OTRS Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About OTRS

OTRS is a fully-managed service management suite for help desks that includes ticketing, automation and notification. It can be configured to match your help desk's needs with features such as ITIL processes, CMDB, SLA management or corporate security process management. It's an ideal solution for help desks that want to streamline communication, track and identify trends and deliver top-quality service to their customers. Try OTRS today. Learn more about OTRS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 61 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 61 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Very customizeable, professional service management software”

OverallMakes work easier by having a good overview of ongoing tickets, but also past tickets, with details of what was built / done to offer a solution. That's dependant of what you enter into the system of course, but the options are there and they are clear.
ProsI've been using OTRS for quite a few years now, and it's an excellent piece of software that makes my life as a sysadmin/support desk guy easier. OTRS understands ITIL, end users and IT pros, and the software supports that. You can link tickets, make internal notes, make FAQs, paste images into text fields, send e-mails, etc. You can also do templates, customize columns, set alerts when things take too long, etc. It's really nice. It even works with our ADFS server, which is excpected of a tool like this, but still. In short, OTRS is versatlize and customizeable.
ConsThere have been minor (cosmetic) bugs here and there, every now and then, which are slightly annoying. Often you can fix these things yourself, but OTRS's configuration is very complex and requires some insight and experience. So in the end, you're gonna have to contact support or read the extensive manual. But buth those options work.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 27, 2018
Thank you for reviewing OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts and comments.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Mike M.
Treasurer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“OTRS has been a fabulous tool for tracking customer interactions”

OverallOur customer service improved because we no longer lost track of calls,follow ups, etc.
ProsFlexibility: We can add/remove queues easily; we can define sequences of events, custom fields, link to external client DBs, etc.
ConsPerformance is "run of the mill"... but then, I'm also on fairly run of the mill hardware, too. Recent versions have vastly improved the GUI interface. However, it is fairly dense - which I actually consider a Pro (efficient) but some people think it's distracting (cluttered).

Vendor Response

By OTRS on October 13, 2017
Dear Mike, thank you very much for such a great review. We work really hard to offer one of the most flexible help desk systems on the market, so I'm happy to see that reflects on your experience with our software. Easily adjusting the system to your needs is one of the core benefits of OTRS and it will be even simpler with the new admin GUI of OTRS 6. Best regards, OTRS
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Jose C.
IT Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“Complete customer support solution overall”

ProsYou can manage your support tickets as you please. Merge issues, whatever the channel is: email, telephone support. And if you need some more juice, there is their API: integrate it with other systems like odoo or vTiger. Also, it helps you to manage billing hours, SLA, remaining support time for the customer.
ConsThe only thing i can think of is Perl: in a world where all the new programmers come with a web background using JavaScript and other modern technologies, OTRS make it difficult for these kind of programmers to work, but any competent sysadmin can help.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on April 6, 2018
Hi Jose! Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate hearing your thoughts about OTRS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Sarah M.
Customer Support Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
February 24, 2017

“Feedback and the Support Received ”

OverallI would like to Thank your Support Team for the exellent level of support and assistance we have been provided since the introduction of OTRS. I would like to also mention a OTRS staff member who assist with our OTRS version update to 5's Shawn was extramely Professional, friendly, helpful and went a step further to assist me with some system configuration and stepped through some additonal funtionality options available to us.
Prosthe ability to track a tickets journey from start to resolution
Conssome of the terminoligy in the system configuration isn't very user friendly

Vendor Response

By OTRS on March 14, 2017
Dear Sarah, thank you very much for your review. We're thrilled that you're getting value from our software and our services. Shawn will also be very happy to hear your compliments. At OTRS we have an open ear for your ideas and suggestions. If there's anything that we can improve, or if you have a new idea for OTRS please feel free to contact us: marketing@otrs.com Best regards, OTRS Marketing Team
Source: Capterra
February 24, 2017
Avatar Image
Omar S.
Technical Coordinator
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Opensource framework with modern front-end and perl backend”

