SolarWinds Service Desk Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk, previously Samanage Service Platform, is an award-winning, fully integrated cloud-based service desk and IT asset management solution. Based on ITSM best practices to create a platform that is as usable as it is cutting-edge by incorporating automation, artificial intelligence, and machine learning to help streamline IT support services and empower employee self-service. SolarWinds Service Desk provides businesses of all sizes an easy to use and affordable ITSM solution. Learn more about SolarWinds Service Desk

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 477 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 477 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jean-Louis M.
VP IT
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2018

“Enterprise Quality at a reasonable implementation cost. ”

OverallGreat ITSM alternative to the big guys, with all the same features, without the price tag. They offer a full feature trial and will help you with a PoC. Great value, positive ROI and superior TOC. Have a look at this one!
ProsThis tool is a hidden gem. Compared to it's peers in the ITSM space, SAmanage has all the features you would expect from an Enterprise ITSM without the Enterprise price tag. It's cloud based SAAS model saves you from the hassles of onprem setups, and if you are global it just works for all your users. The feature set is rich, I recommend you do a Proof of Concept (POC) with them to gain an appreciation of everything the product gives you. The on-boarding process was very well orchestrated, they guide your team through the whole implementation via a Trello board. Everything is spelled out for you, there is little risk here. Truly an Enterprise Grade Product at a reasonable SMB Total Cost of Ownership (or Subscription-ship). Worth having a look.
ConsThe product does not hit the radar in terms of "Known" go to ITSMs. So this left us to do more research and vetting with their existing clients. Also, because they are lean on price, they do not spend a lot of time "Wining and Dinning" you, and this gave us the false impression of the organization being small. They are not small as we found out in the implementation phase. They are a true SAAS so they don't have travelling sales people with territory in the traditional sense, again it gave us the wrong impression of their sophistication. Some of the features compared to the expensive ITSM packages are not as robust, but for the prices difference we can accept those as is. They meet our needs as is. I do recommend you do a PoC with them to gain a full appreciation for what they do offer and where some of their simplicity map-out for your needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 1, 2018
Ronald K.
Software Assurance
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017

“Great platform for asset management and trouble ticket ”

OverallThe pricing is based upon the number of users in our network that will be accessing the system, and the number of "Managers" running the system. The salesman were very helpful in providing a great offer on the cost and have kept that pricing concept since we started. As you are starting out with basically a "Blank Page" it can seem a little overwhelming at first setting everything up to get that final functional asset management and help desk system you envision. However, there are plenty of examples and their help & support is very responsive. To me, this "Blank Page" is one of the positive aspects of the system. Basically, with some limitations, if I can imagine it, I can build it with what they have provided. This is true if you keep in mind what the original system was designed for in the first place. (The point here is simply: you would be surprised what kind of things people have asked the system to do... way beyond the scope of its design...) It easily integrates with Active Directory (AD based on Windows 2003 is no longer supported as of this writing) and has a robust permissions setup, allowing you to allow and deny users any number of "Roles" that are pre-configured or that you create as needed. The easy deployment of the agent combined with the cloud based setup allows the system to work well with users and machines working both in the corporate network, as well as outside of it in satellite offices. The "Trouble Ticketing" interface can be customized and is easy to understand and navigate. Background elements include the ability to track tickets, warn administrators of tickets that have received no response, cluster common tickets to users and machines for trend and trouble tracking, and provides what I call "Live Response", where you can see who is looking at a specific ticket or item and see their notations instantly. Probably the most impressive portion of the system is that part that most users will never see: The asset management system. Once the agent has been installed and is communicating, the amount of information provided is overwhelming at first, and yet still organized and categorized. There is even a built in tool allowing the system to know when a computers warranty is up. My reason for not giving 5 stars across the board: The system sometimes has issues tracking software as the "Suite" it is licensed under. This is not necessarily and issue with this system as it is in how it is sold.
ProsFlexibility The "Sand Box" approach. Support. Cost effective
ConsPrinters are auto-populated, not based upon where the printer is installed from and shared from, but by every single shared instance of that printer. As a result, a single printer in an office of 200 users all sharing the same printer will show an inventory of 201 printers. Software suites, like Autodesk "Building Design Suite Premium" are sold and licensed as a single unit, even though it is a collection of some 2 dozen programs and plugins. Samanage does not have the ability automatically, to track and manage this; it shows them as a bunch of separate programs. There is a way to cheat the system and make this work, but it is a manual step that requires a bit of work to setup and manage. It's getting better, but the agents do not always refresh as quickly as I would like.
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017
James B.
Network and Security Engineer
Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2017

“Outstanding!”

