Cision Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Cision

Cision powers the stories of the world's communicators, providing access to the worlds largest pitchable media and blogger database. With a solution that serves their complete workflow, users are able to manage all aspects of their campaigns in a single platform - from identifying and engaging with key media and influencers to connecting with audiences, monitoring traditional and social media and analyzing outcomes. Learn more about Cision

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 59 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 59 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Bruce F.
Sales & Marketing Manager
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“An integral tool for social media marketing”

OverallWe have an opinion that this service is a great solution for social media marketing. It can help you to build new contacts, make researches and communicate with clients. Moreover, it is easy to use, so you need to try it for sure.
ProsThere is no doubt that Cision is a perfect tool for marketing. This service offers the easiest way to find a particular influencer. With a help of a special menu, you can choose a precise category and choose a proper category in order to get an exact outcome. Moreover, it offers to pick up a theme or a location in order to find a person that is connected with the same informational field as you do. Cision is a great service for social media marketing. It has a solid database, flexible and user-friendly interface and many useful tools for marketing. With its assistance, you can turn into reality different marketing strategies within a second.
ConsUnfortunately, Cision isn't perfect. An automated search doesn't work properly, so you to rely only on your personal research. Despite the fact that Cision has a profound database, it still lacks the data itself. Sometimes, their researches can be a little bit slow and there is no chance to find a particular person that you really want to find. Moreover, if you don't know the right name of the influencer, you won't find him or her at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Christine J.
Associate Publicist; Crown, Hogarth, and Random House
Publishing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“A publicist's dream - perfect for researching media contacts”

OverallWe use Cision for all of our pitching needs, and it's an invaluable tool for us. I've built lists for specific media campaigns using Cision's "covering..." function, and found niche outlets that I wouldn't have otherwise found. Overall, Cision is a great one-stop for most publicity needs.
ProsI love how easy it is to look up an outlet and find the correct contact to reach out to with a particular pitch. It's also extremely easy to look up outlet circulations, which we research all of the time in order to maximize visibility. Cision is normally pretty up-to-date with different outlets, which is impressive in a constantly shifting media landscape.
ConsSometimes the search requirements can be a little too specific, and an outlet has to be typed in a very specific way to appear (i.e. with or without "the" in front, etc.) It'd be great if there were suggested terms, similar to Google, so that if you don't know the exact spelling of a last name you could still track down the contact.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
David Z.
Head of PR
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“Ok media database, good monitoring, and everything else is disappointing.”

OverallOk media database, good monitoring, and everything else is disappointing.
ProsThe Cision database is fairly complete. If you know who you are looking for, you can usually find their name and contact information there. The news monitoring function-alerts which track news published online-does a fairly good job of giving me a heads-up about coverage. If you want to track coverage by source type against particular names or keywords, Cision monitoring will sometimes produce sources that Google alerts will not, and it will usually beat the alerts by a day or so.
ConsReporter discovery is hard. Beat designations within Cision seem very rudimentary and "thick"- reporters listed as "Technology," for instance, might cover "artificial intelligence" or "embedded analytics" or "machine learning" or some combination of the three. Given the fact that an off-beat pitch can easily result in a communications representative being added to a reporter's spam list, it's critical that you know exactly what a reporter is writing about, or risk having no way to contact a reporter ever again. For media search, I needed Boolean search. Cision promised that functionality but, without getting too far into the limitations of their archiving, their provider agreements, and their search functionality, I found it a very clunky and inefficient way to search coverage on the fly. It's also super frustrating to be told that a publication is "in the database" but isn't searchable, because of licensing covenants.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019

“A solid tool”

OverallWould recommend Cision for capturing media coverage.
ProsI use Cision at least on a weekly basis to search for media coverage for a multitude of clients. What a lifesaver. It does an amazing job to find media coverage worldwide and some stuff on social media.
ConsIt takes a while to set up for each client. Thank god that Cision support helps with this. Sometimes connecting with your Cision rep is difficult and takes time. Their social media coverage needs some work but they have made strides.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“Still the Industry Leader ”

