MATLAB Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About MATLAB

A programming environment for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization, and numerical computation. Learn more about MATLAB

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 1068 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 1068 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Surendrika N.
Student
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“MATLAB for complex maths”

OverallI have used MATLAB for three years. In those years I have learned about MATLAB as well as I used it to solve so many mathematical problems. It is reliable, fast and also easy to use. The majority of engineering students as well as scientist are using MATLAB to achieve their purposes. But the person, who is going to use MATLAB to achieve his purposes, should have a proper knowledge about MATLAB. If someone uses MATLAB for solving very easy mathematical problems, I think it is unnecessary thing. According to my knowledge I think we should have proper understanding on that language to get more benefits.
ProsAs we all know, we use so many programing languages like c, java, MATLAB, HTML to communicate instructions to a machine. When we consider about benefits of MATLAB, it is very faster as well as comprehensive. Engineering students most probably use MATLAB for solving complex mathematical problems. But this language is also very familiar among scientist because it also eases their works. MATLAB provides helps to user for facilitating their tasks. It has so many syntax and keywords for different mathematical purposes. It gives us a chance to create functions as our needs. Therefore we can make functions to solve problems depending on our mathematical problems. MATLAB can be used as a calculator and it is very reliable. So the point of my view, as a person who is using MATLAB, I think it is very essential for engineering students.
ConsThough MATLAB is very essential to engineering and other students when solving mathematical problems there are some difficulties with it. It has great number of keywords for arithmetic. So it is difficult to memories all those keywords when solving problems. And if we get an error in our code I think it is somewhat difficult to debug. And the other thing is the time it takes to give us the answer. MATLAB is an interpreted language, so that it is slower than a compiled language. It means MATLAB takes some time to give us the answer. We have to wait for the answer. It cannot be bought freely and also people should have knowledge about MATLAB before it use otherwise it is not easy to work with this language.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Supun S.
Student
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“MATLAB - Matrix Laboratory”

OverallI recommend MATLAB if you handle heavy mathematical problems in your career. Otherwise it is not needed for a person who handles complex mathematical problems rarely because of the high cost. This software is especially suitable for engineers, scientists and mathematicians. Since MATLAB is fast, powerful and accurate software, those people can ease their work using MATLAB. MATLAB can be highly recommended for the data analysis purposes because the software gives out very accurate output for the processed raw data. MATLAB is a great tool for the commercial use, but not for the personal use.
ProsMATLAB is a programming language specially designed for mathematical works. From this software we can interact with complex mathematical problems such as matrix problems, functions, data analysis, plotting graphs, signal processing and much more complex engineering and scientific problems. Lots of mathematical functions are built-in with MATLAB. They can be use directly to solve our problems as our need. If the needed function is not available built-in, we can create one and save it for future use. Special keyword called "help" is designed in MATLAB to find the meaning of unknown keywords and how to use that keyword (i.e. If we want to find the meaning of keyword det, help det shows the meaning of keyword det and what can we done using this keyword. Also it shows how to use this keyword in MATLAB). There is a mobile application developed for MATLAB. We can solve some of the mathematical operations that are not much complex with the use of mobile application also. This option helped me a lot when the PC or laptop is not with me. Another advantage of MATLAB is the advanced user interface comes with software that eases the process of coding and debugging.
ConsSince MATLAB is used to compute complex mathematical operations, there are many functions, keywords and syntaxes are used in MATLAB. Therefore it is difficult to remember all these functions, keywords and syntaxes in our mind. Much time is required for the installation process of the software even in a high end computer. Same issue happens when executing the program also. We have to wait some time until the MATLAB is loaded before working on it. Also it uses higher amount of RAM. Because of this we cannot run MATLAB smoothly in a low end computer. Since MATLAB is mathematic related software it cannot be used as general purpose programming language. MATLAB is commercial software and the cost for the software also very high. Therefore it is not worthy if we buy it without a proper knowledge on MATLAB and how to get the maximum output from the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Muhammad A.
Engineering technician
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Matlab: The multi-paradigm computing software tool ”

OverallMatlab is an extremely powerful system modelling tool and development environment. Students and professionals that work in the engineering and science backgrounds will find this software invaluable.
ProsThe software allows users to perform complex computations (linear algebra, differential equations, integration transforms etc), system modelling, and develop programmed algorithms that can be executed and simulated. I used this software from my undergraduate days, whilst studying electronic engineering, to compute state space models of control systems and visually analyse control loops from their transfer functions using Matlab's programming script feature and graphing capabilities. I also used it to quickly develop, simulate (using the Simulink toolbox add-on), graphically observe and fine tune the performance of a PID controller which was much easier and quicker than manually calculating and plotting the solutions. Numerous mathematical processes that usually require multiple steps can be executed by a single prebuilt command on Matlab, e.g the [x , y] = cart2pol(theta, r) command converts Cartesian co-ordinates into polar co-ordinates; this greatly simplifies the programming and mathematical input required by the user. Since its latest update (R2019a), Matlab is fully capable of developing, simulating and training deep neural networks, autonomous systems and a lot more.
ConsDue to its extensive capabilities, this software can be complicated and over whelming for first time users. The complexity also inflates the memory requirements of the software. The syntax, notation and structure to input commands requires some time to get used to. Sometimes, when trying to achieve certain calculations, it leads to error messages that require some time to understand and correct. In fact, users need to understand the basic rules of linear algebra first (matrix multiplication, addition etc) in order to perform calculations because this program treats all numerical inputs as vectors/matrices. Users will also need to have some programming capabilities in order to fully utilize the computational capabilities of this software, which is similar in structure to C programming, using the propriety programming language that is developed by MathWorks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Chiranjib S.
Summer Intern
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“Essential for Engineers”

OverallI started with matlab from my undergrad days and still use it on daily basis for simulations and numerical analysis in my research work. Many industries (like the cellular network industry) heavily rely on Matlab for system level simulations. In my opinion, translating a pseudo code of any given algorithm to a working program is very easy in Matlab.
ProsMatlab is an essential scientific computing environment. It is a must have for all students studying science and engineering. The pros are-- 1. Easy manipulation of matrices. This is actually the main power of matlab. 2. Very intuitive way of writing program with no hassle of bookkeeping about data types, memory management, variable declarations etc which are essential for other programming languages. 3. Debugging tool is very easy to use. 4. One best feature is the GUI window for managing figures. A user can switch between the gui and the underlying code for generating any figures. This unique feature is absent in many of the advanced programming languages (like python or R, at least in the basic setup!)
ConsThe main problem is that it is not free. While the other open source languages have caught up Matlab in terms of ease of usage and availability of packages, Matlab is suffering due to its proprietary nature. A standard distribution of Matlab comes with a set of packages. For the other packages, one has to pay Mathworks for getting access. On the other hand, in Python or R, there are multiple packages available online and everything is free to use. After the recent boom in AI and machine learning, almost everyone has shifted to python to use the popular open source libraries released by several sources. Matlab being a proprietary software is failing to catch up to this fast evolving open source world!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Asad A.
Student
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“About working of matlab”