OverallWe needed a solution, and we needed one fast. We had test driven many, but something didn't feel right. Two things made us choose Samanage. The software had every feature we were looking for, and the people were excellent. From the beginning, we were treated like VIP's. We were given professional courtesy, we were given kindness and flexibility, we were shown appreciation, and we were given everything we needed to stand up the ticketing system in our environment. The staff, made us all feel like we were part of their family and we can't thank them enough. The demos were terrific, the trial was awesome, the sale itself went smooth, the implementation was perfect (including the SSO option), the support was phenomenal and the Go-Live went off without a hitch. This was just one of the best end to end experiences I have ever had the pleasure of being a part of. The Samanage team are just a bunch of really cool professionals that truly care about their customers. Every call was a pleasure, and they taught us how everything worked. We have had nothing but excellent support, and we are happily enjoying all the features and functionality as we use it daily. I have personally thanked them over the phone, and in email messages, but I still can't thank them enough. We were on a hard deadline to get everything working in a very short time. The Samanage team delivered on time, and within budget. We couldn't be happier. Thank you, Samanage Team! You ROCK!!!!!! :)
ProsEase of use, very intuitive. As described in the demos. Evertyhing worked as expected.
ConsIt doesn't know how to make me coffee in the morning, but other than that, it's hard not to like something that makes your life easier.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you get to work with the Implementatin team, listen and learn. They have so much to offer, and so much to share. My only regret is that we had to go live. It was such a pleasure working with the Implementation Team, when it was time to go live , it was kind of sad. The team, and the resources were VERY helpful.
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2017
Scott J.
Senior Systems Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Great little ITSM”

OverallThey have been a great partner to work with bending over backwards to accommodate us in our mergers and acquisitions as we consolidated tenants and imported and exported data. They listened to our feedback and incorporated some of our ideas into their final product as well. They are a company that will work with you to get the job done the way you need it done.
ProsThis is a great ITSM. We have been with them for many years and have watched them grow. They have a lot of the features of the big name systems but without the high cost. If you are looking for an ITSM that will get the job done here it is. While it does not have all the expanded features of some of the big systems it has asset management, change management, incident management and a service catalog which is all you really need to get started. Plus they have integrations with other platforms like slack for interating with your tickets. Overall a good choice for an ITSM
ConsThe only drawback would be that they are a young company and they do not have all of the in depth features of some of the big ITSM's like Servie-now and others. But then again do you really need all that complexity?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“Amazing internal and external customer service portal”

OverallAsset management, asset auditing, help desk ticketing system.
ProsAmazing help desk ticketing system, it integrates with our two email inboxes for internal and external support. Our internal employees use one address while our external clients use the other. Everything goes into the same queue and are labeled and categorized appropriately. When we comment and attach documents on a ticket via Samanage, the requester gets a nicely formatted (and extremely customizeable) email with the details. The other great thing is the asset management software, you install the agent on any company computer/phone and it gives you an immense amount of information and auditing capabilities. It will literally tell you the manufacturer and serial number of monitors plugged in (even the laptop LCD screen!) Also, support is great! You can chat with someone whenever you want and they're very good about either answering right away, or researching the issue and following up later.
ConsIt costs a decent amount, and depending on how many administrators you have the costs can jump up. But I will say it's well worth it for all the features you get.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Henry U.
Desktop Systems Specialist
Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2017

“Samanage Helpdesk Best!”

OverallThe most granular are where Samanage stands out from the crowd is in its Dashboard and the array of reports that it generates. Upon login, the Dashboard is where users are automatically placed. It provide users with immediate inside into what's going on across the organization. Another feature I like in Samanage is its single sign-on functionality. Many of contenders failed to support this capability at all. Once users are signed on, they can be assigned different roles and groups depending upon what they need to do and what access level is required. There's also something Samanage calls "risk detection." This isn't a security tool constantly searching for code holes or digital invaders, however. Rather, it's based on the data Samanage gathers as a helpdesk and asset management tool where it uses that information to keep track of best practices, expiring licenses, and similar information that might compromise your IT organization from a financial or contract perspective. We weren't able to test this feature, so be sure to evaluate yourself thoroughly before banking on it. Samanage doesn't have everything a good help desk solution should have, but it does offer many features that are important to ITIL, including problem, incident, and change management. Samanage has a pleasing aesthetic, is fairly easy to use once you get used to it, and given its feature breadth you'll certainly find the right tool for the job somewhere in the suite.
ProsContains most needed features. Includes ITIL service management tools. Offers asset tracking and more reports than other help desk solutions
ConsA lot of features but some seem unnecessary.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2017
Todd T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016

“Strong service desk software with a lot of potential”

OverallBenefits: 1. Its easy to use and looks nice. Staff have required very little training, despite not having a centralized system. 2. Its pretty flexible. It's able to do about 90% of what we want it to do. 3. Support is active and engaged. Their community website has a lot of activity, both from others using the product as well as comments from Samanage's support. 4. Its actively developed. Recently Samanage unveiled their Labs feature, which allows areas to enable or disable new features to test out their functionality prior to implementation. 5. Reliability. Being a cloud service, you need it to be available and accessible. We've only had one minor outage during our time with Samange, and that was resolved quickly. They also provide great visibility into their uptime through a website, http://status.samanage.com Problems: 1. Filtering. Filters for incidents need additional work to become more robust. Currently, each new filter type acts as an AND filter, while multiple of the same type of filter act as OR filters. In some cases, you can't achieve the type of filter required at all. 2. Reporting. While the built-in reporting looks nice and has some decent out-of-the-box reports, it's not at the level of sophistication most organizations really need to get their full value out of this product and the data it has. For instance, there is no query builder or ad-hoc reporting, so you're limited to what you see. 3. Groups and Roles. Groups are treated like individuals, so if you report on a group's incidents and one of the members in that group has an incident, you won't see it, which is challenging. Roles are pretty robust, but a person can only belong to one role. If you have exceptions for individuals, you basically need to create a special role for each one of those cases which won't scale for large organizations. 4. SLA's and automation. The current SLA implementation is restrictive and cumbersome. And that's pretty much the only way to provide any sort of automation to routing, closing, etc. for incidents. 5. Slow feature development. Samanage has done an excellent job of rolling out various features throughout the year. However, there are some long-standing feature requests that have been in development for years and executing on them has been slow. While the above issues are a concern, I have faith they'll be addressed and result in a stronger product in the long run.
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016
Jeremy J.
Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016

