Doc.It Suite Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Doc.It Suite

Doc.It Suite makes firms more efficient and effective as they gather, process, store and deliver documents. We are uniquely positioned as value-priced best-of-breed full suite of software designed specifically for accountants. The Doc.It Suite includes Document Management, Workflow, Web Portals, PDF Editor, Scan tools, Archive, Work Binder and integration with tax, engagement and time & billing software Learn more about Doc.It Suite

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Dan W.
Senior Consultant
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Doc-It supports our accounting firm in using documents in pdf form, scanning, creating and archiving”

OverallThe Doc-It software allows a mid sized firm to support all staff with an effective way of moving documents, and work with them without print to paper. Doc-It has supported our growth in scanning and archiving client data in an effective way. We insist that all staff use Doc-It in the approval of time reporting, so all staff use Doc-It daily and it has become a trusted part of every day in the office.
ProsDoc-It delivers the tools that let our staff work with reduced print. We have archived over 15 years worth of documents, and the archive allows for immediate access to the document you want, be it tax, correspondence or financials without having to open Word, Taxprep, CaseWare or CTF research while the client is on the phone. The Doc-It pdf editor and Doc-It scanner software organizes pdfs we create and let's us edit and work with pdfs effectively at a low cost per staff person. Our clients like the portal software, where we host the portal in-house using secure SSL transport stra
ConsWe don't utilize most of what Doc-It can do. Work Flow software is our next piece we will implement, so I can't comment on that. We do not try to scan all personal tax documents, and the scanning to tax returns is not cost effective for us at this time.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Dan: Thanks for the feedback. We will be hosting a webinar on workflow near the end of June. (invites going out next week) This is an opportunity to see what our workflow can do for you and your firm. There is configuration and training to follow.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Jason R.
CPA/Partner
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Favorable and productive”

OverallEfficient workflow.
ProsHelps our firm work more efficiently. Keeps us more organized and on track. I like that rules can be set to lock files down so they can't be edited or deleted.
ConsI really wish files could be edited without having to open them up in the PDF editor. It would be so useful and a time saver to be able to edit documents in the preview window. I also really wish email files could be drag and dropped into the application easily without having to print them to my inbox and then save them over. I also do not like the roll forward process. It's cumbersome and requires a lot of our staff resources.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Jason: Thank-you for your feedback. We have heard the previewer one before. We will be making that a true previewer (including MS office document formats) and then the behavior will be consistent across all types. That is why we have resisted. You should be able to drag and drop from Outlook. Please contact our customer care team for assistance. Noted on the roll forward process. I think we can make that more efficient. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Stephen G.
IT Manager
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2017

“Doc-It continually makes a better product at a better price and supports it well. ”

OverallEase of looking up items (just a few clicks and we have what we need), central repository, ease of scanning and sorting items. A lot less paper. Logging and tracking work.
ProsOnce set up it is very easy to use and maintain. Customer Support is stellar. Offers more features and functionality without add-ons than the competition. They take feedback well and generally put in the features we ask for or help to resolve any issues we have - features, functionality and/or troubleshooting new items.
ConsNot fluid integration with all CCH and ThomsonReuters products - due to not being part of their suites. Would like it to be a little faster - recent improvements have helped, but it still needs to be faster.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 19, 2017
Stephen: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and it guides our development. In addition, we are always looking for ways to reduce clicks and speed up the system. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2017
Debbie L.
Associate
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2017

“The updates have made the software less user-friendly.”

OverallThe paperless feature and the quick accessibility of documents. There is no more searching for lost documents.
ProsThe best feature is the quick accessibility of documents. It is very nice to be able to access information while talking with a client on the telephone. This is a good program, but there are several areas that need improvement.
ConsThe updated calculator is horrible. Also, the program has become less user-friendly after the updates. There should be a copy feature from other documents.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 19, 2017
Debbie: Thank you for your feedback. I'm surprised, and disappointed to hear that you feel our latest updates have made the product less user friendly. Also, search is still part of the feature set. Please contact our customer care team so we can address your concerns. Kevin COO
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2017
Andrew G.
Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Significantly changed the way our practice approaches client services.”

