AppDynamics Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About AppDynamics

AppDynamics is the Application Intelligence company. With AppDynamics, enterprises have real-time insights into application performance, user performance and business performance so they can move faster in an increasingly sophisticated, software-driven world. AppDynamics integrated suite of applications is built on its innovative, enterprise-grade App iQ Platform that enables customers to make faster decisions that enhance customer engagement and improve operational and business performance. Learn more about AppDynamics

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Carl B.
Principal Engineer, APM
Airlines/Aviation, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 2, 2017

“Changed the way we do monitoring, shrunk our MTTR, and literally is making IT fun again.”

ProsI've been working in monitoring and APM roles for 15 years and I've never been actually happy with a tool's solid performance until AppDynamics. These guys are ethical and hardworking. Their product actually does what the marketing says it does. Such a marked difference from other tools I've used in the past. We've cut our MTTR by half just by deploying agents. It significantly reduced the amount of time we spend building synthetic monitors to the point we rarely have to build any monitors unless it's a vendor app or appliance we can't access to install an agent on. * Autodiscovery of application topology, based on real user traffic * Baselining of every single metric you throw at it * Easy to use API * Customizable extensions * Great SaaS support, performance and uptime * Responsive Support team * Responsive Extension dev team * Facilitates business, dev and ops communication * Agents have low CPU overhead compared to other agent-based products we've tried RUM, Synthetics, Mobile, Network and Browser Analytics make this a well rounded tool.
ConsThere is currently no automated agent management/upgrades for every agent type (currently the Universal Agent supports Java, expanding to .NET and machine agents in the future). So if you don't have a solid automation tool already in use, deploying agents can be time consuming. The GUI can be overwhelming at first to a novice dev or ops support person, and the possible root causes of an issue don't bubble up to the first screen you see. We usually walk everyone through a few simple steps: Click here to see errors and exceptions, click here to see what is causing response time problems, click here to view the timeframe of a past issue, and click here to drill down into the root cause at the method level snapshot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 2, 2017
Avatar Image
Shaun D S.
Business Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018

“Skeptical at first and now speechless and client ecstatic!”

OverallOne platform that allows you to view key metrics of any "online store/service" in one pane. In a digital economy now and more people embracing the "cloud", which comes at a premium......it's great to be able to "see" in real time not only your infrastructure performance but the performance of the users and the apps and allows you know EXACTLY where the change is needed. Which gives organizations the option of freeing up staff, thus freeing up "salary" and putting it back in their bottom line.
ProsSingle pane viewing of what matters most. Simple click of a button and I can view infrastructure response, user "click thru" i.e. completes to weekly/monthly reporting taking only minutes instead of hours or days. We were able to view what percentage of users visited/clicked thru with device and time of day and able to see their drop point. Immediately saw a trend and got our app team on it and saw almost immediate uptick in customer completes/orders. What sold me was the agentless monitoring of the databases so we could actully see in real time what days/times we needed to apply additional CPU resources.
ConsI guess I really can't state a "plausible" con......the software goes above and beyond what we had envisioned and actually made everyone's duties easier to complete which we were able to turn reports and analytics around quicker.......so if I had to complain about something.....maybe the price??? But isn't always about "price".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2018
Arpan S.
Technical Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018

“An amazing tool to monitor an application's performance over an extended period of time.”

OverallI use it everyday to track down following on SQL server: - SQL statements or stored procedures that are consuming most of the system resources. - Statistics on procedures, SQL statements, and SQL query plans.
Pros- Simple and easy to use interface. - Provides complete visibility on the application's performance (Application Monitoring), database performance, and infrastructure performance ranging from 1 day - 1 year. - Provides tons of information which can be used to resolve an issue quickly.
Cons- Although the interface is easy to use, but still it is very hard to find the valuable information quickly many times. It is highly recommended that a beginner must go through a training program before using this software. - Some parts of the software still use flash.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Great insights into application performance in real world conditions”

OverallProactive management of software performance/ issues in production
ProsWe started using AppDynamics in 2012 when we inherited code in production that was built by someone else. The level of insights it provided helped us address the production issues quickly and we started using it for all new development and deployment. It helped us move from being reactive to proactive in identifying and managing issues/ bottlenecks
ConsLike any complex piece of software it requires some learning. However, given the amount of information it generates out of the box it is easy for people not to make changes to configurations. That might result in more noise than news
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“AppDynamics”

