BugHerd Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.1/5

About BugHerd

BugHerd is a visual feedback tool for websites. Its like using sticky-notes to pin client feedback and track bugs directly on a page. The BugHerd browser extension and sidebar sends complete and contextual info from the feedback or bug submitted (including screenshots, browser, OS & CSS selector data) to be fully managed via the project and task management kanban board. Learn more about BugHerd

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019

“Fast bug tracking for bulk bugs, with slow development of new features”

OverallI've been using BugHerd for around 3 years now on large scale web projects, often with 500-2000 bugs reported throughout the project life. I've recently tested all of the key bug tracking tools available for website development, and BugHerd is hands down, still the fastest and most useful tool for bug reporting with a useful user area for bug management. The tool could be so much better though if the dev team behind it invested some more time and resources to make bulk bug management and integrations better.
ProsFast bug reporting with easy to set tags, users and descriptions. Easy to filter user area with kanban columns, search and the ability to go click on a bug and be anchored to a pin in the bugs location on your website. No need to install code for each website you test.
ConsThe development team is very slow to update and make changes to BugHerd. BugHerd is lacking bulk select features, and their connections to third party tools with better backend management aren't up to scratch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019
Phillip Q.
Web Developer
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2018

“Nice UI. Not compatible with responsive websites, however”

OverallEasy for the client to log bugs and to view details about the bug without having to go back to the client to ask more questions and it automatically takes a screenshot from the client's computer when logging the bug.
ProsI like the nicely designed UI which allows you to use drag and drop mouse movements to move jobs from in progress to completed etc. I like how you can comment on items and how the client can respond. You can see the client's browser, OS and screen size automatically so you don't need to ask the client themselves!
ConsWhen the client logs a bug in a responsive view and you load the bug task in a full desktop view, hidden mobile elements that aren't available in the desktop view are also hidden. It's not easy to know they are talking about the mobile view without manually checking the screen resolution every time you view a new bug. The extra client details are only accessible if the client installs the BugHerd browser plugin.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2018
Gary S.
Intranet Developer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Bugherd is essential to my business”

OverallIt has always been very stable. It saves a lot of time that used to be spent explaining issues and feature requests on the telephone or in email. With the ability for the customer to take a screenshot of a specific screen or area it gives our customers the ability to be very specific about features or bugs. It is also great for tracking feature requests and software updates as well as bugs.
ProsIt makes it very easy to collaborate with clients on new features and bug fixes. Easy to implement and easy for clients to use.
ConsIt doesn't allow you to add extra columns or rename the existing columns.

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
This is a golden review, thank you Gary. We love finding out how you use and collaborate with your clients using BugHerd. We very much appreciate you taking the time from your busy day to write this!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Scott J.
Digital Strategist/Consultant
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Bug Tracking Done Right”

OverallThis is a product that has proven its value over the years. The time savings and overall efficiencies for website projects (managing front end builds and CMS integration) are amazing since we started using BugHerd.
ProsThe Intuitive and robust nature of the product makes it an invaluable tool that we can not live without.
ConsThe Mobile Support could be better BUT it is in the works.

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
Thank you so much for leaving a review Scott. BugHerd wouldn't function without awesome customers like you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Katie G.
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2017

“Great software that makes the website revision process a breeze ”

OverallGreat software that helps collaborate on developing (or developed) websites! We put our websites on a staging link for our internal teams and for the customer to review before pushing it to the main URL. BugHerd compliments this well by giving us one place to "herd" our "bugs" and assign to the correct person or team to correct it before the roll out. You can set priority, reorder the comments, assign them or reassign them, change the progress of each bug, and watch as progress is made on correcting (and double check) the reported isssues. This is easy to use, easy for anyone to pick-up quickly, and much easier than trying to type out changes in a document. You can pinpoint a spot on any page of the website that you're referencing and it even attaches a screenshot in case there is variance between browsers, which does happen. Great product that makes the revision process go quickly and smoothly.
ProsEasy to use and SO helpful with screenshots for easy bug
ConsHave to sign up individually and have to download the program for each website used
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2017
Stacie A.
Project Manager
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Great tool for collecting feedback”

OverallWe use Bugherd during the QA process of our Shopify website design/dev projects. We invite our clients to submit their feedback and we also use it internally to communicate development requirements.
ProsFinally a tool to track feedback accurately for web development! A fantastic way to pinpoint your feedback and collaborate on a solution.
ConsGuest access is limited in providing exposure to overall project status which causes extra work to generate reports to communicate project progression.