OverallOrganization and efficiency provided our firm a game changing experience in how we can service our client base. Work flow platform should be developed further.
ProsUpfront support was invaluable in setting up our firm in Doc It. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can have access to client information regardless of type of engagement or period to speak directly to with the client during a meeting or phone call.
ConsI believe there is an opportunity to incorporate a CRM to capture the total client service experience. There may be an strategic alliance with say Client Track that could be incorporated to provide users an even more powerful tool.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Andrew: Thanks for your feedback. We continue to build out our offering based on feedback and will consider your suggestion wrt Client Track. In terms of WF, please contact our customer care team and insure you have the latest update. There are a number of enhancements to WF in V4.5.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Shabir L.
Partner
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017

“steadily declined over the years as Docit grew. Standard answer from support is "the next update"”

OverallAt one time the benefits were big - especially when we went paperless. Today, i'm not sure the benefits outweigh any other PDF archiving and markup solution.
ProsThe integration with caseware for each of printing and the ease to which PDF documents can be marked up. Works well in the field as well. Once the setup matter are dealt with on Portal (see below) use of portal is simple and easy.
ConsLack of ability to use with multiple locations having access to the archive other than over a terminal server. Every time something is wrong and we talk to tech support - the response is "we hope that is in the next update" The software crashes A LOT. Daily for some people. Especially when trying to email a document from Inbox - or trying to combine a number of documents. Or opening a document and turning on bookmarks. The portal setup for a client and related instructions are utterly useless. Support knows this and nothing has been done - looks like the instructions are printed on a dot-matrix printer. I would NEVER want to send my client a document that looks like that, so I have to create my own document with instructions for my client. The automatically generated email says that the instructions are in the PDF. In fact, the PDF only has a username and password. No instructions, no link or web URL for the client to navigate to and certainly no instructions at all. This might be one of the most poorly designed things in Doc-it.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 19, 2017
Shabir: I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We recently heard you were having some problems and I know my team has reached out to you. Please respond to him and we can attack the issues. I am confident we can turn this around and re-establish your confidence in us, our product and our support team. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017
John B.
Principal
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Long-time doc-it user”

ProsThe integration between Scanning, OCR & archive is useful. Work in process binders helped clean up and organize document storage.
ConsDifficult to access files remotely, pen input laggy, PDF editor not compatible with some of the common PDF files that we download & use and have to use a competitors product. Still confused in the UI why you can access an archive via the archive explorer or binder explorer, and both can be made to have the same layout.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 19, 2017
John: Thanks for your feedback. As you know, we continue to evolve our product based on feedback from you and other users. The best practice to access the archive is through the binder explorer. For most users, it is the more efficient way to get where you want to go. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Angela B.
IT Support/Admin
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Superior Product and Customer Support Team”

OverallVery user friendly and reliable client document organization.
ProsDoc.It does what it is designed to do, and does it very well. Very intuitive navigation, and definitely makes your life easier if you make use of all the wonderful features offered. Autofile is your best friend! The Doc.It team has proven to be very responsive and helpful. Highly recommended software.
ConsUnable to customize portal delivery email. Clients tend to disregard the notifications as spam. Job Queue could be more user-friendly and offer more options. We would LOVE to see an option to Autofile based on the client's Social Insurance Number.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Andrea: Thank you for your feedback. I always appreciate hearing the team is executing the way we hope in supporting our clients. We continue to evolve our software based on client feedback and yours is in line with feedback from others. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Jeffrey M.
Network Administrator
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“The Doc.It Suite of products works very well in our environment.”

OverallAmong other things, Doc.It allows us to better adhere to our retention policies.
ProsThe PDF Editor is top-notch. Great stamps, abilities to modify size and shape of document and include notes and diagrams.
ConsThe workflow product seems to be the weakest link in the suite. But to be truthful, we haven't used it a whole lot.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Jeffrey: Thanks for your feedback. We have added to the workflow significantly in the last year+. We are hosting a webinar for existing users to show the latest workflow at the end of June. I would encourage you and others from your firm to attend. Invites will be going out next week. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Cynthia J.
Administrator
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Doc It has been an excellent tool in our office as we have moved to a "less paper" environment. ”

Overall Document management, filing efficiencies, and ease of use are all benefits.
Pros The best part of Doc It is its document organization. The archive and the editor are also excellent tools for any office . Software support has also been excellent.
ConsI can't think of any truly negative aspects of Doc It perhaps doing updates? It's difficult to criticize a tool that is so valuable and effective.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 19, 2017
Cynthia: Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to hear from a satisfied client. We continue to strive to make our update process seamless to the user community. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Danny T.
Senior Accountant Manager
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Great experience using Doc.It. Is everything you can expect from a Document Management standpoint.”

