BuddyPress Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About BuddyPress

Open source social networking software for building communities inside WordPress sites. Learn more about BuddyPress

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Rick P.
Director
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“BuddyPress has no real rivals in community building for WordPress sites”

OverallI've always had fun setting up Buddypress networks but it's always hard to explain to clients that they'll have to pay for some pretty basic functions.
ProsIt's WordPress so I understood immediately how to get things set up. But to be fair, BP is dead easy to set up. Default pages are created automatically and mapped to their proper functions. Creating a small social network that's ready to accept new members takes about 20 minutes as long as you're familiar with the basics of WordPress. Buddypress has been around a while so there's lots of support and it's a mature product. Lots of free addons and plugins.
ConsNo built-in chat. Profile editing and customization is basic. No built-in media uploading. There are addons for this but it seems crazy that users can't add photos to updates and statuses without first researching plugins, installing one and setting it up. Activity updates are similarly crippled. There's no text editor so users can't even add inline hypertext links. What?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Foluke O.
Blogger
Online Media, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018

“Online Community Made Easy”

ProsWith BuddyPress, you get to make your website social and interactive. I wanted to create a website where people could talk and interact but i was not sure i could handle a forum. Someone recommended BuddyPress, i sought for alternatives but kept coming back to it. It is easy to customize and also free
ConsCompatibility issue is one thing BuddyPress user may battle with, especially on WordPress users. The plugin may npt work well with some themes and plugins
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Brant C.
Web Developer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“The best groups plugin for WordPress”

OverallWas used on a golf community website but unfortunately didn't gain much traction and it's use was limited
ProsI used buddypress for a couple of projects and found the features awesome and it was fairly developer friendly and easily customizable
ConsSome things were a little confusing and some features seemed very outdated and a bit archaic. Mostly pretty good though
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Greg F.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018

“Quality Software”

ProsIntegrates easily into Wordpress sites. Lots of add ons to help you get the result you are after
ConsQuality video plugins are hard to come by to integrate but that shouldnt stop you from using this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Wasn't the right fit”

OverallI wasn't impressed. I needed a backend for my website and I thought this was going to be a great option. It wasn't. The team there is very nice and responsive, but it wasn't fit for my company. We ended up going with a project management back end.
ProsI liked the option of being able to customize and create a social media website similar to Facebook, Twitter etc. There is messaging capability (what I was looking for), there is a back end to set up classes (which I might use in the future), you can set up a profile etc.
ConsIt wasn't the easiest to use. A lot of developers are unfamiliar with the platform, there are only a small amount of people that know how to gracefully build with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
kathleen b.
teacher
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“Good way to communicate with people”

ProsI think this is effective to use as a way to communicate with parents. I think parents like the ease of using as well.
ConsSo far, I have no complaints about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018