MuniBilling Ratings

Overall
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.8/5

About MuniBilling

A comprehensive utility billing and CIS toolkit, our cloud based software is used every day by over 200 municipalities and companies in 3 countries. MuniBilling can be used to bill for any type of service or fee, allows for unlimited rates and tiers, and boasts integrations with automated meter reading systems, accounting packages, GIS software & much more. A MuniBilling subscription comes with access to hundreds of features and workflows, frequent enhancements, and unlimited customer support. Learn more about MuniBilling

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 33 of 33 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 33 of 33 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Pauline B.
Administrative Assistant
Facilities Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Stall billing”

OverallWe started with the support staff who worked with us to program MuniBilling to our needs and then acted as our account manager for some time. When he moved on, the other one took over and didn't miss a beat. I have always been very, very happy with the service and appreciate all the help that we have received. I look forward to working with him more as we continue.
ProsWe have a very specific and unusual need for billing. We operate a thoroughbred training facility and we rent by both stall and barn. There is a wide variety of billing accounts that come into play throughout the month. When we needed a desperate upgrade from a previously customized program to something else that would work for our needs, MuniBilling provided us with the ability to customize and create something that carried the same elements as what we used previously.
ConsBecause we were trying to keep it as similar as possible to a previous program, there are several parts that require individual processes to complete. While this is not difficult, it does create more opportunity for human error to mess with the system and no way to fix other than an adjustment. I wish it had a better editing option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Larry S.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018

“On a downhill spiral! I'd like to withdraw my previous 5 star review from 2013. ”

ProsI left an outstanding review of this product in 2013 after having used it for 1 year, however. The product remains a very inexpensive solution to billing. Daily usage and routine tasks remain easy to operate. Integration with the online payment processor which MuniBilling requires us to use is trouble free, however. For the most part, the system works without a need for customer support, however
ConsNow for the howevers.Control of MuniBilling has apparently been sold to investors who seem to have no direct knowledge of billing software or of utility systems in general. Where we once could contact the owner/developer on his cell phone, we currently have no knowledge of who is commanding the ship, or whether we will even receive a response to a customer support ticket. Originally, the developer was making almost weekly improvements to the system, adding this or that. We could even ask for customization if desired. Now, afte r 6 year's of use, the company has apparently grown to the point that everything is just shoved down our throats. I requested that a 3 word phrase on our bills be changed to the same 2 word phrase which had previously been used , and was told that it wasn't possible. 2 days ago we received an email telling us that MuniBilling's payment provider was discontinuing all utility's ability to accept integrated phone / field-entered credit card payments for security compliance reasons. This change was going to take place in less than 2 weeks and we were warned that we should get the word out to our customers quickly for a easy transition. When I called the payment provider, the rep knew nothing about any such change. They are setting us up a new card processing account, separate from MuniBilling's account. The surprises and removal of necessary features by an ever-changing management team, over the past year, continue an undesirable trend.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018
Patricia N.
Office Manager
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019

“Excellent customer service”

OverallI requested a new group of customers added by MuniBilling instead of adding them one at a time myself. The team got them entered correctly and on time, with minimial imput. It saved me many hours of work and is greatly appreciated!
ProsThe customer service is very responsive and easy to contact. I get a person on the phone whenever I call, and have a dedicated Account Manager. If the rep isn't available the individual that answers the call is very capable of answering my questions or helping me with any issue. Great service and good software product.
ConsThe instruction manual could be more comprehensive, or have instructional videos available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019
Brent V.
President
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019

“Excellent solution for Multi-Family Property utility billing!”

OverallThis is a highly capable utility billing product with great functionality, ease of use and strong customer support. We came onboard with MuniBilling in 2018 and it's been a smooth transition every step of the way, thanks to their outstanding staff and customer support.
ProsThis cloud-based product is very user-friendly and works exceptionally well for us to bill utilities across numerous apartment communities. We reviewed a number of different products before we selected MuniBilling and are certain that we made the right choice. It's capable of handling a variety of complex rate structures and all of the unique aspects associated with billing Multi-Family properties. In addition, their customer support team has been fantastic and there for us every step of the way!
ConsAs with all 'off the shelf' products, there are some limitations on customization and configuration. With that being said, we haven't encountered anything that we haven't been able to work around.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019
Christine J.
Village Clerk/Collector
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“MuniBilling and The Village”

OverallThis keeps all the billing complete in one place, very user friendly, and organized. Customer support is amazing and very easy to work with. Big Plus!
ProsThe access to customer service as needed - such a great group of people!
ConsBilling component updates. This seems to be the most tedious but nessary task.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Sabrenna C.
city clerk
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“munibilling review”