OverallAgain, Cision still rules the field. Having had experience with several other similar platforms I can say that it remains the most reliable product out there to get the job done.
ProsWhile many will say that the platform is a bit dated, Cision remains the gold standard in its field. The reliability, usability, and overall data quality makes me an extremely satisfied customer. Cision certainly excels at obtaining contact information and list building.
ConsCision's data analysis could be better. I often find myself using a service like Netbase to get deeper data concerning "what" people are saying exactly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Megan S.
Administrative PR Specialist
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2017

“Used it during Vocus/Cision transition”

ProsAccess to tens of thousands of journalists is useful as a PR practitioner. It also does a great job of tracking insights like tone and monitoring where your organization appears in the news.
ConsWe constantly found journalists who hadn't been at their newspaper for over two years. Contact information is frequently outdated. The cost is practically that of a full-time employee. The PRWeb newswire they advertise frequently sends releases to websites with zero traffic, but counts it as a hit. And while their analytics are useful, I'd often go back to a prior month and run the same search string as before and be returned different numbers than the first time. It's hard to trust data that doesn't remain constant.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2017
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Quick, easy to use, impactful”

ProsAs a PR professional, Cision is vital to me. I use it everyday and it can be a huge help in identifying targets across the globe. They are always updating the platform and making it easy to save and search lists.
ConsI don't like how when you use the quick search, having the right spacing of the publication name is important to finding the publication. Additionally, cision will sometimes kick you out of the platform while you are working on lists and those lists wont get saved and you have to start all over. The look and feel of the platform is a little outdated and could use a refresh.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Eli S.
Senior Communications Associate
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Cision - Great product for PR pros”

OverallTruly one of the best public relations and communications softwares in the business. Having done trials with many others, it is clear that Cision is head and shoulders above the rest.
ProsComprehensive data base that is easy to search and find reporters; pitching made easier with CRM database and easy customizability
ConsCan be very sensitive to pronoun use when searching for media outlets that can make it difficult to find.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Dan C.
Senior Director of Media Relations
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Cision for your Media Needs”

OverallHave been using CISION for years, back when it was VOCUS. It's my go-to, use-every-day tool that helps me keep track of media placements and what I use for media distribution given that CISION is the only such tool that gives me access to both PRWeb and PRNewswire.
ProsGreat for doing research on publications, writers, etc., and superb tool for media release distribution.
ConsCost. It's a great tool, but not inexpensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Lea L.
Director, Marketing Communications
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 20, 2017

“Good if you're on a budget, but...”

OverallI'm so disappointed with all of the people I've encountered at Cision over the past 18 months.
ProsThis is a great affordable solution for those monitoring their media (and social media) mentions and you're on a budget.
Cons1. The interface is clunky 2. Sometimes they miss monitoring sites that may be firewall/subscription protected 3. Customer services isn't the best - you are dependent on Cision to change the keywords you're monitoring for vs having the freedom to do it yourself. 4. Training was not clear. We went through it several times, and never received the same guidance. Very confusing. And when there were changes mid-subscription, it took a week to get our new updates implemented and support to use the newer interact. 5. When renewing our service, our sales rep made promises on the phone and discussed price with us. We received a contract a week later with 5 days to sign and return it OR they threatened to increase our price by 5-7%! Completely unacceptable, as we have had a relationship with Cision for years! Our company has a process to sign a contract, and it's definitely longer than 5 days!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 20, 2017
Courtney R.
PR Specialist
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018

“Cision review”

OverallMy company can distribute materials in a broad and efficient manner thanks to Cision!
ProsI like that Cision stores journalists information in a neat and efficient manner, making it easy to personally reach out and mass distribute public relations material.
ConsI don't like that Cision's contact information can be outdated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Good tool for media contacts.”

