizing a number as being PagerDuty in return for knowing that my alerts will go out.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
vijay k.
Software Engineer 3
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019

“Good oncall management service”

ProsEasy to use oncall management system. Pagerduty has integrations with major monitoring SAAS and open source tools. Pagerduty product features are easy to understand and less learning curve. You can get your own domain name first half if you are a big enterprise customer.
ConsTheir certain features have limitations such as their Live Call routing only allows single digit dial. They can expand that. Also, their API have some limitations and sometimes to get an object you might have to make 2-3 calls depending on what you want to retrieve through API.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Chris S.
Lead System Engineer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“A Good Tool for On-Call Teams”

OverallI'm glad my workplace has PagerDuty to ensure our notifications get routed and escalated correctly. We dabbled with alot of other methods and products to do what PagerDuty does and it gets the job done.
ProsIts straightforward, yet flexible, mostly easy to connect with your monitoring service and get using right away. The schedules are not the most flexible, but that probably just creates more consistency. The notification options ensure that your engineers/techs wont miss their notification.
ConsA little costly for small shops for a service that many other services or home-build products can do, but it does it well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
CANH V.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“Assigning incidents to right people at right time”

OverallHelp us to respond on time customer incidents. With multiple level responding configuration, we can believe we don't miss any urgent incidents.
ProsA powerful alerting mechanism helps quickly connect security incidents and outages to right people. I love the way it is designed to escalate incidents to people at many levels. It guarantees that an incident must be notified to at least a right person.
ConsIn the case where a person answers "Acknowledged", I would like it to have an easier way to temporarily turn off repeated alerts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018

“Works For Me”

ProsIt has been able to do everything I have wanted. API integration to email integration, it has worked great.
ConsNot much negative to say, it's a straight forward and easy to use software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018
Bryan F.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Invaluable Service, Great Team!”

OverallPagerDuty has been one of the most useful services we've purchased as a consulting firm. Our company does 24/7 monitoring of customer systems, and the ability to have an automated system contact us whenever there is an urgent issue has really helped push our service to the next level. The application is very easy to work with, changes take minimal time to implement, and if you have any questions, the product team is always incredibly helpful.
Pros- Let's you set up on call rotations with multiple users. - The product can be set up to contact you in various ways sequentially (eg email first, then text, then call). - Lots of useful integration with other apps, and a developer API. - Incredibly cost effective for how important the service is. - Reliable! In three years I've never once ran into an issue where the system failed to contact a person, or where the application configuration was unavailable (that was unplanned).
Cons- The only con i can think of is that setting up escalation levels is a little confusing at first. After working with it for about half hour it makes sense and you'll be setting up on call schedules quickly and easily.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2019

“Great tool for on-call teams/systems!”

OverallOverall, we're very pleased with PagerDuty and it is an essential system within our organization!
ProsWe loved how PagerDuty allowed us to improve our customer service with quick and frequent reminders, easy access to messages in our system, and easy transfers/follow up functions!
ConsPagerDuty was not a particularly elegant-looking application. It's presentation and user interface, particularly on the mobile app, has some opportunity to make it more immediately accessible to new team members.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Piyush J.
Software Automation Engineer
Internet, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Good tool for production support”

OverallPagerDuty is used throughout our Technology department mainly for Production Support.
ProsPagerDuty allows for robust customization for escalation policies and time between escalation. It has a nice way to schedule primary and secondary on call support and notifies the person when they're on call or off call.
ConsThere should be an ability to snooze bulk of incident at the same time, currently we would have to do it incident by incident.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Daniel U.
Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“Mostly positive experience. I believe the functionality could be enhanced further. ”

ProsI like that it's simple to use and does it's main job well. I get alerted properly and it's easy to acknowledge incidents.
ConsI believe the functionality could be a little cleaner and more enhanced. I'd like to see it integrate with our ticketing system better.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Excellent product. Everything you need, nothing you don't.”

ProsPagerduty has great scheduling features and excellent options for customizing your notifications. You can use this service for *all kinds* of notification needs, hardware, software, hook it up to API's and the sky's the limit.
ConsPagerduty has one type of pricing structure, they don't match the use of the software, so one account could have 1 user and 60,000 alerts/year and it will cost a tenth the price of an account with 10 users that gets 1 alert/year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2018

“The integration with Slack is a MUST!”

ProsPagerDuty has a nice way to schedule primary and secondary on call support and notifies the person when they're on call or off call. Also, Slack integration!!!
ConsI would like to see PagerDuty mobile app allow users to add and customize alerts with email, text or phone calls.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2018
Pascal L.
Release Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Great way to call somebody when something goes wrong”

ProsGreat and simple api. PagerDuty will fit easily with pretty much any software. Great feature for people on duty to select the proper way to reach them. SMS, email, phone call ....
ConsEscalation rules are sometimes really hard to properly configure. Is it difficult to see in what order people will be called
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Paul V.
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
May 1, 2015

“In control 24/7”