OverallI would state I've been utilizing MATLAB reliably for around 3 years, since my first year in doctoral level college. In undergrad, I may have utilized it a couple of times for a homework set. I say "I may have" in light of the fact that I don't exactly recollect that anything about it aside from that I had an establishment circle. My involvement in programming before MATLAB was some BASIC from youth and a smidgen of Pascal from a few courses in undergrad. My alumni counsel was an overwhelming MATLAB client, and my underlying knowledge with it included disentangling his MATLAB code for doing a few plots. In the meantime, I was taking a controls course which expected me to learn Simulink.
ProsI esteem MATLAB. It is so smart and easy to make programming to do what you require. It has amazing exploring and profiling devices. It is cross stage, making code easy to share (expecting alternate people have forked out for the not by any stretch of the imagination unobtrusive allow). It has interfaces to other programming. In any case, there are a couple of things about it that chafe me. I'd get a kick out of the opportunity to get warning from different people what things aggravate them about MATLAB.
ConsSupplanting subsref and subsasgn in a class is greatly awkward. The issue is this. Expect you override subsref with the true objective to change lead of obj(...). By then your subsref is moreover required the dialect structure obj.propname. With the objective for it to manage this viably (i.e. carry on the proportional as the intrinsic subsref) it needs to reimplement all of the checks for access confirmations that are normally done by the system. For precisely how precarious this is, see our rep's answer for my request here. Beside this genuine inconvenience, it's furthermore inefficient for each subsref to need to switch on the requesting type ('.', '()', or '{}') on each call, and for the system to need to collect a struct that joins the requesting type and furthermore the rundowns. To the degree I can see, it would be so much better if the various requesting accentuations called three unmistakable procedures.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Carlos M.
Docente de Matemáticas
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“It is an excellent dynamic software to make programs and graphs of simple and complex calculations.”

Overallthe benefits with matlab has been very satisfactory because through this software I managed to perform four regression programs: Linear Regression (least squares methods), Nonlinear Regression (Newton and Rhapson, Ascending Steps and Marquart). This program served to present the work of promotion in the university, which consisted in taking the data of a researcher on the behavior of the size of the fish with respect to the time and to estimate the parameters of the mathematical model exponential of Von Bertalaffi to find the mathematical expression that calculates the length of a fish. The program made three functional representations: the analytical, the tabular and the graphical. With this program I was able to manipulate the data, change colors, thicknesses of the lines, place the main title and title to the axes, in addition, the results could be exported to the word processor for the final report. This program has also provided me with tools for teaching calculus with analytical geometry (subject of functions), differential and integral calculus, with the possibility of manipulating the results and visualizing their changes when changes are made in the functional analytical representation. With this strategy the student has a greater possibility to reflect on the representations of the functions and their results. When I had difficulties to perform a complex calculation or use advanced programs I was supported by the documentation included in the help window, where there is a great variety of programming examples and software commands.
ProsIt is a language of high level of technical computing that facilitates simple and complex numerical calculations, which also allows the graphic visualization in 3D and 2D of them. It has a wide application in scientific studies. Integrates numerical analysis and matrix calculation where problems are expressed in the same way. It has specialized programs called toolboxes highlighting in the area of teaching basic mathematics, financial mathematics, statistics, simulation of dynamic systems, among others. It is an ideal software to develop advanced control systems in the engineering area. Allows the control of fonts, Greek letters, symbols, subscripts and superscripts. Make presentations with animation, with supports of colors as it is desired by the user. It allows you to make impressions both of the created program, the calculation made, of the 2D and 3D graphics, results table. It allows to export and import images, graphs, tables and mathematical expressions. You can enter and extract data from the fmatlab quickly. It has a wide range of linear algebra functions, specialized mathematical functions, logical and arithmetic operators, elementary matrices and vector manipulation, special matrices, basic statistics and data analysis, polynomials and interpolation. It has a help folder for software operation through a manual that allows it to be used by all types of beginner users or not.
ConsThe software despite having a documentation of its commands: description, characteristics and access, it is necessary for the user to understand that to create a program and can be manipulated: change data, formulas, presentation of results, fix badly scheduled lines , you must first execute the tutorm command to save the file where you want it, and then return to the saved file and execute other commands, this process requires a lot of practice and for some users it is complicated, therefore they stop using it. have extensive knowledge of the integrals and their methods to solve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Alejandro Daniel C.
Desarrollador
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“MATLAB is the solution to make quickly and powerful programs.”

ProsMATLAB is a very complete suite to make programs using a simple language and with an very intuitive workspace. Although is simple, it's very powerful, and have a lot of toolboxes that you can install for specifics themes, like electronic theory, image processing, digital systems, etc. You can also create Graphic User Interfaces whit the wizard that MATLAB has. This is simple because you don't have to manipulate graphic libraries, and you don't have problems if you change your platform, I mean, you can start a program in OS X and you can open it in a Windows environment. If you have a little knowledge of C/C++/Java, you can start using MATLAB and write simple programs just with open the app. Also it has powerful complements like SIMULINK, where you can study the response of electrical circuits by drawing them with boxes and lines, very intuitive.
ConsI work a lot by making Graphic User Interfaces, because the independence of any graphic library, but I dislike that when the GUI started to grow up and have a lot of things inside, MATLAB start to work slowly and sometimes, you have to reboot the program. Also I work a lot with microprocessors, programming in C/C++, and when I have to return to MATLAB, I need to "translate" the C/C++ codes to MATLAB code. Another thing that I dislike is that you only can have one function per file. I mean, you can't make a library all in one file, and if you have a big project, you have to have a lot of different files and the size of it start to grow quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Stuart S.
Electronic Design Engineer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019

“Very powerful, very expensive computing tool suite”

OverallMATLAB is an extremely powerful data analysis tool; we have used it for visualising data both in real time and after the fact to find trends and isolate faults. The automotive toolkits are high quality; in particular the CAN bus support easy manipulation of CAN bus data for producing graphs and test rigs for components and systems.
ProsIf you can do it in software, you can probably do it with MATLAB! It has a vast range of functions from simple matrix manipulation (its namesake) to computer vision algorithms for autonomous driving. The MATLAB language has a simple syntax which is easy to learn, and code be executed one line at a time while testing and experimenting, or can be run automatically as a script. The debugger is also very good. It is fairly straightforward to produce functional GUIs which make a project appear professional and easy to use, important when distributing code to to coworkers or customers. Documentation is excellent, both within the MATLAB and online.
ConsIn recent years the addition of more and more features has started to take its toll on the overall responsiveness of the software; MATLAB no longer starts up as quickly as it used to and general clicking through menus and UI is more sluggish than in the past. Due to its ease-of-use there is a degree of abstraction in the language which slow execution; once a software module has been written and tested in MATLAB it is common to port it to C or C++ to improve performance. No MATLAB review would be complete without a complaint about the cost; especially if one has some use case, such as embedded code generation using Simulink, which requires several additional toolboxes on top of base MATLAB. The per-seat license cost can easily reach tens of thousands, which can be a tough sell in a world filled with excellent free and open source alternatives.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019
Pablo S.
RPA Developer
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“My own experience using Matlab”

