Who Uses This Software?

Campaigner is perfect for small businesses just getting started with email marketing, agencies looking to increase client billing, and established marketers seeking automation, testing & reporting.


Average Ratings

23 Reviews
  • 3.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 3.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 3.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $19.99/month/user
    See pricing details
  • Pricing Details
    900+ Templates A/B Testing Autoresponders Segmentation Reporting
  • Free Trial
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Webinars
  • Support
    Online
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • j2 Global
  • www.campaigner.com/
  • Founded 1996
  • United States

About Campaigner

Campaigner enables you to create effective, successful, revenue-generating email marketing campaigns. Marketers choose Campaigner for its easy-to-use interface, great customer service, world-class deliverability and blend of features that makes email marketing easy for the beginner, powerful for the professional and scalable for the agency. Try Campaigner Email Marketing free for 30 days!


Campaigner Features

  • Analytics / ROI Tracking
  • Campaign Segmentation
  • Channel Management
  • Contact Management
  • Content / Blogging Platform
  • Direct Mail Management
  • Email Drip Campaigns
  • Landing Pages / Web Forms
  • Lead Management
  • Lead Nurturing
  • Lead Scoring
  • Multivariate Testing
  • Referrals / Affiliates
  • Search Marketing
  • Social Marketing
  • Website Visitor Tracking

Campaigner Reviews Recently Reviewed!


We send out out HQ campaigns and control of 36 chapters campaigns, Solution worked. The team I wor

Jan 23, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Once it was set up, it was very easy to use. Reporting was fast, once you figured out how to use it. Staff were friendly . Users ( 39) had very little problems using project with minimal direction.

Cons: You cannot delete from list, you just make inactive. Our membership jumps controlled list. removing them would be our preference.

Overall: Ease of mind

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on January 24, 2018

Hi Paula, Thanks for taking the time to post a review online! We are happy to hear the ease of use with our platform and we hope you continue to see success in the future. We also appreciate the feedback in regard to the list management and have passed it along to our development team. If you have any questions in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. -The Campaigner Team

Capterra-loader

Good email marketing software

Jan 23, 2018
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Great templates, easy to jump in a use out of the box. Even a novice user can create great looking emails and mange lists

Cons: Free version needs your credit card info which is odd so you need to make sure to cancel if you want to stop using the software. The HTML editor can be a but buggy.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on January 24, 2018

Hi Patrick, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our platform. We are happy to hear the platform has been easy for you to use. We also appreciate the feedback you left and have passed it along to our Product team. If you have any questions or suggestions in the future please do not hesitate to contact our team. -The Campaigner Team

Not so much

Jan 12, 2018
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: As a customer you need to have a trial for you to use their product. I am searching for a software that I can recommend to a company but their free trial doesn't have any full features so you can see overall use of it.

Cons: Doesn't allow me to have a full feature of their trial, how will I now if my business will suit for them.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on January 24, 2018

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for reviewing our platform. We appreciate the feedback and have passed along the feedback to our Product team. If you have any additional questions or comments please do not hesitate to let us know. -The Campaigner Team

Powerful segmentation. Easy to use.

Jan 11, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The platform is easy to use, it took no time at all to get my account up and running. Before using Campaigner I blasted all of my customers with the same email campaign. Since using the product I was able to increase my opens and clicks by 25% by segmenting my lists.

Cons: I like the template choices but I would love to see more construction themed templates directly in the product.

Overall: Growing my business by getting more opens and clicks. These resulted have substantially boosted my ROI.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on January 24, 2018

Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that our platform has the tools and feature to help you and your customers build effective email marketing campaigns. If you ever run into any issues or have any questions at all please do not hesitate to contact us! We will be more than happy to help in any way we can.

Campaigner is invaluable in regularly reaching out to my customers and prospects.

Dec 21, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ability to quickly and efficiently frame and then launch a communication to my customers is an essential element that Campaigner brings to the table that is invaluable. This combined with Campaigner' exceptional reporting capabilities provide me with a comprehensive tool that is usable and effective.

In addition, the flexible monthly billing cycle allows me to align my marketing costs with the revenue generating activities that Campaigner aids us in driving.

Lastly, the Campaigner platform is provided at a superb price point. Every campaign pays for itself in short order. All told, it is by far the best use of my limited marketing dollars.

Cons: I wish the Smart Email Builder's canned templates looked more like what is possible if you happen to be an HTML master.