“Samanage simplified and expanded the feature set of our current Incident Management System”

OverallSamanage helped simplify our incident management, expand our feature set and ultimately helped us increase the capabilities of our customer support and information management on the support side. We were really impressed with the import capabilities and admin capabilities provided right out of the gate. We were also impressed with the flexibility of the licensing and the willingness to help package exactly what we needed for our solution. One feature we have greatly benefited from is the Contract Management which helps us track the different contracts we hold with customers. The Service Requests have also helped guide users into providing information for their requests, making our job easier when trying to facilitate the requests and needing certain information to do so. We were not impressed with the limited capabilities of the Solutions portion of the application and this carries over to the Help Desk Portal which has no current way of organizing Solutions based on the customer or "Site", category, or any such other filters. There is only the option of displaying the solution Internally, which is good because in that view, we can create filters to organize and make sense out of the hundreds of Solutions we have created. But, we really wanted to improve the self help capabilities of the help desk portal we are provided but with the current way Solutions are shown on the portal, we can not use this feature to show customers common solutions to their problems. Overall, Samanage has been a great asset to our support team but we are hoping to see some improvements this year when it comes to permissions for viewing Solutions and also organizing solutions on the Help Desk Portal in a manner similar to how the Service Requests are displayed. I should note that since this is a SaaS solution, we instantly see improvements and features being added and the community.samanage.com site is very active. Lastly, I want to praise Samanage's help desk and engineering team which has been spot on with their support and solution delivery. We have helped to find a number of bugs and problems throughout our use and usually we will see these problems resolved within a week or less which is incredible turn around time for fixing minor issues in a software solution if you look at other companies and traditional on premise software.
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016
Avatar Image
Brett H.
System Engineer
Retail, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019

“Great Cloud Service with Many Features, Expensive for the Full Version”

OverallIncident, problem, and change management are all extremely easy to set up and begin using due to the cloud-hosted nature of the product. As it is fully web-based, low-level training is not required for techs or users.
ProsEasy to deploy as it is a cloud-based system. Initial setup requires low effort and detail. Branding is easy to apply, functionality is easy to test out of the gate.
ConsInformation on asset discovery, connections, and scanners feels lacking. Connecting to SCCM via the database has very little information, and after a month of attempts, it is not functional. Support has been a bit slow on response when inquiring regarding this issue, even after purchase.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Patrick B.
IT Supervisor
Biotechnology, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2018

“Samanage is an easy to use solution that makes my life so much easier”

OverallWe are in the pharmaceutical industry and have implemented samanage over 2 years ago. The system is perfect and easy to use which enables users to understand the problem and submit tickets!
ProsThe ease of use. The system allows the natural flow of tickets into problems, problems into changes and the audit trail is perfect for our validation/qa friends. We love that the API is easy to intergrate and have pulled in our sharepoint system with the API to automate tasks like account creation/separation.
ConsThe system could uses a few tweaks but I think this is just growing pains. The Samanage team has been straightforward with what they are implementing and changes are being released consistently. Over the past two years of having the system, I can say the updates are wonderful and truly address issues. Not purely cosmetic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2018
Ronald K.
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2014

“A great solution”

ProsThey do not provide a cookie cutter package, but rather a sandbox approach, where you can make it what you need it to be. If something you want is not in there, chances are good they will add it or help you find another way.
ConsThe reporting functions are a bit inflexible at this point. It is not a deal breaker, but there are times it does not fill the need or allow as many options or format capabilities as needed. The amount of data provided about the software installed on the various systems is second to none. Their agent does an exceptional job in this area Based upon this and because of this, the system needs to allow more options for software categorization and organization. Sometimes, too many differing programs are all clumped together and are too difficult to sort. I realist that this is in part due to some software vendors and how they package their programs. But with a system as robust as this one, there should be a way to allow for more where needed. Sometimes, their instructions are a bit lacking. Too often, I am provided with an overview rather than a step-by-step instruction that at times would be a bit more helpful.
Recommendations to other buyersHave patience. Realize that, with this product and the desired end result, there will be no magic wand to make it all work and start giving you amazing data. Initially, it takes a little effort and time to set this system up and make it do what you want it to. The advantage you have with this system is that it is sort of a sandbox system, wherein you can make of it what you need rather than being constrained or restricted. The staff at Samanage really helps in this area. Sometimes, you and the staff may be at odds about what something should be capable of doing or how something should work. However, they are always open to new ideas as long as it is best for the collection of clients they have.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2014
Omer K.
SAP Administrator
Building Materials, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017