OverallMy general experience with Matlab is good, since it is a very good programming language for developers who have not programmed much, and also, for Engineering, it is the best. The part that I do not like, is the real use in the working life that Matlab has. They should encourage or try to make companies use more Matlab to get their results.
ProsThanks to Matlab I have been able to develop my projects over 5 years in the university. In my studies, all the programming was done in Matlab. With Matlab I have been able to develop complex codes very easily, since this Software is really easy to use, and its language is very similar to that used in Python, for example. It is a kind of language that is very easy to understand. In addition to this, Matlab allows you to make "plots" to graphically see the value of our variables or graphs. In my particular case, it was really necessary and very good, to be able to get a 2D or 3D graphic representation on the screen where to see, for example, an electrical signal. For the treatment of signals and images, from my point of view, Matlab is the best software to use.
ConsThe worst thing about Matlab, without a doubt, is the lack of projects or work in the workplace. This means that, in comparison with other programming languages or other technologies, in Spain, Matlab is very little used, to say nothing. This is a pity, since the tool is good, but there are no job opportunities to develop with Matlab, which causes less use of the tool for lack of customers who use it. On the other hand, the license is extremely expensive for the free features that you can get in other programs. From my point of view, they should be able to give the option of a free, limited version. This will greatly encourage its use in the community and in future ones.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018

“Excellent programming software for engineering applications”

OverallI have been using Matlab since starting my undergrad, and now through graduate school. The more you use it, the more you realize how powerful of a computational tool it can be.
ProsProvides a powerful tool for engineers (students or professionals) to solve complex numerical problems. The programming language is based on C, and makes it easy to pick up for those already used to programming, and does not have too steep of a learning curve for students just learning to code. Though, It is definitely recommended to learn Matlab through a course, as is often done in undergraduate engineering curriculums. As an engineering tool, it is invaluable for processing data and numerically solving complex equations (like PDEs), amongst other problems. The large library of available functions, accompanied by Matlab's useful "help" function and online resources makes learning and using the program that much easier. The user interface is also very clean and easy to use. Definitely an essential tool for any engineer or scientist.
ConsIt would be nice to see autofilling features for commonly used functions. This is exists in Python, where brackets/parentheses are automatically closed. A readily available list of functions would also be nice to have located in the main toolbars. The online resources are extremely useful, but it would be nice to have examples and list of commonly used functions within the application itself to make writing new scripts a bit easier, especially when offline. The default graph settings are also not the best. Too many times do we see presentations with Matlab graphs that have extremely small lines and markers, and illegible axis labels.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019

“MATLAB programming”

OverallI am highly dependent on Matlab. It is like a piece of un-stitched fabric for me and it is upto me what I make out of it. It has very strong support for scientific and technical community. Though the new version of Matlab (R2018b) tends to be slow on my desktop with 16GB RAM and i7 processor.
ProsThis is perhaps the most powerful software used by engineers of all disciplines. The best part of this software is the programming. You can write almost any kind of script which can also work with hardware. If you already know C++, using Matlab is not difficult at all. I have been controlling a whole million dollar machine using Matlab where a script was sending commands to the machine through a serial port and acquiring data simultaneously. The speed of Matlab is impressive to a level that I was able to acquire data at a rate of 2MS/s.
ConsMatlab's Simulink was supposed to be a tool like Labview for visualization of a process but it became one of the least favorite features for many people. So instead of Simulink, I have to use Labview and then call Matlab script within Labview. This indirect approach bring compatibility issues. The block diagrams in Simulink was clumsy especially when you add more than 200 parts. One way to get through is dividing whole task into pieces and save a separate Simulink file for each sub task.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2019

“MATLAB use case for industry and students”

OverallGreat tool for performing engineering operations, algorithm development, and is a must for all Engineers!
ProsMATLAB can be widely used in both industries as well as in education institutions due to its flexibility to deal with large multi-dimensional matrices very easily. In a world driven by data, mathematical operations to analyze the data and derive insights from those datasets has become essential and Matlab does that job very easily in a few lines of code. In fact, the company responsible for creating Matlab, Mathworks, provides a huge repository of documentation and examples to very easily explain each method and function to new users. This documentation can be considered unique as the documentation for all other programming tools (including Python and R) do not match up to the preciseness of the help provided by the MATLAB support system.
ConsDue to its "mathematical setup" of using engineering techniques extensively, it can be a little overwhelming for first-time users, but the documentation should ease out the process of learning and implementing things in Matlab. The pricing of Matlab is on the higher side, which led to the development of Octave, a free tool replicating the functionalities of Matlab. Nevertheless, if you are a university student you should have free access to Matlab, as Mathworks networks heavily with educational institutions to grant access to all students across the globe.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2019
Afshin A.
Student/Researcher
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“elegant but pricey computing environment, programming software”

ProsCoding in MATLAB is really simple, easy and can be learned fast. Its rich toolboxes and numerous user-provided files (through its file exchange) makes it easy to quickly test and verify ideas. The one thing I liked most compared to other languages is its gui, visualization of results and the flexibility of editing the figures and plots. Its rich features from integration with C to parallel/distributed computations makes it appealing even to people who seek a simple coding environment which can yet deliver fast computations (although in terms of computing speed, there are better options).
Cons1- price: since there are few free opensource programming languages such as python and R with great community behind them and lots of functionalities, sometimes it is difficult to justify the price for someone at the entry level who wants to learn a scientific programming language. 2- Since I personally prefer object oriented programming, sometimes I find it difficult to keep track of all different function names, ... that already exist in MATLAB and its toolboxes. To me, the way python handles the packages is more appealing and helps to avoid confusion (this might be my personal preference and some may like the way the toolboxes work in MATLAB)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018
Eyamir U.
university professor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Excellent tool to solve scientific and engineering problems”

