Greater Giving Fundraising Software Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Greater Giving Fundraising Software

Automate, track, and streamline your event and fundraising efforts. If youre juggling paper files, spreadsheets and documents, start now to make your execution more efficient and effective with our cloud-based solutions. Greater Giving Event Software will help you easily track all the details related to an event. Use theses solutions to turn your tablet or laptop into a register anywhere at your event, processing transactions, pulling reports, and giving you a 360-degree view of your auction. Learn more about Greater Giving Fundraising Software

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 40 of 40 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 40 of 40 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Ron K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Greater Giving: Great software for event management”

OverallWe use Greater Giving to manage our Marquee events (galas, golf, wine tasting, etc.) - events that usually have an auction component and the staff, volunteers and constituents love it. I've personally used Greater Giving software for the past eight years and have never worked with a software vendor that is more in tune with their customer's wants and needs. They actually ASK for ways they can improve the product and LISTEN! I've seen our suggestions appear in product updates repeatedly over the years and they never stop trying to improve their product. We began using their mobile bidding service over the past couple of years and the staff and patrons love it. Their Go Time event night software is so easy to use I barely have to train volunteers on event night - the software just walks them through the check-in/registration process and makes check out at the end of the night a breeze. As previous reviews mentioned, their website and reporting areas are a little more cumbersome to use, but I know that they are working on that too - we've already seen some great advances in reporting with the latest software release. Greater Giving software and event support is outstanding - they are only a phone call away anytime, but most importantly on the day of your event and a LIVE person answers the phone who knows the product and can fix your issues and get you back on track in no time! They are fantastic. I would highly recommend Greater Giving to any non- profit interested in experiencing a great event management tool. This is one fantastic organization!
ProsEase of use, outstanding customer support, mobile bidding option/component, auctioneer features for a professional live auction, leader boards, smooth check-in/check-out event process, ability to e-mail receipt to patrons at check out, volunteers absolutely love it! Patrons are very impressed at the flow of the event when we move the event management to Greater Giving.
ConsReporting is confusing and needs work and they need to make improvements in the backend website creation process but we are able to get the information out of the system that we need and we have great looking, easy to use websites.
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Tammany B.
Director of Special Events
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Keeping my life sane! ”

OverallUsing the Greater Giving Software has allowed me to really be in control of the data and the ROI of my events. The software is very easy to use and set up. It has tremendous functionality and flexibility to engage multiple users. We look so professional at our events at check in and check out and guests love it. I have been using the product for three years and have hosted 10 different events through the software. Mobile bidding is beyond amazing! It has transformed our event and put the fun back in the cocktail hour because we are able to open up the bidding the day before the event to allow guests to browse and start the bidding process in the comfort of their own home or coffee shop. The reports have been invaluable to use with new committee members year after year to really hone in on the auction items that sell the best. The database makes connecting with the audience easy, year after year. One of the most important areas is the upper management. They actually listen to the clients and work to make needed changes to the product to be the most customer friendly product out there. The concern upper management has for the end consumer shows in the call center support. Their customer service staff is always available to answer questions and help guide me through anything I am doing or stuck on. This is great product that is just getting better each year!
ProsThe database features and fields, mobile bidding and ease of email campaigns.
ConsSome of the fields could be located on different pages to make the work flow more integrated
Recommendations to other buyersDon't ever hesitate to call their customer support - they are wonderful and helping to sort out anything you are doing.
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Kiki C.
Development Officer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016

“Greater Giving - really does give!”