OverallYou need the contacts, Vocus has them.
ProsLots of great media contacts for all categories from technology to finance, consumer products to juvenile goods and everything in between.
ConsIt's expensive. I get that it is hard to keep these lists current with all the movement and magazine closings...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Joshua T.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2019

“Cision does the work for you”

OverallWe did a lot of manual grind searching in Google and Bing for opportunities, Cision has helped us quicken that process without worrying if we had a good resource to reach out to or not.
ProsThe ability to reach out and find people for link ops or for content ops is amazing. The reach and database they have built for this is impressive. We've done several "expert pieces" for clients and the fact we can use this to curate the content we have has sped up our process. Cision's quality of reporters is also nice to trust. We know they don't let just anyone in their database and it allows us to pick and chose who we want to work with.
ConsIt's pricey, but you pay for the high quality of resources which benefits you and your clients in the long run.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Kathy N.
Chief Operating Officer
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“Cision Platform Review”

OverallThe benefits I received are the open & click rates of my new releases. So if I notice that one of my important editors didn't open it it allows me to resend to that editor.
ProsThe ease of the platform is extremely good! The on-board training I received from account manager was extremely through. Also, sending out emails are very easy.
ConsI don't really have any cons about the platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Alex V.
Vice President
International Affairs, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“Great database and ability to filter contacts”

OverallPowerful list building and monitoring capabilities
ProsCision put monitoring, and outreach together in one platform and made it easy to build media lists of relevant contacts
ConsI was using an older version of Cision (CisionPoint) which was very slow, but this appears to have been fixed in the new cloud platform. Not intuitive or easy to fix search terms (again I think this has been updated)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Jessica S.
Public Relations Manager
Events Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017

“Time saver boon for media database build-up ”

ProsCision is an invaluable asset when it comes to building media databases quickly and effectively. I manage public relations across different countries, and this tool helps me save a considerable amount of time and resources. Not only it provides journalists' names, contact details, interests and social media accounts: Cision also offers outlet stats, including readership and ad rates, as well as editorial opportunities. A great aid when it comes to pitching the right story to the right journalist.
ConsCision's database is vast but it's not complete. Not all media contacts are actually working and updated, so there's a certain probability to get few bounce emails. Another minus is that it does not provide a list of the journalists' latest published articles - a functionality offered by Cision's competitors, which is extremely helpful when pitching to the media -.
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017
Avatar Image
Jake T.
Account Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“The Only Press Release Tool Worth The Time & Money”

OverallCision is an excellent partner for releasing, disributing and getting visibility for press releases. Our news feels seen - in the best way possible - and feels like we have a very effective partner in Cision.
ProsCision makes users feel like their press releases and news are being seen and heard by the correct audiences and that such press releases actually make some waves - we have consistenly seen feeback, outreach and other traffic when posting to and using Cision.
ConsMy only complaint with Cision is that their internal search can sometimes qualify or disqualify press releases for certain topics/categories/indsutries into diferent baskets and categories than they ought to belong to, but this has a seemingly minimal impact on a campaign's overall performance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Public Relations and Communications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Cision ”

OverallWhile its a business necessity for my line of work, Cision could be a smoother experience overall and could be more user friendly.
ProsCision is a great resource to have when evaluating media outlets and using it as a database to access contacts of these media outlets
ConsHard to navigate, UVM seems overly inflated, and not all the outlets are accessible online. Also, when searching for outlets its hard to navigate because the online version of news is considered a separate outlet from the paper or magazine version, when they're owned by the same entity.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Public Relations and Communications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Can't live with it, Can't live without it”

OverallWhen it comes to media databases, none are really amazing. Cision is one of the top contenders and a necessary evil for PR.
ProsCision works when you want to find a specific reporter's email; i.e. you know their name and publication. It's also helpful in figuring out the email formats of different publications.
ConsIt's not very intuitive. If you type in the name of an outlet, for example, all outlets that have any part of the words used in the query will appear. Results require a lot of manual sorting to figure out what is relevant to your search and what isn't.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Lauren T.
Marketing Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017

“It's expensive but has up-to-date lists of hard-to-find contacts at major media outlets.”