OverallIn the subject numerical calculation and simulation and models has been very useful to solve problems in class, as well as great help to the currency of teaching subjects
ProsExcellent tool to solve scientific and engineering problems with a high level language based on numerical calculations with vectors and matrices where you can work with scalar numbers both real and complex, and with strings of characters and with other more complex information structures. It also provides a very good desktop environment for iterative exploration, design and troubleshooting, aunadio to this provides graphs to visualize data and tools to create custom diagrams and also applications to adjust curves, classify data, analyze signals, adjust systems of control and many other tasks; It also has an extensive library of complementary tools for a wide variety of scientific and engineering applications. It allows the study of continuous, discrete, linear and non-linear systems, by means of internal and external description, in the time domain and frequency. Tools to create applications with custom user interfaces and with Interfaces for C / C ++, Java, .NET, Python, SQL, Hadoop and Microsoft Excel, as well as royalty-free implementation options for sharing MATLAB programs with end users. Wide mathematical support as well as the possibility of using extended precision in the calculations, besides a wide Mathematical support besides possibility of use of precision extended in the calculations. It has a large community on the web, where there are forums and support.
Consdebuggin and profiling tools are not usually easy to use for some users, it also has speed problems. On the other hand, it does not have its own symbolic calculation library, which is why it uses Maple commands. When not being designed for the work in line of commandos it does not present any menu of quick access to procedures of frequent use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Matthew B.
Mechanical Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“An Incredibly powerful piece of kit”

ProsAs a mechanical engineer I use Matlab literally everyday and I not sure that I would be able to live (or at least do my job very well) without it. It is a very powerful software that can be used in many different ways for different professions. I really like how many useful built in features (functions) there are, and it's great that there are many different options to choose from if you wish to add more features (tool boxes). I like how versatile the program with when if comes to the different formats that you can import and export, for example anything from a spreadsheet full of data to a 3D CAT scan image. I feel like the possibilities are endless with what you can do with Matlab. I also used Matlab frequently as an engineering student. It made doing complex calculations and plotting such as differential equations so much easier and saved me a great deal of time too.
ConsI have been using Matlab for several years now so I am very familiar with it, but it can take some time and learning to get used to at first and can feel a little intimidating. That being said, there are a wealth of resources out there, including some great tutorials on the Matlab/Mathworks website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Defense & Space, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2017

“I use MATLAB for engineering coursework. Works well for the problems I need to solve.”

OverallI was able to quickly and efficiently solve chemical engineering problems. I also have the tools to solve a wide variety of other types of engineering and math problems.
ProsThis software works well with certain types of engineering problems, such as iterations and dew and bubble point calculations. It is very easy to write for loops, while loops, and functions, which can be used over and over again in different problems, classes and situations. There are a lot of specific packages you can get that are catered to your needs, and a lot of other majors at my school use MATLAB for a wide variety of purposes. The syntax is not hard to use at all, and is very similar to other programming languages. If you are familiar with others, learning MATLAB is a breeze. If you aren't familiar with other programming languages, learning MATLAB is more difficult but definitely doable through a in person class or online. Like any other programming language, the more you use it the better you get. The interface is fairly easy to use, and the debugger works well. It is easy to step through your code to see what the issues are.
ConsThis software should implement easier ways to solve ODEs and other challenging engineering problems. Other math related software do this easily, so it should not be an issue to implement them into MATLAB. It could also be easier if the interface was easier to clean up, and if the command window results did not have so many spaces in it. I dislike having to scroll through the command window when I am trying to find results to a function that has a lot of outputs. I wish some of the add on packs came embedded in the software at the start. It is really annoying having to get a new add on pack just for one use!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2017
Avatar Image
Nicolas C.
Laboratory Coordinator
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018

“Matlab is indispensable for all STEM careers, it is a complete platform to design and test concepts”

OverallThis software has helped me a lot in the topic of optimization and repeating algorithms to solve some problem. In addition, the part of data management and complex operations for image processing and systems control.
ProsIt is a tool so universal that in almost all universities it is used, it has an easy-to-understand graphical interface. It contains a basic help menu that can be extended until you see complex examples of what you want. When you want to generate algorithms, it contains a proprietary language that avoids the use of a complex syntax, unlike other programming languages. It contains many functions and pre-made algorithms that allow you to test a concept at a high level, in a few lines of code.
Consnot having a categorized menu with functions, many times you do not know what is available and you have to resort to the internet to search forums for the available functions, because many times you perform the algorithm from scratch, and then you realize that they had a function For that. In the simulink tool, there is a need for more things to be considered for the electronic part, due to the fact that other branches such as controls and power have enough resources, but the electronics at the level of CMOS transistors do not.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Samridh S.
Electrical Engineer II
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“MATLAB as student and professional”

OverallOverall MATLAB is a great software tool and can be of great benefit to one's career learning the tool and it's capabilities.
ProsI learnt how to use MATLAB as a student during my Engineering school days and very quickly I found out this is a very powerful tool. It has pre-programmed functions which can be used to make your life easier. You can also develop codes and run them to get graphs and simulations. It is extremely good at developing 2D/ 3D models where one can use it to identify poles and zero locations. Hence obviously I used it extensively for control applications. The Simulink feature which comes with MATLAB is an excellent tool which I think everyone should know how to use if they are a controls engineer. In the professional world MATLAB is used pretty much everywhere for simulation and controls applications hence if you know how to use MATLAB with Simulink it's a boost on the Resume. MATLAB has very well established help and libraries which is beneficial and comes pretty handy.
ConsMATLAB is a powerful tool hence it's an expensive tool. As a student it is not possible for someone to be able to afford and learn this tool however educational institutions have it. Only drawback is you cannot take it home and learn it on your own. MATLAB requires also a very fast computer as it demands a lot of power. The only major con I see is using MATLAB in place of other faster platforms such as C, C++, Python may not fancy lot of people as it takes lot of processing time compared to others.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Ryan L.
Graduate Research Assistant
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Powerful and flexible computation tool ”

OverallI currently use MATLAB in my research in plant biomechanics. It's a powerful computational tool and very easy to get started with. We use MATLAB to perform statistical analyses, organize data, and perform engineering calculations. In the past, I've used MATLAB in coursework for optimization, control systems, dynamic system simulation, and more.
ProsI first used MATLAB as a novice programmer, and I found it much easier to pick up than C++, which I was also learning at the time. MATLAB is very robust, has easy-to-follow documentation, and an active community where questions can be answered. It's a great all-in-one software for research and coursework, and I know I'm only just scratching the surface of what it can do. The development environment is very flexible.
ConsMATLAB is not cheap, which means it's pretty unlikely you'll want to use it for personal computing. Other than that my only complaint is the difficulty of displaying everything you might want to see on a laptop screen. It's not usually a problem on a desktop, but on a laptop the different windows can get crowded, making it difficult to see what you're working on in the editor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
muhamamd w.
student
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“matlab review”

