ESM+Strategy Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About ESM+Strategy

ESM+Strategy helps organizations design, track, and adapt their strategic plan. With automated Balanced Scorecards, strategy maps, dashboards, and instant reports, ESM brings strategy to life. When starting out, you'll go through a tutorial to enter in key strategic objectives, measures, and initiatives. Once the strategic architecture is in place, organizations use ESM to centrally collect updates on progress, eliminating the need for exhausting spreadsheets and slide decks. Learn more about ESM+Strategy

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 30 of 30 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 30 of 30 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Juan Jose V.
Managing Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018

“Strategy Review Tool”

OverallThe ESM + Strategy is helping us to deliver positive results to our clients in their strategy management efforts. The ESM functionalities make all the strategy design process to be dynamic and proactive.
ProsThe ESM is pefectly aligned with the XPP methdology and makes the Strategy Review Process intuitive and easy to use for clients. Throughout all the ESM you have a very friendly environment that allows the users to get used to it easily.
ConsAt the moment there is no dislikes with the ESM. It may improve some risk and process management features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Joshua S.
Process Consultant - Planning and Strategy
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018

“Leveraging ESM + Strategy for SMS Development”

OverallThe value proposition of the tool consists of three things: 1. Transparency - Provides a holistic view of SMS work from which all stakeholders can glean insight and make decisions from. 2. Accountability - Instills discipline around the ownership and reporting of strategic objectives and initiatives. 3. Root-cause analysis - Gives leaders a lens into what forces drive the status of strategic objectives and corresponding metrics.
Pros1. Excellent support during setup and responsiveness regarding inquiries 2. Flexible enough to accommodate the nuances of our SMS. 3. Ease of navigation and intuitive layout makes software easy to learn.
Cons1. The Gantt chart view is not currently exportable, but I am aware that this is a function they are exploring.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018
David M.
Director, Office of Strategy Management
International Trade and Development, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Accessible Solution for Organizing Management by Objective”

OverallTypically I use ESM to keep strategy execution efforts organized particularly when there is more than one Balanced Scorecard being used within the organization.
ProsESM provides a easy-to-deploy software solution structured to support enterprise-wide Balanced Scorecard use (but could be used to support any management-by-objective framework). I like the fact that I can use the software to get a client supported with their strategy management journey quickly. (I also really appreciate that their pricing model is by scorecard and not by user, which supports organizations that understand the criticality of driving employee engagement with strategy.)
ConsI wish the more complex reporting features rendered perfectly-formatted exported reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Michael L.
President
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“ESM + Strategy software Ties it All Together Seamlessly”

OverallGoing from just having a strategic plan binder with our 3-5 year plan in writing sitting on my desk to having an actual "living management tool" to use in moving our business forward with realistic ongoing business insight was ground breaking!! I had no idea how much more effective we all could be across our management team and through every level of employee touching our business processes. It was quickly obvious how powerful this software could be!
ProsThe software is designed to bring all aspects of strategic plan execution, whether it is from the financial perspective, the customer perspective, the process perspective or the staff resources perspective. It ties them all together with an ongoing view of progress across initiatives that helps all management levels on our scheduled quarterly revivews. I am actually expecting this to be powerful enough to change company culture to one of tight accountability and high productivity!
ConsIt forced us to really hone in on developing realistic goals that tie to key performance indicators that we can actually measure although we do have some manual data capture that we have to enter but that is because we need to automate some data mining in our shop. But the software allows for this manual input!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
David W.
Managing partner
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2018

“ESM”

OverallIts a excellent tool all-in-all. I dont understand how companies can do without this types of data and be able to run their strategy.
ProsIts easy for everyone to instantly work with! It drives you execution!
ConsIt is sometimes hard to go back to power points ones you tried to work with ESM you are stuck. It is that good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2018
Ian B.
Manager of Strategy and BSC
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014

“ESM Version 6 Early Adopter”

OverallI work for an organization that has been using the scorecard for over a year and we were one of the first adopters of the latest version of Executive Strategy Manager. I've implemented the Balanced Scorecard at several companies and each leadership team has slight variations on their scorecard approach. ESM 6 is flexible enough to enable these unique approaches while staying true to the core concepts of Kaplan and Norton's Balanced Scorecard methodology. ESM's alignment with the strategy map/scorecard approach, paired with dynamic reporting tools and meeting management functionality make strategy execution much easier for our company. I'd really like to see a governance calendar integrated into the application, which would go a long way toward automating some of the preparation and reporting administration. The action item section could also be expanded to better support recording minutes and activities identified during strategy review meetings. I've tried to manage the scorecard offline or through shared project pages and it multiplies the effort involved enormously. I use ESM every day and I'd recommend it to any Balanced Scorecard organization looking for a web-based application to manage their strategy execution effort.

