Optima Hospice Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Service
4.6/5

About Optima Hospice

Optima Hospice was built from the ground up with hospices in mind. It is a complete EMR and billing cloud-based solution that provides streamlined hospice-specific processes and management for intake and referrals, scheduling, documentation, clinical oversight, reporting and billing. With built-in workflow efficiencies like automated IDG preparation, instant access to vital patient information and compliance-driven alerts, clinicians can focus on what is most importantcaring for their patients. Learn more about Optima Hospice

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Kristen W.
Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2016

“Excellent software”

OverallIf you are looking for a user-friendly hospice software, developed by people who understand hospice process and requirements, look no further. Hospicesoft is an excellent program that helps the whole team work together to better fulfill the needs of the patient, eliminating the need for charts full of paper documents,
ProsThe software tracks the many pieces required by multidisciplinary patient care. Excellent dashboards keep administration apprised of what pieces are due, and make finding what you need simple and straight-forward. Finding any piece of the complex patient care puzzle is a breeze. The chart is laid out like any paper chart, and demographics, patient information, every disicipline form, every lab, etc... are all right at your fingertips, only a click or two away. Because it is web-based, there are no requirements for in-house servers, and the information is available from anywhere you have cell or internet access. It can be viewed, or documented, by phone, tablet or computer. There are no specific equipment requirements. Information can be printed, faxed or emailed from within the system (fax requires a very small fee monthly using a service such as RingCentral) to facilities, providers, pharmacies, etc.... Orders for treatments, medications, etc. are easy to update, print, or review. The patient's care plan is a "living" careplan, and revised from within the discipline notes during each visit as the patient's needs changes.
ConsNo interface with a pharmacy benefit manager at this time, so all medications, orders, changes, etc... do have to be entered separately into the pharmacy program. Because the careplan is revised from within the discipline notes, and defaults in from the previous notes all charting has to be done sequentially. For patients with frequent visits, this is sometimes an issue.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is a great program, very user friendly (works like any Windows-based program with similar menus and functions) and well worth the cost. I highly recommend you consider it. The Pros greatly outweigh the Cons....
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Optima HospiceSoft program review”

ProsI feel the Software is user friendly. I particularly appreciate the quick Feedback option where you can send an email with questions. Optima staff respond most often on the same day with a phone call. They are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure our questions are answered and understood. I appreciate they take the time to work with us on a one to one basis if necessary to solve any issues or concerns we may have.
ConsAt times I wish it could be more simplified. There seems to be repetitive layers that can be cumbersome to get through.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Valerie R.
Billing Specialist/Authorization Specialist
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 24, 2017

“Review from a Billing Specialist using HospiceSoft ”

OverallHospiceSoft is one of the easiest software's to use on the market specifically for Hospice Facilities. I have found that the billing is super easy and very self-explanatory as well as posting payments. Our Nurses love the "ease" of the paperwork as well and how HospiceSoft makes it so convenient for them to complete their paperwork and also in a timely manner. The dashboard I find very useful because once you customize it to your liking, it is there for you to point and click.... I really don't have any negative feedback.. Customer service is always on standby and readily available to answer any questions that we have.
ProsBilling; Posting; Ease of Nursing Documentation; Dashboard; Customer Service
Consno Cons
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 24, 2017
Kevin K.
IT Director
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2016

“A descent hospice software”

ProsI like how this product has very good notes for some of the disciplines like nursing. It is also pretty simple to grasp and also has many good features such as pre-population of notes that helps us see how the patients are changing over time. The process of adding notes is also simple.
ConsI did find that for compliance to certain Joint Commission and Chap standards, I had to do some manual changes to the documentation that hospicesoft offers. I have certain clauses that I always add to notes and features that surveyors have asked me about. Surveyors have also pointed out how convoluted the IDT documentation can be. While it certainly has all the information, it can be quite difficult to find each piece of information.
Recommendations to other buyersDefinitely do a demo and be prepared to recognize that many softwares will not be fully compliant to the standards of accreditation groups and you yourself must be familiar with those policies and make sure you are being compliant even if the software does not offer an area for that.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2016
Jessica R.
QAPI Coordinator
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2019

