Doc.It

Doc.It Suite

4 / 5 16 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Accounting Industry Accounting & Tax Professionals


Average Ratings

16 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $35.00/month/user
  • Pricing Details
    Monthly subscription
  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Windows
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • Doc.It
  • www.doc-it.com
  • Founded 2001
  • Canada

About Doc.It Suite

Doc.It Suite makes firms more efficient and effective as they gather, process, store and deliver documents. We are uniquely positioned as value-priced best-of-breed full suite of software designed specifically for accountants. The Doc.It Suite includes Document Management, Workflow, Web Portals, PDF Editor, Scan tools, Archive, Work Binder and integration with tax, engagement and time & billing software


Doc.It Suite Features

  • Access Controls
  • Archiving & Retention
  • Collaboration
  • Compliance Management
  • Document Assembly
  • Document Conversion
  • Document Delivery
  • Document Indexing
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Management
  • Forms Management
  • Full Text Search
  • OCR
  • Print Management
  • Version Control

Doc.It Suite Reviews Recently Reviewed!

Superior Product and Customer Support Team

May 26, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Doc.It does what it is designed to do, and does it very well. Very intuitive navigation, and definitely makes your life easier if you make use of all the wonderful features offered. Autofile is your best friend! The Doc.It team has proven to be very responsive and helpful. Highly recommended software.

Cons: Unable to customize portal delivery email. Clients tend to disregard the notifications as spam. Job Queue could be more user-friendly and offer more options. We would LOVE to see an option to Autofile based on the client's Social Insurance Number.

Overall: Very user friendly and reliable client document organization.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Andrea: Thank you for your feedback. I always appreciate hearing the team is executing the way we hope in supporting our clients. We continue to evolve our software based on client feedback and yours is in line with feedback from others. Kevin, COO

steadily declined over the years as Docit grew. Standard answer from support is "the next update"

May 17, 2017
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The integration with caseware for each of printing and the ease to which PDF documents can be marked up. Works well in the field as well.
Once the setup matter are dealt with on Portal (see below) use of portal is simple and easy.

Cons: Lack of ability to use with multiple locations having access to the archive other than over a terminal server.
Every time something is wrong and we talk to tech support - the response is "we hope that is in the next update"
The software crashes A LOT. Daily for some people. Especially when trying to email a document from Inbox - or trying to combine a number of documents. Or opening a document and turning on bookmarks.
The portal setup for a client and related instructions are utterly useless. Support knows this and nothing has been done - looks like the instructions are printed on a dot-matrix printer. I would NEVER want to send my client a document that looks like that, so I have to create my own document with instructions for my client. The automatically generated email says that the instructions are in the PDF. In fact, the PDF only has a username and password. No instructions, no link or web URL for the client to navigate to and certainly no instructions at all. This might be one of the most poorly designed things in Doc-it.

Overall: At one time the benefits were big - especially when we went paperless. Today, i'm not sure the benefits outweigh any other PDF archiving and markup solution.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 19, 2017

Shabir: I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We recently heard you were having some problems and I know my team has reached out to you. Please respond to him and we can attack the issues. I am confident we can turn this around and re-establish your confidence in us, our product and our support team. Kevin, COO

The updates have made the software less user-friendly.

May 15, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The best feature is the quick accessibility of documents. It is very nice to be able to access information while talking with a client on the telephone. This is a good program, but there are several areas that need improvement.

Cons: The updated calculator is horrible. Also, the program has become less user-friendly after the updates. There should be a copy feature from other documents.

Overall: The paperless feature and the quick accessibility of documents. There is no more searching for lost documents.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 19, 2017

Debbie: Thank you for your feedback. I'm surprised, and disappointed to hear that you feel our latest updates have made the product less user friendly. Also, search is still part of the feature set. Please contact our customer care team so we can address your concerns. Kevin COO

Doc-It continually makes a better product at a better price and supports it well.

May 14, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Once set up it is very easy to use and maintain. Customer Support is stellar. Offers more features and functionality without add-ons than the competition. They take feedback well and generally put in the features we ask for or help to resolve any issues we have - features, functionality and/or troubleshooting new items.

