FME Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About FME

Spatial data transformation platform that works with more than 275 non-spatial and spatial formats. Learn more about FME

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Data processing & manipulation made easy”

OverallOur business wouldn't function nearly as seamlessly as it does without FME. From start to finish, we use FME in every step of the way. There is no other software on the market that can do everything FME does and translate to so many different platforms like FME.
ProsIf you want to migrate or transform data, FME makes it easy. Whatever task you need to apply to your data, FME probably has a transformer to accomplish it. You don't have to be a programmer to write scripts. The GUI interface makes it easy to build scripts for anyone.
ConsSometimes, with large datasets, it can have memory allocation problems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
James E.
Supervisor Land Base Maintenance
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Super Powerful, Best in class product.”

OverallWe use FME for conversion of data formats, reprojection of spatial files, the generation of new geospatial products from existing datasets... and many many more things. Honestly it's hard to overstate how much I love this product, and what it does to help our business. Fantastic product, and even better support.
ProsLove how flexible this product is. If you can think of an ETL pipeline, it can do it.
ConsCan be confusing to troubleshoot your workbenches.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Sophie P.
GIS Technician
Environmental Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“Best geoprocessing tool ever”

ProsThe infinite possibilities it offers with its numerous tools, the overall performance, the ease to track issues and the possibility to adapt processes to many different projects.
ConsThere is a bit of a learning curve to get confortable using it, but its efficiency is worth the initial efforts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Rob C.
Senior Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“FME Review”

OverallI've just automated 3 peoples' jobs with this software.
ProsI've been using FME for almost 10 years. It's the industry standard for ETL tools. It can read/write between hundreds of different file formats. As a GIS professional, it is invaluable. I recommend it for all my clients, especially when there is data to be converted.
ConsThere is nothing I dislike about FME. It's nearly perfect. Yet, with each release, it continues to improve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Hec B.
Cofounder
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“Once you get past the learning curve, it's an absolute must! ”

ProsThe graphical interface is just amazing. Like building a Lego set but to handle massive amounts of data regardless it's format. I use it for handling millions of CSV lines, but it's strength lies with map formats. I like the continuous improvement of the product as well.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve, specially in selecting which tool to use and how to configure it, but once you get a hold of it it is a breeze to manipulate your data to tell you stories....
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Michael K.
IT Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2018

“Allows seamless translation of any dataset I ever encounter.”

ProsThis is the absolute best GIS data translation software around. It allows me to easily and quickly convert to and from every type of GIS data format I encounter. I can do quick and easy GUI translations and for more complex translations, I can create and modify FME scripts to tackle my project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Infinite possibilities”

ProsComplete set of transformers that make you able to manipulate the geometry and the attributes as you want. It supports almost all kind of formats. You can use python to increase possibilities.
ConsThe python scripting interface could be improved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“The tool for spatial (and some other) data ETL and manipulation ”

ProsThe flexibility of processing and built-in connectors for example ArcGIS Online make it easy to get started quickly
ConsWe sometimes find it more difficult than we expect to take desktop workbenches and run these in the cloud
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018