“User Friendly”

ProsThis software is very easy to work with from any device. It makes documenting for all of the clinicians easy while saving time.
ConsI do not like this software since the most recent update that was done in April of 2019. Our company has had a hard time getting issues resolved in a timely manner. It seems as if this update was done prior to figuring out the quirks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2019
Melissa E.
LVN Supervisor
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 20, 2019

“Very easy to use”

OverallThis is a user friendly program, I have gotten great costumer service. It is nice to be dealing with the same people for several years.
ProsI like that the program is colorful, it makes it easier to find things. The tabs are organized like a paper chart. Hospice is complex enough that we don't need a hard to use program.
ConsLots of steps to flip a patient to admitted.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 20, 2019
Norma P.
President
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018

“Interesting ”

OverallI enjoyed the conference
ProsThe ease of its use. The availability of staff yo assist with problems. The team is personable and good at explaining the systems use.
ConsWould like more options in the future that allow all staff access to see the patients info. The change in the system slowed payments at the beginning of this year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018
Cathy C.
Clinical Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2019

“User friendly”

OverallDocumenting is easy
ProsNavigation into all tabs are easy to use and user friendly
ConsCannot update care plan unless you are in a nurses note.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2019
Stacy L.
Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2018

“Superb customer service”

OverallHave been very pleased with our Choice to join since last September.
ProsThat it remains compliant with COPs and our accreditation of ACHC. They are continuously rolling out with updates and software improvements.
ConsOn tablets the screen appears small and hard to read. And that's on an IPAD mini2. Need to offer the training sessions maybe twice a week for new employees coming on. Maybe Tuesday and Thursday.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2018
Enid W.
Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018

“One Remarkable Instrument”

OverallThis is a great product, my staff has caught on quite easily and any new staff seems to have no problem getting things done. My office manager is a much happier person as she can get through payroll in a much faster time than before. Not to mention billing, you guys are awesome. No more looking through those paper charts or begging people to bring in their paperwork to the office at the end of the month, what a Blessing!!!!!! Optima? (Hospicesoft) where were you all this time? Thanks a million.
ProsThat it's hospice based and made strictly for hospice. I like the fact that I no longer have to keep up with several pieces of paper for both schedule and time sheets at the same time. Billing made easy!!!
ConsThat it's taking me so long to learn all the features. But then again new things are added all the time so I just have to keep up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018
Trisha S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2013

OverallHospice Management Suite has been a great benefit to us. As a small hospice we shopped around for a software that would meet our needs and we found just that in HMS. We really wanted find a software that worked for us and would help us to become more in compliance with the ever changing COP's, yet we were unable to invest huge amounts of time or money to the process. When I came across HMS we knew right away that it could be just what we were looking for to get us away from the old fashioned paper chart, and it was! We have found Hospice Management Suite to offer user friendly and precise charting capabilities for our IDG team. We also love the fact that we are able to use various methods within the software to generate pt/staff measures which assist us with our QAPI program. We feel that one of the best features available from HMS is the customer service. They have always been just a phone call or email away to help us out or listen to a suggestion. The people at HMS feel like an extended arm of our hospice team rather than a business located half a country away! Did I mention that it is web based!!! Awesome!!!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2013
Jacob A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 11, 2013

OverallWe are a relatively small hospice that has 4 clinicians. We are known for giving our patients a very personal experience during this rough time. Our average census is anywhere from 35-40, expecting to grow this year by 20 percent. We looked for software because charting on paper created more and more problems everyday. This company is extremely easy to work with. They provided a very comprehensive implementation and training period (they even worked with us on the price). After using this software for the past several months we would never want to go back to paper charting. Hospice Management Suite also has something called a document center which has been amazing; we can scan and upload and document into our patient record. IDG has been drastically shortened, and we love the time it has saved us. Overall the best part of this software is the people. The Hospice Suite team has exceptional customer support, and actually listen to our feedback on the software. This is a very happy customer. -Jacob Andrews
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 11, 2013
Sherri F.
Director of Nursing
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2016