OverallAS I am using Matlab for previous 4 years and itsvery useful the more you get into it the more you find it intreting. AS it had some issues of pricing and slow loading but due to its great features its still a useful tools for many organisation and institute
ProsAS I am using MATLAB over a certain years I have observed many of its features and defects. 1)MATLAB tools are best as it provide a vast library for linear algebra,Fourier,and statistics. 2)MATLAB contains a simulink library which can be use to model power systems and run simulations. MATLAB is very accurate when providing simulation result 3)using MATLAB complex problems of signal processing,image processing can be solved easily. 4)the help function of MATLAB makes its very easy to use all you have to do is just type help followed by your desired keyword and it will provide you a complete documentation of how to use the function. 5)when ever there is any mistake in your code it will clearly highlight the position and type of error. 6)MATLAB can be used to plot graphs and graphs formed are very clear and accurate.
Cons1)To be expert in MATLAB is not very easy. for saving different functions you needs to have different type of files.you cannot store different functions in one .m file 2)one cannot share his MATLAB work to a person who does not have access to MATLAB. 3)Highly priced as you have to renew the license after some time of use. 4)some times the program get freeze without any reason.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Nikola S.
Tutor
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“The standard for research”

OverallI have used MATLAB to develop an app with GUI for hardware automation and data processing. I was amazed how well it worked. In everyday work MATLAB can be used for fast model prototyping and calculations. Anything you can calculate, MATLAB does it better.
ProsWhat I like the most about software is that it can be easily used for anything from a calculator to programming full fledged GUI applications and simulation tool. As a calculator it's fast and powerful together with scripting functionality, the library of functions pretty much covers anything you can think of. It is very fast when handling a lot of data in matrix form. Parallel processing feature allows you to speed it up even faster. GUI customization and preset scheme is great. Debugger is very intuitive and the fact that MATLAB language is a sequential programming language allows you execute lines of code independently. Documentation is amazing! I wish every single software/programming language is documented as well as MATLAB. There is plenty of examples for any function that just work when you copy paste them.
ConsThe Mac OSX version is not developed well enough to take advantage of all OSX features in my opinion. For example MATLAB manages clipboard really funky on Mac. I couldn't get any 3rd party snippet clipboard managers to work well with MATLAB (anyone who programs a lot knows how helpful these are). I couldn't get third party editors to work with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Tilanka D.
Undergraduate students
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019

“Programming, Modeling and Simulation in one platform”

OverallThis is the best software I ever seen in mathematical calculations. It has high performance, good accuracy and it is a genius software used in many engineering fields related to electrical and mechanical.
ProsIt has very easy programming instructions and user friendly interface. MATLAB can solve complex mathematical processes like neural networks, mechanical controlling, image processing withing few lines of codes or less selected options. It can easily use for activities like mathematical calculations, analysis of information, programming purposes with just limited technical knowledge. There are many tutorials for beginners and advanced users.
ConsThe main problem is that it is not free, if can be release a free version for student it will be very useful. Sometimes it is very difficult to understand some errors and mathematical errors for beginners without having good guidance. There are no special guidance in the software for options found in advanced simulations.Computer needs some higher performances to get best performance in MATLAB.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“MATLAB for daily engineering solutions”

OverallOur research group has benefited a lot from simple mathematical calculations to advanced programming for solving variety of civil engineering problems. If you know the theory, you could implement it easily over MATLAB for a simulation of a real time scenario. Inside definitely suggest this a must know tool for any civil engineers.
ProsThe plethora of support options for solving variety of engineering problems is an impressive thing about Matlab. The toolboxes separately provided for specific domains is really helpful. Also, it has an open community of users who constant works on bettering the software. So, more and more functionalities for much advanced problems are being introduced everyday and the software is constantly evolving which is well appreciated.
ConsThe last thing I want the software to do is crash and it happens to me, mostly due to the limitations of my old computer hardware. More often that that, it slows down and takes time to boot on the first start of the day. This is prominent for the latest versions, which is expected. With greater power come greater requirements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“NO MORE FEAR ON COMPLEX CALCULATIONS.”

OverallI highly suggest matlab not only for engineers but also to the people who work in research field. This is a fundamental software that everyone must get use to it. Its easily understandable and deployable. Matlab doesn't requires much technical knowledge to utilize.
ProsMatlab is a product that I started using from my college life. As an engineer I personally say that matlab has becom a part of my day to day life. Its an amazing tool to solve variety of complex calculations and mathematical operations. It also helped me in my research work by its various plots made me understand the differences in variables. It has a very good user friendly interface. Even though the 2019 versions requires a high quality system once you deploy the software it will run very smoothly.
ConsPersonally I love to work with matlab. The only problem I faced is it sometimes glitches when I process videos.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Rodrigo G.
PhD
Research, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“The best interpreted language for a wide variety of engineering and science applications”

OverallEase of use and increased productivity in many tasks, from simple to very complex ones. There are nice APIs used for mathematical optimisation such as AMPL, Gurobi or CVX, that are very well integrated and that are enhanced by the immense usefulness of MATLAB.
ProsMATLAB is a easy to use and efficient science oriented interpreted language and as such it is very easy to use and well integrated with other commercial solutions. It has an impressive list of carefully designed and well maintained packages that make any user very proficient in any scientific application. The included documentation is superb and the community is very supportive. One last good thing is that the software is very common among many circles, this means there are a lot of APIs designed to work with MATLAB.
ConsUnlike compiled languages (e.g. C++), it is relatively slow for some low-level computations. It is a bit expensive if you compare it with general use programming languages such as Python, but being honest, the Pros described before compensate for this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Shalitha M.
Instructor
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“MATLAB - Simulate Your Engineering Thoughts”

OverallI have used MATLAB for almost 4 years and my overall experience with MATLAB is very good, I recommend MATLAB to any student or colleague without a doubt to fulfil their requirements in Engineering Designs/Simulations.
ProsOne of the best things I love about MATLAB is the very advanced command Window to interact with MATLAB interpreter directly. MATLAB commands are very easy to remember, also you can find unfamiliar commands or available commands very easily by just typing commands like 'help', 'look for' directly in the command window. Also the MATLAB editor is very easy to use and helps you to save your long MATLAB scripts to use them in future. When it comes to modelling and simulations, Simulink is a very powerful tool which will help you to simulate or model anything you require in an engineering design, there are lot of toolboxes included in Simulink to help you with that. Next thing I love about MATLAB is the built-in apps to do lot of stuff like machine learning, signal processing etc.
ConsFollowing are the minor cons I find in MATLAB software. 1. Beginners may need some guide to get started with advanced features in MATLAB. 2. Needs high-end computers to get most out of the MATLAB capabilities. 3. Pricing of toolboxes are little bit expensive for home or personal users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“It has been really helpful for in my experience as student for the past 10 years”

