POSSE Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Service
4.9/5

About POSSE

A platform for streamlining regulatory work management for state, provincial, and metro governments. Learn more about POSSE

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Mark L.
GIS Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“The product is as good as the people that supports it. For 20 years, both have been very reliable.”

ProsPOSSE (server/client) is very flexible in the way it adapts to business changes and very reliable in the way it performs on a daily basis. From data entry (permitting/inspections) to report generation, the customizable user interface is simple, easy to learn, and use. The ability for in-house support to configure the user interface, business workflow, report design/output is a boon to productivity. POSSE allows non-GIS & GIS users alike to use the built-in map feature to display points, lines, & polygons in context of the data. The document feature facilitates digital storage/retrieval & management of documents in various formats, minimizing and/or eliminating physical filing. Allows easy changes to user access to various business elements without marshaling. The ability to create & see visual relationships (child/parent, warnings, etc.) is an added practical solution to complex concepts. There's a lot more...
ConsFlexibility is a dual-edged sword in this case. It's both good and bad - customization can become overly complex if not properly tracked and structured; overtime it can and will create a very complicated configuration and workflow. Fees are another difficult area to configure, track, adjust, and accurately report on. POSSE does not currently have a built-in robust fee module. The integration of GIS data with POSSE is essential but it requires SDE which can act as a SPOF. Unless there's a way to technically manage the To Do List, it can and has become impractical for many users. The same is true for the customer database in terms of continued proliferation of duplicate and/or unwanted data. Also, the new POSSE web does not support the drag/drop (tow truck) and maybe even the parent/child (jobs) relationship visual.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Don R.
Business Analyst
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“City of Edmonton Business Analyst POSSE”

OverallPOSSE is used daily to process applications for development permits , subdivision, rezoning and many administrative functions that need to tracked and assigned to staff as the application moves through the work flow. POSSE is an excellent tool to pinpoint who is doing what at any point in the processing of the application. The To do list and the process assignment functions ensure that no file or application is lost and forgotten. Management can review work load and re assign balance as necessary. Connections to mapping systems allow information to be transparent to the public at any time for any application.
ProsThe preset work flow ensures that any repetitious task that are assigned to many staff over many years ensures that all applications are processed in the same manner and in the correct order. In terms of the document control feature, many products did not have this feature and the use is invaluable.
ConsThe biggest concern is the ability to get changes to the system. Our IT governance requires significant justification to update, upgrade and re configure the work flow. Severe restriction in our management make it nearly impossible to effect changes in a timely manner. I would seek a SDK that the staff could use to modify and update processes and work flow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Eric D.
Head, Archaeology
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Reflections on ten years using POSSE”

OverallOur overall experience has been very positive. POSSE has become the centrepiece of our workplace and has resulted in substantial gains in both productivity and quality.
ProsOur organization began using POSSE ten years ago when we transitioned from a paper-based system of regulatory approvals. The first important benefit was the structure and consistency POSSE brought to our processes, making for more robust and demonstrably consistent decision-making. Now, with years of incremental enhancement, the second benefit to highlight is POSSE's ability to serve a wide variety of needs -- we are starting to use it as an information management system with search and display options that support our work in new ways. A third virtue of POSSE is the reliability of the software -- any service interruptions have been very brief and infrequent.
ConsThere are some design constraints, at least with the components of POSSE we use, that limit design options. Nevertheless, creative ways to meet our needs are usually offered by the Computronix designers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Heather B.
Application Analyst
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“As a software developer, I use Posse to build software to manage licensing and bylaw investigations.”

OverallEasy to configure with many built in features. Excellent deployment tools. Software is very stable; we get very few support calls from staff.
ProsPowerful configuration tools; can leverage many existing tools and functions. Configuration tool supports multiple developers; stores modifications in change sets. Great tools for promoting change sets throughout the Posse star. Excellent tools for managing a reporting warehouse and accessing using Dashboard tools. Computronix support is excellent; staff are professional and very knowledgeable.
ConsDatabase structure is complex; fifth normal form. Upgrades are somewhat difficult due to the Posse 'star' configuration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019

“POSSE provides consistent value.”

OverallPOSSE was and still is involved in most of my career. I have had the privileged to use the product to rapidly develop and deploy solutions for various municipal business units.
ProsPOSSE has the malleability to be used in any number of business situations and deployed quickly. When used across the enterprise, it can assist in data collection and sharing which can help avoid having key data stored in spreadsheets or other non-shared data sources. When deployed with a trained group of configuration employees, it is flexible to evolve with business.
ConsThe flexibility of the product means that untrained configuration users can create problems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019
gurp b.
app analyst
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019

“Customization”

OverallWe use POSSE for business licensing, bylaw investigations/complaints, animal control, commerical vehicle, bylaw enforcement tickets and property investigations.
ProsBeing able to customize workflows. We can basically build anything we desire within our POSSE client and we can build it on our own with little support or involvement with computronix.
ConsThe ability to customize the look and feel of the software (colors, styles, layouts). various appearance options would be beneficial since we our officers use different hardware (laptops/desktops/tablets/iphones)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019
Elaine S.
Coordinator, Customer Service and Technology
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“POSSE pros and cons”

OverallHow we do our business is constantly changing and with POSSE we are able to capture the information, workflows and processes that are currently required. We are able to continuously able to make changes and improve our system.
ProsI like that the software is configurable and can easily reflect our processes and workflows.
ConsIt was difficult for our staff to stay current on best practises and latest features on their own. We have moved to a model where we do get support from CX and it has worked much better for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Marife E.
Manager, Information Technology
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018

“It's always been a great experience working with Computronix. ”

ProsThere are no limitations regarding how the Business Processes can be expressed using Posse. Data stored in other systems can be integrated into Posse and related to other Posse data to provide end users with seamless access, either limited to reading the external data only or expand it to include inserting, updating and deleting.
Consit takes a little more time for a new user or even for a new technical staff to understand some terms and codes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Kenneth S.
GIS Administrator
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“POSSE Review”

OverallIt has been an excellent experience. The product has been able to adapt to many changes in business processes and operational requirements. It has allowed for readily reengineering our customer services.
ProsFlexibility, performance, reliability, and integration capabilities.
ConsComplexity in managing objects, their relationships, and process variables, especially for large enterprise deployments. Lack of visual documentation of workflows.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Teresa W.
Posse Administrator
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“Once I got more involved in the configuration, I could understand and love Posse”

ProsSoftware is flexible and configurable: Posse configurations support RTB and RTC business processes: allows to add/change configurations without affecting other processes. Also, what I like the most is all the component and the mechanics behind Posse.
ConsThe cons about this software is that took me time to learn / understand all the components and the mechanics.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Dony T.
IT
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“So far its an excellent product”

ProsThe freedom the system can be modified to business needs without depending much on external partners or vendor.
ConsNothing in particular besides what every system faces . The software itself is very well made and works well for our business
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Adams S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2016

“Best Land Management System Softwate”

OverallBest and quality software work on POSSE Land Management System. Reliable > quality > Easy to use > professional staff to guide
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2016