Overall: See review...

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on January 09, 2018

Hello George, Thank you for taking the time to review our platform. We are happy to hear that our platform has the tools and features to help you build effective email marketing campaigns. We appreciate your feedback in regard to the Smart Email Builder and have passed it on to the product team. If you have any questions in the future please do not hesitate to reach out to us at feedback@campaigner.com -The Campaigner Team

Capterra-loader

I like Campaigner and feel its benefits are worth the cost. I would refer others to use it.

Dec 21, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the sort and filter features for contacts. The reports are useful and the most features are very easy to use.

Cons: When sorting contacts, after removing or updating a contact it continually resets rather than returning to the previous screen. It is time consuming when making multiple record updates. I also don't receive notices when contacts remove themselves so I have to look for them monthly in order to remove them from my other list.

Overall: Simplicity.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on January 09, 2018

Hi Shelley, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to our staff that you took time out of your day to post a positive review about our platform. We have noted your concerns in regard to contacts and have shared with the product team. If you have any comments or questions in the future do not hesitate to contact us. -The Campaigner Team

Pretty easy to use.

Dec 19, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Efficient use of email to spread our message. Easy interactions for graphic designers. Can track monthly experience

Cons: Contacts are not accepted without any explanation. Emails are sent to previous contacts who have been removed from the list.,

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on December 20, 2017

Hello Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to review our platform. We are happy to hear the platform is easy to use for you and your team. If you have any questions or concerns in the future please do not hesitate to contact us! We will be more than happy to help if needed. -The Campaigner Team

Capterra-loader

Best semi-automatic email software

Dec 18, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The interface is easy to use and easy to navigate. Imports are the easiest of any software I have ever used including some higher end software.

Cons: The one thing I would say that is a con is building campaigns is not as easy as some programs. The campaigns should be more step by step then the way they are now.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on December 19, 2017

Hi Phil, Thanks so much for reviewing our platform. We appreciate the feedback you provided about campaign building and we have passed it over to our product team. If you ever run into any issues or have any questions at all please do not hesitate to contact us! We will be more than happy to help in any way we can. - Campaigner

It has been great so far. No issues

Dec 13, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Seems easy to use, and I have experienced no problems yet. Having been switched over from MailerMailer.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on December 19, 2017

Hi Chuck, Thank you so much for leaving a positive review of Campaigner. We appreciate it very much. If you have any questions in the future or run into any issues at all please do not hesitate to contact us! Our support team is available 24/7. - Campaigner

Easy to use and upload information

Dec 13, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Available when we need it and easy to upload information. Able to add and remove contacts easily as our list grows but we do have to remove client information.

Cons: Cost. While it is not the main con, cost is always going to be an issue. There are times when we have not clicked the correct box and not sure which box was not clicked.

Overall: Easy to send mass emails to our clients in both companies we use it for.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on December 19, 2017

Hi Nicole, Thank you for leaving a positive review of Campaigner. We are happy to hear that our platform has been easy for you to use. If you have any questions or comments in the future please do not hesitate to contact us! -Campaigner

Capterra-loader

Marking flyer

Dec 12, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: They have samples we can be used for the marketing and just made to input writing.
Emails can be delivered within scheduled time frame

Cons: I hope I can send emails separately within the group. Maybe there is a source and is just that I do not know how to use

Overall: Yes, I gain client at the beginning .

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on December 19, 2017

Hi there Susan, Thanks for taking the time to review our platform. We are happy to hear that you have gained clients by utilizing Campaigner. If you wish to discuss the issue you are having with sending to different groups please send us an email at wendy@campaigner.com. We will be more than happy to help you resolve the issue. -Campaigner

Capterra-loader

I use the templates that are included to send emails to customers

Dec 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like the variety of templates and ease of use. I can upload images and link to specific pages on our website. The templates can be easily modified to send a similar email to a different group.

Cons: I wish I could send more emails per month for the same cost. I also wish if it goes unused one month that they would roll over the unused emails to the next month.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on December 19, 2017

Hi Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to review Campaigner. We are happy to hear the template creative has been easy for you! If you wish to discuss pricing with us offline please send me an email at wendy@campaigner.com and I can get you in contact with you rep. Also if you have any additional questions please do not hesitate to contact our team! -Campaigner

Campaigner can work but there is a lot of road blocks before you get a functioning email.