OverallI have made a lot of assignments with Matlab. Also it served as a validation tool for capstone project and for master's thesis. Currently, I use Matlab daily for my PhD classes.
ProsIt is really easy to use. One of the thing that I really like is the fast computation of large matrix operations. The comparison between quantities is very fast, allowing the fast processing of many algorithms. Regarding the script editor, the written code is really easy to debug at any time. It is easy to code since the program itself marks a lot things that the user must change to correct the syntax and to enhance the processing. The user defined functions works as fast as the built-in functions. The price of toolboxes are affordable for students when it is first time is bought.
ConsSometimes, it is not easy to visualize matrices and numbers in general in the command windows. A compact manner to show these quantities might be a improvement of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019

“MATLAB - a great simulation profile”

OverallMATLAB is being used in our organization as we use the Simulink library provided in Matlab to model signal processing. It accurately addresses the problems that we face in actual applications and provides an opportunity for modelling and testing.
ProsMATLAB is an easy to use, reliable and accurate mathematical modelling application which address iterative analysis and design problems using a programming language that expresses matrix and array mathematics. MATLAB provides the opportunity to model anything in any field like electronics, power systems, circuit design, signal processing and neural networks. MATLAB is known for its high performance and being accurate. I have never experienced crashes in MATLAB or inaccurate calculations. MATLAB has a great user interface and provides simulation and modelling results very clearly and user friendly. MATLAB is a well documented and tested mathematical modelling software with almost zero bugs.
ConsMATLAB is not suitable for heavy duty programming because it's programming language is based on mathematical modelling. MATLAB syntax and usage can be confusing to first time users. Therefore it is recommended to learn how to work with MATLAB before using. MATLAB uses the propriety programming language developed by MathWorks which might not be familiar if you are experienced with another programming language. Also you need to have a Mathworks account to get technical support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“MATLAB is a powerful and sophisticated software package for computation based on mathematical logic ”

OverallAmong the things that are solved with the program are that of, Represent a surface z = f (x, y) on a rectangular mesh or if x and y are two vectors of the same dimension, n, a curve can be drawn (linear to chunks) that passes through the points (xi, yi), i = 1, ... n; what allows to solve or common industrial problems or common business problems through the virtual simulation that this tool performs.
ProsThe fantastic thing about this program is that the user is allowed to write their own scripts and therefore he creates his designs with a set of commands written in a file, which can be executed with a single order to solve very specific problems, in addition it can be said that the program has different applications, that is to say that electronic, administrative, business and statistical processes can be configured, for example, instead of writing the instructions one by one on the command line of MATLAB, you can write one after the other in a file. For this you can use the Editor integrated.
ConsThe program has a high level of specialization in some previous areas such as the handling of scripts as well as the handling of input and output arguments through the "interface" communication with the outside requires some knowledge of basic programming as well as the use of matrices in extraction operations, insertion and deletion of data, in addition to the conditions of the same MatLab system in terms of its logic of scheduling tasks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Stephanie M.
Math Tutor
Individual & Family Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019

“The Matlab that Almost Wasn't”

ProsThis software was recommended to me when I was taking a graduate course in Quantum Chemistry and my friend suggested that I just buy it on ebay. I tried for three weeks to buy that software and I was having no luck. I love on the east coast of the US and I was constantly being outbid by people on the west coast that did not have to get up early in the morning to go to work. Finally after weeks of frustration I found someone selling the software on the east coast and I won the auction. I was on cloud nine for about 24 hours. I came home from work the next day to find Pensacola , Florida being evacuated because of hurricane Ivan. Now I,m sure you can guess where the seller of my software lived. Luckily we contacted the seller that night and he and my software had been safely evacuated to Georgia. I know that was a long introduction, but I do love this software. It is easy to use and comes in handy when you need to draw graphs. I never had the struggles that other people had when it came time to do labs that required graphs. Marian was worth every cent that I paid for it. I had used Maple and Mathcad previously, but Marian is my favorite.
ConsI have no negative comments about the product. I do want to make a comment on the lack of exposure outside of math, engineering or physical science classes. I think students from other disciplines would benefit greatly from using this product. I think students with less mathematical experience would be very pleased with how easy Marian is to use and understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Nguyet Anh H.
Software Developer/Data Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“Powerful math tool, but expensive”

OverallPowerful computation capability: can handle large dataset Robust tool-building functionality (when used with Java)
ProsMATLAB is a very powerful tool for quick data analysis. The documentations are excellent, thorough and straightforward. In terms of syntax, MATLAB is easy to learn even if you have no programming knowledge. On the other hand, MATLAB can be used in conjunction with Java to make the tool even more dynamic and powerful (look up Matlab Undocumented blog). Overall, I really like matlab for its ease of use and powerful computational capability.
ConsMany essential features can only be accessed after you've purchased the right toolboxes, and each toolboxes can be very expensive when purchased under commercial licence. I'd highly recommend File Exchange to see if a user-made toolbox can fill your needs. Error messages can sometimes be unclear and there is no night mode.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Research, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Sandbox to learn everything about programming”

OverallOverall, as a tamed user, I can say you learn so many things even after 5 years of matlab programming. The options are endless and you can learn a lot in a relatively short time.
ProsWhat I like most about matlab is that you can enter it without any pre-knowledge on programming and you will be able to learn programming techniques without having to know about ALL aspects of programming. So the learning curve is very comfartable, however for the tamed experts you can set the learning curve as steep as you like which will enable you to develop top-level programs, that can do extraordinarily good jobs.
ConsAt some point matlab may become much slower compared to other languages, which is because of the reason it is built and also the easy use of matlab, is in one way causing this. However I do not necessarily see this as a problem. What is most important is to learn to use programming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019

“Review of MATLAB”

OverallI used MATLAB to develop risk analysis, Monte Carlo simulation, optimization, and machine learning algorithms in my research. I am totally satisfied with its powerful functions and toolboxes.
ProsI have been using MATLAB for doing the computations which need high computation power. MATLAB is a very powerful tool for doing the matrix calculations, running complicated functions. It provides useful toolboxes with a user-friendly environment. It has a very broad database of mathematical algorithms for data analytics, machine learning, and image recognition. It also desktop version and online version. This software is a very good option for the programming beginners as it facilitates the code compilation and different function calls. Online version helps me to run my code on a computer which doesn't have the desktop version of it.
ConsAlthough MATLAB is a very powerful programming software with lots of tools and abilities, however, it sometimes takes a significant amount of time to run the code with complex and big data. In my opinion, it is not good idea to use this programming software to analyze big data. Another weak point of this software is that it is not free, and it is expensive to buy the license.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019
RAVEENA S.
Graduate Research Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“MATLAB is easy to use and very vast and useful. There's nothing else like it”