OverallWe have had an amazing experience with Munibilling in the process of going live! Brady and Heidi have been amazing! Any time we have questions, they go above and beyond to make sure that we understand everything! What usually is supposed to be a 20 minute phone call turns into an hour phone call most of the time because they are being so thorough. I highly recommend this company! Thank you for all of your help to the whole team!
ProsIt is a huge upgrade compared to the old company that we used! It is way more accurate when it comes to pulling the correct usage, so the customers get billed correctly.
ConsWe have not had any problems so far. There were a couple things that had to be corrected but it is just a small bump in the road compared to what we have dealt with in the past.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Benjamin G.
Regional Manager - South
Environmental Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“MuniBilling - The Standard for Efficiency and Enhanced Service”

OverallWe were able to improve our field service thanks to the improved software, excellent customer service reps, and overall improvement associated with MuniBilling's full service option.
ProsThe efficiency and realized cost savings that the software and full-service option from MuniBilling provided to my company, our clients, and the customers we serve on behalf of our clients.
ConsNo cons associated with the software or the switch from in-house CS&B to MuniBilling's full service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Mike C.
Operations Manager
Utilities, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Excellent Customer Service”

OverallThe software serves our needs in utility billing well. The differentiator between them and others lies in the customer support. Our Account Manager, Jai, is attentive, friendly, and seemingly always available to help us accomplish our goals.
ProsThe Customer Service Experience was excellent.
ConsI have no complaints. The software performs well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
Deborah E.
MSF/CRF billing Clerk
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019

“Munibilling”

OverallI love the fact that anytime I have a problem and call our rep he is on it, and if he isn't available he gets back to me as soon as possible,or someone always try to help, the ease of the software, the fact that customer can pay on line and set up auto pay, the system run quick, i also like i can have more then one session open its helpful when running reports and customer comes in to make a payment
ProsI can now generated the invoices and put the late fees on and don't have to call and remind someone every month.
Consthis doesn't applied to me, as of today I have no negative/cons things to say about this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019
Rhoda` R.
Finance Staff Specialist
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Good product.”

OverallI came in last June not know anything about the software. I feel now that I can do anything I need to with it.
Prosuser friendly, easy to use. I was able to fine the customer, change information, leave note and reminders.
ConsI don't have any for what I use it for. We have had to come up with an excel file for collections, that would not give us what the collections company wanted. so, we had to paid to create one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Heather M.
Mayor
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“WONDERFUL!”

OverallFantastic customer support. Was able to talk me threw the entire process I needed. ALWAYS willing to help!
ProsVery simple to use!! Totally new user and I have found this system fantastically easy
ConsHave not found anything I don't like about this software!.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Martha P.
Secretary
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“MuniBilling Review”

ProsThe reports are easy to understand, many reports to choose from
ConsAccount screen can sometimes be difficult to navigate and understand
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Bobbi H.
Chief Court Clerk/Accounting Clerk
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“excelent”

Prosthe support team is always available and willing to help in any way possible
Consnothing, it is very easy to use and the customer support is awesome
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Dara E.
District Manager
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Dara Eng”

OverallSpectacular!
ProsUser friendly and great customer support.
ConsWish there was an advance search. Instead, I'd have to search through reports, export and minimize to locate what I'm searching for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
jennifer h.
Admin Assistant
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Small Utility Business Loves It”

OverallOverall, we're very happy with the ease of the system, how quickly we're able to enter our utility reads/bills and payments into the system. We're 1 entity with three unique utility entities under it. And having all of those in 1 software program has been a game changer.
ProsWe are a small utility company handling the utilizes for a local Indian Tribe. We love the flexibility and ability to use the system from any location and how the tribes members can access their accounts and look at their monthly usage.
ConsOur business is complex, so it isn't anything about the software that is a con, just a con in trying to fit our unique situations into 1 system. Overall, though there aren't any cons that would cause us to regret using the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Stephen O.
Electrical Engineer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Does the job ”

OverallWe can stay on top of all the meters we have on campus and the easily modifiable route reports are top notch. Munibilling was able to implement new strategies in metering.
ProsReporting structure is very good and is always improving.
ConsI don't use the accounting features or accounts receivable module so I can't comment on that. It did take some time to get everything setup as this university has some very odd situations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
KYler C.
Owner
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“Great Customer Service”

OverallThey tend to always be there when we need them
ProsThey are always very open to helpng us with difficult questions
ConsThere truly is not any large put backs of the company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Kimberly S.
City Clerk
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“MuniBilling Review”

OverallOverall efficiency, and function-ability
ProsVery user friendly, cost efficient for small agency
ConsI have not found anything that I do not like
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Kirsten M.
Fiscal Admin Officer
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019

“Good Choice”

OverallWorking with the team at MuniBilling has made for an easy & quick transition from our prior software. They addressed all our questions and needs. Training was conducted via the web and all participants were knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Billing has become a breeze and we are saving time and resources.
ProsWe are very happy with the functionality and ease of use.
ConsHaven't used long enough to find anything adverse.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019
Marsha M.
Fiscal Officer
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“wonderful”

Overallthe program was fairly new when I took over, I have had no problems with it. The support staff has been wonderful to work with
Prosvery user friendly, support staff is wonderful
ConsI think the pricing is on the higher side, but the usability makes it worth it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Kathy D.
Office manager
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“Excellent customer support service!”