OverallLow-cost, scalabale solution that could handle multiple trouble ticket queues within one software context.
ProsHighly customizable. Perl backend "makes sense" and isn't opaque like some designs. It runs as a set of CGI, so that allows it to be wedged into most any webserver environment. We found it simple to run within an Apache / Linux environment.
ConsThe CGI-based design is relatively inefficient and can be sluggish without making some optimizations on the webserver side -- mod_perl in our case (relatively complicated). Docs are a bit sparse, though customer service is responsive.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on March 22, 2018
Thanks for taking time to share your experience, Omar.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“Overall , i found OTRS to be the easiest Ticketing system to use thus far ”

OverallOTRS offered one of the most , if not the most , bang for the buck in my opinion. The support was always on point and promptly responded to all of or requests and questions , they provided on site support when needed and had one of the most pleasant training experience thus far.
ProsAs both a user and an administrator of the software i found the following in my last year of using the software : Ease of use Flexibility Easy customization Open Source Powerful Tools
ConsAlthough i found this to be the most user friendly of the ticketing there are a few things i think might be improved in the future : Convoluted Process management SLA administration cumbersome to use and config Lacking a few features out of the box

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 25, 2018
Thank you for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“We use OTRS to register all the activities/pendencies. It is ease to use and intuitive as well.”

OverallThe way we can centralize everything on it is real a benefit.
ProsThe provided scalability really help us. As a new demand appears, we can set the software to fit to this new need. This is really a power way to work with software.
ConsWhen I send some e-mail to, which is related to some active ticket, the emails go agrupated, so for any new e-mail sent, all the previous text are rewritten. In some tickets, there are a lot of du- or tri or quadri-plicated emails. I know this is just something I can solve by deleting the text before sendind it to OTRS, but, it would be amazing if OTRS could append only the new text to the ticket.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on March 29, 2018
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about OTRS. We're glad for the feedback. I will pass along your comments about the e-mails. It may also help to know that you can submit new improvement ideas to the development team via https://otrsteam.ideascale.com/ Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018

“Great Incident Management Software, with all the Features, great value for money”

OverallStable incident management software with all features needed, excellent value for money.
ProsEasy to get OTRS installed and running, lots of Features in Open Source. Ideal for situations when you need an incident management tool fast. Software runs perfectly stable in Linux, running it on a Windows Server is possible but not recommended. We tried and ran into performance issues.
ConsUser Interface isn't very modern and easy to use. OTRS does not run efficiently on Windows Servers.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 8, 2018
Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018
Georges A.
Service Manager
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“With ITSM awareness and maturity, OTRS can be successfully adopted and adapted.”

OverallOrganize and Improve Desk and Operation functions. The value and level of services delivered by our department/team is better understood internally. Customer expectation is managed properly, therefore leading to improvements in customer experience.
ProsAdaptability to agents organization and processes. ITIL orientation for ops processes and inclusion of Configuration and Knowledge management.
ConsTicket to C.I. links can be better clarified and improved (impact of the relationship) C.I. Features on Customer portal (e.g. missing search function, latency to refresh large CMDB)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
joshua B.
IT Desktop Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“customizable, flexible and inexpensive, ITIL ”

ProsIt follows ITIL standards, It is free to use and support maintenance is inexpensive. It does support multiply languages.
ConsIt has a lot of customizable options that can cause some confusion when trying to fix a problems or modify the software. Finding those different options and what heading they are under in the management. The current version we are on does not support an easy SSO/SAML setup out of the box.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 16, 2018
Hi Joshua, Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate the feedback. To clarify, for others reading, OTRS is a fully-managed solution. We do offer ((OTRS)) Community Edition that is free to use and open-source, but it requires self-configuration and that can be challenging. Thanks again for taking time to write in!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Malcolm B.
Head of IT International offices
Textiles, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2018

“Brilliant consultants and best value Helpdesk we have ever used. Highly recommended.”