OverallIt is indispensable. I can't do any work without it. It has vast number of applications. Been using it for multiple completely different things since 10+ years now.
ProsEasy to use, Vast, Multiple applications, Efficient, Indispensable
ConsIt is slow, specially if there are long programs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Reinaldo C.
Student of Electrical Engineering
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2019

“The MOST usefull software for Engineering”

OverallHalf of my degree I have used matlab in the most varied disciplines, such as: physics, electrical circuits, signals and systems, power electronics, digital control, analog control, used with arduino and others applications.
ProsI worked with matlab for long 5 years, all my graduation i used this software and i improved my knowledge in it, so i loved so much. Help-me at eletromagnetism, eletrical circuits, signal and systems, physical and probably half of my graduation. the programming language is a little tricky, but it comes from C and with the new enhancements it is possible to also have an object-oriented programming.
Consmaybe the only problem is a lot of detail that sets it apart from other programming types, but it becomes very useful so it's not a problem, written by someone who actually had to work with most of their functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Maria Gabriela E.
Ingeniero civil
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“It is an excellent software tool for mathematical works that require precision.”

OverallYou must work constantly with this program because with frequent use you learn to develop yourself within the software, it is of vital importance for the mathematical processes. Recommended.
ProsIt is an excellent software tool for mathematical works that require precision, offers an integrated development with a programming language. It is available for several platforms such as Windows, Mac OS or Linux, so anyone can take advantage of this advantageous mathematical program. It is excellent for the implementation of algorithms, for the manipulation of matrices, also for the creation of user interfaces, the representation of data and / or functions, also well used for communication with programs in other languages or hardware devices. Particularly use this software at the university to detail mathematical models more easily.
ConsIt has an additional tool called MATLAB Builder under the section of tools to use functions of the program like for example files of the library that can be used in the construction of application net or Java. But in the computer where this program is downloaded it has to be used with another component that is additional to the MATLAB (Runtime), so that the files work perfectly. This increases the use of the disk.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2019

“MATLAB excellent option for prototyping code”

OverallMy most recent project was using MATLAB to reduce data sets to make them in a more user friendly format (.xlsx types). Between my own programming experience and MATLAB's built-in documentation, the project was very straightforward.
ProsMATLAB has many built-in functions with excellent documentation. There is a good chance that if you need to create a conversion (i.e. Lat-Lon-Alt to ECEF), that functionality is already in MATLAB. Though it is slow, MATLAB is an excellent way to prototype code that will be implemented in another language, such as Python or C++
ConsThe fee to use MATLAB outside of academic purposes is exorbitantly high. Also, the code itself is cumbersome, and you can only use the MATLAB text editor to compile MATLAB code.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2019
Yevgeny B.
Graduate Research Assistant
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“Best mathematical software”

OverallI used it for at least 10years. It's heavier and easier than in general computer language. I would say it's a well developed computer language with added user friendliness with an added cost of speed.
ProsYou can do unlimited things on this software ranging from simple calculation to developing machine learning algorithm. Apart from it's limitless potential, though heavier, Matlab is easier than general coding. Also the mountain of online resources, makes this already handy software more easy and efficient to use.
ConsThough not a deal breaker. But if you develop or implement a complex algorithm on large dataset, Matlab often takes so much time that it becomes undoable. For developing algorithm, I would say this is best. For final product however, I think it's to bulky. The price is a bit steep in my opinion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Dilraj S.
Sr. Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“System simulations made easy!!”

OverallMATLAB is a really useful tool for simulating the system and overall its modules for different fields of engineering provide us with great experience in developing the code for running simulations.
ProsMATLAB helps students or researchers in completing their system simulations with its easy to use software. The system can be designed and coded on MATLAB for running these simulations and then the system performance can be analysed effectively. There is a module available for each engineering field which helps developers to start their system simulations very fast rather than having to write all the code from scratch.
ConsMATLAB is an awesome tool for doing system simulations but license needs to be purchased for using the software, which is not the case for programming languages like python or R.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Saransh D.
Graduate Research Assistant
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“My experience with this software has been wonderful”

OverallWith this software I learnt a lot of things. I learnt about how to work with artificial neural networking, signal processing etc. The feature of debugging helped me to understand how my code works and helped me make a good coder.
ProsThe best thing about matlab is the availability of the inbuilt functions and the GUI that it has. It allows users to access a multitude of different problem solving tools like optimization, neural networking, electric signals etc. The best thing about it is its library. The user can look up any functions and their usage and can understand clearly about how the function works via examples and videos.
ConsThe software is sometimes slow with implementation of the functions and data handling. That is why people these days are leaning towards other languages like Python.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Thanushi J.
Instructor
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“MATLAB - A software for everyone”

OverallI have been working with MATLAB for 4 years and it is one of the best software tools I have ever worked with. I have used it for solving complex mathematical calculations, digital signal processing and simulating circuits. At the very beginning, it was difficult for me to use the software . However regular practice made it easier for me to become familiar with the software.
ProsThe best thing in MATLAB is, it is comparatively easier to use and anyone can quickly get familiar with the software. MATLAB has an inbuilt command called 'HELP' which is beneficial in working with the software. It briefly describes about any syntax or toolbox in MATLAB with some sample codes and examples. In addition, considerable number of online and other resources are available to learn basic concepts of MATLAB. MATLAB is capable of performing tasks related to modelling, analysing, computing and simulating in a single platform.
ConsNormally MATLAB utilises great amount of CPU power which may cause lagging in your computer. With low end computers it may take too much time to execute MATLAB simulations. However it depends on your processor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Meliksah T.
Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019

“Extensive tool that covers a lot, from basic Math operations to Data Science and Machine Learning”

OverallIt was the time of college the first time I used Matlab. We first learned the basic matrix operations and then went on with regression problems. Then I continued using Matlab during my Machine Learning by rep. NG course, submitting programming assignments. I am very happy with Matlab's simplicity and focus on Math operations. Since, anything that can be defined as a math function can be solved, improved and optimized, it is within possibility to solve any kind of operational research problem, from traveler salesman problem to complex Neural Networks. Mathlab is a great tool to do these. The libraries that comes within the software comprehensive and sufficient for many cases of Machine Learning as well as Data analysis and Data Science, especially visualization.
Pros- Ease of matrix operations - Possibility to carry out usual OOP algorithms additional to fundamental math operations - Ability to visualize and analyze data - Ability to create complex math models - Ability to create Machine Learning algorithms from the ground - Variety of libraries
ConsMatlab perhaps does not have to have a great GUI but current one is weak. It's highly dependent on the console and programming commands, which might be repelling to newbies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“An Engineer's Best Friend”