Sep 18, 2017
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 4.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Segmenting is easy. CASL Compliant. Very interesting webinar sessions are often offered. Adding Google Analytics tracking is built-in.

Cons: The system is often very slow. The interface is not friendly. (compare to other engine that are using drag and drop and multiple layouts) The emails are not responsive. Even when we contact the company for a built ''on-measure'' template, the template is hard to use and not responsive.
The A/B testing often make the campaigns crash. This lead to campaigns that weren't sent properly and almost no response with the customer service on the week-ends (even on week days to be honest). Reports could be easier to consult and more detailed too.

Overall: Good for big mailing lists a various segments.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 20, 2017

Hi Justine, Thank you for taking the time to review our platform and for bringing these issue to our attention. We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered and have sent off the feedback you have provided to our product team. We hope to rectify these issues you mentioned as soon as possible. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We are happy to hear that you do enjoy using some of our features. Please do let us know if you have any questions or comments in the future, we will be more than happy to help in any way we can. -The Campaigner Team

Overall a good experience with our email marketing.

Sep 13, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: For the most part, the program is easy to use, good support (they usually get back to me within 24 hours), definitely a great value.

Cons: Would like to see more features, spam check, more platform/device displays, more design options and templates, easier to use automations, quicker list export and multiple campaign comparisons and better contact access from the reporting

Overall: It's a great value and it serves it's purpose. Would just like to see some added features soon.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 15, 2017

Hi Edward, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are happy to hear you are having a good experience with our platform. We also appreciate the feature feedback. We have complied a list and sent it over to our product team! If you have any questions or concerns in the future please do not hesitate to contact us. Have a great day! -The Campaigner Team

The campaigner tool is very easy to use. The team works very hard to provide the best service possib

Sep 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy of use. The software is very simple . Another pro is the analytics on the emails. Knowing how you are performing is always a plus.

Cons: Support beyond your key contact is not as fast. When you are under pressure this can be frustrating. Getting connected to the chat support has not been a success for me.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 15, 2017

Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to review our platform. We are happy to hear that our platform has the tools and feature to help you and your customers build effective email marketing campaigns. We have informed the support team of the chat issue and hope to rectify this as soon as possible. If you have any questions or concerns in the future please do not hesitate to contact us. -The Campaigner Team

I use campaigner to send multiple campaigns daily. Downtime is rare & customer service is excellent!

Sep 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to use, statistics, copying campaigns, friendliness & knowledge of staff/support, I can insert a jpg file or create or copy & paste HTML

Cons: I would like the ability to see what percentage of each of my lists opens each campaign so I can modify accordingly. Would like the sign up sheet to alphabetize areas so clients can easily pick which list they would like to be a part of.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 15, 2017

Hi Kim, Thanks for the positive review. We are so pleased you are enjoying our service. We work hard to make sure every client receives personal attention and quick responses from our customer support team. We appreciate the product feedback and have sent it over to the product team. If you have any questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact us. -The Campaigner Team

We have used Campaigner for the past 1 1/2 and its a key part of our marketing

Sep 12, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ability to export and clean our database based off the the marketing results. If there is any spammy words used in the body of the message we should be notified when we are writing it.

Cons: Have social media connections to the names like Insightly.com. Would like to have more information available when viewing the Opens and clicks. Company name, phone

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 15, 2017

Hi Phil, Thanks so much for the positive review. We are so very happy to hear that our platform is a key part of your marketing strategy. Your suggestion for more information in the opens and click report is a great idea. We have sent the suggestion over to product team. Please do let us know if you have any other questions, comments or suggestions for our team! - The Campaigner Team

Campaigner has been my company's newsletter resell solution for over 2 years.

Jul 18, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The depth of Campaigner is very nice. They have a lot of tools and functionality that allow for strategic and detailed email marketing campaigns. Their customer support is responsive and ready to answer any questions one might have.

Cons: The dashboard, itself, looks a bit dated. I know that's only for backend users eyes, but there could be some updates to intuitive features, like drag and drop email builds.

Overall: The ability to offer a newsletter solution to our clients.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 06, 2017

Hi Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review our platform. We are happy to hear that our platform has the tools and feature to help you and your customers build effective email marketing campaigns. We appreciate the feedback you provided about our dashboard, we have passed it over to our product team. If you run into any issues or have questions do not hesitate to contact us! We will be more than happy to help in any way we can. -The Campaigner Team

No way to cancel your account.

