Who Uses This Software?

Medical Transcriptionists, Medical Transcription Companies, and Healthcare Organizations


Average Ratings

4 Reviews

  • 5 / 5
    Overall

  • 5 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 3.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $120.00/one-time/user
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    No
  • Support
    Online

Vendor Details

  • Narratek
  • www.smartype.com/
  • Founded 1990
  • United States

About Smartype

Word completion software for medical transcriptionists that enables them to save 70% of keystrokes, while ensuring correct spelling.


Spotlight media placeholder

Smartype Features

  • Abbreviation Expansion
  • Archiving & Retention
  • Audio File Management
  • Audio Transmission
  • Customizable Macros
  • Transcription Reporting
  • Voice Capture
  • Voice Recognition

Smartype Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Speedy

Feb 05, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Able to type just a few characters and have multiple words type out.

Cons: It works across many programs that you may use. I use for medical transcription, but when typing a note to someone else, any small words may expand to multiple medical words.

Overall: Speeds you your production!

Vendor Response

by Narratek on February 09, 2019

Hi Janice. Many thanks for your appreciation of Smartype and for your very nice review. Regarding the Con you mentioned, please note that you can easily turn Smartype off when you're not typing a medical document. Just click the S icon. Or you can switch to our General English Vocabulary. Remember too, that if you ever want to insert into the text exactly what you typed, just hit the Escape key.

Smartype is AWESOME

Feb 05, 2019
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love all the built-in word expanders and the fact you can start using it right away as you add your own expansions.

Cons: Not necessarily Smartype's issue but some of the transcription platforms would be a little buggy with any word expander software.

Overall: Smartype has superb customer service. I needed to re-install Smartype and they helped and responded quickly.

Smartype was great when I had Windows 7. It crashed and I had to upgrade to Windows 10.

Sep 02, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: If they could only get this to work in versions greater than 7 with 64 bit, I think it is the best. For me, at this point in time, I will have to look for an alternate medical transcription software. It was great for giving a curette in the corner of optional words which could correspond to the dictation. I understand that the IntelliComplete is by the same man; however it has also not worked with my Windows 10 and so be prepared for "glitches" in their systems.

Vendor Response

by Narratek on January 29, 2019

Hi Shirley,

Sorry for the (severely) delayed response. Smartype does work fine with Windows 10. What might have been your problem is that it currently only works in 32-bit programs. So if you were trying to type in 64-bit Word, for example, it would not perform. If you have a 32-bit program, there is something else going on. If you'd like, we can investigate that and hopefully get you back up on Smartype. info@smartype.com www.smartype.com

This software is fantastic.

Feb 19, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software is simple and straight to the point. I enjoy the way the software looks and how functional it is.

Vendor Response

by Narratek on February 09, 2019

Hi Caroline. Thanks for your appreciation of Smartype and for that great review!