OverallOur development office has now been using Greater Giving for a little over 2 years, after doing some extensive research and choosing it as the BEST option. This has given us the opportunity to use it for many different events more than once and across different departments/colleges within the medical university. Because it is web based, there are no restrictions on number of users and you can lock/unlock per event we have used it with select "third party" events- where all proceeds benefit us but the event is run by a group of volunteers and not a formal organization. It helped us streamline some of our functions for all our various events. It has also given us an opportunity to try some peer to peer fundraising. Other departments have now begun using it and others are now attempting events because this platform is available. We've found the ease of use in training our volunteers and interns a plus. The fact that almost anyone can be trained to create a landing page for ticket sales, auctions and peer to peer campaigns is a huge advantage for our organization. Go Time (day of event) process is another favorite aspect of Greater Giving. Overall we have been so pleased with both the customer support- some of our suggestions have even been incorporated in 2 upgrades since we've been using it! And they've actually lowered instead of increased the cost on Mobile Bidding (you used to have to pay per mb event and now it's a once a year cost) Not only are more funds raised, Greater Giving give us back time as well!
ProsIt's overall ease of use and convenience.
ConsSome of the features are difficult to use/not up to par- peer to peer fundraising for ex. Also the webpage/landing page building can be quite complicated and the tutorial isn't comprehensive enough. Same goes for the reports- we know that there are so many but the training just touches the surface.
Recommendations to other buyersMaybe subsequent trainings or "papers" on best practices or features etc. Sometimes you don't even know what you don't know.
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2016
Gloria B.
Development Associate
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Could not do what we do without Greater Giving!”

OverallI sourced Greater Giving back in 2010 when we were producing our first Gala. I wanted software that would easily keep track of people and items. The ability to create a website was a bonus! Greater Giving performed like a champ before, during and after the event. I also began using the website capabilities for other events/fundraisers. The sites are pretty easy to set up and maintain. When I have needed more help, customer support is always there. They were really there for me at our second gala when the power went out. We had just finished the silent auction and the guests were seated for dinner and being served when the power went out. We were able to process all the silent auction items as we worked from the software and not the cloud. We decided not to have the live auction or fund a need. Instead, Greater Giving assisted us in creating an online auction and worked with us every step of the way. Their expertise and great products helped to save what could have been a disaster. Hospice East Bay has about 4 events a year where Greater Giving is utilized. As long as I am the Development Associate for this organization, we will be continuing our relationship with Greater Giving!
ProsEasy to use. Great customer support. Full reporting capabilities. Easy customization.
ConsWhen the website gets updated and things move around or there are different ways to do them. No manual updates when that happens.
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Leslie W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Transform your Auction experience!”

OverallOur school has benefited tremendously by using the Event Software and Mobile Bidding. In a few weeks we will be using both for the third time at our next Auction fundraiser. After the first year, we not only paid for the software and mobile bidding BUT increased our silent auction profit by $10,000! The program is very easy to use, streamlines all of our donations, and allows us to perform quick reviews post-event. Customer service has been exceptional. Several calls are set up with the Greater Giving team prior to the event and a team member is available during the entire duration of the event. All questions have been answered quickly. The Greater Giving team continues to give suggestions each year as to what we can try at our next event to help increase our profit. And both years the software has been updated with new features. Biggest benefit for our school has been the elimination of long checkout lines at the end of the night. With Mobile Bidding, guests having registered a credit card either before the event or during check-in are instantly notified of their winnings as soon as the Silent Auction closes. Priceless! We continue, a few years into our experience, to get great reviews from our attendees about the significant improvements that this package has made to our annual funraiser.
Prosease of use, customer service, mobile bidding function
Recommendations to other buyersrevolutionized our event at a price about half of a competitor's product
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Laura M.
CEO
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2018

“Greater Giving Event Software”

OverallOverall it is a still a great software that has great functions and so far is the best I have used to run a large silent auction 50 items plus.
ProsThe software purchase covers features dealing with ticket sales, silent auction bids, community partners, sponsorship purchases and can safely store credit card information. Also, if your organization hosts more than one event per year you can add several events and track for no extra cost and store all donor information for those events.
ConsThe ease of use of this program is lacking. It is a bit confusing to run reports. It also doesn't make it very easy to set a Max capacity for an event and have it close down automatically. Someone has to go in and do so, or at least this is the experience we found. Also, you can only attach one checking/banking account to the software so if you have two large events and two separate accounts for them in order to use the software without having to repurchase you must stick to the one account.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 10, 2018
Kiki C.
Director of Special Events
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2015

“After extensive research very happy”