OverallHelps to control helpdesk and service functions across our organisation
ProsHighly robust, runs on All popular platforms like windows server, Linux etc Light to client performs really well over LAN and WAN Excellent value for money compared to other products in its category
ConsRequires some Training in order to tweak any of the under the hood features Generating reports is a little weak compared to leading industry products

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 10, 2018
I think our consultants would be thrilled by your review. Thank you for taking time to write in and share your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Annie M.
IT Service Desk
Luxury Goods & Jewelry, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2018

“Pretty decent, but it does have a few flaws”

OverallIT Asset Management got easy for us. Thank you for coming up with this application
ProsThe application is pretty quick and the administrators are able to bring about changes quickly aswell. We create FAQs and SOPs and add it to OTRS which makes it a great internal Knowledge Base. We also use it as a IT Asset management tool.
ConsIts not the most fanciest application, but I am used to this now and I love it. No issues in the past 4 years

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 8, 2018
We're glad that it's helped with your IT Asset Management efforts. Thanks for taking time to share the review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“Flexible and powerful helpdesk and service desk solution”

OverallMy experience in using OTPs is more than 10 years. OTP successfully solves the problems of automating IT services, integrated customer support services. We also successfully use OTPS for the implementation of HR processes.
Pros1. Open-source 2. ITIL based solution 3. Flexible configuration 4. Built-in processes 5. Powerful email handling 6. Event-based hander
Cons1. Outdated design 2. No mobile app 3. Relatively complex integration through web services

Vendor Response

By OTRS on May 20, 2019
Very much appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll keep an eye out in Q4 for design changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2018

“Easy and Robust Software - Economical Ticketing Solution for any Organization”

OverallCost effective Ticketing Software .
ProsThis is an open source application and exactly the reason why we love it in our company. When every year the management cuts our budget, OTRS is a tool where we don't have too spend to much to get great features and also use it to address tickets and eventually delight our customers
ConsVendor Support is something that I would expect to be a little better. For some changes they charge a lot

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 9, 2018
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2018
Remco Q.
IT Regional Infrastructure Manager
Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Great Service Desk ticketing Solution”

ProsWe have implemented OTRS in our Corporate environment and it is our primary ticketing tool. The ability to track incidents, change requests and Problem tickets is the best feature of OTRS. The reports that can be generated via OTRS is also a great benefit.
ConsSince this is an Open Source software, for any major modification the vendor needs to be contacted and extra payment needs to be done.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on August 16, 2018
Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Binu M.
Application Support Manager
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018

“Better than Remedy”

OverallChange Management and incidents are easy to manage with this tool
ProsThis is the only Open Source Ticketing tool that I have used and I should say I'm surprisingly impressed. The change management process flows are easily implemented and easily configured
ConsThere are no cons that I can talk about. This product is as robust as remedy or any other ticketing system

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 17, 2018
Hi Binu. We're glad to hear that the process workflows are helping out. Thanks for taking time to review OTRS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Lindson D.
IT Analyst
Machinery, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Its a great and efficient tool for someone in the service desk”

OverallWe use it as our primary ticketing tool
ProsI love the way it can be customized to view all sort of information. We track Change requests and Incidents using OTRS. The best part is that it is OpenSource and the modification can be done easily and without shelling out a lot of money.
Consnone actually. I've used other applications like Remedy, however I am more inclined to OTRS for now.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 5, 2018
Glad to hear that it's working for you, Lindson. We appreciate you taking time to share a review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Rosen R.
Program Manager Central IT Services
Airlines/Aviation, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“OTRS is one of the best ITSM tools that I've ever seen and I'm so happy seeing its development!”