ProsThe contact information and search features are extensive, so you can find exactly who you want to reach in the markets that you need. Even the pesky ones who purposely don't want their information published.
ConsList-building can be confusing (or at least, it used to be before I had to cancel), and sometimes too much knowledge can be overwhelming--without knowing how PR works, you can easily blast your information to all the wrong people, and make a gigantic fool out of yourself. This is not for DIY-ers just getting started!
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017
Krista S.
Editorial Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017

“we decided to end our subscription and opt for HubSpot instead”

ProsI liked our ability to send press releases and manage social media from the same account. However, other software offered more options and automation features in one central location.
ConsThe limited capabilities. We really needed something that automated more of what we do (email, social media, press releases, blog writing, analytics) all in one place. We ended up only using Vocus to send press releases, which wasn't worth the high price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“Makes PR work easier than ever”

ProsI used this when i interned in the PR world. It made my job SO much easier. The searches are effortless and it brings you right to the contact information that you need.
ConsSometimes you can be searching for a blogger or media outlet with a very general name and have to pick through to find the right one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“Cision is an industry leader for a reason”

ProsI love the new capabilities that Cision rolled-out about a year ago, including a new user interface. I really like that, as a press person, I can easily search using multiple criteria - this really helps when I'm looking for press in a very specific industry.
ConsThe only con about Cision that I see is its high price - I think that there should be an option that allows smaller companies to buy-in to some of Cision's basic functionalities for a lower price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“Necessary evil of the PR industry”

ProsOnce you have figured out how to navigate Cision to get the information you need, it is relatively straightforward to use. Can be a good starting point when building lists, etc.
ConsMissing critical reporter contact information across all types of publications, not very "smart" in terms of search and pulling only the truly relevant results from keywords.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Very helpful in the public relations field,”

OverallCreating media lists, finding media target contact information
ProsI love how it can easily create media lists, with very little time. It is great to use in a pinch to find media target contact information
ConsThe user experience seems to be a little outdated. The look and feel of the software could definitely use a more modern update
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Michelle G.
PR Consultant/Writer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2017

“Cision is popular - but I find it hard to use for simple basics”

ProsCision is the most popular media database out there. It has the ability to do a lot of things. You can search for all types of media contacts, build lists, etc.
ConsMy experience is mixed, however, as I find it a bit hard to use for basics like searching or building a list. It's also expensive. I'd consider alternatives before purchasing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019

“Incredibly robust database”

ProsCision has an incredible database of editorial contacts. Distributing press releases was also always a smooth process.
ConsWe had to partner with other media groups to split the costs. Definitely not inexpensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“Easy to fill out - not much to it!”

Overallmakes the clients happy - they have proof that were sending their news or new product releases to the world!
ProsIt's so easy to send something out. There is not much / it's not confusing to plug in the information that needs to go out. I also like the reporting feature so clients know views and clicks!
ConsThe tagging of types of businesses can get overwhelming. There are a ton of types and subtypes - which is great because you don't want to miss out on a market - but this part takes up some time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018

“Nice for reaching variety!”

OverallIt's definitely nice to use for press purposes, I just wish it had a few more bells and whistles!
ProsI like that I can mass pitch, search journalists and distribute press releases easily.
ConsWith certain packages, you can no longer rush press releases and have to plan way in advance. I also don't like how you can't be more specific when targeting when distributing press releases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018
Katherine M.
Communication Director
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016

“Great if you have time to learn to use it”

OverallCision is an incredibly powerful tool, but there is a significant amount of startup time. And while there are quite a few useful search parameters, it still takes a fair amount of culling by hand to get the right media lists. It's incredible for larger national and regional outlets, but we did find it to be a bit light on info for smaller ones. Overall could improve but I don't think there's anything better available.
ProsIt is an incredibly exhaustive list of media contacts with hard-to-find contact info
ConsSometimes you get oddball search results and the smaller regional media outlets are represented only very lightly in some cases.
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016
Stacey B.
Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018