“Great Help Desk Solution”

OverallAs a member of IT in a hearth company, it is very important that I serve my internal customers in a timely manner and resolve any issues that they are having and Samanage has helped me do that due to their helpdesk solution. It offers great customization in what information I see on the helpdesk page and and thus I am able to prioritize tasks according to severity. I also like the report statistics and able to view my performance over a period of time. This helps improve on service quality. Samanage support is very helpful and give an extremely fast response and are always very courteous
ProsCustomizable and clutter free helpdesk Customizable Reports Outstanding Support Supportive Community
ConsI dont have any particular weakness in order. As I have used it throughout the years I have become appreciative of how the interface is designed. Its clutter free and lets me do my work
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017
Sebastian P.
Director of IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2014

“Nice UI, Awesome Customer Service, Fast evolution”

OverallFor some organizations, selling the idea to have an ITSM can be difficult. They helped me to build the case and to sell the idea, they supported me in the whole process. Once they sold me the product, they showed an awesome customer service with very short turnaround time for each support request. They have a strong and active community, which is very important to share ideas and problems. The errors that I found were solved quickly and they also hear their users, by giving us the ability to push for ideas to include in the system. The inventory management is great in details and features. Some Improvement Opportunities So far, some improvements opportunities that I see can be around the SLAs which could be more flexible (structured as Target->Action, there could be more for each of them), but is not really a problem. The reports could be more flexible by allowing the user to build his own reports, and scheduling the reports to be sent to specific users The asset agent deployment for linux is a bit tricky and could be improved a lot. Mac and Windows are very straightforward and easy to install. There are and will be a number of things not covered by the product, but what they showed me so far by evolving partially from what the users propose and how fast they evolve, gives me the confidence I need to rest assure that everything that I need will eventually be there. Pros An awesome customer service and support. Great asset management. Good set of reports and dashboard capability. SLA are great at the level we use it, you can specify different targets and actions. Ability to configure different times zones and business hours of all your company sites, we have 4 offices with different times zones and so far that's working great! Allowed us to configure a service catalog, to capture and structure common requests from our users, like the request of Virtual Machines, where they always missed some data we needed. I'm sure I'm forgetting something but so far, our experience has been great, I would totally recommend this product!
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2014
Brian T.
Systems Administrator
Market Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“A Great Replacement for Our In House Service Desk!”

OverallWe've replaced our outdated, cumbersome in-house service desk with Samanage. We're already seeing higher productivity because of the SLAs we were able to set. The automations available within the system help streamline ticket submission and remove a lot of the back and forth when information is missing.
ProsWe've had great support from day one. The support team answered all of my questions about features when we trialed the system, and they've continued the great support after we officially signed up. There are also improvements made to the platform all the time. The platform offers way more than we use it for, but it's affordable and it's something we can grow into over time.
ConsSome basic features are missing. For instance, I can't set the system up to alert the entire team when a trouble ticket is closed. This was an important feature on our old service desk, as it let the team know when someone else sorted out an issue. This also helped share solutions among the team. Now, when a ticket is closed, it simply disappears from queue without team learning. The emails that are sent out can't be branded, and the customization of the emails is very limited. It's nice to be able to open tickets via email, but I'm a bit disappointed with the lack of customization. Some sorting/filtering options don't seem to work properly. Tickets always sort by ticket number by default - not by status. This can't seem to be changed for some reason.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Jodie K.
Interim Director of Technology Services
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017

“Samanage, a true ITSM game changer!”

OverallSamanage has been a true game changer in my organization. Historically, our service desk was cumbersome, lacked functionality and really only routed tickets around, nothing more. When I first started shopping around for a new Service Desk, Samanage honestly looked to good to be true! Cloud based, built on ITIL principles, customer service feedback, built in asset inventory, knowledge base and a service catalog all in one place! Implementation was a breeze, being cloud based all of the heavy lifting is done by Samanage. All I had to do was configure it in a way to meet my organization's needs and we were ready to go live! Ticket flow and tracking is so easy in Samanage. The customer service feedback is also a very valuable tool for me to evaluate my staff on their performance. Inventory tracking allows us to keep up with who has what technology, all in one place. Overall, I explored a lot of service desk options and choosing Samanage was by far, the best choice I could have made. I look forward to continuing to use it to make my department more efficient and customer focused!
ProsEasy, simple, cloud based, very functional
ConsA bit pricey for smaller organizations but pricing is still on-par with other Service Desk providers
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017
Avatar Image
Matthew M.
Director of Information Technology
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Samange - Cloud based Support Desk ”

OverallGreat software, have used this at two different firms now. Simple and easy with great reliability and reporting.
ProsSamange is very quick to setup, customization's are easy and don't require programmers. The software has many editable fields that allow for quick reporting, SLA tracking, and user satisfaction.
ConsThe only limitation to Samange that I have seen is if you are working to resolve an item it is a one to one relationship. I would like to see the outbound emails tagged so that if a 3rd party is engaged and reply's via email it is auto captured in the system. Many to one responses are lacking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Hung P.
IT Officer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Easy to work with, easy to integration but need more thing for workflow”