ProsGreater Giving is an evolving company and continues to improve their product. It is extensive having many features, reports and different ways of going about getting things done. They are PCI compliant which takes away worry about security and adds value to your overall event. Whether you are a small shop or large, any nonprofit can use it with a little bit of training, some practice and time. It is cost effective and adds value to our events. It is amazing that anyone from volunteer to staff can reach out to tech support. I like that it is web based and that you can have multiple events simultaneously. Also the capability to have different permissions for each user including multiple account admin helps s multi department development team like ours. Relatively speaking the mobile bidding works easily.
ConsThe "join me"feature is still new and we haven't been able to master it's use yet. The website capability is great but requires a little extra training. However the tech support is excellent with an almost 12 hour a day call hour. If the tech can't answer the question they get back to you. Most often though they will walk you through a step.
Recommendations to other buyersWe have used other platforms and are so delighted that we found Greater Giving. We had a committee and a vetting process - it is definitely worth every penny. No platform is perfect and all will have some features that are cumbersome or not exactly the way you would want. Greater Giving has made so many aspects of our online registration, auctions, receipting and other aspects smooth and efficient. Make sure to utilize the training to get an edge and rely on their support team. Try it out and compare.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2015
Laura M.
CEO
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2017

“Greater Giving Review”

OverallLike stated before Greater Giving is an amazing software and it makes it very easy to run your event through it. You are able to easily track ticket sales, input silent auction items, sell silent auction items, store vendor/partner information.
ProsI love the easy access to those working with you (staff) and later for those using the Silent Auction feature the ease for those that sign up to be able to see the items and receive notifactions.
ConsOverall it is a great product. There are a few kinks for example while adding your credit card via picture for those participating in the silent auction the information doesn't get put in exactly correct which causes for the process to take longer and the registration to be more difficult. At an event in which people are moving around and with an older crowd making the registration as easy and less time consuming would be more beneficial.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2017
Mark P.
Director of Development
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Satisfied Customer for over 7 years. ”

OverallWe have used the Greater Giving software for our last 7 galas/auctions and each year it continues to improve and make the back-of-house operations easier for our event volunteers. I would highly recommend this software to anyone who is wanting to make operations seamless for both your guest and volunteers. Mobile bidding functions that were incorporated are very popular with our constituents and have raised the overall amount of donations given.
ProsEase of use and customer support.
ConsIt is a little higher in cost but well worth the expense and ease of mind the night of the event.
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Patty S.
Director of Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2015

“Recommend Greater Giving for nonprofit events management”

OverallI have used Greater Giving for the past three years to manage our agency's gala. Last year, we added the mobile bidding component. When we jumped from 'paper' to Greater Giving in 2012, our goal was to make our guests' experiences at the gala as painless as possible. We also wanted to make it easier to manage for the volunteer leadership in our cash out room. With the help of Greater Giving, our gala has become one of the best in Rochester, NY. We have over 700 guests that register quickly and easily, and most who choose to pre-swipe a credit card, making the check out process no longer a necessity at the end of the evening. Our auctions have grown, and the return on value as gone from 55% to 78% last year - the first time we used mobile bidding. The Greater Giving service team has been exceptional, often responding the same day when contacted, always by the end of the next business day. Greater Giving has many layers and takes time to truly understand all that it can do to help with your events. However, it is easy to understand, and the time invested will pay off with happy attendees and volunteers and significant growth in amount raised. I highly recommend this product for anyone looking to increase revenue at an event and enhance the experiences of the attendees
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2015
Emily S.
president
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2015

“Fantastic Service and Great Product”

OverallWe have been using Greater Giving for our Parents' Club fundraising software for since 2011. I personally began using the software in 2012 and have grown very fond of the product. Every year I talk with customer service and say I wish the software could do "xyz" and they say "that is in the works". The next year I see the improvements. My biggest complaint is the software takes some time to learn. We are a volunteer organization and it can be difficult to have people learn the software in the time frame needed. That being said, those of us who are actively involved are very knowledgeable and impressed with the many features the software offers. I believe a permanent, year round organization would quickly get immersed in the software and use it to the fullest intent. I am impressed with all the reporting and appreciated the many ways you can filter the data and export the data. The ease of being able to pull donors, donations and sponsors from one event to the next has been a huge benefit for us and eliminated many hours of work. In reality, I do not feel the software could be easier I just believe we are in a difficult position because of ever changing volunteers.
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2015
Avatar Image
Madi S.
Development Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Greater Giving”

OverallOverall great. There are occasional glitches but their customer support team is outstanding.
ProsThe auction and check in portion of the software are the most valuable. Allowing early and self check in for participants at events is fantastic and helpful.
ConsThis does not link to any of our other databases and we have to enter all information without any transfers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Arthur H.
Systems Engineer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“We use it for an annual auction event”

