ResourceSpace Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About ResourceSpace

ResourceSpace Open Source digital asset management - Trusted by 250,000 users globally across organisations inc Coca Cola, Google, Toyota & Autotrader. Providing 24/7, multilingual, unlimited user, mobile & web enabled access to help marketing professionals get the most from their digital assets. Learn more about ResourceSpace

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 14 of 14 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 14 of 14 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
James A.
Collections Developer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Excellent support from Montala. The time differential US Eastern to UK was not a problem”

OverallIt is a great time saver for our Communications department. Our museum had a technically demanding implementation requiring integration with our TMS system of record.
ProsThe feature list is very competitive among digital asset management systems and it is growing all the time. Montala support is exceptional. Implementation was smooth with plentiful help from Montala. The help desk responds very quickly and is willing to explain the nature of your issues as well as fix them. The cost is a tremendous bargain.
ConsSetting privileges is not as straightforward as it could be but Montala is very helpful if you get stuck. The setup pages for granting privileges needs to be improved, but I believe that such a revamp is on Montala's upgrade path. The online documentation was spotty at first but it is becoming first rate very quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Tony W.
International Facilitator for Communications and M
Religious Institutions, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017

“An excellent digital asset management system ”

OverallPhoto and video distribution to our design teams and workers.
ProsWe were looking for a solution that was suitable for taking from DVD based photo distribution to global online digital distribution. We started self-hosting the free version of Resoucespace and moved to the managed hosted solution as soon as we had traction in the organisation.
ConsThere's very little we don't like, and each version is bringing useful features. There are probably some areas around user and admin permission settings that could have a better interface, but there's so much granularity in permissions it's good to have them all available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017
Anthony M.
CEO
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“Price is good. The UX... not so much”

OverallSadly we pitched this software to a big enterprise level client without realizing the full extent how rough it is to work with. We made a bit of a mess for ourselves because trying to teach the client how to use this was incredibly painful and ultimately led to us looking for new solutions.
ProsThe price. We are big fans of open source software and we also have a bunch of clients that really need Digital Asset Management but cannot afford Widen or similar solutions.
ConsThe UX is terrible. Figuring out how to get a lot of assets into the system and to organize them into folders is amazingly counter-intuitive. It would be utterly impossible to teach clients on how to use the system unless they are very technically savvy and have tons of patience. Also, uploading assets in bulk is theoretically possible but not really sensible. Let's say you want to upload 100 images of people all at once. The file names might be like john.jpg, wendy.jpg, amy.jpg, etc. When you go to upload those 100 photos, you can only set one name for all of them. So, wendy.jpg is going to be named "John" and amy.jpg is also going to be named "John". So after you upload them all, then you have to go in and re-name 99 of the images to the filenames that you wanted. What a terrible waste of time. Also, if you want to store assets in folders within folders, I would not bother with Resource Space. There are bugs with this which you can work around but it is so painful that it is not worth it. This system probably really good if you are OK with just dumping everything into the system with no organization and then forcing your users to use the search feature to find everything.

Vendor Response

By Montala on August 29, 2019
Hi Anthony, Many thanks for the constructive review! It's great to receive feedback even if it's not all positive as we're always looking to develop the software. Regarding organising things into folders, ResourceSpace was built from the outset to use metadata, not folders, for organising assets as this allows multi-dimensional structures. We found folders could be very limiting. However we appreciate some people like to see a folder structure so for 9.0 we added the Browse Bar, a sliding panel on the left that shows metadata, featured and public collections in a tree structure and allows this to be extended just like regular folders on a disk. I hope this goes a long way to addressing your concerns.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Ciprian D.
ICT Officer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Best free DAM there is”

OverallPrice. It's free!
ProsThe different options for deploying. I took the easy one of installing via Bitnami however they have tutorials for any option and OS you want.
ConsI literally have no cons. The system is easy to set up and there's an extensive how-to library. You can also add plugins which makes it even better.

Vendor Response

By Montala on May 21, 2018
Hi Ciprian, Thanks for your very positive review! We're pleased that you find the knowledge-base so useful, and the plugin options. You know where we are, if you ever need us! Thanks, Charlotte -ResourceSpace Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Janice F.
System Administrator
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Having our historical database online for our researchers has been an amazing experience.”

