JomSocial

JomSocial

4 / 5 5 reviews


Average Ratings

5 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 3.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 3 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $99.00/one-time
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • JomSocial
  • www.jomsocial.com
  • Indonesia

About JomSocial

Social networking component for Joomla. Provides user profile management, Facebook integration, photo and video sharing, privacy control, groups, events etc.


Spotlight_media_placeholder

JomSocial Features

  • Activity / News Feed
  • Advertising Management
  • Blogs
  • Event Calendar
  • Group Management
  • Messaging
  • Photo Management
  • Privacy Options
  • Tagging
  • User Profiles
  • Video Management

JomSocial Reviews Recently Reviewed!

I have been spammed ever since I stopped using Jomsocial

Aug 10, 2017
1/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Jomsocial works fine. It can do most of the things that social media can do.
It integrates perfectly into Joomla.

Cons: I used Jomsocial for a year (paid license) about 4 years ago. But then my client found out that he wanted to integrate Facebook instead.
I unsubscribed about seven or eight times. No luck; They kept on sending me sales mails.
I wrote two mails to Jomsocial to explain that I was not interested anymore (1 friendly mail, 1 not so friendly mail). They promised me twice that they would solve the problem. But they didn´t.
I get sales mails from Jomsocial every second week. It just won´t stop. I can´t get rid of them.
They have been spamming me for about 4 years now.
So only one star for the total experience.

Overall: A lot of trouble

Poor customer support

May 31, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Has all the features I need and want for my social network. Group controls are beneficial when control of comments and uploads is necessary.

Cons: They've been bought by another firm and are in transition, The customer support ticket system has been shut down as of May 26, 2017. No want to get support for paid subscription users. Software is slow with keeping itself updated with new Joomla updates.

Overall: I have uninstalled it and am using another application

Vendor Response

by JomSocial on July 31, 2017

Hello Eugene Thanks for your review, however, there are few points that can lead other review readers to wrong information. 1. Regarding support - we always had forum and ticket support. While it is true that ticket section is closed, forums still remain fully functional and every customer can get support there. 2. Regarding updates. JomSocial has been on Joomla! market since Joomla! 1.5 and it is regularly updated to support latest version of Joomla! CMS. In fact, we are usually the first to provide full compatibility with newest joomla version

As a active community and association of Forex Traders we use JomSocial since 3 years

Mar 09, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Clean code, fast and easy to configure

Overall: The software is easy to install and to configure. We have had not one problem. Its very clean coded and also very easy to understand for the users. Some specific problems we had, the support during the 3 years was very very helpful and also very fast and friendly. We are very happy by choosing this plattform. Thanks to you all.

Turn your joomla or wordpress website member list into a self contained social network like facebook

Feb 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I was impressed to hear how Jomsocial uses automated testing consisting of over 5000 tests which run over 10 hours, to locate and fix bugs before releasing their software. All software companies should do the same if they care about quality software releases.
The company behind Jomsocial, iJoomla, has a number of impressive extensions for Joomla, a sign of a well managed organization.
Another great thing about jomsocial is how you can make money by offering advertising on your site when you add the component they offer called AdAgency.

Cons: As a long time jomsocial user, It's taken some time and a lot of patience to get to the point where Jomsocial is today.

Overall: Jomsocial has been around for years and keeps getting better. Besides the usual picture sharing, video sharing, liking, commenting inside the network and on website articles, profile pages, headline images, user location awareness, and location based search, the best thing about jomsocial is how this software makes your own facebook-like or twitter-like social network, out of your joomla or wordpress website members, and it's all on your terms, directly on your website, under your complete control. Big Brother (Facebook or Twitter or Instagram or Google+ or whichever social media site which makes money by selling out your privacy information to the govt mass surveillance creeps) cannot easily get your private information, if you prefer your website's social network to be private. The possibilities are nearly endless. Dating sites, special interest communities, religious groups, towns and cities, gyms, schools, unions, social groups of all kinds, are easy to organize and connect, as long as the members register on the joomla or wordpress based website, and you get jomsocial software installed and running on there to provide its social element.

Recommendations to other buyers: Definitely take advantage of the Profile Types feature, which lets people be assigned to different groups, like Teachers, Substitutes, and School Administrators. Also, take advantage of the location service, which lets you share your location automatically via your browser's location awareness, and lets you search for other social network members within a certain radius of you.

Great social networking application for Joomla.

Dec 08, 2016
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use and setup.

Cons: Sometimes it can be buggy, also it is not the cheapest option. If you plan to use it then you need to have a paid subscription.

Overall: I have used Jomsocial on a number of successful social networks over the past 5 years. I find this applications very well designed and built. Integrates easily with joomla and other components.