OverallIt works perfectly for our client to do their annual fund raiser
ProsIt is now all done on a web page. This has been a large improvement over the older versions. It is quick and easy for our volunteers to use. Support is excellent when you need it.
ConsIt can sometime time out when your are in a conference center wifi. Logging in can be confusing for volunteers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Tera C.
Director of Operations
Primary/Secondary Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 9, 2016

“Greater Giving great customer service”

ProsCustomer service was incredible. I loved being able to create a fundraising page for each new campaign.
ConsI can't say anything negative about this program. Every encounter I had with customer service went above and beyond!
Recommendations to other buyersEasy to follow directions for creating fundraising pages. Not much of a learning curve at all!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 9, 2016
Jeniece C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2016

“I'm a Greater Giving Fan”

OverallWe have used Greater Giving for several years to manage our online giving pages and our school's fundraising event. This year, we added the mobile bidding component. This was the second time we've used mobile bidding, the first with a different company. I was looking for a product to easily manage all the auction and mobile bidding steps myself. This produce was so easy to use. The customoer support throughout the event was wonderful, often responding the same day when contacted, always by the end of the next business day. We are most likely planning to use mobile bidding again at our event in 2017, and I am already considering ways to use what I learned at the last event to make this one even easier, all using the things I learned through using Greater Giving. We are a happy user. Thank you. I highly recommend this product for anyone looking to increase revenue at an event and enhance the experiences of the attendees
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2016
Jordan D.
Communications Center Supervisor
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 25, 2018

“Essential for Fundraising! ”

ProsThis software is an exceptional tool for fundraising efforts. Event planners, auction chairs, and many more benefit from this software offering an organized and unique approach to fundraising. Mobile bidding, online auctions, and much more make this software engaging and easy to use from anywhere!
ConsInitial use may be a challenge before you get used to the product. Learning curve for those that are not used to technology through mobile bidding and online auctions, however, the ease of use makes it easy to explain to a donor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 25, 2018
Ashley M.
Annual Giving Manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2018

“Great auction platform ”

OverallThe customer service is very friendly and timely, the auction platform is superior to many others.
ProsThe auction portion of this product is really great. I've used this for many events and it is very efficient. Ticketed events are easy to set up, and you can really customize your event pages to your liking.
ConsThe reporting and export features work ok, but could be more robust. They have a mobil bidding platform, but that could also use more advancements as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2018
Tom B.
System Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2015

“GG Event Software great for small and mid-sized organizations”

OverallThe product suite includes all of the basic tools/features you would want in this type of product. The online payments web tools are also good, but somewhat limited. Users with substantial html skills can get a lot more out of it, but non-technical users may find the tools difficult to navigate. The fact that the web-tools allow us to build entire websites (not just registration, donations, and sales) adds tremendous value. For a small to mid-sized organization that needs a full suite of tools to handle this arm of their business, it's a great option and I recommend the product. My organization is a PTA and the data structure for managing "Households" (individual parents, children, etc) is clunky and difficult to integrate with other systems data. That said, whenever we've had issues or questions, the GG support team has been great! All in all, a great value.
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2015
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Will make check-in a breeze”

OverallThe benefits of Greater Giving include an easy upload and check-in process, a simple check-out process for auction purchases or donations, and a simple training for staff members.
ProsThe features of this products "go-time" make for a really easy event check-in. I've worked a variety of events with this software, most notably a large seated fundraiser. Everyone was able to check-in quickly and all the details needed by our check-in team were easily accessible.
ConsThe search function could be expanded on to assist better with misspellings or connections to other members (spouse names, etc).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Gets the job doneish”

OverallI used for organizing fundraising - I'd personally reaearch other software in the future to see if they have better search options for easier fill-in or better grammar checks for entries.
ProsIt wasveasy to keep track of lots of different pieces for donor fundraising and an auction event. In export functionality, it was great.
ConsWoof, not very intuitive at first. Also just time consuming. It feels like there should be a built in feature to search businesses and addresses or such. That would elevate the software to gold in my donor assistant standards.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Chantelle W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Another great event with the help of Greater Giving!”