“Ease of use”

ProsThe support team is great to work with. I love the living plan of care. It ensures our POC stay up to date.
ConsLength of time it takes to document a routine nurse visit. However HospiceSoft is in line with all other EMRs that we have looked at.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure the vendor has a living Plan of Care that is updated with each nurse visit to capture all changes and offline charting capabilities. Ask if you have to pay for software updates.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2016
Melissa E.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 14, 2014

“Best program that I have worked with! Easy to navigate, easy to learn!”

ProsThe software is very user-friendly. I love that it is for hospice only. I love that it is always up to date with all the Medicare requirements. The customer service is excellent. It is great to be able to talk to someone that knows how to run the program, and also be able to to talk to the programmer! The best thing is seeing a suggestion I made on how to improve the program actually being put into the software!
ConsI really can't think of any. In comparison to the other programs that I have used, these guys are by far the best.
Recommendations to other buyersFind out how people in the field like it, as well as in the office. It takes up to a year to fully understand all the ins and outs of a program. Spend the time setting it up. Put your local doctors, funeral home, pharmacies, and favorite care plans in it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 14, 2014
Brenda L.
Reimbursement Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 19, 2019

“Terrible experience”

OverallWe have had nothing except problems from the first LIVE day. Nurses were frustrated with clinical documentation to the point that some of them resigned, admin staff was unable to get reports to balance and had to depend on Optima staff to do monthly reports for us in order for them to balance. Now, after 8 months, our reports still do not balance and they are having to fix errors in posting in order for them to balance.
ProsEase of keeping up with benefit periods, recerts, etc
ConsEverything else. They have a long way to go to bring this software to where it should be but we are getting an update soon that we are hopeful will take care of some of the issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 19, 2019
Nicole P.
Administrative Assistant
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018

“Horrible!”

ProsWell known throughout SNF community. No other positive comments about this software agency at this time.
ConsImplementation was constantly pushed back Our agency was basically helping them mold their software Unable to get Independence Blue Cross insurance properly working Office staff did not have control over numerous features Unable to move documents to a different chart Scheduling was a nightmare The offline & online functionality would be a disaster for our clinicians Wasted more time on implementation during COP's that we could not afford for the product not to fit our needs

Vendor Response

By Optima Healthcare Solutions on September 6, 2018
Thanks for your feedback. From the review we believe you¿re referencing the Home Health product we¿re no longer supporting. We¿re sorry that you had such a negative experience and hope that you have the opportunity to experience our other software offerings in the future with a more positive experience. We¿re committed to providing an excellent customer experience to all our users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018
Rudolph B.
Director of Nursing
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2018

“I have been using this software for 4 months.”

OverallOverall I have been very satisfied so far and would highly recommend it to any hospice needing a quality EHR.
ProsThe functionality. I like that each section is fairly intuitive and flows smoothly. There are a lot of functions that work seamlessly together which is nice.
ConsIt can be confusing figuring out where certain functions are located however software support is usually very helpful in helping us figure out where to find each function.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2018
Anne Lea D.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2014

“Easy Patient Tracking”

ProsThe product is easy to learn and makes tracking patient progress easy (e.g., decline, symptoms). The vendor is supportive, friendly, and available.
ConsI haven't found anything that I do not like yet. If I had to find the least likable factor, I'd say that sometimes I get confused about why one piece of information/report should include information from entire chart, but then I find that it only pulls information from a portion of the chart (e.g., the Doctor's Order lists some medications, but not all the medications the patient is currently taking).
Recommendations to other buyersEnsure that Medicare and Medicaid regulations are updated and incorporated into the software for best practices.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2014
Carla T.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2014

“Administrator”