Vendor Response

By ESM Software Group on August 10, 2015
Ian, Thanks for your review. Great news, we listened to your request for a governance calendar and now have a fully integrated calendar that tracks all meetings, due dates for key activities, actions, milestones and tasks. We appreciate the feedback. Regards, ESM Team
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2014
Timothy C.
President
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“ESM Review”

OverallI am a strategic consultant and I bring ESM software to all of my clients. I do not recommend any other BSC software.
ProsThe software is robust and user friendly.
ConsThere are no cons. It is a complete system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Mario B.
Managing Director
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Managing Director”

OverallAllowed multi user interface for data collection and communication components allows participation and transparency of strategy performance
Pros1. Ease of use 2. Features that relate clearly to strategic planning and execution 3. Flexibility to adjust to external client data bases 4. Ability to edit terms/data fields names to correspond with client terminolgy
ConsAll features were used and found to be useful and easy to understand and use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Ann N.
VP
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2018

“ESM+Strategy a great investment”

OverallAs a smaller company, we didn't want to invest in a more complex application. However, we have found that ESM+Strategy covers more needs than we at first thought. It is a very smart investment.
ProsIt is so easy to use and supports an amazingly wide range of strategy needs
ConsNo complaints about either the software or the service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2018
John A.
Senior Strategy Consultant
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018

“Effective tool, simple to use”

ProsESM provides one stop shopping for our balanced scorecard needs for both enterprise strategic plans and cascaded plans. The software is easy to use for objective and measure owners to report results, and to share with leadership.
ConsIt takes a bit of time for system administrators to become fluent with the software. ESM staff has been very helpful in training our team in the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018
Afzul S.
Director
Management Consulting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2018

“Integrated Solution”

OverallThe software lives up to its claim of bringing strategy to life by making it accessible throughout the organisation.
ProsThe interface is sufficiently user friendly and is therefore easily learned. The reports are comprehensive and enable effective analysis of the data which makes for more meaningful strategy and performance review.
ConsReally nothing to dislike. Enhanced functionality is being explored.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Top Tier Firm and Excellent Product”

OverallEmpowered our team to take hold of our strategy and get the job done. Offers us the insight to make smart decisions around our investments. We were able to use the tool and methodology to avoid unnecessary expenses for projects that weren't aligned to our strategy
Prosdeep permission capabilities around user access, rapid scorecard design, great communication tool, rooted in Kaplan Norton best practices, great customer service team
ConsDoesn't do P&L financial planning (but didn't really buy it for that purpose), Want to be able to display multiple strategy maps at the same time in the same scorecard (right now you have to select from a drop down list as to which gets displayed)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Mario W.
Project Manager/Process Improvement Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2015

“EMS is the most intuitive and user-friendly managerial tool for the Balanced Scorecard. ”

OverallI am one of two the Balanced Scorecard (BSC) representative at the University of Arkansas for Medical Science (UAMS) in which I manage 24 BSCs. When I say I manage 24 BSC, I mean that I am the administrator of 24 BSCs, I taught 24 managers the philosophy and application of the BSC, and I assisted Danny, one of your consultants, in training the usage of ESM. The navigation of EMS is so easy that I was able to learn the ins and outs of the tool within one week before having to train many managers at UAMS. I have actual had more than 15 training session over the usage of ESM, and I have plenty more to come. Today, we have more than 30 users of EMS at UAMS whom I have taught how to use the program. Although our BSC will not be operational till October 2015, we have already experienced the transformational impact of the tool.
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2015
Fina N.
VP of Information Technology
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2013

“Executive Strategy Manager - an easy way to track KPIs and monitor strategic goals”

OverallThe ESM is a very useful tool for managing our organization's key performance indicator data, so that we can easily monitor how we are progressing towards our strategic goals. The ESM is a "cloud" solution, so there is no IT support required to manage the software. Once the scorecards, KPIs, and dashboards are setup, the system is very intuitive and easy to use for the individuals that enter the data and the analyses. The system does require a dedicated administrator, particularly during the initial setup and training phases, and if "structural" changes need to be made to your scorecards, KPIs and metrics. Overall, the system is easy to use and the customer service that Palladium provides is excellent. The ESM is utilized in our operations and strategy meetings on a routine basis.
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2013
Javier G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2015

“Great solution built by strategy experts”

OverallPros: Eliminates PPT as source of presentation. This tool has saved a ton of paper and headaches caused from version control issues. Allows for easy linking/displaying of elements. Agency solution for cascading throughout the organization. Customizable fields is a plus. Robust charting and data grid is easy to learn since it functions just like Excel. Cons: The amount of time it takes to refresh a screen is inefficient, but part of this issue is due to our internal environment.