OverallMy overall experience with this software has been very good. I started using this since college. It is one of the best platforms for educating students. Now I use it for anything from quick math calculations to process video and images, data decryption and encryption.
ProsThe best thing about MATLAB is it's all kinds of use, everything useful for an engineer packed in a shell. - It has a very user-friendly coding facility. U can run a specific part of the code and move on to the next part knowing that u have done the previous part right from the software itself. - debugging any code is very easy in this one. - it's Simulink feature is one of the best GUI out there. - It also possesses a lot of professional packages for complex problem-solving. -Huge amount of help and codes are available in the online community of MATLAB.
Cons-In spite the developers' efforts over the years to give users a bug free software to work with it crashes some times and gets slow. - The software can be hard to use for the beginners - It is a bit more expensive than its' counterparts - The code runs slower than C++, Java, Python etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Cesar J.
Ingenierio de Sistemas
Program Development, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“MATLAB is one of the best software for engineering applications”

OverallI have used MATLAB to solve mathematical problems, from simple matrices to differential equations, and going through using one of its powerful tools, SIMULINK, which fascinates me to simulate industrial processes and applying the control techniques necessary to obtain the desired output of this In this way, the theoretical calculations calculated previously, in the fields of engineering that need to be studied processes or systems, is fabulous because it allows to predict and make the necessary adjustments before applying it in the plant.
ProsMATLAB I liked after a long time of practice since it is a software that has many tools, from solving complex mathematical problems, such as matrices, to simulate industrial processes and predict behaviors of some processes, thus taking details and having the possibility to do all the necessary tests to adjust according to what is required. I use it a lot in my university in an area that fascinates me, the area of controls and instrumentation, and the results I got were very good, the tool allowed me a range of possibilities to perform my assignments, always obtaining the best results, plus I love that every day you can discover new applications of the tool, which for curious and self-taught manager is fabulous
ConsMATLAB can present certain difficulties at the beginning of starting to use it, since it is a quite extensive software in terms of tool, besides that it uses programming, the reality the practice is what would allow you to go grabbing the thread
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Soham B.
Graduate Research And Teaching Assistant
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018

“Matlab is one of the best for computing.”

OverallIt helps me every day in my research.
ProsThere is nothing you can not do in Matlab. You can do any kind of mathematical calculation or numerical analysis in Matlab. It is also very user-friendly. Matlab is developed by MathWorks. I like their website because you literally don't need to learn Matlab from someone, you can just go to their website and you can access any command along with the appropriate example. The coding may take a while if it is complicated but once you get it running, you don't have to do anything else. You can write a code in Matlab in such a way that it can load your data from any text/Ms-excel file, run the analysis and store the results the way you want in a different text/excel file.
ConsMy only concern is graph plotting. Although you can plot any type of graphs (normal, contour, scatter) in Matlab, the quality is not quite good if you are looking to publish that. Plus, on a few occasions, I have had some struggle to understand why my code is not running because the reason shown wasn't very clear but eventually I figured it out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018
Trent E.
Student
Biotechnology, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019

“Great Software for Engineering and Math”

OverallI've spent a number of years working with MATLAB for my various engineering and neuroscience courses, as well as for a research project I did in analyzing the functional connectivity of macaque visual cortex. There are a number of amazing analysis that MATLAB can do as well as different ways to combine pieces of code to manipulate numbers, vectors, and matrices. Overall, I found the user experience to be very intuitive to grasp once I had received a basic tutorial in the functioning of the software and how to write the code. MATLAB is an extremely helpful and powerful software that allows for great analysis to be done on data sets.
ProsEase of use Amazing analytical capabilities The help function is extremely useful Applicable in multiple domains (engineering, science, mathematics) Tons of packages allow for a profusion of different capabilities (image processing, statistical analysis, fourier breakdowns, etc.) The why function is awesome Good basic introduction to programming for people who have no background in it at all
ConsCost (relatively low if you can buy through your school, not cheap for enterprise licenses) Can't write software, just does analysis
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019
Shakil M.
Researcher
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“A Good Educational Software”

OverallI designed my entire final year project on it, I found it be very helpful
ProsI have been using Matlab and Simulink for last many years, I found it to be very easy to use and handle. We can model anything from power systems projects to circuits and electronics. The results obtained are accurate and the graphical illustration via scope is simply amazing, if you need a C language code to be called in your simulink mode,l you will just have to put a User Defined Function block and your model with be linked with script file, this is a very useful feature.
ConsThe Simulink in Matlab lacks some basic power engineering software like CTs and PTs, moreover its quite difficult to link it with arduino.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“The Best Math Software on The Market ”

OverallI have used Matlab throughout my University career. It has proven to be a powerful tool that I use not only for Matlab specific assignments but in other contexts as well. After learning the syntax and UI, I am able to write programs to solve problems quickly. The amount of functionality is outstanding and external libraries mean that a program can be written in a matter of lines. An improvement would be better debugging tools and warnings for syntax that might be accidental or incorrect. Intellisense like code completion would be great too.
Pros-Works on MAC and PC seamlessly -Large help network and Help manual/documentation is extremely detailed and useful -Efficiently and quickly solve mathematical problems and produce publication quality figures -An incredible amount of built in functions
Cons-Help manual very useful but depends on knowing the the keyword. Lacks browsing features to find what you need. -Not intuitive for first time users. Takes some getting used to. -Making plots can be confusing and hard to master. -Acciddental errors are easy to make and hard to debug as warnings are not thrown for incorrect/likely wrong syntax or method calls.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Naveed A.
student
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018

“As a user”

OverallOverall it is the best tool for technical programming and data analysis and visualization etc. it is very useful tool for image processing and filter designing .It also helps me a lot in modelling of different mathematical equation and circuits. It gives the accurate results for real life equations.
ProsMATLAB is very easy to use for technical programming and it is platform independent. It has a large number of predefined functions and it is good at numerical computation, data access, data analysis and visualization, programming algorithm development and application development. In SIMULINK we can model anything relating to power system, digital signal processing, aerospace and defense, biotech and medical and many more. So It is easy to simulate and generate desired results.
ConsMATLAB is interpreted language which slows down its speed. Sometimes it is very difficult to understand why program is not working because the given errors are not clear to understand. Also we cannot interface it with other software. It is very difficult to get help from MATLAB because sometimes we do not know the exact command.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018
Avatar Image
James W.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Software Engineering programs can easily, quickly and efficiently be solved through MATLAB software.”

ProsMATLAB software is the superb software that consists of high level technical computing languages that facilitates the software engineers and other users for simple and complex calculations. One can have graphic visualization easily through this software. No doubt a complete suite to make and design several programs.
ConsWhen I talk about cons, I think one of the limitations is that in the beginning the MATLAB software runs quite slowly so that we have to reboot the program. Afterwards it works smoothly and there are lots of things inside this software.No doubt this software helped me a lot in repeating the algorithms for solving the complex problems and in the topic of optimization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018