ProsThe software is user-friendly and easy to navigate through. The schedule, orders, and plan of care - really, all components of the software - have been easy to work with. The vendor is prompt to assist when need. They are friendly, concerned with my needs, and willing to help.
ConsI would not say I don't like it, but I am having difficulty with Bereavement. I really think it is because I am not using it enough. Small census.
Recommendations to other buyersI have used two other software systems before coming to HospiceSoft, and there is no comparing the others. Hospice can be difficult, and when your software is also difficult, it can make for a hard day. We are very pleased with the current software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2014
Olivia K.
Office Support
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019

“Once you have the hang of it, it is easy, but it takes most people a while to get used to the layout. ”

ProsThe color coded tabs are very useful when describing steps to take to employees out in the field how to get to certain notes, etc.
ConsThe system often pauses and is slow at times, which can be frustrating to employees out in the field while they are trying to enter their notes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019
Laura P.
Director of Clinical Operations
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019

“Fairly happy with product”

OverallTraining modules should be available. Some of the processes could be made smoother, especially admissions and discharges.
ProsIntegration of care plan issues and assessment. IDG process is helpful and easy for everyone to follow.
ConsThe on-line help (knowledge) section is not useful at all. System is not able to be configured or personalized as much as we were led to believe.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019
Chris R.
Owner
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3.5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2016

“Great, affordable software for small hospice operation”

ProsGreat software support; very easy to learn basic software. Company also does billing for reduced cost
ConsTakes too long to chart Nurse visits. Very simple software.
Recommendations to other buyersGreat software for small hospice. Not efficient for 50 or more patients
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2016
Linda L.
Billing Specialist
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019

“System is very user friendly, all information is clearly identifiable.”

OverallLove the software
ProsThat is is user friendly and easy to understand how to use the system. Everything on the system is easy to find and use.
Consscheduling, i would like to be able to look at a day and see all the visit for that day instead of having to look under each patient or each staff member
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019
DLYNN R.
Administrator
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019

“New customer ”

OverallThe support team and trainers are awesome!
ProsVery easy to access and navigate, the trainers rock! I have used others in the past and this is by far my favorite!
ConsI haven't found much I don't like, but we are just really getting started in the training with the staff.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2019
Brenda F.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2014

“Great Software!”

ProsIt is user-friendly and very easy to move around in. The vendor is very helpful in resolving any issue you might incur and give you instruction right then and there.
ConsSocial Worker's financial info doesn't carry over to the Comprehensive.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure your software is web-based so you can access it from anywhere and that it is user friendly like HospiceSoft . Do not use iPads with the software; they don't work really well.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2014
Katherine U.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 1, 2014

“Hospicesoft Review”

ProsIt is very user-friendly. The rates are good, too. The representative who gave us training was really helpful.
ConsThey don't have costumer support over the phone. everything has to be by e-mail, which is kind of hard for simple questions/verifications.
Recommendations to other buyersPlay with the software. Try to join their webinars as much as possible.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 1, 2014
Kristen T.
FNP, Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2016

“Excellent Software”

OverallWe have used this software for the past year. You will not find an easier to use, find what you need when you need it, software. Customer support is excellent with quick responses to problems. The only issue we have is the notes are very comprehensive and do take some time to complete, but they force the staff to document well.
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2016
Amanda B.
LCSW
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018

“So far, after three months of use, Optima has made my work-life balance more balanced!”

OverallSo far so good...
ProsCustomer service is great! I love that I have more time to put towards seeing patients and their family members as this program is fairly simple and efficient.
ConsA few changes to note input from the schedule page would be ideal in regards to social worker entries to improve ease of use and work hour accuracy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018
Tammy F.
Health Informatics Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018

“The Implementation / sales team has been wonderful, very informative, helpful and attentive to our needs”

ProsThe experiences that we have had so far have been very positive. They listen to what we wanted, and were looking for in a software. They are willing to work with us to make the software the best, most efficient for our agency
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018