Cons: Not fluid integration with all CCH and ThomsonReuters products - due to not being part of their suites. Would like it to be a little faster - recent improvements have helped, but it still needs to be faster.

Overall: Ease of looking up items (just a few clicks and we have what we need), central repository, ease of scanning and sorting items. A lot less paper. Logging and tracking work.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 19, 2017

Stephen: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and it guides our development. In addition, we are always looking for ways to reduce clicks and speed up the system. Kevin, COO

a very good document managment product with good support team. I find there is still growth to come.

May 12, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: it does what it is made to do well. The one license structure works well for our firm as well. one license for a product with many usable features.

Cons: The web portal I think need to be more simply to configure and manage. There is other portal comcept they should consider in the design that are secure and easier to manage and implement

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 19, 2017

Leslie: Thanks for your feedback. Yes, there is still growth to come. We continue to evolve the product based on client feedback. Kevin COO

Doc It has been an excellent tool in our office as we have moved to a "less paper" environment.

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The best part of Doc It is its document organization. The archive and the editor are also excellent tools for any office . Software support has also been excellent.

Cons: I can't think of any truly negative aspects of Doc It perhaps doing updates? It's difficult to criticize a tool that is so valuable and effective.

Overall: Document management, filing efficiencies, and ease of use are all benefits.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 19, 2017

Cynthia: Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to hear from a satisfied client. We continue to strive to make our update process seamless to the user community. Kevin, COO

Long-time doc-it user

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The integration between Scanning, OCR & archive is useful. Work in process binders helped clean up and organize document storage.

Cons: Difficult to access files remotely, pen input laggy, PDF editor not compatible with some of the common PDF files that we download & use and have to use a competitors product.

Still confused in the UI why you can access an archive via the archive explorer or binder explorer, and both can be made to have the same layout.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 19, 2017

John: Thanks for your feedback. As you know, we continue to evolve our product based on feedback from you and other users. The best practice to access the archive is through the binder explorer. For most users, it is the more efficient way to get where you want to go. Kevin, COO

Significantly changed the way our practice approaches client services.

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Upfront support was invaluable in setting up our firm in Doc It. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can have access to client information regardless of type of engagement or period to speak directly to with the client during a meeting or phone call.

Cons: I believe there is an opportunity to incorporate a CRM to capture the total client service experience. There may be an strategic alliance with say Client Track that could be incorporated to provide users an even more powerful tool.

Overall: Organization and efficiency provided our firm a game changing experience in how we can service our client base. Work flow platform should be developed further.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Andrew: Thanks for your feedback. We continue to build out our offering based on feedback and will consider your suggestion wrt Client Track. In terms of WF, please contact our customer care team and insure you have the latest update. There are a number of enhancements to WF in V4.5.

New users - less than 12 months

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Makes things easier from your desk chair, the workflow is good but would like to see some changes. The pdf editor is easy to use too.

Cons: Sometimes the system is slower compared to other programs/systems. A good example would be the changing the file name. In Doc.it takes a couple of seconds to get to the name change, but in windows explorer it is immediate.

Overall: Time savings and workflow

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Derek: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to our clients and how we can improve their experience. The 'name change' function is already part of our June release currently in QC. Kevin, COO

The Doc.It Suite of products works very well in our environment.

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The PDF Editor is top-notch. Great stamps, abilities to modify size and shape of document and include notes and diagrams.

Cons: The workflow product seems to be the weakest link in the suite. But to be truthful, we haven't used it a whole lot.

Overall: Among other things, Doc.It allows us to better adhere to our retention policies.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Jeffrey: Thanks for your feedback. We have added to the workflow significantly in the last year+. We are hosting a webinar for existing users to show the latest workflow at the end of June. I would encourage you and others from your firm to attend. Invites will be going out next week. Kevin, COO

Doc-it provides one with ease to paperless record keeping.

May 12, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ability to annotate and mark-up documents with ease and allows paperless record keeping. The customer support is great when any issues result.