May 30, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Not much. I thought it would provide some utility for our small consulting firm of 7, but in the end it wasn't worth the money.

Cons: Terrible service. After 3 months, tried to cancel my account. They kept invoicing me for 6 months until the credit card expired. Crooks.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 06, 2017

Hi Gabe, We are very sorry that you had this experience with Campaigner. This event was unusual and certainly not indicative of Campaigner's high quality service. We hope that you will reconsider using Campaigner in the future and give us a chance to change the impression you have of us. If you have future questions or comments do not hesitate to contact us at feedback@campaigner.com. -The Campaigner Team

WORST email marketing software provider

Apr 19, 2017
1/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Ease of use, Free trial

Cons: Awful and unprofessional customer support, pricing and billing policy, Slow and buggy platform

Overall: I have been using Campaigner for more than 3 months and my experience started nice and ended awful. They charged me even when I sent them an email to cancel my subscription. They would not refund me claiming that they never received my email (which were messages from their customer support platform). When I sent them screenshots proving to them that I sent the messages and for some unknown reason they didn't receive it they opened a refund request. Initially it would take 3-5 working days. I followed up more than 5 times and after 20 working days they informed me "Your refund request has denied by our Finance Department because you did not call into cancel till 03/21/2017 which was 13 days into your bill cycle. This decision is final." The tone is unprofessional and this is not how to treat a customer especially when you have mistreated him. From their point of view, I should have 1) predicted that they would charge me wrongly, 2) checked my account the next day and 3) called them right away to complain. This is not a company to do business with. I have been in the industry for many years and it's the second time I feel I was scammed. I will be moving to another ESP and find my peace. Hope my experience can help you avoid making the same mistake as me.

Recommendations to other buyers: Spend your money somewhere else that will be valued

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 06, 2017

Hi Sakis, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we understand your frustration. We have passed on the feedback your provided to our support and billing teams. We hope that you will reconsider using Campaigner in the future and give us a chance to change the impression you have of us. If you have future questions or comments do not hesitate to contact us at feedback@campaigner.com. -The Campaigner Team

Excellent product

Nov 11, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Great feature set, easy to learn.

Overall: Well-structured, well-supported, and fully-featured. Campaigner has a vast set of tools to allow us to customize our emails with personalized information. The reports and analytics are best-in-class. We use this for internal communications in a large (10,000+ employees) company with offices spread across the U.S.

I'd recommend taking with a grain of salt reviews from a person (who clearly posted twice) who is too disorganized/lazy to end their free trial. The fact that Campaigner gives s 30-day free trial is, by itself, a really good feature for those trying it out. Just make sure you're not too lazy to cancel if you no longer want the service.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 06, 2017

Hi Suri, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are so happy to hear of your pleasant experience. If you have any questions or concern in the future please do not hesitate to contact us! Have a great day! -The Campaigner Team

Campaigner.com is a CROOK. Strongly advice, [lease avoid

Jul 25, 2016
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Cons: This company is a crook

Overall: I would like to say Campaigner.com is a crook and the worst email marketing software service. Campaigner.com has been charging me 19.95 usd, and I wasnt receiving any invoice in my email. I did not sign up to any monthly recurring payments. The monthly payment could have been hidden somewhere in fine print which I had no idea of. More so, I have no way to close my account in their website, and no way to remove my credit card information. When I emailed them to remove my account ASAP, they replied I had to call an international number! I had no way to call an international number given the fact I am halfway accoss the world and my landline was not capable of international calls. This operation almost borders to the point of illegal. This company is abusive and I strongly suggest you avoid them for your own sake. I had to cancel my credit card just so I wont be charged from them anymore.

Vendor Response

by j2 Global on September 06, 2017

Hi Rachanee, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are very sorry that you had this experience with Campaigner. This event was unusual and certainly not indicative of Campaigner's high quality service. If you have any future questions or comments do not hesitate to contact us at feedback@campaigner.com. - The Campaigner Team

Horrible

Aug 25, 2015
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I had a horrible experience with Campaigner. I wanted only to take a quick look at their templates. They insist that you give them your credit card information before you can do this. I never used their services but they billed me for months. I asked, but they refused, to refund my money. They are the only e-mail marketing company that I am aware of who requires a credit card number to investigate their services. Stay away. There are many other companies who provide great e-mail marketing services who operate with integrity. Zero stars!