OverallI have used Greater Giving's Event Software and mobile bidding platform for the past several years and just finished my largest gala event yet - with over 400 people attending - and I don't know how I could have done so without it! From tracking all of my items and packages, to assigning guests to tables, viewing their purchases and organizing mobile bidding and a text to give campaign, it makes me look like a pro. My volunteers love it, my guests appreciate the ease with which they check in and check out, and I find the system itself to be very user friendly. And for those rare times when I can't figure it out myself, chat support is fabulous! I have recommended this software to several colleagues and will continue to do so.
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Katie R.
Director of Development and Communications
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“Greater Giving has helped make our event process easier. ”

ProsIt helps keep us organized when we plan for events and the online auction feature is fun to use and helps us raise more money then we could if we did it with paper bid sheets.
ConsThe reports are hard to use and hard to customize and the event website it limited in what you can do with it. I wish there was more flexibility in the design aspect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Dan M.
CFO
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 15, 2017

“Software to make your EVENT the BEST!”

OverallI've used this for multiple events and can't say enough.
ProsEasy to use, very user friendly, reconciles wonderfully, great bang for the buck, best affordable software out there to account for your fundraising event
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 15, 2017
Nathaniel F.
Donor Relations Coordinator
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 16, 2017

“Great for events.”

OverallWould recommend.
ProsWe always use greater giving for our 5+ events a year. It's great for checking people in, and just about all the steps necessary to take when running events, before, during, and after.
ConsSome of the nuances in processing payments can be a bit tricky, and are not intuitive when teaching others how to use the softeware.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 16, 2017
Chris F.
Development Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Great customer service and a continually developing product.”

OverallWe have had success with the Greatergiving event software for the past few years. Each year improvements are made and functionality is added. We have received excellent customer service starting with our sales rep, to the event rep and finally the help desk.
ProsEase of use for event night volunteers.
ConsThere is a great deal of options and functionality so there is a learning curve to make the most of the features.
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
Cindy M.
Website manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2015

“Nightmare to use on the backend”

OverallI can't wait to get rid of this software. It looks good on paper until you use it. We couldn't make heads or tails of the reports. Designing the website pages were challenging (and I'm a website designer). Not intuitive. Inflexible. Want to had a field? Forget it. Want to add instructions or a different title to a field? Forget it. At the bottom of your website will be an ugly black bar with the Greater Giving logo - and you can't get rid of it. I've ask them to change it from a black bar to transparency or white, no luck.

Vendor Response

By Greater Giving on May 11, 2015
Thank you for your very valuable feedback. First off, we are sorry to hear your experience was so incredibly frustrating. Your feedback is helpful to us as we continue to develop and improve our products. We recently hired a new Product Manager and he is very interested in speaking with you further to gain more insight. Secondly, we've been listening to feedback about the reports and the black bar and are already updating those areas for further customization so users do not feel stuck. Overall, thank you for your candidness, and we would like to work with you on accurately collecting your pain points and suggestions to improve our solutions. Jill Boyer Senior Marketing Manager
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2015
Matthew M.
IT Director
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 28, 2018

“Great Event Management Software”

OverallGreater Giving provides all the functionality we need at a very reasonable price. The event registration and check-in/check-out process is easy and much appreciated by our guests. Silent auction online bidding has become very popular, and we've seen a dramatic increase in the amount of money raised through the auctions.
ProsNice set of features for the cost. Online auctions have been a tremendous benefit for our organization
ConsAdmin interface is sometimes difficult to work with, and could use a redesign. Reporting is also a bit cumbersome.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 28, 2018
Leah K.
Development Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2016

“Made an impression on our guests!”

OverallUsing Greater Giving Express Pay allowed our guests to have a more seamless experience at our silent auction. Guests commented on how easy it was to participate in all aspects of the event using their bid number and not have to worry about standing in a checkout line at the end of the night. I wouldn't go back to using anything but this! As a small nonprofit, we are always looking to save money, so the price tag is a hurdle - but once you think about the gained revenue because your guests are focused on giving and not worries about check out - the price is worth it in increased revenue.
ProsMakes checkout seamless at silent auction event. You don't loose revenue trying to hunt down someone who bid but didn't pay at the end of the night.
ConsI'd love for it to be cheaper!
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2016
Michelle R.
Director of Advancement Services
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2015

“Greater Giving is a great non profit partner”