ProsIncident management and request fulfillment processes are fully covered by the tool. It's highly customizable and very stable.
ConsThere are two things: 1. Change management process is a little bit hard to implement; 2. The trend to go into the cloud. We're very conservative organization and we prefer to operate on-premise solutions.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 27, 2018
Hi Rosen. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS. We appreciate you doing so and hearing about your experience with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019

“OTRS - Makes life easy ”

OverallWe can manage everything better with tools like OTRS so go give it a try. They offer free demo too.
Pros- OTRS allows you to keep track of your requirements and all the incidents in terms of tickets. There is no way you can lose something or miss something. With the help of SRX number you will find everything in few seconds. No matter how many years old, those records are. - You can customize your own process and according to you Ex - standard time to meet the SLA - The support team is available 24/7 for help and with every new update.
Cons- I don't like that feature of OTRS when on every single email it creates new ticket. Besides that, I honestly don't have any complaints about OTRS.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on March 12, 2019
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2018

“OTRS - Recommended Open source Ticketing System available in market”

Overall- Internal operational efficiencies - Improved business process agility - Improved business process outcomes - Improved customer relations/service
Pros- Deeply Integrate & implements ITIL process - Reports on SLA / Open vs closed and any other business requirement can be easily configured - Tickets : Easy to create & Track, Group similar issue tickets - Workflow, Notification, Process flow automation can easily be configured with no to minimal effort.
Cons- Need to create more UI themes , even though current are sufficient considering its free.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on December 12, 2018
Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate the feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2018
Michael L.
Head of IT (Nordic Countries and Estonia)
Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Great and Simple Ticketing Tool”

ProsOur organisation has been using OTRS for years now and it has been great. We have implemented OTRS in our IT and Marketing Groups. IT related tickets gets tracked using OTRS and Customer emails are converted into tickets and addressed by the CRM and Marketing teams.
ConsI did not find any cons regarding OTRS.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on August 16, 2018
Thanks for the feedback, Michael. We appreciate you taking the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Carlo T.
IT Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Very useful product”

ProsEasy ticket management, high product customization possibilities. Possibility to create many types of reports.
ConsThe CMDB section is just a container of information. It would be useful to have the ability to manage assets by setting thresholds on the age of the hardware to schedule the replacement.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on May 20, 2019
Thank you for your comments and feedback. Much appreciate it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018

“Used extensively for the past 10 years”

OverallCheap effective solution for handling incoming client requests.
ProsOpen source. Not the most visually appealing software but it allowed us to break down our queue system based on user requirements with ease.
ConsWritten like an older program. A lot of the functionality is not next gen ready and it sorely lacks vs newer systems.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 16, 2018
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate the review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018
Francis T.
ICT Service Desk Manager
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018

“Great to tailor to a good ITSM tool, after a first learning curve one can be efficient”

OverallSolid Incident management process rolled out
Prosemail inbound capabilities are great (maybe unique!) Easy to rollout, once you have a couple of basic admins, customising is quite powerful
ConsReporting is difficult to make work out of the box, SLA functionality complete only if you pay extra functionality

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 10, 2018
Thanks for taking time to send in a review, Francis. We appreciate your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018
Roberto P.
CTO /CISO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018

“In our organization OTRS is used by one hundred operators of IT, Business, Reception, Helpdesk”

ProsIs very flexible, adaptive to almost every kind of organization. Easy for users. Many features available where to pick the more suitable for your needs
ConsQuite complex the administration, especially when is necessary to change the standard settings. Some features are not easy to implement.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 3, 2018
Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. Your thoughts are helpful to us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2018
Sander G.
Beleidsadviseur ICT
Government Relations, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“Very flexible system - easier to use than to configure”

OverallIt helps us to administer our support tickets and create FAQ articles for them.
ProsThe ease of use and flexibility are very valuable. Also it's open source and you can run it yourself would you wish to do so.
ConsInterfacing with other systems is, out of the box, rather limited. You could build it yourself though. Managed hosting by OTRS is very expensive for teams with just a few members.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
Govinda R.
IT manager
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“OTRS has outstanding functionalities, usability”