OverallWe use AppDynamics to monitor the performance of our servers and applications. It helps us to find the reasons for the slowdown in servers. Monitoring current servers was not enough for us. Appdynamics made it very easy to find the problem.
ProsThe user interface so everyone can understand. Especially the graphics showing the flow of network traffic between our various monitored servers is great.
ConsLearning all the features of the application can take time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Avatar Image
sonal j.
Performance Test Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017

“This tool is amazing in terms of performance bottleneck analysis and user friendliness”

OverallIntegration with load runner
ProsThe good thing about the tools is its integration with the load runner tool for performance testing We can get the exact method and class names from the code which helps in finding the bottleneck
ConsSome flex calls cannot be captured with the appdynamics so cannot be used for the flex coded developed applications. Extra license cost for the database monitoring can be more structured
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017
Avatar Image
Anuj S.
Performance Test Engineer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Best in class, Slowness in major concern”

ProsThe functions of projects are great, drill to the issue to root level and this makes it easy to resolve issues.
ConsSlowness, it takes time to respond and granularity of data reduces with time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“My experience has been great. It is a one stop shop for many monitoring and analytical needs. ”

OverallMonitoring and analytical
ProsAppdynamics supports many platforms, and it's set up is relatively easy. It also supports customized monitoring, and allows you to build what you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Zachary W.
Sr Architect
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017

“AppDynamics has saved us so much time!”

OverallIt's not the easiest APM out there to use by far. And manually instrumenting non-web software is the pits. But it pays off in droves. We've cut support times by 80%+. Before when we had issues, it involved a lot of trial and error, randomly looking at diff server logs, and manual hunting for problems. Now we know right where to start, and most of the time, even know what exactly is causing the issue. Root cause analysis is quick and easy. Database traces, full cross-app traces, it's all there now and it works amazingly. Now they just need to make it easier to use, because anyone outside of IT is instantly lost.
ProsDeep, useful analysis of performance of applications. Makes for quick troubleshooting.
ConsIt's not user friendly at all. And instrumentation of non-web apps is a slow painful process.
Recommendations to other buyersHope that citrix doesn't screw it up like they do everything else they buy.
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Mayura N.
Associate Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2017

“It waseasy earn this learn for new user.mapping of the loadrunner with this tool is easy ”

ProsIt is easy to monitor the server side and client side performance metric.Easy to identify the bottleneck at application and database level.
ConsIt adds licenses to be installed as well as the cost brings limitation for use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2017
Anuruddha R.
Engineer Systems
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018

“A great tool to analyze applications.”

ProsAppDynamics provides great reports to analyze performance of applications. Dashboards provide simple but effective data to get an idea of the application's behavior.
ConsPrice of the AppDynamics is high. But it has many valuable features. This is not for small businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018
Md Muhibbul C.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019

“AppDyanamics review from T-Mobile employee”

OverallOverall it's above average.
ProsAll app and machine agents can be viewed. We can create dashboards as well for all server performances that gives us overview of how quickly we can identify issues.
ConsUser Interface. Not very user friendly. In addition, sometimes user interface respond slowly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019
Pankaj P.
Lead Adminstrator
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2017

“Its a great tool to capture the performance”

Overallperformance metrics, alerting and notifications
Prosauto detection of environment connectivity, I don't have to do anything to configure my connection patterns which is amazing
Consnone as of now, the only thing I could think is the cost, other than that we should check on integration with ticketing tools
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2017
Gavin L.
Systems Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Utilize AppDynamics to monitoring PROD Java applications ”

OverallAble to see JVM memory usage, garbage collection, JVM error, and applications error per tier to associated systems.
ProsEasy to install, configure, and manage. Just straight agent that you need to install on your systems and add it as part of your JVM process.
ConsNothing to do not like it. Sometimes could be difficult to troubleshoot it if they agent cannot start with JVM process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Sophie B. .
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
August 14, 2012

“Free Lite Version covers many tasks”

OverallThe freemium version of AppDynamics offers many useful tasks for smaller websites. I think to a certain extend it can also be useful for larger ones. Right now, I am using the free version and I think I can get along with that for some time. That´s great!!! One negative point that I can see is that the Lite version records data from only the last two hours, that´s not enough.
Source: GetApp
August 14, 2012
Pankaj P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2017

“Fantastic Tool”

OverallPretty new to this tool, but its already impressed me with the auto detection of nodes. still exploring for more options.. but this tool could be one stop for all monitoring
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2017
Arnold F.
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 7, 2019

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 7, 2019
Daniel P.
TOC Operator II
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: GetApp
June 8, 2016

Source: GetApp
June 8, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Utilities, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“Helpful tool to ”

ProsGreat monitoring into web applications and infrastructure and great analytics dashboards.
ConsA bit pricey in comparison to its competitors
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019