OverallWe using Samanage for service desk and inventory, from 2015, we were like the first customer, we give a lot of ideas for them to improve the product. We now using Samanage for IT, Operation and HR department, for the next time we may offer to another department like Business Office. We have the plan to do some application using Samanage API for improve reporting.
ProsAPI very good, can do anything with API. We also create some own application to work with the ticket, other assets by API.
ConsWorkflow part need improve more, like we need input step, Samanage should compare with other software for workflow like Kissflow, also, user interface not very friendly for the user.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Cyrus C.
Application Developer/Anaylst
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“Expandable as you need it”

OverallThis software has allowed us to track end user request for issues and see how the responses trend. It also allows us to track ongoing project with task etc. Though it is not a project managment software it does lend itself to easily manage small projects
Proseasy to implement, easy to build your own knowledge base repository. Support is quick to respond.
ConsUpdates can be tricky, there is no "Test" environment to test if your data and configuration will work as you expect. So when they update you its trial by fire. Fortunately they have been pretty good about responding to any issues that have arisen.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Elizabeth J.
Project Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2017

“Samanage review”

OverallEasy to configure and get set up. Love the agent on our computers so we get real-time insights on our assets. Everyone we've worked with at Samanage has been responsive and helpful. We started with the asset management, and now are about to expand to the service desk which looks like it has some awesome features we plan to utilize right away like workflows and Jira integration. Wish the reporting was more robust so we could automate any report we want, but we're still able to get at what we need through saved lists/searches.
ProsSamanage agent to track assets, Jira integration for service desk
ConsReporting. We couldn't set up the reports any way we wanted so currently have to manually go in weekly/monthly to pull the data we want from lists instead. I wish we could customize the reports and set up the schedules to eliminate the manual steps.
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2017
Avatar Image
Greg C.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“This makes project management a snap”

ProsThe software is robust and full features, everything from helpdesk to asset management. Also the integrations are great, having it easily connected to our zendesk instance allowing the ability to connect issues from zendesk to assets in samanage. This also makes tracking asset warranty simple.
ConsWhen we purchased samanage it seemed to be focused on the asset management. Now they've geared to push more towards the helpdesk software built into to it. Not being able to disable to and remove the options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Brad M.
Business Systems Analyst II
Publishing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“Better than other products but needs some TLC”

ProsThe biggest advantage my team has with Samanage is that you can create solutions for common issues, that you can easily attach to a ticket and not have to re-type the solution over and over again. Other then that ticketing system is fine, does what we need it to but reporting could use some enhancements.
ConsWould like a more in depth reporting mechanism, could be that my company doesn't use the tool to the best of it's ability but there needs more vision on software/hardware we have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Eric B.
Systems Administrator
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 27, 2018

“Easy to configure & use Help Desk & Asset Management tool for small to medium-sized business”

OverallIn the three years we've used Samanage we've had just over 7,000 tickets, we've been able to add and remove administrators and task users as needs arise and jobs change. We use it for onboarding, offboarding, inventory & ticketing. Works great.
ProsWorks great in all browers, workflow setup was easy, inventory client collects a ton of data that we've used to target hardware and software upgrades.
ConsThe agent for inventory management had some weird numbering issues, but other than that, i have nothing bad to say about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 27, 2018
Terence S.
ITS Manager
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Well designed and easy to use.”

OverallSaves time and makes it easier to manage service desk requests.
ProsInterface is intuitive and setup is easier than most Service Desk software I've used in the past especially with the help we received from the samanage implementation team.
ConsAdjusting and maintaining the views that I want. I'm fairly picky with how I want things arranged and depending on how I navigate through samanage, my views can revert back to defaults. I feel there should be a more consistent behavior with views.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Michael N.
IT Infrastructure Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“Samanage - A seriously good help desk solution”

OverallVery good. 5/5 experience, overall the software works exactly as advertised.
ProsThe features work as advertised. We have used Dell Kace in the past and dumped it because of a lack of features; we switched to InvGate. InvGate was a really poor experience, and though it had a lot of features nothing operated properly and support was slow. Samanage has been the total opposite, when we run into an outage it is very quickly resolved and chat support is very responsive.
ConsImprovements could definitely be made on the built-in reporting side of things; especially when it comes to computer inventory.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Warehousing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Good Out-Of-Box product for small, scalable team”

OverallWe were attempting to solve the issue of ticket management in the IT department. While it was a great out-of-the-box solution, it didn't offer the unique scalability we needed and the customer service wasn't helpful in growing the product with our needs. However, I still believe that, for a small shop, this product offers the best value for the price and is a great entry-level solution.
ProsI like that, out-of-the-box, Samanage offers great core functionality with a stable product that ties neatly into a beautiful UI for the end users. The UI is where Samanage really knocks it out of the park though. It's modern, simplistic, "forum" layout is attractive and intuitive, and chat indicators on the tickets feels like your moving from a traditional email reply into a IM chat.
ConsThere's a lot to be desired when it comes to the fine details of the service. There are specific customization options for project management and ticket automation that aren't available that we wanted in our shop. When we reached out to our support member to discuss a possible addition/fix. They advised us to post our suggestion on their feedback board and if it received enough votes they would implement it. The same suggestion was found submitted over a year ago on the board (with over 300+ votes) yet no action was taken. I was hoping for a more, collaborative answer, instead of posting on a forum board in hopes that other members validate my need for them to implement it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018