OverallOTRS benefits are many : Integrated Business Features such as Chat and Ticket Timeline View. Free choice of exclusive features. Installation and configuration. Regular, free updates. ITIL compatible Service Management. Use OTRS Business Solution on your mobile devices
ProsLow cost , usability and integration with multiple app is possible. Very user friendly. Definitely will have great cost saving post implementation.
ConsData encryption is not working correctly, same is tested by installing this module. Seems this error must have fixed by app development team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Dwipanita S.
Analyst Accounts
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018

“Account Receivable Team is more efficient ”

OverallEfficient tracking of requests in the form of tickets
ProsAfter we got this OTRS application setup, we were able to track all tickets that comes into our queue. We work on each ticket and make sure the SLA is in place. I've used remedy in the previous organisation, however this is the best
ConsI don't believe there are anything negative about OTRS. The display interface could be a little better

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 17, 2018
Glad to hear that it's helped meet SLAs. Thanks for taking time to review OTRS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018
Tom P.
Application Manager
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“OTRS helps our business to organise our customer contacts in a structured way!”

ProsOTRS has the ability to configure everything to your needs. Integration with other systems is very flexible via the webservices.
ConsIt would be nice to have more tools to import and export data e.g. service list or content for dynamic fields/lists

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 16, 2018
Thanks for taking time to review OTRS, Tom. We appreciate the feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Bas P.
IT Director
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018

“Best Ticketing Tool ever”

OverallSpeed and efficiency
ProsMy team use this everyday. Ever since we went live with this tool we were able to accomplish a lot. Incident tickets and Problem tickets are easy to track and manage
ConsI can't think of any cons. This tool works well and the features are apt for our organization. Use it for a few days and you will get to know

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 17, 2018
Thanks so much for the review, Bas. We appreciate the feedback and are glad that OTRS is working well for your team!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018
Rajesh M.
Sr.Manager
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016

“A Very Economical Ticketing Tool”

OverallThis product is using from 3 years.We started from a trial version and later customized to meet our requirements.Its meeting almost all requirements,compared with highly paid other tolls.The major advantages are the unlimited number of agents and customers can create in this. We could develop all the required features in this and happy with the product.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on October 7, 2016
Thank you very much for your review.
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016
Sujoy S.
CRM Analyst
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018

“Great App that can be used in any Sector”

OverallCustomer responses are managed on time
ProsWe got this implemented by our IT Team for us to monitor customer responses and it has been just great. All responses get converted into a ticket and we can manage it as per the SLA configured
ConsThe time it takes to configure small changes are too much, i feel. other than that, I don't think there are any Cons

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 17, 2018
Thanks for the review, Sujoy. Glad to hear it's helping to manage SLAs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Soma B.
HR Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Great Application and Great Features”

OverallCustomer Satisfaction increased by 80%
ProsWe wanted to track tickets that come into the HR services and that's when we asked IT to get OTRS for us. Now its improved our Customer Satisfaction Scores by 80%
ConsI could never find a Con in OTRS. Its not expensive easy to modify and quick. I love this Application

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 16, 2018
Wow! That's wonderful to hear, Soma. Thanks so much for letting us know and for taking time to send in a review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Avatar Image
mukhtiyar a.
IT Analyst
Biotechnology, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“ITs an amazing OpenSource Application that can be used as a ticketing Tool”

OverallBeing in the IT Service Desk it helps me track all my Tickets
ProsWe use it daily at the Service Desk. We can track Service Requests and Change Request very effectively. We can also implement ITIL based concepts on OTRS
ConsAs many would agree, the GUI is very basic and could use some uplift. There are other tools in the market which has better interface.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 5, 2018
Thanks for your review, Mukhtiyar. Your thoughts are appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Debolina N.
Oversight Data Manager
Pharmaceuticals, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018

“Wonderful Application and easy to use”

