Softaculous Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Softaculous

Automated web application installer for web hosting control panels. Learn more about Softaculous

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“Quick easy 1-2 click installs with Softaculous”

OverallSoftaculous has been a time saver, as a web developer I install all kinds of software...and Softaculous makes installing any of it much faster and simpler. No manually creating databases and clicking through multi-step installs. Instead, open Cpanel and click on Softaculous, select the software and you're done! I love it!
ProsVery easy to use, pick one of dozens of available open-source software scripts (including Wordpess, Joomla, Magento and more!) and with 1-2 clicks you are done. Saves time and makes installing software SUPER EASY!
ConsI actually don't have anything I dislike about Softaculous, the only thing I'd say, is perhaps more scripts?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Carney Z.
Digital Production Artist
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2018

“Softaculous is an app that if very helpful with Wordpress installations.”

ProsI like that the library pairs well with web host management systems and is also self-explanatory to use. The icons that accompany the breakdown of the library's portions help display exactly what you need, which is nice. It's the best way to generate the installation of web applications to a website, particularly Wordpress.
ConsI like how large of a variety Softaculous encompasses, but I do think it can get kind of confusing if you're not used to working with the applications. Because they partner with so many apps, it can be overwhelming to determine the function of each.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Elizabeth S.
Network
Apparel & Fashion, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Works great”

OverallIt runs along with wordpress, doing what needs done. I've not had any error signs saying anything was wrong.
ProsI used this along with wordpress, when I had a question they answered quickly and clearly. Since it runs sort of in the background, I know it reccommended using it. I'm still not sure of it's purpose. Since I don't have any error messages, I assume it is doing what it is supposed to.
ConsI don't have any complaints. It does what it should.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Nicholas K.
Digital Production Artist
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018

“Makes installing Wordpress easy!”

ProsThe only software I've ever used Softaculous to install is Wordpress. If your web host has cPanel and you are looking to install Wordpress on your new site, then Softaculous is the way to go. One click and a few fields to fill out and Wordpress is yours!
ConsHonestly there is nothing I can think of. I have NEVER had to contact their customer support, so I have no idea if they are good or bad.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018
Vytautas B.
CTO
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Very poor support”

OverallVery bad experience with support, enormously long response time and even then no real resolution is provided.
ProsLost of apps, ease of use, mediocre features on bulk editing the apps.
ConsVery poor product support, sometimes buggy, old style interface
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Best Option for Installing Software”

ProsLarge selection of programs to install Most have demos Easy to alert Softaculous of updates
ConsInterface can be slow Backup option is hidden
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“Speed up setup/testing of web CMS”

ProsI was impressed by the amount of software that this tool can install on your hosting server. I've used it to install Wordpress and it relieved me from many boring tasks, and it's especially very easy to test a large number of web applications. Definitely get a hosting that provides Softaculous. It even manages the backups!
ConsSometimes updates mess up with the installation and backups stop working. During an installation you may be asked questions that need some knowledge to be answered, and the default answers might not suit your needs. If you're not a provider, Softaculous is not something you should consider installing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Market Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Helpful in managing Wordpress installs”

OverallFairly straightforward and easy to use. No major issues
ProsThis is helpful in setting up multiple installs of wordpress on a single hosting plan that I have with my host.
ConsDoes not allow for auto updates of my software installations (or perhaps I was not made aware of how to do it)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Alvin A.
Pelajar
Consumer Goods, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Best to install wordpress for my website”

ProsWith Softaculous installing WordPress never been this easy, you just need a few clicks and boom you have installed Wordpress on your website as easy as that.
ConsThe User interface is kinda old I hope they improve the User interface
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Victor A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: GetApp
April 7, 2017

Source: GetApp
April 7, 2017