OverallWhat would we do without you? (Possibly sleep better!). We couldn't be without PagerDuty (PD). Our 24/7 out of hours on call service relies intrinsically on PD letting us know when we have an issue and ensuring the right people are contacted at the right time. We have been using PD for a number of years now and its initial fostering enabled us to give lives back to our shift support team who had to cover our non-core hours (night shift!). We haven't looked back since. Everything about the service has been improved and polished in the years since. No resting on your laurels here PD, I salute you. Keep up the great work.
ProsSuperb breadth of notification options, be it call, text or app. Extremely easy to integrate with our range of different monitoring solutions and very easy to configure to our needs.
ConsThose sometimes tiring weeks of on call where even the dulcet tones of your friendly PagerDuty alert can't alleviate the sleep deprivation and ensuing grumpiness!
Source: GetApp
May 1, 2015
Avatar Image
francis m.
program trainer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“Queuing of tasks has never been made easier.Security features is a dream come true to any business ”

ProsIntegration with various networking softwares made it easy to effectively response on down time issues on time.
ConsFor beginners it can be very difficult to use because of the long documentation and installation was difficult at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Payne (.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 20, 2016

“Moved to PagerDuty from Nagios”

OverallIn my previous job I helped maintain and manage our Nagios alert system. In my current job we use PagerDuty but I am not the maintainer of the system. I have found the phone app to be excellent. It is super nice to have a suite of tools that work with the system without many major configs or complex setup. I found that maintaining and pruning alerts to be pretty easy. It is nice to have pretty granular controls over who the alerts go to and when they escalate. It is also really nice to be able to control how I receive my alerts without having to talk to a sys admin.
ProsControl over my alerts Controls for team members and roles Integrated mobile app
ConsThird party login used to be really rough to work with but it has improved a ton in the past few months.
Source: GetApp
April 20, 2016
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018

“My team uses this for on-call rotation notification and application monitoring”

ProsIt hooks into services like New Relic and Node Ping, provides many different ways to notify an individual if there's an alert, and has a good escalation policy for un-acknowledged alerts.
ConsThe UI can be confusing at times, when you want to see a calendar of who is on call, it seems to be mixed up with many other teams and there's no easy/fast way to just see my own team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2018
Anthony G.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
May 1, 2015

“It just works”

OverallWhen setting up the monitoring and altering for our company, I tested out various services. As soon as I tested PagerDuty, I knew we had found what we were looking for. The ease of integration and flexibility of on call rotas is fantastic. To add to this, the price is very low and this really helped us as a startup. I would recommend the service to anyone that needs real time alerting for their applications. With PagerDuty hooked up to New Relic, Site 24x7 and SCOM, I feel really confident that the right people will be alerted whenever we have a problem on our platform.
Pros- Low price - Excellent integrations - On call rotas - Escalation paths - Great iOS app
ConsI really can't think of any improvements that can be made that would improve this service any further for me. As long as the app and service continue to develop and improve at the same rate, I will be a happy customer.
Source: GetApp
May 1, 2015
John P.
CS Team Lead
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“Reliable solution for on-call duty”

OverallOur team benefits through better management of our on-call schedule
ProsI like the app and the notifications that are available. Additionally, it is very easy to go in and modify notification rules, phone numbers, etc.
Conslocating the correct on-call calendars is a bit cumbersome. The UI is a bit busy making 'first glance' assessments difficult
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Jeff W.
Computer & Network Security, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Powerful tool that keeps getting better”

OverallHaving used PagerDuty at two companies over the past three years I've seen it grow and improve from useful to invaluable. It handily beats using the scheduling built into Nagios and OpenNMS. Being able to aggregate of your alerts into one dashboard simplifies being on-call greatly. We're currently dumping OpenNMS alerts, Pingdom alerts, OpenTSDB thresholds, and manual alerts into PagerDuty and it consumes them all. With the new email parser you can pick apart the emails that come in to decide if they're opening or resolving an incident. I've had multiple sit-downs with the people at PagerDuty and I've always been impressed by their commitment to the customer. Nothing makes it into the product unless it serves a specific purpose and makes things better. Because let's be honest, when it's 4am you don't want complex and complicated. I recommend PagerDuty to everyone who does on-call work. It's that useful.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
Sagar D.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2018

“Great service for notification alerts for any infrastructure level changes”

ProsWe have been using this for creating alerts for various issues from our infrastructure for less downtime of our services.
ConsThe platform still has much to go to meet what we software engineers have been working with. The general user and developer perspective of the use case is confusing in times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Great product to make sure things are taken care of in emergencies!”