“Modern, Practical, Suitable, Low TCO”

OverallOur organization has downsized significantly in the past 3 years. Our former ITSM solution was costly to license and maintain. Without an in-house specialist, the help of a third party implementer was required to make significant changes or implement new modules. It was beginning to feel like overkill for us so it made sense to switch to something we can maintain ourselves and where cost is more in line with the size of our organization. We had to switch ITSM tools on very short notice. Thanks to a positive reference from a peer organization, we decided to evaluate Samanage before looking at anything else. The sales team was very helpful and quick to respond to all of our questions. Our trial environment was up and running in less than a day, and production ready with Incident Management.
ProsSamanage was easy to evaluate and we were able to configure Incident Management and migrate our Knowledgebase in just under a day with next to no assistance from the Samanage team. We are pleased that we can now utilize our implementation hours to learn the more advanced automation features of Samanage.
ConsThe mobile app is nice but seems limited. There is a real opportunity here to expand its capabilites and flexibility.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018

“easy to use for incident tracking”

Overallwe wanted a more user friendly and simpler approach for our internal users and IT staff and this was a great tool. Super easy to use in comparison to other similar software I have used
ProsI used this at work mainly as a service desk tool for our internal users. I found this super easy to use, and manage my open incident tickets. I like the interface its fairly intuitive. I particularly like the customizable dashboard view and the colour coding of statuses so its easy to see which tickets are open or need urgent attention.
Consthe costs of adding extra administrators so we were limited.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018
Elior A.
IT Helpdesk Technician
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018

“Great Service Desk and Inventory system”

OverallWe improved our SLAs using SAManage as an Incidents platform. We also now have a better understanding of the number of endpoints we have, the software installed on them etc'.
ProsThe easy deployment of the agent to all of our endpoints, that help us keep track of hardware and software inventory with great accuracy. The Service Desk feature, allowing us to maintain a productive Help Desk environment and assist our users. We also use the service desk in our billing procedure.
ConsThe UI can be improved, as sometimes in the incidents view we encounter bugs that require us to refresh \ clear the cache.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018

“Easy to deploy, great vendor integration, and ease of use”

ProsThis software is easy to use for both the administrator and the user. It includes everything we need. We will be able to use it as an asset management tool, offer a solutions database to user's, and provide a change control tool for IT Staff that will be implementing system changes. It provides user feedback when their tickets are accepted and informs them when they are complete. We will be able to track the Help Desk response time and receive customer feedback. This tool is especially helpful when being audited for SOX controls. We are often asked to provide proof of compliance and we can print out the tickets to provide auditors. It is a great overall help desk tool with a couple of extra benefits all rolled into one. The vendor has been excellent provided us with support and answering questions within hours of the time they were asked. We have had weekly meetings prior to deployment and the overall knowledge has been excellent. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a help desk soluton
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018
Zechariah L.
QA Lead
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 31, 2019

“Great inventory management software”

OverallWe do not use their app for mobile devices, we utilize their "Other section" for our device inventory.
ProsWe use this software to manage remotely deployed devices, and with the ability to pull our device IDs and ICCIDs in directly from a downloaded CSV from our MDM, it has saved us a ton of hours. The sales staff was incredibly accommodating and worked with us, as we had a very short deadline to get this software up and running. Any time we've had to call in they've treated us very well. I would definitely recommend you give them a look.
ConsThe product look, is a bit out-dated, doesn't really display well on our high-res monitors, but other than that I haven't found any cons as of right now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 31, 2019
Britney F.
Sr. Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Very great experience”

OverallTons of benefits it helps make our job easier each day because we definitely utilize this software on a daily basis.
ProsI like being able to schedule tickets and notify the users that we're coming; this software is definitely a major part of our daily task.
Consn/a-I don't have anything bad to say about the software honestly..I'm glad to have it as apart of my daily job.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
John S.
Systems Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2017

“for the most part it is easy to use and customize to the information I want. ”

ProsI like the combination of asset inventory, ticket system, and users and the ability to link everything together. It is also nice to have the solutions tab and the ability to control who can see what solutions to have everything in one spot.
ConsI don't like that not all fields in the inventory are searchable and it doesn't seem to do relative searches for close matches.
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2017
Allan E.
IT Director / Purchasing Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Samanage is the right choice”

OverallEveryone I have dealt with has been great and easy to reach out to. Even after the configuration I am able to shoot him an email and I get a response within an hour or so.
ProsThere are so many things that I like about Samanage. To start with the entire team that worked with me on purchasing, setup/configuration, success management were all really great and were easy to work with. They are very responsive to any question I had...usually had a response back within an hour. As for the Samanage Cloud Portal it offered more than we had with Spiceworks. I am now able to combine my inventory database, procurement records and help desk all into one package. The fact that it is cloud based allows me to access it from anywhere instead of having to make sure I am at specific computers to access specific software pieces that made up our old system.
ConsI wish that it allowed the positioning of fields and offered the capability to do depreciation within the Asset portion of the inventory.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Robert W.
Director of IT
Computer Hardware, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2018

“Samanage has been everything we had hoped for and more.”