ProsI most appreciate and rely on the immediate excellent customer support each time I have a problem large or small. Our executive is especially awesome.
ConsA challenge to integrate with QuickBooks, but we are ironing out the issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Chris M.
Director, Systems & Training
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Utility Billing Made Easy”

OverallThe implementation process is quick, easy, and painless. The conversions team is very friendly, knowledgeable, and dedicated to helping launch the software. Overall, the software is easy to use and manage, and it makes the utility billing process quick and efficient.
ProsThe software is very user-friendly, requires minimal training, and users can intuitively figure out how it works and how to accomplish most tasks on their own.
ConsI don't really have any cons regarding the software. Any time an issue presents itself, the team at MuniBilling has been rather quick to resolve the issue timely.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Janice D.
Clerk/Treasurer
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019

“MuniBilling Review”

ProsEasy to use, easy to find information. Simplified our process immensely!!
ConsReports are sometimes challenging to figure out which report for the information I'm looking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019
SAVY c.
Business Dev/Admin Asst
Utilities, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Dave Vogler ”

OverallDealing with knowledgeable staffs is always a plus. My account Manager, David is great. He always goes above and beyond with our needs and if he doesn't have the answer, he'll find out and respond back in a timely manner.
ProsI like that munibilling is able to customized the software based on our application and business needs.
ConsA few kinks to iron out due to our business module, but other than that, it's great!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Tim W.
Project Manager
Government Relations, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“MuniBilling Review”

ProsThe program is self contain, if I have any questions, I'm able to contact MuniBilling. Has multiple reports/functions. I just need to learn which report is for what.
ConsI do not use the program enough to stay familiar with it, every 3-4 weeks. Can't always follow a "balance sheet" when doing a billing from one billing to the next billing (Quarterly billings).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
Molly W.
City Clerk/Municipal Court Clerk
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2014

“Best Online Utility Billing Software Out There!!!!”

OverallMy Municipality has used this software for the past few years and I have yet to see one con in the ease of use, customer service, or overall quality of the system. Online billing software allows a company the ability to store and easily access customer information, billing, and payments with ease from any location and the security of backing up everything online thereby eliminates the need for an additional an backup system. The Customer support is amazingly quick and efficient. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and willing to help guide you through any obstacles you encounter even years down the road. I would never recommend another billing software to anyone! Munibilling is an overall EXCELLENT system!
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2014
Larry S.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 28, 2013

“MuniBilling keeps getting better and better”

OverallWhe had been looking for a billing solution for our small water utility for quite some time. We definitely found what we were looking for in MuniBilling. The system has everything and more than we thought possible. I have never had the good fortune to deal with a customer service team such as this one. We can literally make a suggestion ar ask for an upgrade and it will undoubtedly be ready to use within a matter of days. These guys are absolutely great. No way could we have been fortunate enough to run into a business such as MuniBilling, with everything we wanted in a billing solution, plus a whole lot more, and all at an unbelievably low price.
Source: Capterra
October 28, 2013
Linda A.
Town Secretary
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2015

“Lakewood Village”

OverallWe switched to MuniBilling after the software we were using no longer fit our needs. The transfer of customer account data was handled by the MuniBilling team with meticulous attention to detail. The technical support provided is outstanding. We are a small municipality but they are never too busy to spend whatever amount of time it takes to help us resolve an issue or walk us through the steps to accomplish a task. Our customers are now enjoying the benefits of a superior utility billing software.
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2015
Jamie L.
Clerk/Office Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2014

“Excellent choice for your Utility Billing needs!”

OverallIf you are searching for a Utility Billing program for you, you have found it. This company has a great program that is easy to use. You will find that their entire staff is beyond outstanding! You call them with any issue and they will fix it right away. Got special needs for your organization? No problem for them, they will change the program to fit your personal needs. You can't go wrong with this company, and I think you be happy once you join with the rest of us!
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2014
Steven C.
Superintendent/Clerk
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2014

“Munibilling”

OverallMunibilling has been very good to work with. The transition from our old Utility Billing went very smooth and the staff at Munibilling were very helpful. We have been using Munibilling for a year and have been very satisfied with the product and the company. The staff is very helpful and patient with me as I learn the program. This is the 3 Utility Billing Program I have used in the last seven years and it is the most user friendly.
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2014
Judi R.
Secretary
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Review for MuniBilling”

OverallThe customer service was very helpful. Maybe because of it being the first time there were alot of errors on the registers. The bill seemed to be correct except for a few.
ProsI like the software. I like the setup of the billing. Very easy to read and understand.
ConsI liked the software. It is hard to say what I didn't like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Jessica H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2014

“Great Billing Software”

OverallMunibilling has been wonderful for us! It is extremely easy to use and the customer service could not be better. Any questions or problems I have experienced with the website have not only been corrected but answered within a timely matter.
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2014
Kelly H.
Clerk/Treasurer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2015

“Munibilling”

OverallCustomer Service is exceptional.
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2015