ProsI love PagerDuty. Hands down it is the greatest incident reporting tool out there. My team uses it for our on-call issues and I couldn't be more happy.
ConsThe ONLY downside I can think of would be the ease of use. It can be a little funny to navigate, but that's really not an issue for most of us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Jessica H.
L3 Support Supervisor
E-Learning, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018

“PagerDuty helps to keep us on our toes in managing our own company's software and services”

OverallThis software has helped our work teams to keep up with background processes we manage in our service, to ensure things continue to work smoothly, or to have them fixed as quickly as possible.
ProsOnce everything is set up properly for your team, alerts are sent out and managed without a problem. These alerts help us to ensure things are running smoothly with our own services.
ConsThe setup for this software can be confusing, with a lot of time wasted searching around for the one thing you need to edit/change in order for things to be changed or set up correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“When waking up at 2am is a GOOD thing”

ProsIt is a dynamic alerting tool that fits my entire organization's needs across several technical business lines.
ConsIt takes some tweaking to your alert schedules to ensure you are not getting over or under alerted when you are on call.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Gero S.
Computer Networking, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
May 7, 2015

“The one and only”

OverallA few years ago we implemented PagerDuty in one of our departments, today we use it company wide. It integrates easily with any monitoring or alerting tool. Since then, we never missed an important event. PagerDuty unified our companies on-call process and made it easy to manage and follow. No more forwarding phone numbers or handing "the phone" to the next person. End-user training is not required. The interface is self-explanatory.
Pros- Fair pricing - Sad Trombone sound - when your systems let you down. - Great app - Great text to voice (nobody gets up for just another email)
Cons- Does currently not integrate with Logicmonitor via the API. - Nobody likes getting up at 2 AM.
Source: GetApp
May 7, 2015
Lawrence S.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Easy On-Call Management/Alerting”

ProsWe use this software to manage our on-call rotations and it works really well, we use it to easily integrate into our systems that have alerting policies based on different criteria and will notify the people who can go in and fix it before our end-users know that something was down or broken. We are amazed at how well it works and how reliable it is as well!
ConsThe least thing that I liked about the software was that there wasn't a good way to integrate with flowdock our main chat application. We had to write a script to update an alias in flowdock so that other teams would be able to contact the main person on call at the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“Good alerting tool, confusing to set up”

ProsWe've used this for the past couple years, and it's a great tool that can be set up with various integrations that can be used to call,text or email a developer on call. We even integrated it with Hipchat and Microsoft teams. Escalation policies can be set up and it really helps when one person drops the ball.
ConsThe services, teams and escalation policies is very confusing and hard to set up at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Arthur D.
Founder
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“A very good tool in order to enable to you to have consistent alerts.”

ProsYou can integrate it with many tools and you can also set schedules for people to receive notification and also set organization level for alerts.
ConsIf you have someone on-call that doesn´t fall into the normal way in order to receive alerts, the system mais not be able to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Kristen R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016

“Great Automated On-Call Schedule Program”

OverallPager Duty is a great web-based application that allows you to set up automated on-call schedules. No more guessing who is on-call for what team. The setup is simple and works great. Best of all you can install it on any Smart Phone to receive alerts and quick acknowledge, resolve, or escalate incidents.
ProsIt has a mobile app You can set it override system volume so you can still hear your alerts even if you forgot to turn the volume up on your device Ability to set how many and how often you are alerted before it ends up escalating to the next person.
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016
Daniel B.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Bulletproof Alerting”

OverallAs a founder/owner/cto/vp/developer/engineer/support guy running a team of 7, we use this to give excellent customer service. We run a good shift rotation that keeps our guys healthy and this removes a lot of stress. Handling changes to rosters is easy and comfortable.
ProsTrustworthy notifications with user configurable channels. I like alerts by text and app, with a phone call backup. I don't know what the other guys on my team have set up.
ConsThere is some rigidity to the scheduling which has some obvious workarounds that work for us.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
David J.
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Couldn't work without it”

OverallForget the buzzwords: when there's an alert, PagerDuty phones the on-call person (not just an email or SMS, but a real phone call), and makes them acknowledge they're working on it. If you don't respond after X minutes, it escalates to your co-worker/boss/etc. Simple as that (but there's a lot more it can do). It brings humans into the loop to make sure alerts get acted on. I've trusted it since 2010 and it's never let us down. Whatever monitoring system you use, if you care about alerts getting acted on quickly, you need to hook it up with PagerDuty.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
Eli T.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015

“Works as advertised”

OverallAs a PagerDuty user who both administers the team and is on call, the PagerDuty app gives me access to everything I need when something is happening. We've reliably gotten pages and I prefer responding with the app over SMS.
ProsPages me when it should
ConsNone, it's fine. I've no use cases where it disappoints.
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2015
Fernando B.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
May 6, 2015

“Cant live without it”

OverallHow could we live without it? Who would tell me that stuff broke in the middle of the night?!
Pros- Awesome alerting system - Integrates with pretty much everything - Oncall rotation is sooo easy
Cons- Lack of sleep ? :)
Source: GetApp
May 6, 2015
Brian W.
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
November 24, 2015

Source: GetApp
November 24, 2015
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“Overall - a good service for being on a pager”

ProsPagerDuty lets track down incidents in a very efficient manner. I get phone calls whenever a critical incident happens, no matter where I am (as long as I have my roaming phone with me). Setting up escalation policies is also a great feature.
ConsThe UI/UX is not super intuitive (especially in the mobile app), but overall experience is positive. I'd just suggest PagerDuty team works on the UI/UX improvements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Selva kumar M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Source: GetApp
July 10, 2017

Source: GetApp
July 10, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“This is an excellent way to set up notifications.”

ProsIt is really easy to configure different types of notifications for different alerts.
ConsBeing paged. But really, it is difficult to come up with a meaningful improvement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018