OverallAll our tickets are tracked and its one of the best tools that i've used
ProsWe use this as our ticketing tool and I find it very easy to use and the best part is that it is Open Source. The support is also great, it is easy to make changes.
ConsThe GUI could be a little fancy, but over all I'm satisfied with the product. There is not many cons

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 3, 2018
Thanks, Debolina. We appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018
Pam S.
Business Support Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Awesome Ticketing Tool”

ProsI have been using this for the past 3 years. Just the easiest way to keep a track of customer feedback .
ConsIt slows down sometimes, but a reboot always works

Vendor Response

By OTRS on October 9, 2018
Thanks for taking time to review, Pam. Glad to hear it's going well for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Tiju J.
Service Delivery Manager
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“Just the best Ticketing Software that I've used”

Overallease of addressing tickets and change requests
ProsMy team and I use OTRS to work on tickets let it be Incident or Change Request. This is a feature rich tool that is opensource
ConsI could not find any cons in the 2 years that I've been using this software. It doesn't have any addins or plugins that could slow it down.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 17, 2018
Thanks for taking time to share your review, Tiju. We're glad for the feedback!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Manjunath J.
Senior System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Great Tool to work with . Its easy and fast”

OverallWe use this as our Primary Ticketing Tool.
ProsWe use it on a regular basis and it helps us monitor tickets and work on them. It's absolutely essential for an ITIL based service desk
ConsThe GUI could be better. but that's nothing I'm complaining about. I like the speed at which we can change screens

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 5, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019

“customization makes easy issue tracking ”

Proscan submit and track the customer queries easily and customization can be done as per the requirement. notes can be added and the owners can be assigned easily. SLAs can be set up for escalation
Conssometimes it is low in performance and when replied via email for an otrs sent request it creates another duplicated ticket.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 3, 2019
Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts, and we're glad to hear that OTRS has been useful to you. I'll also share your comments with the rest of the team. Much appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Soma B.
Talent Acquisition
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Great Ticketing Tool”

ProsI have used this for about 2 years and it is a very simple and powerful ticketing tool. We use it to track our IT Assets aswell.
ConsThis is an open source tool, so you get what you pay for. I did not find any other negative points.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on October 16, 2018
Thanks for your feedback, Soma. In case others are reading, there is also a fully-managed version of OTRS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Jackson P.
Assistant Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“Great Product and great Features”

OverallEfficiency
ProsThe ease of use and the way you can customize if easily. My team uses it daily. It is an absolute must for a service desk
ConsIt could have linking option better. It does a bit of time to link tickets and SOPs and FAQs. Otherwise it all fine.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 27, 2018
Thanks so much for your comments, Jackson. We appreciate you taking the time to write in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Manisha S.
HR Manager
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“OTRS an Amazing Tool - Easy and Efficient”

OverallProblem Management tickets were easy to track
ProsEasy to configure and Easy to implement. One of the best applications to track incidents and change requests
ConsI have never had a negative experience while using OTRS

Vendor Response

By OTRS on August 3, 2018
Thanks so much for the review, Manisha. We're glad to hear it's helping. Much appreciated!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Mohit J.
Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Basic Ticketing tool for customer desks”

OverallBasic software for small organization without advanced features of ITIL.
ProsI used it for sometime in one of my assignments. It was a very basic tool with minimum customization. It just does its job and do not provide advanced features of ITIL framework. Reporting was not effective and so was its UI. We replaced this with more advanced CA Servicedesk. However as a freeware, it was good for initial use.
ConsIt is basic application and nothing much can be expected put of this. Ours is a ITIL compliant organization and need a more robust application.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on June 1, 2018
Hi Mohit. Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS, and I'm glad you found a solution that fits your needs, I did just want to clarify, for other people reading, that OTRS is ITIL-compliant, and we have 6 ITIL-verified processes for incident, change, problem, knowledge and configuration management. Of course, we can't claim that for the ((OTRS)) Community Edition as that's our free unsupported version: in that case, compliance is in the hands of the user - and it can certainly be tough to configure that solo. But, our fully-managed version of OTRS is ITIL-compliant. Thanks again for the review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Simón Bernabé G.
Operador de Servidores
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“It is a great software very useful in the IT department of an organization”