“Great”

OverallIf we ever needed help understanding how to do something we got it right away.
ProsThis is an easy to use multi use platform that my company and myself utilizes regularly with great success.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018
John M.
Web Devloper
Biotechnology, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Cision is a great tool for our press release needs”

ProsWe are able to quickly and easily create contact lists and send our news items.
ConsWe are very happy with Cision and it serves our needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Travis S.
Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2017

“Great Product”

ProsReally like that the company has taken advantage of the culture we live in now. My company prides itself on being extremely eco-friendly and this type of software really helps with the ideas and follow through of executing the right kind of marketing.
ConsDon't like that it only has a web-based program. I may be the only one, but I do find some use in having a desktop version as well. We still have the baby boomers who aren't as comfortable on the web as we are.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Political Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“PR Newswire for Mexico just did not work for us”

OverallOverall we are very unhappy with PR Newswire. We won't be using it again, not after this first bad first impression.
ProsThe only pro that we can think of is the simplicity of submitting your release online. It seemed simple enough. Also their 1800 customer service was helpful with technical questions.
ConsWe started with PR Web and they wanted to sell us the services from PR Newswire, their promise was that they will have a better reporting, better chance to have press releases picked up by media, etc. -- We sent out a first press release and the results were terrible. The report was pretty much the same as PR Web, which is an automatic publication from their partners on sites that are really not reputable at all. They even have personal blogs listed. -- When we contacted the representative in charge of our account he said "Your press release had great results" and then he suggested we create a google alert to see where our press release was published. We tried this service with the idea that it would be better than paying a free lance PR agent in México. We paid for 1 release double of what we paid the agent in a whole month and we absolutely regret joining this service. -- It might work for other areas but for Mexico it absolutely does not work. The WORST part is the lack of willingness to help the client resolve the problem. They offered no solutions or help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Publishing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Cision”

OverallIt was never the only thing that we were using, but could occasionally be helpful if we couldn't find the information we needed anywhere else.
ProsCision can be really great when it comes to finding contact information for various writers, editors, and media people. Sometimes, there's information that is hard to come by elsewhere.
ConsSometimes, the information provided on Cision is outdated or accessible for free via the internet as opposed to using a paid service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Dylan C.
Digital Marketing Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018

“PRweb with Cisiion”

OverallGreat experience! We are able to push out PR posts to PRweb quickly and in a timely manner. It has helped us get visibility as well.
ProsThe ability to get out a press release, the ease of posting a press release, its easy-to-use posting UI, customer service, boosting posts, and visibility reporting direct to my email.
ConsThe contact of reporters and bloggers information isn't always up to date. The UI of the list builder function can be difficult to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018
bianca c.
social media director
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Only Game in Town”

Overallthink they probably corner the market on PR software.. but that doesn't mean improvements can't be made.
ProsCision offers an extremely wide span of media outlets... from large to the insanely minute publication.. it defintiely provides a good scope of everything in between! I
ConsI think this software is somewhat "clunky" ... think there is definitely room from improvement with the user interface. Moving between listings is a little complex.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Alistair D.
CEO / CMO
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2018

“Lacking some core features of free social tools, and data regularly out of date”

OverallCan not recommend the software or the company as when you complain and we have many complaints they will happily respond with your under contract just keep paying
ProsThe sales pitch was great and we thought we had found a great tool, a solution that would combine all our PR and tracking needs
ConsThe frustrations started soon after go live and support and resolving the issues was not forth coming. This resulted in paying for a tool that reduced productivity and we soon have to result to our original approach of email marketing and social media. The PR is not always up to date and can be limited once you start to drill down.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“Used this product look up influencers/journalists to work with”

ProsI liked that it had a huge directory of contacts to look up and is very easy to use. I looked up specific contacts and the program had it.
ConsIt's a bit old school in it's design. It definitely could use a refresh. Also, contacts should be updated frequently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019

“Cision Review”