Cons: One area doc-it can improve on is being able to remove sign-off stamps - as these cannot be deleted once you close the document.

Overall: Ease of paperless record keeping.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Sundeep: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to feedback from our users and continue to evolve the product. Kevin, COO

A long learning curve. Felt like a computer programmer when started using program

May 12, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ability to store documents in pdf. Easy to convert from jpeg to pdf. It is a paperless filing cabinet. It frees up physical space in my office and reduces paper printing.
Ability to customize with filing options.

Cons: It crashes when I try to drag and drop from Outlook email.
It crashes when I try to send an email with password protection and I drag and drop the protected pdf icon too quickly.

Overall: Less paper in the office

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Theresa: Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you are having a less than acceptable experience. I know our customer care team has worked with you in the past to resolve these types of issues. Please continue to work directly with them and we will assist to get them resolved. Kevin, COO

Favorable and productive

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Helps our firm work more efficiently. Keeps us more organized and on track. I like that rules can be set to lock files down so they can't be edited or deleted.

Cons: I really wish files could be edited without having to open them up in the PDF editor. It would be so useful and a time saver to be able to edit documents in the preview window. I also really wish email files could be drag and dropped into the application easily without having to print them to my inbox and then save them over. I also do not like the roll forward process. It's cumbersome and requires a lot of our staff resources.

Overall: Efficient workflow.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Jason: Thank-you for your feedback. We have heard the previewer one before. We will be making that a true previewer (including MS office document formats) and then the behavior will be consistent across all types. That is why we have resisted. You should be able to drag and drop from Outlook. Please contact our customer care team for assistance. Noted on the roll forward process. I think we can make that more efficient. Kevin, COO

Great experience using Doc.It. Is everything you can expect from a Document Management standpoint.

May 12, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We like the slick doc.it editor editing tools that come with the software. The ability to add actual digital signatures is a major plus for a transition to a paperless office.

Cons: There have been issues with autofile feature if your office is not setup properly. However, with careful startup planning I can see how this would be a very smooth feature.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Danny: Thank-you for your feedback. (and the 10/10). Please reach out to our customer care team to assist optimizing your autofiling. A little time with setup/refinement can pay dividends for years.

Doc-It supports our accounting firm in using documents in pdf form, scanning, creating and archiving

May 12, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Doc-It delivers the tools that let our staff work with reduced print. We have archived over 15 years worth of documents, and the archive allows for immediate access to the document you want, be it tax, correspondence or financials without having to open Word, Taxprep, CaseWare or CTF research while the client is on the phone.

The Doc-It pdf editor and Doc-It scanner software organizes pdfs we create and let's us edit and work with pdfs effectively at a low cost per staff person.

Our clients like the portal software, where we host the portal in-house using secure SSL transport stra

Cons: We don't utilize most of what Doc-It can do. Work Flow software is our next piece we will implement, so I can't comment on that.

We do not try to scan all personal tax documents, and the scanning to tax returns is not cost effective for us at this time.

Overall: The Doc-It software allows a mid sized firm to support all staff with an effective way of moving documents, and work with them without print to paper. Doc-It has supported our growth in scanning and archiving client data in an effective way. We insist that all staff use Doc-It in the approval of time reporting, so all staff use Doc-It daily and it has become a trusted part of every day in the office.

Vendor Response

by Doc.It on May 30, 2017

Dan: Thanks for the feedback. We will be hosting a webinar on workflow near the end of June. (invites going out next week) This is an opportunity to see what our workflow can do for you and your firm. There is configuration and training to follow.

Use Doc-It Daily

Mar 10, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Value. PDF Editor. Workflow. Scan tools

Overall: We are a 10 person accounting firm and I use Doc.It everyday to store all my tax documents and track where all my work is (workflow). I can easily find documents when a client needs them and I know what all my staff are working on at all times. Doc.It has made my firm much more efficient and saves me and my partners plenty of time. I can work from the cottage if necessary. Support is excellent as well. They really understand their product and the type of work we do here. They have a really cool PDF Editor also.

Recommendations to other buyers: Invest the time at the beginning to implement and train properly, it pays off in the end.