OverallEase to handle the eventualities with the stations of work and telecommunications of the organization
ProsIt is very easy to use. It has a lot of flexibility you can use custom fields and can be integrated with other applications
ConsWhat I like least about this software is that it does not have a lot of documentation and sometimes it is usually a bit slow when the volume of information grows.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on April 12, 2018
Thank you for taking time to share your review of OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts and insights.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Gustavo V.
Middleware Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018

“OTRS a complex tool for the creation of Tickets.”

OverallMy experience with this tool is to be able to follow the requirements of our customers through the Tickets in OTRS.
ProsThis tool complies with the necessary requirements to carry out ticket controls and cases attended. It is a very modifiable tool in relation to administration.
ConsIn my case the disadvantages of this tool is that the user interface is very cumbersome and very unintuitive. The creation of the tickets is very complicated for me. It is necessary to have previous knowledge or to have received an induction to be able to use this tool.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on December 17, 2018
Thanks for taking time to write in Gustavo. The feedback is always appreciated. I don't know if you've had a chance to see the newly released OTRS 7: the external interface was updated with this release, and that's the start of changes to come with respect to the interface. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018
Samuel D.
System Analyst
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019

“Good, but the community version was discontinued”

OverallMy experience was good, but since there is no community version anymore I'm moving to another one.
ProsNo pros anymore as OTRS AG has discontinued the community (free) version. Version 6 will be the last free version.
ConsSince there is no community version anymore, business version (commercial) is expensive and lack a lot of features when compared to some newer players.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 16, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your review. I do want to mention that, while we have made some changes to when ((OTRS)) Community Edition updates are released, it hasn't been discontinued. It's available at https://community.otrs.com/. Much appreciate the feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019
Nadia M.
Administrative Coordinator I
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Excellent Ticketing System ”

OverallOverall, I had a really great experience with this program and would definitely recommend this program.
ProsI'm currently using the OTRS-6 system for submitting work order tickets. Before using this system, I would submit a work order and the response time was slow. There was no way that I would have known whether or not the However when I submit a work order request under the OTRS-6 system, I immediately receive a confirmation email and the response time is pretty quick.
ConsThe only con that I see with this program is that there was no user guide available; however, the program is pretty user-friendly.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 17, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Suraj R.
Senior Systems Trainer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“easy tracking on the logged issues and reporting”

Proscan be configured as required and the escalation and tracking is easier
Conssometimes it is slow when uploading attachments and duplicated when replied with email

Vendor Response

By OTRS on August 14, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It's appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Jenna M.
IT Support Consultant
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Great ITIL support product”

ProsThis product is really outstanding, we conducted a review of multiple service management tools and this came out on top. This gives us much more than call logging, there is the ability to set up full SLA criteria based on details logged by the users. When customers log calls depending on the information they provide means that the case they log can be sent to a specific queue for a specific team. Ability to see full detail about customer logging call: asset information, contact information and previous calls. There is a self help option to the product too which can assist with users basic enquiries.
ConsIntegration with outlook hasn't been the easiest.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 16, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about OTRS. They are appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Maxim P.
Infrastructure Specialist
Biotechnology, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018

“Its handy tool to have for an organization which does not have a lot of Infra/Solution staff.”

OverallIt's a great way to express what an application does from a User/Administrator point of view.
ProsIt's easy to use, doesn't have a lot of field like the other ticketing apps, so makes a users life easier.
ConsFeatures, lacks a lot of features, for example, if you have a Major incident, then you can link the child tickets to it but they aren't auto-closed, which you need to do manually, which becomes a tedious task.

Vendor Response

By OTRS on July 3, 2018
Thanks for the feedback, Maxim. We appreciate it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018