OverallWe now know how our IT department's time is spent, who are the users who need more help etc.
ProsI like the ease of use and how quickly we were up and running with Samanage. The implementation was virtually painless and went very quickly.
ConsThe only thing I have a problem with, and I hope they correct it soon, is that it will not pull the Microsoft Office Licenses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2018
Lee L.
IT Technical Support Specialist
Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Great solution for help desk!”

OverallSamanage replaced two products for us.
ProsThis is a great solution for managing help desk. We are using the cloud version. Have not had any problems. There are a lot of features too. What I like most about it is the functionality of the help desk side.
ConsNone so far. This is an outstanding help desk solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018

“Great Value”

OverallWe have been using Samanage for almost a full year now, and don't have too many complaints. It has a lot of functionality and is solving for our ticket system, inventory, and change management needs.
ProsI love the ease-of-use. Samanage is extremely easy to set up and maintain. It's truly a simple product with beefy capabilities.
ConsThe Azure integration could be better. There are no way to properly federate departments with the current state. Notifications can get a little out of hand, and there isn't a lot of customization you can do with them. I also wish Due Dates would send notifications, but they do not, even though that seems like something pretty standard.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018
Savvy P.
Recruitment Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 13, 2018

“Its Asset Management feature is just great”

ProsThe service catalogue is a feature I have been learning about and I am hoping to get it used more widely across the company.
ConsWould like to see reporting around purchasing. In general needs the ability to pull reports/audit equipment that was purchased and what is currently in use, surplus, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 13, 2018
Joe M.
IT Specialist
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017

“A great source of truth for our assets. Great to have it in the cloud. ”

OverallAll of our assets were in one place automatically with full details on each item.
ProsThe info it gathers is great. We could tell every little piece of hardware connected to an asset and everything installed which was great. We also liked how it could give location based off of IP.
ConsThe deployment was a bit clunky. We had to get our own script and package the installer to deploy it via an MDM. The script on the help site didn't work right and it has you do each machine by hand.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017
Chad B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2014

“Ease of Setup, Configuration, Use, Modification, and Deployment”

ProsSamanage has not only been painless, but it's actually enjoyable to configure and deploy for our Enterprise. The staff at Samanage is quick to respond to issues or questions and went the extra mile to provide multiple demos for our organization to maximize its exposure and approval to purchase. We have found the community engaging, intelligent, and helpful. Many of our situations have been rapidly addressed with helpful advice or probed deeper to determine possible features for the product.
ConsThe product is still developing, so while there are no failings, there are some areas where it can be expanded to allow more in-depth reporting and issue routing. The application is very robust in dealing with incidents, but could use some of the incident features expanded into other modules.
Recommendations to other buyersWe looked around for what would meet our needs and grow with us. I recommend doing the same. While Samanage was not covered by Gartner in their Magic Quadrant, I found it superior overall to the other products in the Gartner Magic Quadrant I did review and test (Microsoft SCCM, LanDesk, IBM Tivoli, BCM Remedy, Cherwell, CA Technologies, and a few others). While Samanage may not be part of a large IT conglomerate or have the years behind it many of the others do, it rises up as a superior product for our needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2014
Antonio H.
IT Director
Retail, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Samanage is a great product and very easy to work with”

OverallHelp Desk Management is easier at the moment and as well, I'm now able to provide the Board with easy and accurated KPIs regarding to the type of issues, frequency and areas with higher incidents.
ProsSamanage is a great product and very easy to work with. It has been added value to my organisation and structure the way how the incidents are logged
ConsMaybe a more agile process adding new functionalities and informing the current users about what's new and how to use it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Gene P.
Financial Advisor
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019

“Very helpful tool”

OverallVery pleasant experience! Samanage has been delivering everything as promised. Great value for the money!
ProsThe program expedites the process, makes it smooth and efficient. Really great value for the money
ConsTruly pleased with all the aspects , can not think of any negative experience
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Political Organization, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018

“Very easy to use, helps ticket management”

ProsIt is simple but customizable to any detailed-degree you want. It gives you everything you expect out of an incident management tool, and they are constantly improving capabilities.
ConsThere is a LOT you can do with the tool, but we found that it was best to wait for some customization until we'd gotten a fair amount of usage. We over-engineered automations at the beginning that we had to dial back because it was overkill.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“An excellent IT Service Desk App that offers a lot to praise with features, mobility, and security. ”

ProsThe application integrates extremely well right from the beginning. The security is fantastic, ensuring we never have any concerns & the pricing plans are extremely reasonable, making this our number one choice.
ConsWhen comparing Samanage to other Service Desk apps, you begin to notice there a few missing features. However, because Samanage does everything else so well, the inconvenience becomes incredibly minor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
James H.
IT Admin
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017

“Amazing IT management software”

OverallAfter using a few different Asset and Ticket management systems, Samanage ended up being our perfect fit. The interface is sleek and clean, the asset management while lacking a few features works brilliantly. The ticketing and service request portals are also very brilliant as well.
ProsThe interface is fast and sleek, the asset management is also fast and mostly easy to use. The service portal request system is also a hugely fantastic feature.
ConsWish the site refreshed dynamically instead of statically. Also, I wish we had more control over the asset management system.
Recommendations to other buyersTry it before you buy. There is a lot of stuff to samanage. So make sure it fits your workflow.
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2017
Bobby H.
Help Desk Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2017