OverallGreater Giving has been a great partner for planning and executing the auction for our school for the past five years. The addition of Go Time for check-in and check-out and seamless data flow between our auction database and the mobile bidding platform has made event night run smoother than ever. The customer support has always been very responsive and helpful when needed. We have seen a steady increase in auction revenue since switching to mobile bidding, not to mention a decrease in "auction night madness." I call it a win-win-win for staff, volunteers and event guests.
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2015
Shawn S.
Accounting & Development Specialist
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 10, 2017

“GG review”

Prosrelatively user friendly, basic functionality, good value for the low cost of the product, customer service was prompt
Conscustomer service answers varied in accuracy and helpfulness, software is somewhat clunky to use, dated looking
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 10, 2017
Julie R.
Executive Director
Philanthropy, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1.5/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 21, 2015

“Expensive and 'Pages' are hard to set up”

ProsWhen I started my website it was one of the only sites out there. They are PCI compliant.
ConsHow difficult the pages are to set up and understand. The 'FAQ's' and online 'Help' aren't any help at all.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you have a crew of folks to dedicate to setting up online donate pages go for it. If you are a small business or NP and have minimal web experience like me -- forget it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 21, 2015
Avatar Image
Dawn W.
eCRM Project Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Greater Giving Review”

ProsI like the Customer Support and I like the standard reporting otpions.
ConsI think it is VERY hard to navigate and very hard to set up a set. I feel the program is outdated and needs to be more admin user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Cara M.
Director of Development
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2017

“Best Event Software Available”

OverallThe software provided a quick and accurate recap of the money we brought in during our event.
ProsEase of use was great. Go Time interface for volunteers was a life saver!! The website was also a great tool for our Live and Silent Auction items.
ConsNo standard thank you letter with donations, sponsorship/ticket sales, and purchases in one document - very dissapointed
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2017
Ashley M.
Dir. of Communications
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018

“Great for Fundraising Event Logistics, Bidding”

ProsThe best thing about Greater Giving is the mobile capability that allows attendees at our annual gala to bid on silent auction items from their seats. We've yet to find this capability with any other fundraising software.
ConsI'm a newer user and still getting used to the platform, but I'd love for it to be more user-friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 16, 2018
Cara M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2017

“Too difficult for average volunteers”

OverallGreater Giving is very feature-rich. Too feature-rich for my needs, it turns out. We are a small private school and used Greater Giving for 2 years for an annual gala with an auction as well as a Fun Run fundraiser. I liked the flexibility to customize reports and printed materials, but the way it handled auction items was extremely time to consume. You are required to enter each thing as a single item, then create a package. It didn't matter if it really was a package of 2 or 3 items or if it was just one thing - everything had to end up a package. That basically doubled the amount of data entry for me. I found the program far too difficult to use with volunteers - way too much of a learning curve. I did really like the event-night software and found it easy to use, even with the volunteers.
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2017
Annemarie M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2016

“This software has brought our event to new heights!”

OverallWorking with Greater Giving has enhanced our department, events and my job tremendously. We have used the software for several years now and have added mobile bidding most recently. Mobile bidding has increased our silent auction sales by 25% in just the first year of use and look forward to using it again and growing our revenue!
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2016
Avatar Image
Paul V.
Executive Director
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018

“Event Management”

OverallGreat to use, but too expensive for small organizations.
ProsIt made selling auction items and event tickets easy!
ConsThe cost. We ended up losing money based on the total cost of the program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 31, 2018
Diane A.
Government Administration, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 25, 2015

“Greater Giving Review”

ProsEasy to use, easy to access, easy for many to use, easy for many to keep track of.
ConsNothing for us to think about for the least. The vendor is easy to use.
Recommendations to other buyersGreat for a company to utilize for many employees to access and easy to use.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 25, 2015
Sylvia M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2017

“Useful, But Clunky”

OverallOur organization used Greater Giving for many years to handle program and event registrations, ranging in size and focus. It can be difficult to set up and use but efficient once you have the information.
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2017
Linda M.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 25, 2015

“Greater Giving Review”

ProsEase of use and accessibility. It's also very convenient.
ConsNo complaints about this product or vendor at the present time.
Recommendations to other buyersIt is worh the time and effort. It is a very cost-worthy item to purchase.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 25, 2015