ProsWe like the slick doc.it editor editing tools that come with the software. The ability to add actual digital signatures is a major plus for a transition to a paperless office.
ConsThere have been issues with autofile feature if your office is not setup properly. However, with careful startup planning I can see how this would be a very smooth feature.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Danny: Thank-you for your feedback. (and the 10/10). Please reach out to our customer care team to assist optimizing your autofiling. A little time with setup/refinement can pay dividends for years.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Anthony M.
Staff Accountant
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Good Tax Database for Small to Medium Sized Firms”

OverallUsing Doc.it Suite at a small/Local accounting firm (roughly staff of 60 professionals) to track and manage workflow of the tax department and use as a database for working papers.
ProsThe workflow management ability to assign binders to and from staff members.
ConsThe Universal Reported function can take long at time when generating reports.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on October 18, 2018
Thanks Anthony. We always appreciate the feedback from users. There will be an update out soon with Universal Reporter enhancements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Sundeep M.
Manager
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“Doc-it provides one with ease to paperless record keeping.”

OverallEase of paperless record keeping.
ProsThe ability to annotate and mark-up documents with ease and allows paperless record keeping. The customer support is great when any issues result.
ConsOne area doc-it can improve on is being able to remove sign-off stamps - as these cannot be deleted once you close the document.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Sundeep: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to feedback from our users and continue to evolve the product. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Mark M.
Partner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2017

“Use Doc-It Daily”

OverallWe are a 10 person accounting firm and I use Doc.It everyday to store all my tax documents and track where all my work is (workflow). I can easily find documents when a client needs them and I know what all my staff are working on at all times. Doc.It has made my firm much more efficient and saves me and my partners plenty of time. I can work from the cottage if necessary. Support is excellent as well. They really understand their product and the type of work we do here. They have a really cool PDF Editor also.
ProsValue. PDF Editor. Workflow. Scan tools
Recommendations to other buyersInvest the time at the beginning to implement and train properly, it pays off in the end.
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2017
Derek S.
Partner
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“New users - less than 12 months”

OverallTime savings and workflow
ProsMakes things easier from your desk chair, the workflow is good but would like to see some changes. The pdf editor is easy to use too.
ConsSometimes the system is slower compared to other programs/systems. A good example would be the changing the file name. In Doc.it takes a couple of seconds to get to the name change, but in windows explorer it is immediate.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Derek: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to our clients and how we can improve their experience. The 'name change' function is already part of our June release currently in QC. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Seth D.
CPA
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Review”

ProsIt is a very complex software behind the scenes but very user friendly for users
ConsI can't think of anything at the moment that I don't like about the software

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on January 29, 2019
Seth: Thanks for the feedback. We work hard to delight our clients with our customer service, so the 5 star rating is good to hear. Kevin - President
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Theresa K.
Director
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“A long learning curve. Felt like a computer programmer when started using program”

OverallLess paper in the office
ProsAbility to store documents in pdf. Easy to convert from jpeg to pdf. It is a paperless filing cabinet. It frees up physical space in my office and reduces paper printing. Ability to customize with filing options.
ConsIt crashes when I try to drag and drop from Outlook email. It crashes when I try to send an email with password protection and I drag and drop the protected pdf icon too quickly.

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 30, 2017
Theresa: Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you are having a less than acceptable experience. I know our customer care team has worked with you in the past to resolve these types of issues. Please continue to work directly with them and we will assist to get them resolved. Kevin, COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Leslie A.
M.I.S.T
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“a very good document managment product with good support team. I find there is still growth to come.”

Prosit does what it is made to do well. The one license structure works well for our firm as well. one license for a product with many usable features.
ConsThe web portal I think need to be more simply to configure and manage. There is other portal comcept they should consider in the design that are secure and easier to manage and implement

Vendor Response

By Doc.It on May 19, 2017
Leslie: Thanks for your feedback. Yes, there is still growth to come. We continue to evolve the product based on client feedback. Kevin COO
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017