Vendor Response

By ESM Software Group on August 7, 2015
Dear Javier, Thanks for the review. Since your environment has ESM locally installed, we can't control the infrastructure but we will continue to work with your internal IT team to speed up page loads. ESM Team
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2015
Gemma T.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015

“Eight years of Using the ESM ”

OverallPros: a defined methodology that allowed consistent reporting across the Enterprise; Ability to track performance in multiple areas of the organization; provides a discipline for staff input to their performance. Cons: The upgrade to 6.0 provided some improvements, but seemed to be more difficult to execute the charts/reports we were accustomed to producing. Needed to devise some workarounds to get the look and feel we wanted. The experience of working with the Palladium staff was excellent. Even at odd hours of the night or a weekend they usually got back to you right away if there was a question or something wasn't working correctly.
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015
Edwin P.
Managing Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2012

“Amazing Strategy Execution Enabler”

OverallAwesome product for strategy execution & monitoring and control
ProsIncreases the organization's chances of achieving all the benefits of Kaplan & Norton's methodology - Alignment, Communication, Accountability, Realtime strategy monitoring and control, Initiative management, Other benefits are its Ease of Use, Flexibility, Scalability, Ease of integrating to existing data sources and email systems such as outlook, BI functionality, amongst others.
ConsQuite pricy for the emerging markets.
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2012
Cecilia L.
Change Management Leader
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Great software to help organizations focus on strategy execution ”

Proseasy to navigate from big picture (strategy map) to specific work (project). compatibility with microsoft software- creates efficiencies in reporting strategic results off the shelf connectivity - allows you to get up and running in a very short period of time
Consnavigating menu could seem overwhelming at first given large amount of options
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Gerald L.
North American General Manager and Vice President of Sales
Food Production, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018

“Balanced Scorecard”

OverallIt allowed us to turn our five year business strategy into sustainable actions!
ProsThe software was easy to use and allowed us to turn strategy into actions.
ConsOverall it was very intuitive - not much not to like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018
Jackie I.
Director of Development
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“Our Auditors gave the system a big tick!”

OverallWe've just had our new auditors do their work for the year and ESM and our planning framework came in for very favorable comment which is great! We love the new interface. The system is very easy to use and is doing a superb job of helping us to keep on track.
ProsEasy to use, scalable
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Irina L.
QA Engineer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“ESM Review”

ProsThis software is very easy to use and has everything needed for strategic planning and execution
ConsThere have been no cons thus far while using this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
RICARDO R.
Partner director
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018

“GREAT TOOL FOR STRATEGY REVIEW MEETINGS”

OverallIs a perfect to tool to execute strategy review meetings
ProsThe boldness of XPP methodology, Ease of use.
Cons
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018
Bodene O.
Chief Strategy Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2015

“The Executive Strategy Manager tool afforded us an opportunity to design our BSC and align all stake”

OverallThe Executive Strategy Manager tool afforded us an opportunity to design our BSC and align all stakeholders. It truly redefined the meaning of collaboration. For us, the ESM advanced presentation capabilities allowed us to rapidly respond to executive requests for updates and information. Also, the ESM account managers provided extraordinary service support, generously sharing their time and expertise.
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2015
Barbara P.
Vice President of Strategy and Quality, retired
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2014

“Executive Strategy Manager ”

OverallThe tool is very easy to use and supports practical implementation of the Balanced Scorecard methodology. I looked at many tools and found ESM to be the only one that linked the strategy map, measures, and initiatives together in a way that helped all leaders in the organization understand the process. It also made available to the entire organization real-time performance to our strategic plan.
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2014
Al T.
Senior Strategist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2012

“New customer ESM 5.5 review”

OverallRecommend ESM to those who are resourced contrained but need and will use a web-based software to better their organizational performance effort.
ProsEasy to use, functionally represent the balanced scorecard methodology well. No learning required if you understand the BSC framework. Its affordable, scalable.
ConsLacks a robust initiatives prioritization; and initiatives resource allocation, comparison and refinement process.

Vendor Response

By ESM Software Group on August 10, 2015
Dear Al, Thanks for your review. We listened to your feedback and launched an initiative management module where you can capture criteria, weight the criteria, then rank your initiatives against each criteria, arriving at a weighted score. Initiatives can then be prioritized with resources allocated as appropriate. Thanks, ESM Team
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2012
Leo S.
Consultant
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018

“ESM+Strategy Review”

ProsIts ease of user and reporting capabilities are what make it a great software.
ConsBSC methodology knowledge is sometimes needed as a precursor to using the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018
Ricardo R.
Partner Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015

“Great tool to manage our strategy!!!”

OverallPros -easy to use -one license, multiple users -Low cost -Dr. Norton and Kaplan endorsement Cons -price a little bit high
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015
Serapio G.
Planning
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2015

“In order to folow, review and adjust the startegy, ESM is an excelent tool”

OverallAren´t free documents or brochure that gave us information about it.
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2015
Kate W.
Consultant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2018

“ESM Strategy”

ProsThe software looks extensive and would will help us achieve our company's goals.
ConsThe price is a little high for our situation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2018
Jorge R.
General Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015

“Robust product, too sophisticated for our company.”

OverallIt helped sensibly to establish our ESM.
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015