OverallWe are able to provide online access to the amazing history of Leadville, Colorado.
ProsI love the flexibility of the interface. The software allows us to present our collection in its many formats. Our database works seamlessly with our website. The tech staff is most helpful and always have great suggestions for making our collection shine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Jason R.
CCO
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“A practical resource”

ProsResource Space is a robust warehouse platform with useful features. The ability to customize your account is great and its easy to have outside photographers upload and tag directly to the system.
ConsWhile generally easy to use, it feels like Resource Space was developed by developers in that it can be very technical and all about the features (vs what an average user might need/want)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Megan M.
Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2016

“Great organizational tool for our photo database”

OverallWe have decades worth of photos, and Resource Space gives us an easy way to search them. The ability to caption photos is hugely helpful, and the collections give us a way to browse photos when we need something more general. The ability to directly share items (especially video files), without needing to download them and then upload them again to Dropbox or Hightail, is invaluable.
ProsHaving so many ways to identify and describe assets: tags, captions, subjects, etc. The ability to create and browse collections, and the ability to share directly from Resource Space.
ConsCould be a little easier to navigate.
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2016
Anna D.
Photo Lead
Online Media, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Working closely with resource space on an asset management system in google. ”

ProsHow flexible it is and how easy it is to have custom needs built into the system. The ability to create multiple user groups and give access to certain users for certain things.
ConsSetup is fairly manual. It takes a little bit of coding knowledge and the organization of the content on the site is a bit confusing. I don't always know where to find the settings I need (user groups, assets, etc.) We don't LOVE the main page and would love to adjust this a little more easily to fit our brand aesthetic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Michelle d.
Story Journalist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“ResourceSpace is an extremely powerful tool, and has been very helpful for our organization.”

ProsThe software is extremely customizable, and we've been able to adjust it to our organization's specific needs. Already, even after a short time of using it, we've seen the potential it has to manage the many different assets we have to store. We're excited about its huge capacity to help us keep, track, and recall our resources in a moment with its powerful search mechanisms.
ConsThough the customer support is excellent, the documentation is not always easy to understand, and answers can be difficult to find. Where the user interface is not intuitive, it can make it difficult to teach and demonstrate to new users, especially ones who are unfamiliar with the concept of data asset storage.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Keith P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2017

“A solid option”

OverallA very solid option in this space. It provides significant levels of customisation of the UI and importantly for our organisation many levels of customisable access to assets. With a sizeable database the ability to add very specific metadata keeps the search functions healthy. Probably one of the best aspects is the Montala support team, who despite being based in the UK are quick to answer any queries and work on them remotely.
Pros- Interface is clean and highly customisable - Search is powerful and precise - It handles our 80,000+ assets well - Support is extremely helpful and quick
Cons- Some customisation options are tricky to find and often located in the backend config.php file, requiring specific php knowledge.
Recommendations to other buyersAs with all DAM get your system set up correctly from the get go and keep keywording and metadata consistent.
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2017
James G.
IT Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Simple and pure DAM solution”

ProsIt is free, offers a simple uer interface for end users, and get's the job done. Especially the user interface is very easy to use, so everybody will be able to get a quick start. On the other hand, more advanced users might be missing useful features. But you can't make everybody happy.
ConsIt does not offer more advanced features, like image/video editing, graphical workflow engine, annotations, advanced collaboration and asset sharing features.

Vendor Response

By Montala on May 21, 2018
Hi James, Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you're enjoying ResourceSpace, and happy that you find it so simple to use! We also offer custom development to clients if you need it; for more information, contact us anytime: https://www.resourcespace.com/contact Thanks, Charlotte -ResourceSpace Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Michelle d.
Story Journalist
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“Lots of potential, difficult to use.”

ProsThe search function is extremely powerful! Great for storing all our assets and retrieving them, as long as everything is tagged right. Everything can be customized, and our company has been able to tailor it exactly to our needs.
ConsTraining new users on the software has been a challenge. The user interface is not intuitive, and some of the concepts are difficult to teach, so it's been difficult to onboard users, especially remote ones.

Vendor Response

By Montala on May 21, 2018
Hi Michelle, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy that you find the search and customisation options so useful, but sorry that you've been having some trouble onboarding new users! If you need help at all, at anytime, please reach out to our support team and we'll be happy to help. Thanks, Charlotte -ResourceSpace Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Charles Andrew R.
Communications and Web Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017

“A simple yet powerful platform with a good degree of flexibility”

ProsResourceSpace is simple yet powerful. I would say that the most important aspect is that it's user-friendly for end-users, and that has made a big difference. I found the Montala team to also be friendly and efficient in sorting out a few issues and bugs. There are many functionalities that we at this point do not make use of, but it's good to know they are there in case we need them.
ConsThe collections system at the bottom of the screen offer a simple interface to manage your selections but it's also easy to make mistakes and modify previously created collections. I would suggest that when logging back into a new session, that the "current collection" be reset to a new collection to avoid mistakes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017
Urko P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 8, 2019

Vendor Response

By Montala on August 29, 2019
Many thanks for the 5 stars Urko - if there's anything you need just let us know via the "Contact" function on our website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 8, 2019