OverallI often use Cision to find out the readership of different media outlets, or to find emails of media contacts.
ProsI use this software in my work in PR, and find it useful for finding information needed regarding media outlets and media contacts.
ConsI find that often the information is out dated when it comes to numbers, emails, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Javier Victor Marian B.
Network Security Auditor
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“great for us, not so great for latin america”

Overallsave you a lot of time to do media lists, but definitely need to improve.
Prosthis is my go-to software when having a pitch in the us market. have a lot of journalists and media for your pitch.
Consi wish the journalists for latin america were more complete. A lot of media ins't even in the database and when there is, is never updated. Other think i don't like is that this include name as directors of media or companies and/or s-suite contacts. If you send a pitch to this people you are bothering them. editors should be more clearly marked.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“Used to find the right numbers and contact info for prospects, overall good”

Overallbenefits were being able to find the right contact info for prospects and clients.
ProsI liked the ease of use of this product and the different functions you could use to narrow down searches
ConsI didn't like that this database is used mostly for advertising and or media relations, I think they should broaden their industry realm.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Anthony H.
Vice President
Insurance, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Loved the Social Media Monitoring component”

OverallThe ability to track, manage, and report on how users are engaging with your brand / company. A 1 stop shop to manage all PR functions.
ProsWhat I liked most was the ability to track, manage, and monitor all your social media activity and track how users are engaging with your company / brand. The analytics and insights you gain from this can be invaluable to the success of a company.
ConsYou need to have a fairly significant PR budget to order and use Cision, not necessarily doable for a smaller company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Katie S.
Marketing/Sales
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“Another Great Option for Marketing on Social Media”

OverallThis is for marketing professionals who need a boost on social media. So may deem it unnecessary--especially the millennials
ProsAs someone who is in the younger crowd, this is useful to me because when I started, I was unsure about how to reach who I needed to. Helped me immensely!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Danielle V.
PR & Community Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Great PR Tool for Big Businesses”

OverallBeing able to create media lists and also being able to create reports to show upper management.
ProsEase of use is one of the biggest pros about this. Their customer support is also outstanding and anytime I had a questions or was curious about a certain feature I got an automatic response.
ConsNot tailored for smaller businesses that don't have a huge budget. There was no way to reduce the number of features given as well which would have maybe changed a few things.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Kathy N.
CFO
Public Relations and Communications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017

“I have been a Cision user for about a month. I really like the media contact section. ”

OverallMy ability to an attach a press release to an email to make it more personal to our specific editors.
ProsThe media contact section - while this is the section I've used the most the email functionality is fantastic as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017
Avatar Image
Mithil P.
Digital Marketing
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“A great tool to measure brand effectiveness”

OverallWe love it and so do our clients.
ProsLove the fact that Cision gives me the ability to monitor my brand mentions online.
ConsIt can be expensive for smaller teams. There might be a learning curve to use this platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018

“Great PR distribution system ”

ProsIt's very comprehensive and has great customer support. You actually get an account manager which is helpful when you are first setting yourself up on the platform.
ConsThe cost is obviously a bit prohibitive but they have volume discounts. The process of uploading a release can also be a bit daunting with so many things and add-ons that you can use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Megan G.
Founder
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Does What it Needs to But Isn't the Prettiest”

OverallWhile I don't think Cision is perfect, I've seen these press releases deliver amazing results for my client. So overall, I'm satisfied.
ProsCision makes it relatively easy to publish and push press releases to the public. Its features are easy enough to use, and it guides you through the process step by step.
ConsCision isn't always the most user-friendly/easy on the eyes. It can be awkward to fill out press releases, and they look different once they're published. I also notice that it bugs sometimes. What you type in the draft doesn't appear in the published version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Shalia S.
Marketing
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019

“Press Releases”

OverallLove working with our account manager who is always on top of our support issues or questions.
ProsCreating and distributing press releases is so intuitive and the reports are easy to read. Support is also great and very timely with our account manager.
ConsWish you could export all reports together for comparisons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019