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
Thank you for leaving a review Stacie, we appreciate your feedback and have made sure to pass that onto our dev team. Cheers for being an awesome BugHerd customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019

“BugHerd makes it easy to QA”

ProsBugHerd is very easy to jump in, understand your need and help you document swiftly. I've used it on both small and large teams and truly enjoy the interface of the product. It doesn't take up too much space either which can sometimes distract you from seeing the full view/frame at any point.
ConsCan't think of anything that distracts me that much about BugHerd, and I think that is a good thing. :)

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
Thank you for jumping in and leaving a review ! The team is stoked to hear that BugHerd makes your QA process easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018

“Great for getting feedback from users. ”

ProsVery simple to use. We have a number of young people that can help us with testing when we use this product.
ConsPricing is a bit high, but they don't really have competition, so it makes sense.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018
Dennis H.
E-Commerce Consultant
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Track your bugs and tasks easily”

Pros- Easy to use for customers - Connection between ticket and webpage frontend clarifies the task at hand and minimizes feedback loops - UI is very cleaned up and intuitive
Cons- No Jira integration - I have to write at least 40 characters in this box... ;-)

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
Thank you Dennis, we appreciate your feedback and the team is stoked to find out that you are enjoying BugHerd. Have you tried our new Zapier integration we released a few weeks back? It will help you integrating BugHerd with Jira :). In fact, we even have a pre-made Zapier Template for connecting to JIRA so it's super simple. Please email BugHerd support if you have any issues or thoughts about the integration, we're always happy to help. https://support.bugherd.com/hc/en-us/articles/204171400-How-to-use-Zapier-with-Bugherd
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Fantastic QA reporting and tracking tool!”

ProsThere are many great things about Bugherd! - Ticket QA items directly in the browser while view the application in question - Tickets automatically populate reproduction environments and provide screenshots - Tickets are automatically sorted into a board, where users can begin working on them
Cons- There is no way to limit visibility of bugherd for certain users (i.e. if you want to add a client, they will see everything). - Integrating bugherd with other project management tools would be extremely valuable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Nick S.
Partner
Graphic Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Take the guesswork out of website edits”

OverallWe use it for QA on all of our websites, both for our internal teams and clients.
ProsInternal and external stakeholders can mark directly on the page of a website any edits or bugs. No more taking screen shots and marking them up, or trying to read hand-written notes, or even worse decipher email feedback. All tasks are marked in the backend, in a task board.
ConsDoesn't work very well on mobile. Also could use some approval levels within the software.

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
Thank you Nick, we appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear we're helping making your QA process easier. I have passed your feedback on to our dev team in regards to the mobile functionality. Cheers for being an awesome BugHerd customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Ross D.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2018

“Great bug tracking tool but sometimes UI seems too crammed”

ProsWhat I like about this bug tracking tool is the ability to share to clients and mark things real time in a website so we could easly spot them. You can even install their extension or add their script into their site so they could easily pinpoint UI problems in real time and submit it as a bug.
ConsAs much as I like how it allows us to seamlessly track bugs from clients, when you got chock-full of bugs, the UI looks a bit crammed and comments are hard to be seen in each of the tasks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2018
Reyniel C.
Graphic Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Useful? YES!”

OverallThis helps us a lot to fix web issues and responsive problems that are key points on our work.
ProsThe easier way to manage issues is a big thing that I love.
ConsI think I don't have anything to say on this, I'm very happy with the product.

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
We love that you're loving BugHerd Reyniel and that we are able to help you with your issue management! Thank you so much for the 5-stars and for being an awesome BugHerd customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Timothy M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016

“Great tool for website design and modifications”

OverallI used this tool with a website design team - the entire project was completed remotely. BugHerd allowed us to bypass the need for email and lengthy explanations of changes that I wanted to see while in the design process. Instead, I could click on the exact thing I wanted changed and add commentary to that piece. It also served to manage tasks. As the team made the changes, they could check them off. If they were unclear, they could message with me on that task to gain clarity. Overall, this was a great, simple, powerful tool that streamlined providing feedback to my web design team.
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016
Carlos A.
Senior Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Great for fast QA”

ProsScreenshotting Tagging Email comms Web extension
ConsLimited kanban Not customizable enough (need to override names)

Vendor Response

By Splitrock Studio on August 13, 2019
Thank you for dropping by and leaving a review Carlos. It's very much appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Dealdiane D.
Mr
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 4, 2018

“Great for client and QA collaboration”

ProsThis is a great tool for when you want clients and quality assurance testers to be able to mark items that needs attention.
ConsNeeds more (built-in) integration with major bug tracking softwares. Marker can sometimes point to a wrong location but screenshots can also be taken when creating an issue as a solution to that
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Get Em!”

ProsFinally, something that allows you to track bugs and issues without having to hunt them down or wait to be informed of them.
ConsMinor irritations that are based on personal preference rather than an actual issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Shivani N.
Graphic Designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“BugHerd Review”

ProsBugHerd makes it super easy to submit QA tickets and see them in one place. In addition, it's super easy to collaborate with others on these tickets and take actions. I really enjoy the snapshot feature and ability to put a ticket on a mockup itself.
ConsBugHerd could be a little mroe visually engaging and interesting in its design approach.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Megan S.
Brand Strategist
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Simple and efficient way to flag dev. errors”

ProsBugHerd makes it really simple for multiple members of a team to go through a new site, flag any errors and assign someone to address them. Because it is so user-friendly, people outside of the dev team can provide feedback as well.
ConsSometimes it can be difficult to select the exact area that you're trying to comment on. Can be a bit laggy at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019