“Great Product. Great Service”

OverallI have been using Samanage to support a district of 6,000 users, with no issues for 3 years now. It's simple, easy to customize, and functions great. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a Help Desk Solution.
ProsLooks and functions great. Easy to use. Never any major issues or interruptions in service.
ConsNone
Recommendations to other buyersKeep up the great work.
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2017
Larry J.
Senior Systems Administrator
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2017

“Great product”

Overallsamanage has come a long ways since we first made the decision to switch. I would say that samanage genuinely listens to customer feedback and implements changes to their SaaS solution to improve the quality for everyone. I don't think you'll find a better product out there.
ProsThe simplicity, asset management, API, and services.
ConsReports and customization
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2017
Graham R.
IT Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2016

“Simple and Elegant”

OverallWe have been using SAManage for almost 3 years now. The product has grown a little and the improvements are fairly useful. We find that not all of the features fit our needs, and at times the software is more comprehensive than what we can ask for. The real plus to SAManage is the utilization of newer web technologies, the SaaS nature, and the ease of use. The product is easy to use in both the back-end as an administrator, and in the front-end portal as and end-user. Support is friendly and helpful and the built in intercom chat is a handy feature. I have found one or two bugs over the last three years and they have all been resolved by submitting a ticket and reporting the bug to the team or via the community. A few feature requests we made have also been added, and it seems the new features are largely community-driven. The community is excellent. I don't participate as much as I'd hope, but the forums are active with SAManage discussion, feature requests, and more. SAManage has experienced one or two service disruptions since we started, but they were only for an hour or two at very most, and often times they're not even noticeable. My biggest gripe with SAManage is the lack of native Single Sign-On support. However, SAManage integrates excellently with OneLogin, which has also improved over time and works really well once configured. I recommend SAManage to any team that needs a simple, forward-thinking product to leverage basic asset management and ticketing.
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2016
Ryan H.
District Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016

“Support is non-existent and clunky. Interface good, but needs work.”

OverallSamanage's software is the 5th HelpDesk software package I have used in my professional career of 20 years. It has some nice features, including the automated inventory for Windows workstations, and the ability to setup custom SLA's. But that is where the positive end. Things I don't care for are outdated "help" articles in their support portal, written by their own staff, that are inaccurate, and wasted over two days of my time trying to implement something that I discovered didn't work, then when I flag their support, I get a brief apology. Support is terrible, if they cannot write and police their own articles for accuracy. I don't appreciate organizations that cause more work for organizations using their product. The system does not allow for UNC paths to be set as links in the system. This prevents our organization from sending "clickable" link to help staff add printers, map drives, etc. Only hyperlinks that go to the web are able to be made clickable. Searches are another headache. While it is nice that it searches across everything to yield results, you have no method to filter the results returned to a date range or the ability to sort the results by a certain field. We also had to take their supplied agent (for automated inventory), and build our own MSI package for deployment. Unsure why they are not able to do this themselves, but it is frustrating. No native iOS app is available, for the technicians to use, and using the HTML 5.0 interface is clunky and not very useful on iOS devices. The software has a lot of potential, but still needs a lot of work.

Vendor Response

By SolarWinds on April 7, 2016
Hi Ryan - We're always looking for feedback and suggestions to help us stay agile and keep up to date with our customers. Our community is a great way to engage and find help, however we realize that as the software continues to change, some of the solutions within the community can get outdated. We're always working to update as we go! As your customer success manager, I'd like to apologize if the experience with our support team was challenging. Our goal is always to surpass your expectations. Our search and filtering functionality has seen some enhancements over the last months and once we connect, I'm happy to take you through some of the enhanced dynamic reporting functionality that comes with the updates. I will reach out to set up some time for us to speak. - Britt, 919-648-0785
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2016
Itzik M.
Director of IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“If they have Linux support it will be perfect”

Prosit's easy to use, it has a lot of edit fathers that allow you to set it up for your organization. Also, the GUI is really nice
Consno client for Linux (Ubuntu) i have over 200 Linux workstations and we can't use the software with it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Cyrus C.
Application Programmer/Analyst
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2017

“So far so good”

OverallUse of the product seems fairly straight forward. We have been using the application now for about a month. The ability to build your own knowledge base for your institution is nice and allows for custom instructions for your organizations needs. Customer service is great, We were the first customer to setup WSO2 Carbon for Single Sign on using SAML2 and it was a bit bumpy at first to get setup. I think that the support did the best but could have done a bit better of explaining what specifically they required. We eventually got it working and with no issues. The mobile app does not support the SAML2 authentication yet but was told they are working on this ability for their customers. So as the title indicates so far so good for the length of time for its use. I would recommend this product to others.
ProsEase of use and ability to create and share your own knowledge base articles for reoccurring issues.
ConsInitial Setup for SSO was a bit cumbersome due to lack of experience using in our case WSO2 carbon identity services.
Recommendations to other buyersNot much to say at this point we have just started fully using it.
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2017